Logo White
Watch Demo

Rudy's Can't Fail Cafe

Own this business?

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.4
2218 reviews
|Diners|Oakland, CA 94608

4081 Hollis St, Oakland, CA 94608

(510) 594-1221

https://www.iamrudy.com/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
4.7
(563) · Restaurants

3719 MacArthur Blvd

(510) 482-3719

1 person is looking at this business

4.7
(990) · Restaurants

317 Petaluma Blvd S

(707) 559-3021

3 people are looking at this business

4.6
(1105) · Diners

2698 Fremont Dr

(707) 938-7370

5 people are looking at this business

4.6
(1686) · Food

3201 Main St.

(925) 625-3555
4.6
(980) · Restaurants

1895 Farm Bureau Rd B

(925) 825-8958

1 person is looking at this business

4.5
(626) · Diners

2801 24th St

(415) 826-4210
About

Rudy’s serves classic American comfort food. Award winning burgers and fries. Breakfast served all day and night! Weekly specials include meatloaf, Southern fried chicken, beefaroni and fish and chips. We also have great salads, veggie club sandwiches and other veggie friendly options. Our signature Shakin' Jesse milkshake is a chocolate shake with espresso and Guiness Stout. The weekend brunch menu features our house made hollandaise sauce items like the Rude 'n Reckless, Morningstar Veggie Benedict, corned beef hash and classic challah bread French Toast.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 60,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.4
2,218 reviews
51,250
  
4603
  
3202
  
269
  
137
  
57 reviews have no rating
  • 1379 Reviews4.4Google
  • 807 Reviews4.4Facebook
  • Show All
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
emerygal on Citysearch

13 years ago

02/05/2008, 13:53 PM
Great place for a late bite – When Rudy's opened down the street, we were happy to have any place in the hood that was open on Sunday. Now it's hard to get a table, because it's become a place for locals, hipsters and people who want to grab dinner before seeing a movie at Bay Street. Top picks: the salads are *huge* (I'm full after the small size) and the fries are amazing...crisp, hot and with an edge of spicy. The unique diner-gone-modern decor is a treat. I bring everyone here: family (it's surprisingly kid-friendly,) friends who want to experience the flavor of Emeryville, and neighbors (who are regulars themselves.) And I've noticed a very low turnover in wait staff, so that's a good sign. They were right when they named it "Can't Fail Cafe."
stephbbq on Citysearch

13 years ago

01/05/2008, 13:40 PM
Best Breakfast in a while – Very good service and no wait when you sit at tha counter... recommended for anyone in east bay to check it out!
curli_q on Citysearch

13 years ago

12/24/2007, 11:07 AM
All-around good eats – We eat here regularly. Prices are reasonable, the selection is good and they have things like a Guiness milkshake with a shot of espresso on the menu. Late night eats--especially since there is not so much open late. Great coffee=high marks in my book. Service is usually on it, although I've had to leave twice when the servers forgot they sat us or they never came by. I can forgive these transgressions because they've got the best burgers around. Weekends are busy for brunch, expect a long wait. You can get yourself a cup of Pete's while you're waiting and still waking up.
Featured content
How to Track Competitor's Customer Reviews and Use Them to Your Advantage

How to Track Competitor's Customer Reviews and Use Them to Your Advantage

How to Track Competitor's Customer Reviews and Use Them to Your Advantage
Top 45 Business Listing Sites for USA Businesses

Top 45 Business Listing Sites for USA Businesses

Top 45 Business Listing Sites for USA Businesses
keekster317 on Citysearch

13 years ago

10/22/2007, 02:43 AM
Good selection of food, friendly staff, fun environment – The selection of food was great, the chilaquiles were very good. There is also a great selection of vegetarian food that actually tastes great. I tried the Pressure Drop, a Guiness with a shot of espresso dropped in, and was pleasantly surprised. Just give this place a try, there will be something you'll really like.
___cory___ on Citysearch

