Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Roeser's Bakery

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.5
1894 reviews
|Bakeries|Chicago, IL 60647

3216 W North Ave, Chicago, IL 60647

(773) 489-6900

https://roeserscakes.com/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(37) · Restaurants

439 S Des Plaines Ave

(708) 488-0800

2 people are looking at this business

5.0
(11) · Bakeries

149 Easy St

(630) 681-3000

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(7) · Bakeries

2523 N Clark St

(773) 244-9922
5.0
(3) · Restaurants

1223 N Milwaukee Ave

(773) 772-5771

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(17) · Restaurants

106

(219) 286-3645

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(1) · Bakeries

1291 Herrington Rd

(630) 208-1817

2 people are looking at this business

About

Overlooking theHumboldt Park, Roeser’s Bakery is a local institution. Established in 1911 by John Roeser Sr., it is still owned and run by the Roeser family. This popular established is thrived all these decades due to their commitment to quality products and great customer service. Their cakes, tortes, cookies and donuts are delicious and considered to be among the best in town.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.5
1,894 reviews
51,414
  
4215
  
370
  
231
  
1105
  
59 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Angelane Sanders-Bluitt review for Roeser's Bakery
Angelane Sanders-Bluitt on Facebook

a year ago

10/12/2020, 17:50 PM
Bakery items are very fresh
Cynthia Rodriguez review for Roeser's Bakery
Cynthia Rodriguez on Facebook

a year ago

09/29/2020, 04:17 AM
Growing up, I got a Roeser’s Strawberry 🍓 Shortcake for my birthday, every year! I’m back in town to celebrate my 51st bday. Roeser’s Bakery is still here and gave me new memories of my childhood tradition. My cake was so delicious and fresh! Thank you 🙏🏽 Roeser’s Bakery! ❤️🍓🎂
Shakara Taylor review for Roeser's Bakery
Shakara Taylor on Facebook

a year ago

09/07/2020, 07:45 AM
I went here to pick my two tier cake for my sisters birthday on Sunday 09/06/2020 first my top tier fell from it not being secured correctly but they were closed so I couldn’t get that fixed then come the day of my sisters birthday I got to cut the bottom tier of the cake on Monday 09/07/2020 and it was nothing but a bored only cake around the edges they are closed today but I will be making a call to them in the morning I am beyond upset I payed a hundred and something dollars and didn’t even receive what I payed for I am very upset about this
Business Response:

I'm glad we had a conversation on the phone about this thank you for calling. As I explained on the phone, this is the way that a tiered cake is set up: You have 3 layers of cake, 2 layers of filling for both cakes. For the bottom cake, once you are done icing the cake, you put a plate on the top of that cake. That plate has 4 holes in the bottom of it so that you can insert 4 cardboard pillars that go from the bottom of the plate (the top of the cake) to the bottom of the cake, where they hit the board that the cake sits on. This is done FOR stability. This is the only way that a tiered cake can work, you need that plate there to be able to support the cake that goes on top of the bottom cake. You need the pillars to go to the bottom of the cake because if you just put a plate on top of the bottom cake, it would do nothing without the pillars, kind of like a building if you built a floor and didn't put any beams under it to hold it up. The top tier did not fall off because it was not secured correctly, the top tier fell off because you had the cake in your lap. We discussed on the phone that you were told to put the cake on a flat surface but you had no room in your car to do that, so you put it on your lap. Unfortunately, your lap is the worst place to put it. Your legs are not a flat surface. You don't realize that you bounce your legs up and down when you're sitting, but you do. So this cake is driving to wherever you're going on a slant and being bounced up and down. You were one of 35 tiered cakes this weekend, they were all constructed the same way and this didn't happen to anyone else. I'm not saying that to try to rub it in your face or to boast about anything, I'm saying it to point out that the stability of the cake wasn't the issue, the way it was transported was. And then when you say it was nothing but a board, only cake around the edges, those are the pillars that I referred to earlier in this explanation. Those pillars don't account for too much space, so while there were boards in your cake (the pillars), you take those out before you eat the cake. There's no other way to do it. The reason this whole situation upsets me is because you're tarnishing our reputation for something that is not our fault, and that's just not fair. And life's not fair, so I'm not worried about that part, but on the phone when we were talking this through you just ended with "well then I'm not doing business with you ever again and you're going to have a bunch of bad reviews" before you hung up on me. The thing is though, you already did the reviews before you even called. Both here and on Yelp. Unwarranted reviews. Which to me is what you were planning on doing the whole time, which is extortion. You were going to get your way or you were going to harm us. And I understand why you'd be angry about the cake because you didn't understand the reason it fell over even after you were told not to do what you did, or how a tiered cake is constructed and how you need to go about eating it, but I just hope now that you do realize that and you won't have this situation again in the future. We appreciate your business and if we don't see you in the future, we wish you the best of luck in everything you do. Sincerely, John Roeser

Featured content
Net Promoter Score Explained

Net Promoter Score Explained

Net Promoter Score Explained
Negative feedback examples: 8 strategies to turn bad reviews into wins

Negative feedback examples: 8 strategies to turn bad reviews into wins

Negative feedback examples: 8 strategies to turn bad reviews into wins
Diana Cerda review for Roeser's Bakery
Diana Cerda on Facebook

2 years ago

06/21/2020, 07:36 AM
I just wanted to say that Roeser’s Bakery did an excellent job in creating a custom made cake for my 5year old niece birthday!! She loved it and it tasted so delicious!! Definitely recommend them!!
Irma Ruiz Mosinski review for Roeser's Bakery
Irma Ruiz Mosinski on Facebook

2 years ago

06/18/2020, 06:47 AM
Omg the Napoleon are delicious & their cakes.
Xesenia Robles review for Roeser's Bakery
Xesenia Robles on Facebook

2 years ago

04/22/2020, 03:17 AM
They did an amazing job on an order of custom cookies I placed for a birthday. The birthday boy loved em!
Demitra Kelly review for Roeser's Bakery
Demitra Kelly on Facebook

2 years ago

03/31/2020, 16:52 PM
I love this place. My family and I have been buying cakes from here for over 30 years now! This best in Chicago
Marilyn Rios-Eisner review for Roeser's Bakery
Marilyn Rios-Eisner on Facebook

2 years ago

03/14/2020, 13:49 PM
Everything!! My cake was amazing!!
Nick Altier review for Roeser's Bakery
Nick Altier on Facebook

2 years ago

02/25/2020, 02:10 AM
Fat Tuesday and Peczki day
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.