Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Royal Shell Vacations

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.3
232 reviews
|Vacation Rentals|Sanibel, FL 33957

1547 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel, FL 33957

(239) 472-9111

https://www.royalshell.com/

Open now:12:00 am - Midnight

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Real Estate in your area
5.0
(1) · Real Estate

601 5th Ave S

(239) 213-3311

5 people are looking at this business

5.0
(34) · Real Estate

2427 Periwinkle Way

(239) 472-6385

4 people are looking at this business

5.0
(1) · Real Estate

1118 SE 29th St

(239) 789-5848

3 people are looking at this business

4.9
(16) · Real Estate

2449 Periwinkle Way

(239) 395-0028

4 people are looking at this business

4.9
(137) · Vacation Rentals

2402 Palm Ridge Rd #1

(239) 472-2100

13 people are looking at this business

4.8
(42) · Real Estate
About

Specialties Royal Shell Vacations offers hundreds of homes and condos on Sanibel and Captiva islands. Because Royal Shell is a local company with local owners, we know the islands, the best beaches, the quietest corners and the owners who take the best care of their homes and condos. Royal Shell Vacations knows how to arrange a Sanibel Island or Captiva Island vacation to fit your dreams. History Established in 1994. Royal Shell Vacations has managed more rental properties than any other company in the region. Our experienced and professional team of rental specialists know the market better than anyone else, and they are dedicated to offering the most comprehensive and around-the-clock hass

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.3
232 reviews
5172
  
426
  
33
  
24
  
127
  
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Steven O review for Royal Shell Vacations
Steven O on BBB

3 months ago

08/24/2021, 18:36 PM
Horrible experience. We booked a two week vacation with Royal Shell in July 2021. There was a leak from a unit a couple floors above us that flooded one side of the building. We had water damage in our unit and water dripping out of a light fixture. Royal Shell sent a company to install a dozen fans and a huge dehumidifier. There was no concern for the safety hazard created by water dripping out of the bathroom light. Then, to make matters worse, our AC broke. It took about 2 days to fix the AC and almost a week to get all of the drying equipment out of our unit. They sent two portable AC units for us around 8:45pm on the night the AC went out. The water restoration people showed up around 9pm and didn't leave until around 10:15-10:30. This was delightful because I was attending my mother's retirement party and had to leave early because we had workers in our unit. I didn't realize that these units had to have the windows open so a vent could run outdoors. They wanted to use cardboard and duck tape to "secure" the window at the front of the unit where my 4 year old was sleeping. When I expressed that this was a safety concern, the Royal Shell employee gave me an attitude. I guess I was supposed to sleep well in an 80 degree unit with a piece of cardboard being the only thing between my son and anyone walking down the hall. We have 2 kids under the age of 4 and couldn't even stay in our unit for several nights. The water restoration company had removed a bunch of trim/base boards so there were exposed nails throughout the unit. This was in addition to decorations and pictures being taken off the wall and placed all over the table and fans everywhere. The water restoration employees were nice, but broke my wife's brand new hair spray bottle and left it on the porch until it was completely empty. Royal Shell offered you get use a unit down the street that wasn't on the water and was about .5 mile away from the units my entire family was at. We obviously didn't want to be inconvenienced by having to pack up and then repack into a new unit that was separated from our family (and across the street from the beach). Thank god we had family near by. My wife and I had to split up for several nights. I had to sleep on a twin bed (I'm about 6ft, 225) in a room with my 4 year old and my wife had to stay in a different unit on a twin bed with our newborn. After haggling with me about a refund for a completely ruined first week, Royal Shell finally agreed to request $1,058 back from the owners. A week goes by and I hadn't heard back from Royal Shell. I requested a card dispute with my bank but it was denied. It's almost September and I still haven't received a refund. I lost half my vacation because of being misplaced and aggravated, only for that aggravation to drag out for weeks because Royal Shell won't resolve the situation by refunding me $1,058. I DIDN'T EVEN ASK FOR HALF OF MY MONEY. Do Not book with Royal Shell if you can avoid it. They should be embarrassed at how low their customer service is.
Business Response:

As soon as Royal Shell was made aware of the water leak at the complex we responded to assess the issue and concerns of our guest. The water leaking was from an upper floor unit that was leaking down into the two units below. In coordination with the complex association management and property owners effected we contacted water extraction/mitigation company which worked to minimize the water leakage and damage to properties. While this was on going Royal Shell looked for alterative accommodations for the guest. They were located and the option given to the guest to move. The accommodation option was not similar in location and view, being prime rental season options were very limited. The guest decided not to move and stay in the property while the dryers and repairs were being handled. Royal Shell was in contact with the guest to update them on the status of repairs. Royal Shell also contacted the owner of the property to work out compensation for the disturbance. The owner decided that as the guest choose to stay in the property they would not offer compensation as had hey departed the owner could of claimed revenue loss and offered that to the tenant. The guest then disputed their credit card charge for 50% of their stay. Their credit card company contacted Royal Shell for the details on the dispute and declined the guest request.

