Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Volo Auto Museum

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.7
1472 reviews
|Hospitality|Round Lake Beach, IL 60073 United States

27582 Volo Village Rd, Round Lake Beach, IL 60073 United States

(815) 385-3644

https://www.volocars.com:443/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Hospitality in your area
5.0
(4) · Hospitality

5904 32nd Ave

(262) 671-0468
5.0
(22) · Hospitality

639 W Diversey Pkwy

(312) 725-8321
5.0
(103) · Wedding Planning

954 W Webster Ave

(773) 525-7526
5.0
(9) · Event Planning & Services

122 S Franklin St

(312) 630-7777
5.0
(1) · Party & Event Planning

6655 N Avondale Ave # 6

(773) 631-9465
5.0
(1) · Hospitality

110 S 1st St

(815) 787-3100
About

The Volo Auto Museum was founded in 1960, and as the name suggests it is dedicated to cars. From Hollywood to vintage, the entire range is on display at this museum. The unique thing about the museum is that it also dabbles in car dealership.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.7
1,472 reviews
51,145
  
4235
  
352
  
214
  
125
  
1 review has no rating
Sort By:
Recommended
Edward L. review for Volo Auto Museum
Edward L. on BirdEye

a day ago

06/25/2022, 07:20 AM
Volo Auto Sales – Buyer Beware On Monday, June 28, 2021, I purchased a 1955 Ford Fairlane Crown Victoria Custom online from Volo Auto Sales (VAS) in Volo, Illinois. The purchase price was $74,998 plus Illinois Sales Tax at $4,687 for a total of $79,685. I purchased the vehicle based on the company’s reputation (60+ years), the media presented e.g., video, images, written description, and multiple communications with Erik Haugaard (VAS Salesperson) via phone and email. I signed an AS-IS Statement based on the above without performing my own inspection. This vehicle was advertised by Jay Grams of VAS as… Video Advertisement: “This car was restored in 2005 so it’s got about 15 years and it has about 3,500 miles on it so it’s still an outstanding beautiful show car but now it’s time to get in and drive it and enjoy it.” Written Description: “This is an incredible car. Finished 15 years ago and driven 3,500 miles. It still shows and functions incredibly well. I personally drove it home and was impressed. It is ready to be enjoyed – show and go!” The written description, pictures, and video provided by VAS depicted a beautiful car with only 3,500 miles on a 15 year show car build. I felt confident that I was in good hands and that I was making a responsible and safe purchase decision. Little did I know what was in store for me! This vehicle was grossly misrepresented in the VAS June 2021 written description, video, images, and post-sale appraisal by Jay Grams of VAS. The vehicle has been in the shop since its arrival on Thursday, July 22, 2021. The current repair bill is at $40,000+. The amount of damage to the components under the vehicle was extensive and immediately visible when on the lift. This vehicle was listed for sale by VAS in circa October 2020. According to Erik Haugaard (VAS Representative), “The car went to a customer of ours that buys and trades regularly.” The vehicle was returned to VAS in circa May 2021 and listed for sale again using the same video, images, and written description that were used for the October 2020 sale. The vehicle I received was not in the same condition as the one advertised in the media presented by VAS, nor was it accurately appraised. I’ve provided comparison images in my communications to date, and those have been ignored. I have made numerous attempts to resolve these ongoing issues since July 2021 through June 2022 (11 months). These attempts were executed via initial numerous email communications with VAS to multiple recipients, most were ignored. See detailed review link below for the Email Communications Timeline. I also filed a Consumer Fraud Complaint with the Illinois Attorney General on Tuesday, March 15, 2022. Attempts to resolve this via the Illinois Attorney General Consumer Fraud Bureau were unsuccessful and the file was closed on Wednesday, June 8, 2022, due to the seller’s unwillingness to negotiate. You can read my detailed review at https://C8DENCE.com/volo-auto-sales/review. This review contains 120 pages of “quoted” communications between myself and both Jay Grams and Brian Grams from Volo Auto Sales. There are 100+ images posted of the vehicle received and the damages that were immediately visible upon its first inspection after arrival in California. You can also view the vehicles history and the advertising media used for the sale in both October 2020 and June 2021. • Advertised by VAS: https://C8DENCE.com/history/sales • Received: https://C8DENCE.com/images/crevier/before • Received: https://C8DENCE.com/images/cambra/before • Repairs: https://C8DENCE.com/images/cambra/after • Repairs: https://C8DENCE.com/gallery/restoration
Respond to negative reviews
Joseph F. review for Volo Auto Museum
Joseph F. on BirdEye

