Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Midamerica Basement Systems

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
3.0
23 reviews
|Masonry/Concrete|Davenport, LA 52802

Services Available In:, Davenport, LA 52802

(563) 607-8365

https://www.midamericabasementsystems.com/

Closed now

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Construction in your area
5.0
(3) · Masonry/Concrete

6002 Shiloh Church Hurlock Road

(410) 943-0011
5.0
(1) · Masonry/Concrete

17800 Ashley Dr

(850) 235-9600
5.0
(4) · Masonry/Concrete

150 Lofton Ave # 150

(256) 638-2228
5.0
(1) · Construction

1771 Shield Dr

(970) 870-1570
5.0
(3) · Construction

10150 Old Columbia Rd

(410) 982-6862
5.0
(1) · Construction

1260 Farmington Lane

(740) 335-5152
About

Specialties MidAmerica Basement Systems specializes in basement waterproofing, crawl space repair, insulation, foundation repair, commercial foundations, concrete lifting & leveling, sump pumps, egress windows, radon gas mitigation & removal, mold solutions, and more. Serving Eastern Iowa and Northwest Illinois. Call us today for a FREE estimate. History Established in 1987. Basement Systems Inc. is an international network of basement waterproofing, crawl space environment control, foundation stabilization and repair, and basement finishing contractors. The company has a network of more than 350 dealers in the U.S., Canada, U.K. , and Ireland. Basement Systems is in its 23rd year and holds

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

3.0
23 reviews
511
  
41
  
30
  
20
  
111
  
Sort By:
Recommended
Vanessa M review for Midamerica Basement Systems
Vanessa M on BBB

8 months ago

10/10/2021, 03:37 AM
Due to water in my basement I called MidAmBS for an estimate. The salesman (Troy) walked through the basement with me discussing what he thought would be a solution for my problem. When the pump was brought up I was told it would have a battery backup. After his assessment he sat down with me and said that I needed watergaurd and super sump plus ($9700+). It took about four months for them to get to me, and I was rescheduled once. A crew came to the job, and did a good job, as far as the work that was performed. When we did the walkthrough to see the results, I noticed immediately I didn't have a battery backup on my pump. The foreman said he would check the contract to see why. He informed me that super sump plus didn't include a battery backup. Now I'm upset because that's what I was advertised. Troy never said the pump I was getting didn't have a backup. And as I previously said that's what was verbally discussed, so that's what should've been in my contract period. He never once showed or told me about different options, as far as the pumps are concerned. So I assumed (logically) super sump plus had the backup. I voiced this complaint with the office women and a manager and was told I got what I paid for and I cannot get a backup unless I pay $1300 more dollars to them. Smh. I was instructed to not move anything back onto the concrete that was poured for at least 7 days so we stayed out of the basement for the most part during that period. When we went down to start moving things around to clean we noticed things missing. My fiancé had a drill sitting out that was missing AND they took my previous sump pump that was already in my basement. It was about a year old and expensive. It was fully functional and working properly. It wasn't enough for my basement due to water coming through the walls so that's why I needed watergaurd around my perimeter as well. The pump cost me almost $300. Nobody ever asked me if I wanted anything of mine thrown out or removed. Specially something that was in good working condition. I called and text the foreman as well as multiple people in the office. I finally spoke to a manger after waiting 3 days for them "get information ". I was told they have a pump buyback program (which I was never offered or told about until just then) and was offered only $100 for my pump being STOLEN. Their manager said this is their normal business practices. They said they take all of a person's old system equipment when they install new ones and that nobody has ever complained about this until me. That sounds shady and crazy as hell to me. Absolutely unacceptable. So now I'm out of nearly $10000 and still don't have what I was advertised. And my things were taken on their way out. Whether I got what I paid for or not that's not right period. I'm in my mid thirties and have never felt so cheated of played out of my money in my entire life. THESE PEOPLE ARE SHADY. No way should I have to pay a full price for what I was SUPPOSED to get in my contract, PLUS install fees, AND cheated out of a couple hundred on my pump.
Business Response:

We certainly appreciate your business and it saddens me to hear you are dissatisfied. What I do know about the situation is this. Troy had given you a proposal for the work he recommended. That included a TripleSafe, which would have had a battery back up system. Your contract was closed with you by our inside sales person, Mandi, who was asked by you to lower the original price. She did so by down sizing the sump system to a SuperSump Plus, which doesn't include a battery back up. It is our normal practice not to leave any of the old equipment behind. We have had complaints in the past for not taking what would seem to be a good working sump. Most of the time our homeowners appreciate the fact that we clean up after our work is complete. It is also my understanding that your pump was located and arrangements have either been made to get it returned to you or it has been returned. This is the first time I have heard anything about a missing drill. I will check with the crew to see if they inadvertently took it back with their tools. All of our tools are professional grade and our crew would not have any use for a homeowners drill. Once I check with the crew I'll get back with you. I would ask you to check with your husband and make sure he didn't place it somewhere else and let me know. I have put things in different spots my self and accused my wife of messing with my tools and later had to apologize to her.