Respond to negative reviews
Tony C. review for Royal Shell Vacations
Tony C. on BirdEye

5 months ago

06/29/2021, 13:26 PM
We had a horrible experience with royal shell. If you have an emergency and are forced to leave your rental early don't expect any compassion from this group! We are very disappointed in the way that they handled our case. Everyone has emergencies and in our case we had an immediate emergency with one of our children at home. We checked out and flew home. Still dealing with the emergency as I am trying to sort out all of the details and trying to get a partial refund. Royal Shell tells me to contact VRBO, which is where we booked to rental, and VRBO is telling us to contact Royal Shell. Then I find out that if you don't purchase travel insurance (through royal shell) you get nothing... Travel insurance for royal shell was not offered when booking through VRBO. Very disappointed with royal shell! Don't use them unless you have a lot of money to throw away. Rental was just ok, people sucked!
Respond to negative reviews
Tammy B review for Royal Shell Vacations
Tammy B on BBB

a year ago

10/13/2020, 17:36 PM
I give it one star only because there is nothing lower. We came in to a unit (Sesgrape #3) that we could not park our king cab truck in. It requires a 90 degree turn as the pool is in the way. The renters next to us took their half out of the middle. We complained & were told they don't own the other units & would have to park at their office (2.3 miles from the unit). We went to SBL & were given a great place to stay. RS got in touch with us a couple hours later telling us we could park one truck at our unit & 1 truck in Unit 1. We couldn't park either truck at the unit as they are too long to make the turn. We decided to split up our family & went to the unit only to discover our spot was now taken by the next door neighbors & Unit 1 was blocked. We were told we couldn't get any money back even though we couldn't park there. Buyer beware!!! Skip Royal Shell and go to SBL.
Respond to negative reviews
Featured content
How to ask for customer feedback - A go-to guide for small businesses

How to ask for customer feedback - A go-to guide for small businesses

How to ask for customer feedback - A go-to guide for small businesses
HIPAA Guidelines To Remember While Responding To Patient Reviews

HIPAA Guidelines To Remember While Responding To Patient Reviews

HIPAA Guidelines To Remember While Responding To Patient Reviews
Liz P review for Royal Shell Vacations
Liz P on BBB

2 years ago

04/07/2020, 01:14 AM
We were experiencing a VERY unsatisfactory resolution to our issue...until Nadine at Royal Shell Vacations took over the account. Nadine and her team are AMAZING! They went above and beyond to right the situation, and prove that they are a company with great integrity and value the returning customers of their properties. Thank you!
Liz P review for Royal Shell Vacations
Liz P on BBB

2 years ago

04/06/2020, 01:11 AM
We have been vacationing on Sanibel and Captiva Island for the last 35 years. I have NEVER been treated like I was this morning, when trying to cancel our reservation for mid-June due to the COVID-19 Pandemic. I will NEVER do business with this company again. For my family, we booked our vacation, and paid in advance to make it easier on our family and our budget. Now, Royal Shell is keeping the ENTIRE funds that we paid...not the deposit, not a %, but the ENTIRE THING! We have a special needs child, on top of all of this, that we are trying to protect. I have never been so disappointed in a company. I manage a large real estate office, and we are protecting EVERYONE involved in a transaction...not holding people hostage. They said that we could possibly get a portion of our funds back if someone else books the condo. However, they aren't even accepting any new reservations until at least 5/1/2020 at this time. So WE are being punished.
Business Response:

Mrs. Price contacted Royal Shell on April 6th to cancel her reservation for a stay in June 2020. At that time Mrs. Price was informed of the standard cancellation policy for reservations, which she agreed to at time of her making her reservation. 90-days before arrival. As her reservation is not during the City of Sanibel or the State of Florida's travel limitation mandates, Royal Shell is giving two options 1) cancel per the terms or 2) we can contact the owner of the accommodation and see If they will allow the cancellation. On April 6th we cancelled her reservation and held the amount paid pending on owner decision. On April 7 (9:48am) the owner contact Royal Shell and ok the cancellation and refund. Royal Shell retuned Mrs. Price the total amount paid to her credit cards used (10:00am).

