Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

St Vincent's Guest House

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
3.3
512 reviews
|Guest Houses|New Orleans, LA 70130

1507 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130

(504) 302-9606

https://saintvincentnola.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Hospitality in your area
5.0
(11) · Hospitality

819 Mandeville St

(504) 947-1799

2 people are looking at this business

4.9
(23) · Hospitality

2013 Claiborne St

(985) 626-5975

2 people are looking at this business

4.9
(316) · Guest Houses

1008 Elysian Fields Ave

(504) 324-4311

1 person is looking at this business

4.6
(29) · Guest Houses

434 Girod St

(225) 939-8098

1 person is looking at this business

4.2
(71) · Guest Houses

1748 Prytania St

(504) 523-6556
About

An outdoor pool is featured at St Vincent`s Guest House. WiFi is available throughout the property for a surcharge. New Orleans' Garden District is less than 1 km away. Each air-conditioned room at St Vincent's Guest House offers a private bathroom with a bath or a shower. The balcony overlooks the courtyard. At St Vincent`s Guest House you will find a garden, a terrace and a shared kitchen. Other facilities offered at the property include a shared lounge and luggage storage. The property offers onsite parking for an additional fee. The 1 km from World War 2 Museum and 1.2 km from Morial Convention Center. Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport is 19 km away.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

3.3
512 reviews
5157
  
497
  
380
  
258
  
1111
  
9 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
raVen on Merchant Circle

5 years ago

07/26/2016, 01:23 AM
The courtyard is something you will be instagramming, lol. A very historic hotel with fresh bananas growing on the trees, a pool, a slide from when the building was an orphanage, and rumors of ghosts. It's very safe and economical.
Powdered T. on Citysearch

7 years ago

01/05/2015, 08:43 AM
Listen to your fellow reviewers, because I didn't and I got burned. I've stayed in the past twice, the place is cheap, rooms are cheap, which is fine if your on a budget. This time around they cancelled my reservation, due to their own fault of being overbooked, and initially they didn't want to refund me after it being their own mistake. Only due to my persistence did I get my money back. After writing a formal letter of complaint to the manager, I got an email back with blatant lies that contradicted proof I supplied. This place is an absolute joke, but hey... don't take it from me, take a look at all the other awful reviews on so many different websites ;)
light f. on Citysearch

10 years ago

01/03/2012, 07:35 AM
Filthy and Dangerous!!! – “Filthy and Dangerous, Padlocked and Chained shut fire escapes” Our Group was called two weeks before arrival and told our rooms and reservations were canceled - after being pre-paid and pre-booked months ahead of time,Many heated phone calls later somehow we were reserved AGAIN. Too bad we insisted and checked in. I have been around the world 3 times and never seen filth like this, Sticky vomit? - stained carpets, Broken bed, Ceiling dripping god knows what onto the bed. Dirty sheets and a smell like old warm cat urine ... Unbelievably the windows were painted shut, and the 2 closest fire escapes were chained and padlocked shut!!!!! Broken - rotten rails on the second floor about 25 feet above pavement, And room doors that opened onto dangerously rotten second floor decks, With no marking or warning to stay off seems like a bad accident waiting to happen, Avoid this filthy, Dangerous dump at all cost!!!!!
Featured content
How to Build a Reputation Management Strategy in 5 Steps

How to Build a Reputation Management Strategy in 5 Steps

How to Build a Reputation Management Strategy in 5 Steps
Realtor ratings - The most important sites

Realtor ratings - The most important sites

Realtor ratings - The most important sites
CSMobileUser6 on Citysearch

10 years ago

07/14/2011, 06:03 AM
Dirty;owner, Peter, is a crook – Don't stay here! You will be overcharged for dirty lodgings. The owner throws receipts away, then charges you double. You'd be better off sleeping in your car!
Anne Wilson on Citysearch

10 years ago

07/07/2011, 09:48 AM
Tonnes of Charm – I love this hotel, and I'll be back here next time I come to town. The rooms were small but nice, especially for the price, the pool was great and the building is just so old and wonderful. I enjoyed the history of it most of all. If you're looking for small, clean and cheap, this is the spot in New Orleans.
carolina2p on Citysearch

11 years ago

11/26/2010, 05:16 AM
BEDBUGS! and cockroaches too – Nice building, good location. And then you go to sleep and wake up covered in bedbug bites. Your sheets smeared with little spots of your own blood. Straight up gross. Serious problem too. But when I called to warn the manager she wanted to tell me it was fleas, said someone was checking in and that she would call right back. Never heard from her again. I imagine it happens a lot, or she would've cared. A couple of friends stayed in a different room, up in the attic, no windows (is that even legal?) and they found 3 gigantic cockroaches under their mattress. No bites for them, I guess the cockroaches ate the bedbugs.
whyterabbit79 on Citysearch

