Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Piccola Italy Pizza & Subs

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.4
702 reviews
|Pizza|Richmond, VA 23220

1100 W Main St, Richmond, VA 23220

(804) 355-3111

https://eatstreet.com/

Open now:9:00 am - 6:00 pm

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
4.5
(1101) · Pizza

4824 Market Square Ln

(804) 744-0111
4.5
(17) · Pizza

7 N 23rd St

(804) 788-7077
4.5
(463) · Restaurants

3345 W Cary St

(804) 353-2333
4.5
(433) · Pizza

1201 E Main St

(804) 225-9600
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.4
702 reviews
5465
  
4129
  
357
  
216
  
129
  
6 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Recommended
CSMobileUser review for Piccola Italy Pizza & Subs
CSMobileUser on Citysearch

11 years ago

01/18/2011, 00:33 AM
??? WT... – Literally am sitting in utter awe right now about the fact that I ordered a Large Greek salad and steak and cheese sub @ 12:22pm, got my salad almost immediately after placing the order. The sub was not brought out until 12:51pm for my friend who endured watching me eat. There were 8 people served before us as my friend sat and watched the game, all 8 people arrived minutes after we did. There were at least 6 people who ordered pizza slices(understandably faster heat and serve) but was disturbed by the a gentleman getting his gyro before my friend who arrived less than 10 minutes after us. I actually had to remind the guy who took my order who was watching the game on with some of the people from the kitchen. This was honestly the saddest display of poor customer service I could even fathom to be possible. Furthermore, it become even more pathetic when my friend who was visiting from Trinidad made the observation of us being the only minorities in the place, and after a few more people were called and given there food I heard "Please don't ever bring me here again." Not trying to say it was necessarily in anyway race related incident as to the dismissive service, but...just saying! I used to eat here all the time when I was a student @ VCU, I will never dine-in anymore haven't decided on the latter. SMH @ Picolla's Italy today, "What were you thinking guys?"
JIMCAT review for Piccola Italy Pizza & Subs
JIMCAT on Citysearch

14 years ago

09/18/2008, 02:22 AM
EAT B4 U PAY – WE HAVE BEEN EATING IN THE VCU AREA FOR MANY YEARS, INCLUDING AT PICCOLA'S. TODAY WILL DEFINITELY BE THE VERY LAST TIME! THE STALE PIZZA WAS BARELY REHEATED AND QUITE TASTELESS. WHAT REALLY SEALED PICCOLA'S FATE WAS WHEN WE REALIZED THAT THE 2 BOTTLES OF COKE WE ORDERED COST $1.85 EACH, ONLY 30 CENTS LESS THAN THE SLICE OF CHEESE PIZZA ($2.15). WE ARE TRULY OUTRAGED AND WANT TO WARN OTHER PATRONS, ESPECIALLY THE STUDENTS, NOT TO BECOME VICTIMS OF THESE PRICE GAUGING GUINEAS. THEY NEED TO HAVE SOME RESPECT FOR THEIR CUSTOMERS IF THEY WANT TO CONTINUE DOING BUSINESS IN AMERICA .
kigoe review for Piccola Italy Pizza & Subs
kigoe on Citysearch

14 years ago

07/21/2008, 02:17 AM
Decent food, good location, bad service – If you're looking for pretty good, inexpensive italian food close by, happen to live in the lower fan area, and don't mind waiting, Piccola's is the perfect place. The scene is vibrant, with half of the restaurant catering mainly to students who want their food quickly and the other half serving as a more relaxed area for families. The staff is nice, but slow, so expect to wait; the food is worth it, though, particularly at those prices.
Featured content
How can customer reviews help SEO?

How can customer reviews help SEO?

How can customer reviews help SEO?
Facebook business recommendations or reviews: what businesses need to know

Facebook business recommendations or reviews: what businesses need to know

Facebook business recommendations or reviews: what businesses need to know
PeggyandJohn review for Piccola Italy Pizza & Subs
PeggyandJohn on Citysearch

14 years ago

03/09/2008, 01:06 AM
Walk, no, run from this hell hole – What a nightmare! First, Piccola's is a loud, dirty college spot that caters to an undecerning college crowd. The servers were all sitting at a table smoking cigarettes and seemed "put out" to have to actually wait on our table. The waiter had great difficulty communicating in English. We ordered two draft beers off a limited beer liist, only to be told that they were out of our first two choices. We settled on a third choice, and ordered two slices with mushrooms and pepperoni. Within two minutes, our beer and pizza arrived together. The pizza was obviously retrieved from under a heat lamp - it was dry, severely burnt on the bottom, and the toppings, although plentiful, were cold. When we mentioned this to our waiter, he informed us that he would make us new slices. As a result of the poor service and conditions of this dump, we elected to just drink our beers and find another spot to dine. The waiter was obviously upset that we didn't want to eat that garbage they passed off as pizza, and summoned the manager. He also was difficult to communicate with. He became very combatant, yelling "I said I would make you two more..." We again said no thanks, and he SNATCHED our beer glasses and said - "you go - we no want you business." We said fine, and were happy to leave, only to be cursed at in Italian (I understood every word - I grew up in a Italian NY home). The whole experience was awful - the food, the service and the manager - all very disappointing. I work for a large company downtown and often entertain clients - ballgames, plays, etc. and will never suggest to any of them to eat at this hell hole. I wouldn't serve their pizza to my dogs. Avoid this place like the plague, unless bad food, worse service and filthy surroundings are your thing.
Contributor review for Piccola Italy Pizza & Subs
Contributor on Citysearch

19 years ago

08/18/2003, 02:10 AM
VCU landmark has become a take-out ritual. – The Scene If you've spent any time at all on the Virginia Commonwealth University campus, chances are you've eaten at Piccola's. For years, this Italian restaurant has been heavily trafficked by VCU students; not surprising, considering it sits across the street from the VCU business building. Lately, however, Piccola's has revamped its dining area in an effort to broaden its customer base and move away from its reputation as a college hangout. Who's Going? Though there is a dearth of families in the VCU corridor (the Fan District that borders VCU is home to mostly early twentysomethings who are generally single and without children), the newly diversified menu is likely to draw customers from the Upper Fan and Carytown areas, which are slightly more family-populated. Given the proximity of Piccola's to the downtown area, it could also become a popular out-of-the-way lunch spot for the savvy business crowd.
christybell review for Piccola Italy Pizza & Subs
christybell on Citysearch

20 years ago

10/09/2002, 01:39 AM
Definitely For The Young Crowd – The food was good, nice and cheesy. Just the way I like it. The service was sporadic. Although, definitely was not the waitress' fault. She had quite a few tables to wait on (she said they were not usually busy during the time we went). The young crowd were a little, no, a lot noisy. I didn't fully enjoy my meal until they left. Overall, a good place to eat.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.