2 years ago

10/24/2020, 15:17 PM
Do not buy a classic car from these people!! There integrity is none. Paid over 30,000, for this car ,so far costing me $4000, now the motor has a knock in it internally. There mechanics are a joke!!! Buyer Beware! KARMA Volo auto!
Respond to negative reviews
Dave W. review for Volo Auto Museum
Dave W. on BirdEye

2 years ago

03/27/2020, 16:43 PM
March 27, 2020 Be very careful in dealing with these people. On the surface they seem to have very nice cars. They advertise in Hemmings Motor News and with online sales. I made the mistake of trusting them! January 2020, I bought two cars from them based on the videos, their written description, & phone conversations with a sales person named Richard and also their shop foreman. They do not negotiate prices ... they claim no hassle!! I live in the Pacific Northwest & was unable to fly or drive to the Chicago area to view the cars. I paid over $85,000 for both cars including transportation. Both cars are very nice cosmetically ... not so ... mechanically. To date I've spent over $4000 to get the cars in safe driving condition! I have another possible $1500 to go on both cars. One of the cars had 8-inch gash in the interior of the radiator & had to be towed to our mechanic. It was presented as a documented original 24,000 mile car. I did receive the documentation.The other car had a dead battery, no gas, and a bad ignition & also had to be towed to our mechanic before it settled in our garage. Both cars need extensive front-end work. That work is yet to be done. I accept my actions. I could have hired an inspector, but that also can be subjective. I sent a letter to a Jay Grams along with receipts to date. As of writing this review I've received no reply. Over the years I've had sports cars, muscle cars, custom cars & hot rods. First time I've had such a bad experience. I guess it was my turn! To future buyers ... do your homework & watch out for these guys.
Featured content
How to respond to bad reviews and repair your online reputation

How to respond to bad reviews and repair your online reputation

How to respond to bad reviews and repair your online reputation
Why a Digital Marketing Agency Should Offer Online Reputation Management

Why a Digital Marketing Agency Should Offer Online Reputation Management

Why a Digital Marketing Agency Should Offer Online Reputation Management
JPH review for Volo Auto Museum
JPH on BirdEye

4 years ago

02/18/2018, 14:08 PM
Even better is as you read the reviews, several "themes" are evident. The staff is rude, the sales people are obnoxious. The place smells and give people headaches from gas and exhaust fumes (ever heard of an exhaust fan?). The cars are mostly crap they are trying to push on to unsuspecting consumers. This place is basically your old town mall puppy mill. That is certainly the business model they emulate. And to top it all off, the ridiculous owner keeps it all going with his lame responses to reviews he does not like. So, if you like rude people, obnoxious sales, lame ownership, over priced "classics", and a business who will generously give you a refund if you buy a car (really...thanks for charging to come buy a car, but if you don't buy, you owe us $15), then this is your kind of place. Especially since the owner justifies all this mess with selling 1200 cars a year. I guess enough suckers justify a clown show like this. Here's an example. Advertise a 1969 Chevelle SS396 as "correct". In actuality, it has a 1972 454 smog motor in it. Pretty "correct". I guess the response of "well, it is a Chevelle" was accurate. Nice..., now if you want a disclaimer car "we don't stand by what we sell", you have found your paradise. I have bought 12 cars since dealing with this mess of a business, not one of them there. If you really need to just get rid of some money, go there and buy a bottle opener or something and save the rest of your cash. And if this review helps another poor soul from trusting these folks, then good show! BUYER be PLENTY AWARE!
Respond to negative reviews
Jack S. review for Volo Auto Museum
Jack S. on Insider Pages