Respond to negative reviews
Nicole S review for Royal Shell Vacations
Nicole S on BBB

2 years ago

07/06/2019, 17:13 PM
Rental property's air conditioner broke switched to another property. Very dissatisfied. Can't see the ocean past the bushes. Told they have no other units except one that will cost me twice the price. They are sending a air mattress so my son has a place to sleep because the sleeping arrangements were not the same. I will not rent from them again. I understand where they are coming from but this is my one vacation a year and I spent a good amount.. I will make sure next time to book with a actual owner who has more control.
Business Response:

Royal Shell strives to provide the best rental experience possible. Unfortunately, not having air condition in Florida in July is not pleasant and the AC company was not able to have the system back up and running for a few days. Royal Shell offed the rental properties we had available for our guest to choose from to relocate their vacation to.

Respond to negative reviews
Charles W. review for Royal Shell Vacations
Charles W. on BBB

4 years ago

05/28/2018, 04:39 AM
We enjoyed our vacation and want to say thank you to the Royal Shell staff. They made our trip enjoyable and when we had an issue they had someone there quickly to remedy. Thank you.
Business Response:

Thank You *******. i have passed along your comments to management.

Steve E. review for Royal Shell Vacations
Steve E. on BBB

4 years ago

02/18/2018, 01:57 AM
My wife and I rented unit 214 at Loggerhead Cay for the week of 2/10/2018 - 2/17/2018. We were not told the unit was for sale and did not think to ask before renting. We received a call from Royal Shell during our rental week informing us that the condo was for sale and they planed to show it the following day. I objected to that but was told I could not prevent it because I had signed an agreement allowing them to show the property. I reviewed all of the rental documents that I printed at home but found nothing about real estate agents showing the property while we were renting it. I later talked to a woman who claimed to be a Royal Shell manager who told me the language is in the online registration but not in the rental documents that a customer can print. She also tried to tell me that most or all of the property on Sanibel is for sale so they have to be able to show them. I don't believe her. This was not a good experience. Will not rent through Royal Shell again. I will rent directly from the owner whenever possible. That way I can ask if the property is for sale and make sure I won't have to allow strangers to come in to the vacation unit I have rented.
Business Response:

At Royal Shell, we work diligently to ensure our valued guests have a wonderful and memorable vacation experience. Our vacation properties are privately owned and are occasionally put on the market for sale. We don't always know when an owner has listed his or her property for sale. In fact, properties may be listed during the course of a guest's stay. We must honor our property owners' right to show and sell their property and do what we can to accommodate property showings at times that are the most convenient and least disruptive for our guests. Because showings may be necessary while a guest is in residence, we include in our Terms and Conditions a section, Units for Sale, which addresses this issue. (See below.) Our Terms and Conditions are viewable as well as printable in their entirety when booking online. As part of the booking process, all guests must agree to our Terms and Conditions. From Terms and Conditions: Units for Sale: In the event that the rental property, which guest is renting, is listed for sale, we may find the need to show the property during a guest's stay. We will make every attempt to schedule the showing at a convenient time so as not to disturb your vacation. By acceptance of this confirmation guest agrees to allow rental properties to be shown.

Bill T. review for Royal Shell Vacations
Bill T. on BBB

4 years ago

09/25/2017, 02:57 AM
My wife and I were forced to leave the island when Hurricane Irma hit a couple of weeks ago. Royal Shell refused to offer any refund for the days that we did not use. We have been a customer of theirs for 25 years and frequently rented the same condo. We will not rent from Royal Shell again and will never use E33 at Pointe Santo again. They are terrible with their customers.
Business Response:

Royal Shell has been touch with Mr. and Mrs. T.and we are cutting them a check for their unused portion of their stay. copy of email sent to them is below. Hello Mr. and Mrs. T., We have reviewed your request for a refund for the days you lost due to Hurricane Irma during your recent visit to Sanibel Island. A refund of three days has been approved and will be issued via check. We have already reached out to you and left a voicemail confirming this. We do apologize for the inconvenience. I'm sure you can agree that it was a very stressful time. Please remember in the future we strongly encourage guest to purchase Travel Insurance when traveling between June-November. This way not only is your investment protected but the owner of the condo as well.

Respond to negative reviews
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.