Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Schoedinger & Co

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
40 reviews
|Funeral Services & Cemeteries|Columbus, OH 43215 United States
Top Consumer Services in your area
(25) · Consumer Services

1307 E High St

(937) 521-4800
(13) · Funeral Services & Cemeteries

509 Washington Ave

(740) 335-3342
(4) · Consumer Services

587 Main St

(614) 836-5643
(10) · Consumer Services

235 Miami St

(937) 653-8888
(11) · Funeral Services & Cemeteries

642 S Main St

(937) 653-4227
(26) · Funeral Services & Cemeteries

619 E High St

(740) 392-6956

For over 150 years our funeral home has been committed to providing families with a celebration of life their family members would enjoy. With a variety of products and services creating a custom funeral or memorial service is easy, from basic cremations to full funeral and burials, our funeral directors are here to help you through the whole process. Call us today!

Suggest edits
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 100,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

40 reviews
1 review has no rating
Sort By:
L. G. review for Schoedinger & Co
L. G. on BBB

2 years ago

08/16/2021, 01:47 AM
DO NOT TRUST THEM! We took the Earthly remains of our puppy (our baby girl) to them for cremation and also asked for the ******** print that they offered to be made so we would always have a piece of her with us. When I went to pick up her ashes the paw print wasn't there. I was told the print came in a separate box and must not have been delivered and they would call, that was a Friday. Monday when we still hadn't heard from them we called and were told they were still trying to locate it and would call, several hours later after no contact we called and received the same answer. Tuesday afternoon after still no call we called them again and they finally admitted the paw print wasn't done. We were and still are completely heartbroken, their incompetence stole a piece of our baby girl from us and it can never be replaced. We were told the owner would call us but we never heard from him/her. We received a full refund but no amount of money can fix what they did. We trusted them with our girl and expected every effort would be made to make sure she was handled with love and respect and that did not happen. I hope the *** removes their stamp of approval from this business.
Respond to negative reviews
Ronda N. review for Schoedinger & Co
Ronda N. on BBB

6 years ago

11/25/2017, 02:08 AM
I was told my mom had a prepaid funeral which was a great relief since I had lost my job to take care of my mother. I was told this three times by two different people both who claim to be funeral directors. my mom had wish to be cremated which threw me for a loop because she had asked me to buy her a plot to bury her by her mother. I asked several times are we sure this funeral has been paid for ??I was told by two different people On several occasions that yes !!!my mom had done the right thing and pre-paid for her funeral my aunt is a witness to this. After the funeral service about a week later I was called to come and get my mom's ashes upon arrival I had mixed feelings I was sad but yet happy to bring her home with me. That changed quickly but I got to the funeral home before even going to my moms ashes I was told I needed to sign this paper .. I ask what it was? I was told that this funeral home was sold sometime in 2000 something and that the money was not secured from my moms prepaid policy from 2007? And I was told to sign this paper that they kept shoving to me and repeatedly demanded me to sign which I never did! Thank God !! I was told by the funeral director that I needed to sign this paper because my mom did not have $5000 as they originally told me she only had $4019 secured funds and that I needed to sign this paper to pay the balance. I was so confused and very upset because I'm there to get my mom's ashes. I refused several times to sign these papers !! The funeral director apologized and said there was a mistake a mixup and they did not confirm funds because the funeral home had been sold ..I told her that's not my problem you should've done your job and verified that the funds were in a trust or secure. Again I declined to sign any paperwork!! After being thrown off guard and quite frazzled I ask where is my mom so they walked me to the front of this building in some cheesy 50 Cent candles lit is the most awkward thing I've ever seen in my life I said just give me my mom I want out of here. They made something that should've been pleasant turn into something quite disgusting and sick! Basically they put my mom in a bag and said before you leave you need to sign this paper, I was very intimidated because I had two people supposedly professionals telling me to sign this paper I kept asking why what do you need me to sign this for I was told that they The funeral home made a mistake and that my mom only had a $4019 policy that was pre-paid and the funeral was for $5000?? I don't know at this point because I don't believe anything these liar said. I told him I felt uncomfortable and I wasn't saying anything so I left I have been nonstop harassed by these disgusting people since September 5! Now they tell me my moms never even had the pre-pay policy because the funeral home was sold and the money was never put in a trust, The funeral director said that they dropped the ball several times and that they the funeral home had made several mistakes and they apologize, however the harassment started immediately! They admit fault! They had met several times mistakes were made in two separate contracts 1998 the other in 2007. Get this funeral home was sold and no one confirmed funds I asked the day make sure the funds were in a trust or in a secure area I was told no after let me repeat after my mom had been cremated and the service is complete! Since September 5 I have been called repeatedly , I've been flooded with emails and now I'm getting bills in the mail! This is not my problem this is not my fault the contract was signed between my mother and the funeral home for a $5000 prepaid policy. Shame on you for not doing your job and securing funds shame on you for not letting me grieve over my mother! I would never recommend anyone to go to use this funeral home ..I was lied to the day my mom died ,the day I called their funeral home to see because my mom had told me if anything happened to her she had a paid for her funeral...Now I am wondering did that girl lied to me the day she picked up the phone and told me she had my mom's file with her hand? Telling me that she's going to get a car right away to go pick my mom up ?? I am quite disgusted at the treatment I received from this funeral home please beware especially if your family has "prepaid "for a funeral .... I have asked this funeral home to stop harassing me and let me grieve ever my mom who I lost on September 5, 2017 and the harassment has yet to stop! Hopefully speaking out publicly will make them stop they made a mistake they need to figure it out !!!! **DO NOT TRUST THESE PEOPLE**
Business Response:

We are saddened that ***** is upset. We have shared with her the reason we are calling her. We have never been paid for the funeral she signed the contract for. She came to the funeral home when it was owned by a previous owner in 1998 and asked for an insurance policy be used to fund her mom's funeral. We have the paperwork on file. She then came in to the funeral home that we now owned in 2007 and updated her wishes. Once again, all of the paperwork says the funeral will be paid for with a Western and Southern insurance policy. The death occurred this summer and ***** signed a contract with our funeral home agreeing to use the existing insurance policy to pay for the funeral. We learned that she had taken a loan out on the policy so it was now not worth the $5000 she had stated, but instead only worth $4100 (in round numbers). The funeral she authorized was for $6800 and we agreed to discount our prices $2700 to help her out and collect the insurance money as payment in full. She filed the claim and kept all $4100 and has never paid us anything. Our manager/funeral director and I have called her personally to explain this to her and try and help her settle the bill. She refuses to cooperate and pay the funeral she authorized and signed two different contracts for.

Respond to negative reviews
SIRinLTHR review for Schoedinger & Co
SIRinLTHR on Citysearch

11 years ago

03/20/2012, 01:48 AM
A fitting farewell to my little buddy – After a year-long fight with cancer my dachshund passed away. Schoedinger was recommended to us by the vet. We were amazed at the level of care they gave to my special guy. You can expect the same service and respect regardless of whether your loved one is two-legged or four. I will never forget how they made us feel in a really sad time.
Featured content

Review response templates: now no excuse not to respond to reviews

Review response templates: now no excuse not to respond to reviews

Net Promoter Score Explained

Net Promoter Score Explained
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.