9 years ago

11/09/2013, 09:59 AM
Volo Auto Museum: Rip off Joel H... I'm a disabled veteran awarded an 80% disability rating after retiring from the army. I spent every dime I had on a car from Volo Auto Museum after waiting two years to receive my disability payment. This was reward to myself for surviving three combat tours in Iraq and Afghanistan. This year I had the exact same experience you had sir. I wish I had found this review sooner. Below is an email from the owner Mr. Gram after I informed him I plan to sue for fraud if my money was not returned: "YOU HAVE ACCUSED MYSELF AND MY COMPANY OF FRUAD. IN NO WAY SHAPE OR FORM IS THAT TRUE. WE REPRESENTED THIS CAR FAIRLY AS WE SEEN IT. FIRST OF ALL OUR PHOTOS ARE NOT TAKEN IN A WAY THAT IS DECEPTIVE. WE DID NOT RESTAMP ANY NUMBERS OR HAVE KNOWLEDGE THAT THEY WERE RESTAMPED. WE EVEN PUT THE CAR ON OUR LIFT AND TOOK PICTURES OF THE NUMBERS AND EMAILED THOSE TO YOU AT YOUR REQUEST. WE DISCLOSED TO YOU THAT THE CAR HAS HAD SHEET METAL REPLACED. WE NEVER CLAIMED GALEN PERSONNALLY INSPECTED THE CAR. JOEY CLEARLY TOLD YOU GALEN DECODED THE TAG. YOU ASKED ME TO FLY OUT AND DO A NEW APPRAISAL. THAT IS NOT A SERVICE OUR COMPANY OFFERS. YOU NEVER ONCE ASKED TO SEE AN APPRAISAL OR EVEN ASKED ABOUT THE APPRAISED VALUE BEFORE YOUR PURCHASE. WE HAVE NO PLANS OF REFUNDING YOUR MONEY. WE DID NOT EVEN OWN THE CAR AND YOU KNEW THAT TOO. I AM TRULY SORRY THE CAR IS NOT WHAT YOU THOUGHT IT WAS. THE ONLY THING I WILL OFFER IS TO SHIP THE CAR BACK AND WE WILL TRY TO RESELL IT. SINCERELY JAY GRAMS" Every detail of your post was discovered in the car I purchased, to include the knock off replacement motor that had not so cleverly been illegally re-stamped with the wrong tools, yet listed as a numbers matching restored collector car. In the email he offers the exact same thing he did you. He offers to resell the car to someone else who doesnt know any better if I send the car back. Of course my own money would not been returned, this was only offered as a means to recoup whatever I was cheated of originally from someone else who didn't know better. These guys are a rip offs. If anyone reading this is considering buying an auto from this company have it independently inspected by a professional. They will no longer give peoples money back. People like me who have discovered they have been tricked, now are forced to sue or eat the loss of money. I hope you are still following this post Joel; I would love to get a hold of you. Here is my contact info just in case. wish me luck! Jack Seymour 4200 Morganton RD, suite 200-22, Fayetteville NC 28314 Tel +1 (703) 406-7918 Fax +1 (703) 406-7202 Mobile +1 (571) 296-3936 jack.seymour@saabgroup.com www.saabgroup.com
Respond to negative reviews
Jack S. review for Volo Auto Museum
Jack S. on Insider Pages

9 years ago

11/09/2013, 02:35 AM
Volo Auto Museum: Rip off Joel H...
Respond to negative reviews
Volo Auto Museum review for Volo Auto Museum
Volo Auto Museum on Dex Knows

9 years ago

01/18/2013, 03:07 AM
I loved the Volo Auto Museum something for everyone who loves CARS!! I am def. not a car expert but I love old cars. The Volo Auto Museum is huge!. That place goes on and on, it's huge. There are cars for every type of car person! It is def. a hidden gem of Lake County. I plan to come back with my kids.
Joel H. review for Volo Auto Museum
Joel H. on Insider Pages

11 years ago

01/15/2011, 03:49 AM
Volo a rip off Never buy a car of this sham place. I made the mistake several years ago. They advertised a 1969 Chevelle SS396. Sent me a video, talked on the phone several times. When I got the car, it had a 1972 454 smog motor in it. When I pointed out they had it listed as authentic, it was just too bad for me. I ended up returning the car, but they made me pay the shipping both ways, like it was my mistake! They then relisted it and put in there it did not have the correct motor (still did not tell people it was the wrong year, wrong size, wrong everything). This place is a joke. Never buy their overpriced garbage. I notice now they advertise TO THE BEST OF OUR KNOWLEDGE in all their deals. Stay away for this place unless you want to get screwed over.
Respond to negative reviews
onyxcab review for Volo Auto Museum
onyxcab on Yellow Pages

13 years ago

04/22/2009, 01:09 AM
PLEASE DO NOT TRUST THE SALESMEN WITHOUT VISUALLY INSPECTING THE VEHICLE YOU WANT TO PURCHASE. MAKE SURE GET EVERYTHING IN WRITING. AFTER I SPENT 80K FOR A 1941 CADILLAC THEY GAVE ME WRONG INFO ABOUT THE CONDITION OF THE VEHICLE AND WHAT IT COMES WITH. DO NOT TRUST THEM.
Respond to negative reviews
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.