Respond to negative reviews
Vanessa M review for Midamerica Basement Systems
Vanessa M on BBB

8 months ago

10/10/2021, 01:11 AM
Due to water in my basement I called MidAmBS for an estimate. The salesman (Troy) walked through the basement with me discussing what he thought would be a solution for my problem. When the pump was brought up I was told it would have a battery backup. After his assessment he sat down with me and said that I needed watergaurd and super sump plus ($9700+). It took about four months for them to get to me, and I was rescheduled once. A crew came to the job, and did a good job, as far as the work that was performed. When we did the walkthrough to see the results, I noticed immediately I didn't have a battery backup on my pump. The foreman said he would check the contract to see why. He informed me that super sump plus didn't include a battery backup. Now I'm upset because that's what I was advertised. Troy never said the pump I was getting didn't have a backup. And as I previously said that's what was verbally discussed, so that's what should've been in my contract period. He never once showed or told me about different options, as far as the pumps are concerned. So I assumed (logically) super sump plus had the backup. I voiced this complaint with the office women and a manager and was told I got what I paid for and I cannot get a backup unless I pay $1300 more dollars to them. Smh. I was instructed to not move anything back onto the concrete that was poured for at least 7 days so we stayed out of the basement for the most part during that period. When we went down to start moving things around to clean we noticed things missing. My fiancé had a drill sitting out that was missing AND they took my previous sump pump that was already in my basement. It was about a year old and expensive. It was fully functional and working properly. It wasn't enough for my basement due to water coming through the walls so that's why I needed watergaurd around my perimeter as well. The pump cost me almost $300. Nobody ever asked me if I wanted anything of mine thrown out or removed. Specially something that was in good working condition. I called and text the foreman as well as multiple people in the office. I finally spoke to a manger after waiting 3 days for them "get information ". I was told they have a pump buyback program (which I was never offered or told about until just then) and was offered only $100 for my pump being STOLEN. Their manager said this is their normal business practices. They said they take all of a person's old system equipment when they install new ones and that nobody has ever complained about this until me. That sounds shady and crazy as hell to me. Absolutely unacceptable. So now I'm out of nearly $10000 and still don't have what I was advertised. And my things were taken on their way out. Whether I got what I paid for or not that's not right period. I'm in my mid thirties and have never felt so cheated of played out of my money in my entire life. THESE PEOPLE ARE SHADY. No way should I have to pay a full price for what I was SUPPOSED to get in my contract, PLUS install fees, AND cheated out of a couple hundred on my pump.
Business Response:

We certainly appreciate your business and it saddens me to hear you are dissatisfied. What I do know about the situation is this. Troy had given you a proposal for the work he recommended. That included a TripleSafe, which would have had a battery back up system. Your contract was closed with you by our inside sales person, Mandi, who was asked by you to lower the original price. She did so by down sizing the sump system to a SuperSump Plus, which doesn't include a battery back up. It is our normal practice not to leave any of the old equipment behind. We have had complaints in the past for not taking what would seem to be a good working sump. Most of the time our homeowners appreciate the fact that we clean up after our work is complete. It is also my understanding that your pump was located and arrangements have either been made to get it returned to you or it has been returned. This is the first time I have heard anything about a missing drill. I will check with the crew to see if they inadvertently took it back with their tools. All of our tools are professional grade and our crew would not have any use for a homeowners drill. Once I check with the crew I'll get back with you. I would ask you to check with your husband and make sure he didn't place it somewhere else and let me know. I have put things in different spots my self and accused my wife of messing with my tools and later had to apologize to her.

