Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Kwan's Original Cuisine

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.3
307 reviews
|Gift Shops|Salem, OR 97302

835 Commercial St SE, Salem, OR 97302

(503) 362-7711

https://www.hugedomains.com/domain_profile.cfm?d=kwanscuisine&e=com

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Retail in your area
5.0
(2) · Gift Shops

911 Sw 10th Ave

(503) 299-6100

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(10) · Retail

7832 SW Capitol Hwy

(503) 244-9683
5.0
(2) · Retail

7910 SE Stark St

(503) 254-7616

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(4) · Gift Shops

4004 Bass Ln

(503) 816-7163
4.9
(34) · Gift Shops

7007 SE Milwaukie Ave

(503) 232-3737

2 people are looking at this business

4.9
(12) · Gift Shops

15135 SW Barrows Rd #141

(503) 524-6616
About

Kwan"s is a conveniently located establishment which offers excellent customer service and high quality menu with selections that cater to healthy eating as well as Gluten Free Meals. Kwan's is well known for accommodating customer's special needs such as food allergies and other health restrictions. We also offer a wide variety of Vegetarian and Vegan dishes as well. The roots of Kwan's awards for being voted as the "Best Asian" restaurant in Salem six years in a row go back to the dedicated work ethic of Master Chef and Owner Kam Sang Kwan. At age 11, he got his first restaurant experience in a cafe. By 12 or 13, he decided to learn English to be able to communicate with foreign customers.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.3
307 reviews
5203
  
447
  
317
  
210
  
124
  
6 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Jason C. review for Kwan's Original Cuisine
Jason C. on Yellow Pages

5 years ago

08/12/2016, 13:42 PM
Food tastes OK. Way over priced, especially for just OK Chinese. I took my mom dad and myself and it was over 160.00 i only ate the appetizer. I had a water so did my mom and my dad got a soda, my dad and mom got actual dinner plates. I don't recommend if you want to spend less than $50.00 for one person.
Orey I. review for Kwan's Original Cuisine
Orey I. on Yellow Pages

6 years ago

01/25/2016, 15:14 PM
I have been going there for over the past twenty years and the food is always great. Perfectly cooked with fresh ingredients and very tasty.It's the best Chinese food in Oregon. :-)
Garry T review for Kwan's Original Cuisine
Garry T on Dex Knows

8 years ago

04/17/2014, 13:46 PM
Great Lunch with friends Had lunch at Kwan's yesterday and it was great and it was very healthy. I ordered his red rice with my meal and it was different and very good. More than enough food. I was in a group of 5 and one of the others purchased 1 pound of the red rice to go. There is no MSG in our meals and he said he would cook a special meal if we had special needs. WOW ! ! Kwan also came out and talked with us for a few minutes and then went annd prepared out lunch. Recommend trying Kwan's if you haven't already. Obviously I am sold.
Featured content
Review manager vs. reputation management: what's the difference?

Review manager vs. reputation management: what's the difference?

Review manager vs. reputation management: what's the difference?
Why Copying and Pasting your Good Reviews is a Bad Idea

Why Copying and Pasting your Good Reviews is a Bad Idea

Why Copying and Pasting your Good Reviews is a Bad Idea
warning review for Kwan's Original Cuisine
warning on Dex Knows

11 years ago

02/23/2011, 13:30 PM
not all that happy my husband and i went to Kwan's last saturday for lunch. he doesn't care for oriental food so ordered fish and chips. I ordered pork chowmein with dry noodles. My food was not quite hot but i was hungary so ate it anyway. my husbands fish looked pretty good so had one of his fish pieces too. I came down with food poisioning the next day about 10 am. I believe the chowmein was not heated enough to kill some germs or something and i shouldn't have eaten it "warm". needless to say its the last time there for us. we'v lived in Salem our whole life and will go back to the basics as far as resturaunts go. thanks.
Respond to negative reviews
kikicat528 review for Kwan's Original Cuisine
kikicat528 on Citysearch

11 years ago

10/21/2010, 04:38 AM
Average typical chinese restaurant – We go out to eat pretty often and enjoy trying new places throughout the valley and coast. This however, is just another typical Chinese restaurant, nothing extraordinary about it. We have been here a few times before and haven't had a bad experience and like the close proximity to our house, but other than that, it's okay. This last time we visited, they must have changed cooks or something because their food was very very salty, from the egg flower soup to the entrees themselves. We complained to the waitress, whom has waited on us before and she told us she would let the cook know. A few minutes later she came to ask us if we did not eat much salt! We felt like they were putting the blame on us! A business that wants to keep it's customers will not come back and tell you something like that, they will want to do something about it. We ended up not eating the rest of the food and yet we were still charged for the whole dinner. WE WILL NOT COME BACK......our new best place now is GOLD DRAGON on COMMERCIAL ST SOUTH (fresher, much better tasting, NOT SALTY food)
AshHousewares review for Kwan's Original Cuisine
AshHousewares on Dex Knows

11 years ago

08/23/2010, 11:10 AM
Strawberry Chicken Kwan's is awesome, their staff is helpful and attentive and Mr. Kwan usually walks the floor and talks to everyone.
Bobby review for Kwan's Original Cuisine
Bobby on Dex Knows

12 years ago

05/05/2010, 14:52 PM
Great Restaurant I moved to Portland, but whenever I can I visit Kwan's.I just love the atmosphere, service and great food.
Lennon C. review for Kwan's Original Cuisine
Lennon C. on Insider Pages

12 years ago

02/16/2010, 09:00 AM
Eh The food is ok, but overpriced. The decor is old and dirty looking, and the servers are never welcoming or prompt. I never like dining here, not matter how many times I give it a try.
Paula G. review for Kwan's Original Cuisine
Paula G. on Insider Pages

13 years ago

07/23/2009, 04:24 AM
Best Chinese in Salem. One of my favorites. They have the best atmosphere. The food is very good. They have the best pot stickers I have tasted. They have traditional Chinese, but also offer Emu and other items not often seen. Good quality preparation. Mr Kwan is great...plus you can watch them cook. Fun for the whole family.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.