13 years ago

09/09/2008, 08:13 AM
Do Not go to this place – I was here two weeks - living and working. Would have been gone sooner, but I stayed there through Gustav. Do NOT give them a credit card - they will charge as many bogus fees that they can get away with. Go to google and search for other reviews of this place and see how many people were ripped off and are fighting the charges. Part of my TRAINING involved judging how much I thought we could get out of a person who walked in off of the street and telling people on the phone ONE rate, then charging another rate when they arrived. "Keep them confused and don't let them argue with you" seems to be the way they run things. a restaurant was just built, and that guy seems to be trying hard to keep it going. the "sitting area" is always under construction and closed. The website also boasts games and books..lies! no games. i put some books and cards there and one of the recently released prisoners stole them. St. V has "arrangements" for men just out of rehab or jail to stay and "work" there, but they mainly hang out and sell druugs. The building was once beautiful and it's a damn shame what has happened to it. The pool has been green and out of order since i had my first job interview in early august and some exchange students that live in the hostel there told me it's been out of order for months. and if anyone asks, Lance sadly tells them that the pool guy was supposed to show up "today" and will be fixed "tomorrow" I believe there are maybe 25 microwaves, tvs and mini fridges in the building and they move them from room to room whenever they overcharge certain guests, so that it seems like they're doing them a favor) There is cable, and a large screen tv in the usually closed sitting room, but the screen has crayon scribble all over it. elevator has apparently been broken since Katrina and is never going to be fixed the floors are disgusting - carpet never shampooed and tile mopped with one of two filthy, nasty smelling mops.
roverbabe on Citysearch

14 years ago

01/02/2008, 03:01 AM
Do not stay here – I have stayed at the St. Vincent's Guest House twice it the past 8 months. Both times as a volunteer working to rebuild New Orleans after the devastation of Hurricane Katrina. The accommodations are sub-par to say the least. When we were there in May '07 our shower head did not work. Which was alright seeing as how we were in New Orleans to work not lounge around. And we just used a cup and the tub faucet and we were fine. There was at least one domestic disturbance that took place outside the front of the guest house and did wake up some of our fellow volunteers. Also, an insect ran across my face while I was sleeping. You definitely had the feeling you should keep your shoes on in the room. Our organization felt it was a decent enough place to stay on our return trip in December. We again had 17 people and several vehicles and St. Vincent's could accommodate all of us at a reasonable price (lower than the advertised price). When we arrived the staff had little knowledge that we were coming and had to scramble to put rooms together for us. (Not all room have heating, A/C). The first full day of our trip rained and we were not able to do the volunteer work we were scheduled to do for homeowners in the area. Since we had nothing to do we offered our services to St. Vincent's. They happily agreed to have us paint a guest room and several pieces of furniture. And we were happy to feel useful. Thinking we had established a great relationship with St. Vincent's we were shocked to be asked to leave one night early. You see it was New Years Eve and the day before the Sugar Bowl so they could get more money for the rooms. Mind you, we had booked through the first but apparently that was not good enough for them. We then had to find new accommodations on the busiest night of the year in New Orleans. Nice way to treat those who are trying to help you out.
nola_girl76 on Citysearch

15 years ago

03/06/2007, 06:44 AM
Makes Bates Motel look appealing – I am very familiar w/New Orleans hotels and my advice is to stay away from St. Vincent's. I'm not one of those people who's picky, or expecting the Four Seasons, I just want a place to sleep/shower. But this place fell below even my low standards. The hotel is 100% misrepresented on the web sites, looks charming, european atmosphere. First some general problems: The neighborhood is sketchy at night and the hotel has little, if any security; the pool is not maintained;customer service nonexistent;no organization, no maid service.i booked online prepaid through travelocity and got the wrong room (1 bed instead of 2) and they were overbooked but wouldn't give any help or refund, told me to call travelocity. one of my friends hadn't prepaid, but had made a reservation, but there were no rooms left! this is mardi gras, you can't just find some other place. so 6 people crammed in a room. when asked to speak to mgr they said to come back later but he never seemed to be around... A rundown of the room: chain lock broken;presence of tv insulting since it's totally nonfunctional, not even rabbit ears;one paper thin towel;cigarette burns everywhere; tub literally full of mud;furniture is wicker and falling apart;no heater;walls painfully thin;king bed made w nasty queen sheets;shower no pressure and either scalding or freezing; can feel each coil in mattress pressing in your back;everything dirty, trash from last guest under the bed attracting insects. In short, it's a dump. Which wouldn't be a problem, really, if it wasn't so expensive. "you get what you pay for," but not here! I paid more to stay here than I did at the hilton w/priceline, and st vincent's barely meets hostel standards. also check profile w/business bureau (many unresolved complaints) and reviews on tripadvisor. St. Vincent's may be cheap but it's so awful that I'd rather sleep in my car next time! For $10 or $20 more you can stay in a real hotel in a way better location, so it's not worth it!
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.