Respond to negative reviews
Kendra F review for Midamerica Basement Systems
Kendra F on BBB

8 months ago

09/23/2021, 01:05 AM
So disappointed with this company. I own a house for my daughter to live in while she is in college. The house is 5 hours from my residence. The house has been having water in the basement. I turned to Angi to get a reliable list of waterproofing companies. When MidAmerica Basement Systems called me to set up a time to give me a free quote, I was instructed I would need to be at the house. I let them know my situation of living 5 hours away and that my 21 year old daughter would be at the house and could FaceTime me during the appointment. This was not good enough as it is "company policy" to have the owner at the house. I spoke with the initial employee who wasn't willing or even tried to figure out a solution. Her solution was to send my call to the manager, who when answered acted like she had no idea why she was getting the call. I explained to her again that I lived 5 hours away and would not be able to be at the house, but we could use technology and I could FaceTime. This again was denied and a viable solution was not even talked about. Never did I feel they wanted my business or in any way were willing to work with me. I can't imagine I am the only one who does not live close and has had issues. It is 2021 and in the middle of a pandemic. Why FaceTime isn't an option is extremely frustrating and confusing. The customer service I received during this call by various levels of employees was also disheartening. I would never use them after this experience.
Business Response:

Kendra, We are so sorry to have disappointed you. The representative you spoke with is absolutely correct. It is our company's policy to have the homeowner present for the inspection. The home owner is the only person legally authorized to make decisions on behalf of that property. We have 'made exceptions' in the past for tenants, and information and expectations do not get properly set, and people get upset. We really do try to provide a remarkable experience for our home owners. We will make ourselves available evenings and weekends to do the inspection at a time that is convenient for you to be there. Angi was absolutely correct to refer you to us. We are the best at addressing these concerns, so that you won't ever have to worry about them again. If you do decide you would want this level of service performed on the property you own, we are here for you. The MidAmerica Basement Systems Team"

Respond to negative reviews
Featured content
5 Top Review Sites for Lawyers

5 Top Review Sites for Lawyers

5 Top Review Sites for Lawyers
Introducing Birdeye Interactions

Introducing Birdeye Interactions

Introducing Birdeye Interactions
Nicole C review for Midamerica Basement Systems
Nicole C on BBB

a year ago

05/20/2021, 04:50 AM
I MUST give a shout out to the ENTIRE staff that I have come into contact with at MidAmerica Basement (Davenport, IA)!! From the welcome packet to the final product! Every person at MidAmerica Basement (Davenport, IA) has played a part at putting all of my concerns to rest. Even the ladies who answered my calls were the epitome of amazing customer service!! The crew working on the basement waterproofing project at my home were VERY professional- knowledgeable- polite-and welcoming. I was able to walk around and view from time to time without feeling intrusive. Every question was answered and explained throughly. Thank you Mr. "Seal the Deal" Chris; Mr. "Satisfaction Guaranteed" Sam; Mr. "Get er Done" Guy Mr. "Just Amazing" Jason and Mr. "Always Amiable & Amusing" Alex. I just want to say I TRULY appreciate you all!!! Everything I asked for was 100% DELIVERED! Keep up the amazing work!!
Kristy W review for Midamerica Basement Systems
Kristy W on BBB

a year ago

05/17/2021, 02:21 AM
In May 2021, Mid America Basement Systems installed encapsulate in our crawlspace and radon mitigation. Troy ******** was the salesperson, and he took the time to fully explain the process. Brandon, Tajaun, and Miguel installed the encapsulate and were very personal and professional. Scottie and Bill installed the radon mitigation and were very professional. Both teams cleaned up the area when they were finished, explained what they had done, and asked if we had any questions. We were very impressed with this company and would recommend them to anyone needing radon mitigation.
Penny K review for Midamerica Basement Systems
Penny K on BBB

a year ago

04/01/2021, 10:38 AM
In march of 2020 we had extensive work completed by Mid America Basement systems, crawl space encapsulation,smart jacks, downspots and over 60 containers of debris removed from our crawl space,added sump pumps, and several discharge lines dug. Chris ***** was the salesman and his crew were were wonderful. The workers were here 5 full days, on time polite and very hardworking.Their team leader Dillion was very helpful in explaining all the options if we needed to change things or understand things, They have been wonderful to come out and make a few minor adjustments . Chris is so kind and trustworthy. Thanku so much!!
Mandy H review for Midamerica Basement Systems
Mandy H on BBB

