Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Reuter's Bakery

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.6
501 reviews
|Bakeries|Chicago, IL 60707

7177 W Grand Ave, Chicago, IL 60707

(773) 889-1414

https://www.reutersbakery.com/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(18) · Restaurants
5.0
(14) · Bakeries

149 Easy St

(630) 681-3000
5.0
(3) · Restaurants

1223 N Milwaukee Ave

(773) 772-5771
5.0
(7) · Bakeries

2523 N Clark St

(773) 244-9922
5.0
(1) · Bakeries

1291 Herrington Rd

(630) 208-1817
5.0
(135) · Bakeries

39W963 Midan Dr

(888) 879-2589
About

Reuter's Bakery is a traditional retail bakery that makes a broad range of bakery goods. With a menu of 50+ coffee cakes (no reason to list them), an array of bread items, a large selection of tortes and parfit cakes you can be assured that you find something at Reuter's that will tantalize your taste buds. Other items of interest may include puff pastry items, mini pastries, custom cakes & wedding cakes.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.6
501 reviews
5369
  
439
  
310
  
26
  
128
  
49 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Recommended
Katie J. review for Reuter's Bakery
Katie J. on Insider Pages

12 years ago

12/25/2009, 14:09 PM
Reuter's Bakery is AMAZING! amazing!!!!! got it as a gift from people in River Forest.. brought the cookies back to Indianapolis for Christmas and lets just say they were a HIT!!!! everyone was obsessing! The red velvet cupcakes were out of this world so was every different cookie on the tray we got as a gift. Literally, best cookies I've had in my life! The sugar cookies melt in your mouth, no comparison. Wish there was a Reuters Bakery in Indianapolis!!!!!! :)ps- the person who wrote that 1 star review must have a salt tooth and hate amazing baked goods... stinks to be them!!!
trazy77 review for Reuter's Bakery
trazy77 on Yellow Pages

13 years ago

06/10/2009, 03:03 AM
i agree with you rowchick , when i go in there never have anything i want go in for a last minute birthday cake never have what i need end up at jewels , and maybe we came from the same place but i had better cake from a box !!!!!
Respond to negative reviews
Lenore C. review for Reuter's Bakery
Lenore C. on Insider Pages

13 years ago

03/17/2009, 21:49 PM
We Love Reuters My family has be coming here for at least 60 years. Generation through generation.Cookies shipped all over U.S.A. including Hawaii. Please keep making your wonderful bakery items. Quality far surpasses any bakery in Illinois.
Featured content
What Does Birdeye Cost?

What Does Birdeye Cost?

What Does Birdeye Cost?
Review response templates: now no excuse not to respond to reviews

Review response templates: now no excuse not to respond to reviews

Review response templates: now no excuse not to respond to reviews
DoreenSch review for Reuter's Bakery
DoreenSch on Citysearch

13 years ago

01/12/2009, 16:22 PM
Excellent Baker – I have been calling Reuters Bakery my family baker for several years now. My husband's family had for decades. Even when we have my son's birthdays at restaurants, I always insist on being able to bring a Reuters cake to the festivities. Richard creates fantastic custom creations for us. Incredible depictions of Saturn, and Lions for example. Not only beautiful but incredibly delicious too. I also think it is pretty cool that the baker personally responds to reviews - it shows that he is really really involved in his business and that he is passionate about his baking. Thanks for posting his response, what you think is bad, I think is good to hear his side of the story.
Doreen S. review for Reuter's Bakery
Doreen S. on Insider Pages

13 years ago

01/11/2009, 20:31 PM
Excellent Bakery I have been calling Reuters Bakery my family baker for several years now. My husband's family had for decades. Even when we have my son's birthdays at restaurants, I always insist on being able to bring a Reuters cake to the festivities. Richard creates fantastic custom creations for us. Incredible depictions of Saturn, and Lions for example. Not only beautiful but incredibly delicious too.
mkolbuk review for Reuter's Bakery
mkolbuk on Citysearch

13 years ago

12/20/2008, 08:34 AM
The best cakes in town – We have not had a family celebration in 25 years without a Reuter's cake. Their buttercream icing is the lightest in town, melting in your mouth yet leaving no aftertaste whatsoever. Fillings in the cake are made from the freshest fruit. My wife will not eat a sandwich without a Reuter's roll, which has a crusty outside unlike the soft rolls you get at the supermarkets. If you get there early, and are lucky, buy a King's Tort, their version of a pound cake, but unlike any poundcake you have tasted. Their cookies are fantastic. Two more personal favorites are their Swedish flop and marshmallow horn. I recommendi ordering ahead, they might be out of what you want. I make a trek from Wheeling every month to stock up on their goodies. Their staff is friendly, and if you become a regular, will know what you want before you order.
isabella s. review for Reuter's Bakery
isabella s. on Insider Pages

13 years ago

12/10/2008, 07:42 AM
Yummy! Excellent bakery. Great service, The morning is the best time to go. Nancy and Melissa will get you in and out with a smile and a joke.The smell is wonderful as well as taste.
Kari C. review for Reuter's Bakery
Kari C. on Insider Pages

14 years ago

04/28/2008, 16:55 PM
Cakes and More Great Bakery! I would recommend it to everyone. Very good products and impeccable service. The cakes are fresh and very tasty. The pastiries are unique in very artful form and taste as good.
Rowchick review for Reuter's Bakery
Rowchick on Citysearch

14 years ago

04/07/2008, 05:04 AM
Owner puts sour taste to sweets – I moved to the area in 2006, excited to have a local bakery that seemed to have all the charm of old world bakeries. Unfortunately, despite trying the products numerous times, we were disappointed. I wrote a review on an online site expressing the opinion and got this email from the owner: ?Since you bake you obviously know...? Let me tell you what you don't know. Firstly, the donuts are fried daily. Not once a week. All made from scratch. Yes, even the cake donuts! Not from a bag...which is what you are used to. Lard... only in the white bread, rye bread and hard rolls. All of which is made from scratch. The coffee cake selection is unmatched in the city of Chicago. I suggest going back to Jarosch and Dinkel's and identifying all the different coffee cakes they have. Actually the butter cream icing is 25% real butter. What you don't know is that most bakeries don't even use butter or heavy cream in their products. A test of time... 81 years and still going. If you really which to learn something about baking I invite you to my shop so I can teach you something. Call me during business hours to arrange a day you can work and learn. Regards, Richard 773-889-1414? Unfortunately for the owner, he chose to respond in anger, leading to my publishing his response on every possible review site I could think of. There are tons of bakeries out there - all serving a different group of customers with unique taste buds and preferences. This one missed the mark with me, but I would never have taken it to this level had the owner not been so rude.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.