13 years ago

08/19/2007, 08:02 AM
Always good – My family and I have been to Can't Fail a few times. Food has ALWAYS been good. If you go on Wednesdays, you HAVE to try the meatloaf special (if you're not a veggie, of course). It's better than mom's. Always a good time and great food. I'm a little older than the average visitor, but eating there always makes me feel at home and nostalgic. Great for people watching, too.
gdstarchylde on Citysearch

13 years ago

07/28/2007, 04:50 AM
Must go if in the East Bay – I was planning on 3 birthday parties to be held together for a group of friends that met online. From the first time I contacted Rudy's through the day of the party I had completely wonderful service. Doug the manager went so far as to offer to order a specialty cake for me. The food was incredible and brought to us in a very timely manner considering there was 11 people in our group!! Music, casual atmosphere, amazing food, great staff..Rudy's Can't Fail Cafe has everything you could possibly want!! Affordable and filling..the portions are HUGE!! Thanks again to the staff for making our party a huge success! We're still bragging about it!
awilkins on Citysearch

13 years ago

07/16/2007, 15:16 PM
Getting too popular for weekend breakfast - service suffers – I've only eaten breakfast at Rudy's after reading great reviews at this site. Have dined at the restaurant five times in the past six months and unfortunately have noticed a decline in service and food. Perhaps Rudy's has just gotten too popular with the weekend breakfast crowd. My last wait was 35 minutes and then another 35 minutes to finally get our breakfast. The special eggs Benedict came with poached eggs over cooked to medium rock hard. Next time I will know to ask for soft poached eggs. French Toast is truly excellent and quite filling. It is a cool fun atmosphere and the service is pleasant and outside dining is nice, however, there are several other good breakfast establishments with better food. I will probably go back because i like the outside dining, but this is certainly not a number one rated breakfast place in the East Bay.
ckyelland on Citysearch

14 years ago

03/18/2007, 10:56 AM
The name says it all. – Rudy?s is a meticulously crafted establishment, from its name (taken from a song title by The Clash) to its menu (a plethora of consistently delicious items for breakfast, lunch, and dinner) to its decor (kitchy resin-coated tables, and an army of wall-mounted barbies dressed in Rudy?s uniforms). This is the perfect last stop for a weekend night out, or the perfect hangover remedy (after a weekend night out). The hash browns are heavenly, the cornmeal waffle is delicious, and the ?deuces wild? is the grown-up sister of the classic diner breakfast. Aside from the traditional fare is a handful of ?bay area?-esque alternative options like vegan hot cereal, 2 kinds of vegetarian sausage, and my favorite, the ?soyrizo scramble? (vegetarian chorizo scrambled with eggs, corn, and black beans ? topped off with sour cream and guacamole?awesome!). During peak hours the waits can get long, but the self-serve Peets coffee station helps pass the time. When the weather is nice, you can sit outside on their patio and enjoy the sunshine. Don?t let the colorful rock and roll atmosphere fool you into thinking that Rudy?s is all style and no substance ? they?re the real deal.
Business Response:

Wow! Thanks for the great review. Thanks for being a great customer. Rudy

timbart on Citysearch

14 years ago

02/28/2007, 09:48 AM
eure mutter klauen bei kick – hallo erstmal.ich wollte ja nur mal sagen,dass ihr alle popoliebe praktiziert und bei kick klaut.euer essen hat so schei?e geschmeckt wie es aussah.ich schicke mal das gesundheitsamt ruber.ihr habt au?erdem alle kein orakel am kinn,was ja mal wohl gar net geht und zudem habt ihr blo? einen hauptschulabschluss.was ja auch erklart,warum ihr in so 'nem schabbigen restaurant arbeitet.ach ja,ihr habt alle kleine schwanze und enge muschis.ich werde eure nippel mit einem glatteeisen traktieren. liebe gru?e euer timbart post scriptum: ihr stinkt im intimbereich!
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.