a year ago

02/18/2021, 00:33 AM
I had a wonderful experience with MidAmerica Basement Systems & highly recommend them if your having any waterproofing needs. My project: I purchased my home 3.5 years ago & it started getting water in the basement last year after the outside drainage & tiling system put in my previous owners failed miserably. It would literally be full days of pumping water out of multiple locations in my basement. There were issues of moisture even with two dehumidifiers running & subfloors the crew took out & cleaned up after as well. Scheduling: They will schedule a ways out for appointments but only because it's a high demand working system. Others may be able to offer services quicker but there is likely a reason they are not busy. I got several bids in the time I waited for my MidAmerica Basement Systems appointment & encourage you to as well but definitely wait until after your appointment to make a decision. They were not the cheapest but had the best guarantee (100%), best working system, and a few things I've learned in my 20 years of homeownership is if you go cheap & need to redo it your typically spending more than if you did it right the first time & your home is not something to skimp on or take chances. MidAmerica Basement Systems will send you detailed emails as to what you can expect for each appointment. They will mail you a packet of information regarding different systems that work vs fail & throughly explain the dangers & hazards water/moisture in your home will cause. Our basement got so bad from the Derecho the only dry place was in our basement was the shower & my celing developed black mold quickly from the moisture. Not only did they offer a system to waterproof my basement but a whole house dehumidifier & air purifier which would have saved my ceiling if I had earlier. Sales: I had Justin A for sales & he was very thorough in listening to my problems & needs as well as took his time in explaining & showing me how they could fix my issues, how the system works, as well as answering all of my questions with detail & no hurry. He was absolutely great about changes I made in adding work later on (before my appointment) as well. He doesn't make it feel like a sales pitch, is not pushy at all, & really works to get you the most work in your budget (prep & finish work offered), as well as taking his time with you through the entire process. The office crew: The office staff was very polite & helpful. I mostly worked with Desiree S & *** B who are extremely responsive in working with me. The Crew: My crew consisted of Brandon T, Sam G, & Ethan T who I highly recommend! These young men are the exact type you want on your project! They are polite, respectful, hard working, efficient, trust worthy & have a great work ethic! They not only got the job done in the time allotted but left my basement incredibly clean which I didn't expect. They thoroughly go over the work before & after as well as answer any questions you have along the way & explain in detail any changes if something isn't to plan before just doing something differently. They called before heading to my house as well which I thought was very courteous. I imagine they have a lot of great workers but anyone I know that I send their way, I'll have them ask for these men as the crew on their home. Overall: Overall I give them 5 stars & they earned it all the way. I will say it's winter so not when one typically gets water in their basement so *I am unable to review how the system actually works fairly. I do, however, plan to leave another review after we get some lovely wet Iowa spring weather or melting of our snow mountains to test it out. I don't expect my review to change & feel confident in the upcoming months & years. Thank you MidAmerica Basement Systems!
Business Response:

Mandy, Thank you so much for your very positive feedback. It has been our pleasure to serve you! The MidAmerica Basement Systems Team.

Dawn M review for Midamerica Basement Systems
Dawn M on BBB

3 years ago

10/25/2019, 02:49 AM
Dawn M. Right now not pleased at all. Work on our basement was shoddy. Took over 3 weeks to get somone to come out and take care of issues. We thought a whole crew would be returning.A gentleman from Mid America basement that came out on Oct 19th stated that all that needed to be redone was more than he could do. He, said, " I will take all info and pictures back to the office, and you will be put on our Hghest Priority List. A few days later my husband gets a call from Mid America basements and said, a crew will be out in December. We have steele beams that can't be put back up, to support our basement walls, a toliet that can't be put back due to work that needs to be corrected and numerous other issues. I called, and was connected to a manager, who stated that's the best they can do, having a crew come back in Dec. We'd be placed on I guess a cancellation list, that might be sooner. This is highly unexceptable!! It's not our fault the work wasn't done correctly which was in September. If the work was done correctly in the first place I wouldn't be doing this type of review. Will be contacting the BBB... Very unhappy!!!
Business Response:

We are truly sorry that the work was not performed well. We have spoken to Mr. M at some time and he seemed to be okay with the schedule date to perform the rework. It's not as though we are not trying to correct the problem. I have spoken to our production/service scheduling department and we have found an earlier date to take care of the situation for you. They should be in contact with you today to get you an earlier date. I am not certain what took place with your project, that allowed it to be done incorrectly, but be assured that we will take care of it! Again I am truly sorry that you have had a poor experience with our company, but we will do everything we can to make it right for you.

Respond to negative reviews
James R review for Midamerica Basement Systems
James R on BBB

3 years ago

06/08/2019, 04:49 AM
For Adao and Pete; and customer service.. Great job guys fast and friendly and their equipment is awesome. Best I've had period. Also when there busy as recently with all the rain, they still gave time to me for my problems. Good bunch of people their. Thanks James R
Business Response:

James, So glad that you are pleased with our service. With the rain that we have had, we have had some trying times with servicing our homeowners the way we like to. We appreciate the business and hope you continue to enjoy our level of service. I'll be sure to pass on the appreciation to Adao, Pete and customer service. Howard

Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.