Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Koppers Chocolate

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
5.0
9 reviews
|Other|New York, NY 10014

179 W 4th St, Ste 2, New York, NY 10014

(212) 352-1171

https://www.varsanos.com/

Closed now
Suggest edits
Top Other in your area
5.0
(1) · Other

3 Ricki Ln

(845) 469-6000

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(1) · Other

105-25 65 ave suite P3

(718) 490-8759

2 people are looking at this business

5.0
(4) · Other

260 39th St

(718) 499-6793

2 people are looking at this business

5.0
(2) · Other

480 New Rochelle Rd

(914) 663-8342
5.0
(1) · Other

15 Alexander Pl

(914) 384-7110

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(2) · Other
About

Varsanos Chocolates is located at 179 W 4th St, New York, NY. This location is in the West Village neighborhood. This business specializes in Candy & Sweets and has 11 review(s) with a star rating of 4.7.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

5.0
9 reviews
51
  
40
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
8 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
sihui on Citysearch

13 years ago

03/07/2009, 01:44 AM
Good chocolate at a reasonable price. – I am a chocolate lover, and I like the simple chocolate bars. Varsano has mastered the art of chocolate tempering, which gives the bar a very nice crisp snap when you break it, and the cacao he uses has a wonderful earthy deep after taste, which is an indication that the beans have been fermented well. Try and I guarantee that you will come back for more!
Stella Franci on Merchant Circle

13 years ago

12/23/2008, 04:40 AM
Once you have tasted Varsano's chocolates you will not go anywhere else for your chocolate. I personally love the Dark Chocolate covered Marzipan, Almond Bark, Cranberry Crunch, Candied Ginger and Orange peel. My favorite of the truffles is the Grand Marnier although the Square truffle is also really popular. But on a day to day basis I can go for Chocolate covered Pretzels or Coconut clusters. Whatever you choose you will not be disappointed. I have no problem traveling downtown to get my fix. Truly worth a visit. You will not be disappointed.
HeyYouItsMike on Citysearch

13 years ago

09/17/2008, 03:07 AM
Best chocolate in NYC – I first went to Varsano's the late 90's, randomly wandering in to pick up a last-minute gift, and I've been coming back ever since. In my opinion, Varsano's has the best chocolate in NYC, with Jacques Torres being an extremely close second. Varsano's offerings tend to be extremely rich and creamy, and the truffles are simply phenomenal - they make Godiva taste like Hershey's in comparison. I also highly recomment going for the pretzel dipped in caramel and chocolate, they are outstanding. The service is also impeccable - I've been doing business here at least once a month for the past 10 years and have never had a single problem. It's also nice to be able to talk to the owner when I come in, which you don't see often these days. I've also done custom orders and been blown away by the quality and taste. Varsano's is on the pricey side, but that's understandable considering how much commodity prices have gone up in recent years.
Featured content
How do I keep track of my reviews On Google?

How do I keep track of my reviews On Google?

How do I keep track of my reviews On Google?
Why You Should Display Reviews on Your Website

Why You Should Display Reviews on Your Website

Why You Should Display Reviews on Your Website
grotunda on Citysearch

14 years ago

12/13/2007, 07:54 AM
DO NOT MISS VARSANO's – This place has the best candy I've ever tasted...hands down... and I have eaten my share of candy you know... The freshest, most delicious, most splendid candy of all time! Every time I vist the city, I make way to see Marc and get some of his awesome stem-on milk chocolate cherry cordials. Call ahead for even better results. These folks do everything the make the customer happy. Outstanding service! You can really tell the Marc LOVES what he does! and we do too! Dont waste your time with the hoity-doity candy makers in New York, go to Varsano's.
dantheman82 on Citysearch

14 years ago

09/13/2007, 07:06 AM
Fresh chocolates, friendly service, great price! What more to ask... – Came in without much of an idea of what to get for a box to ship out. Mark (I think that's who helped me) was friendly and helpful and it was a real pleasure! He knows his customers personally (previous customer was definitely there before and he knew just what she wanted too) and is extremely low-key so don't worry about getting something pushed in your face. After getting a box sent out, he offered me to try a couple for free. They were really good, quite fresh, and extremely tasty! Price was great too, and you can make any variety you want to personalize it to your tastes (milk/dark, chocolate covered pretzels, crackers, etc.) Highly recommended, and I think I'll be back again... :)
frosogg on Citysearch

16 years ago

11/07/2005, 06:48 AM
Delicious Homemade Chocolates! – I have been visiting Mark at Varsano's for 10 years (ever since I started college) -- and he recognizes me every time I come (even though I only go about 4-5 times a year now -- I live out of the area) The chocolates are amazing fresh, tons of variety and you cannot ask for better service. The truffles, caramels, strawberries, etc are all excellent, but the BEST!!!!!! thing ever is the pretzel rod dipped in caramel and chocolate -- TO DIE FOR! They are not in the store all of the time (according to Mark, they take a long time to make and sell out ASAP), so call ahead to see if they are available -- they are worth it! In short, this chocolate shop puts large stores like Godiva to shame -- the chocolate is out of this world!
bretschger on Citysearch

17 years ago

03/31/2004, 05:13 AM
YUMMMMMMMM!!!!!!!!!! – A chocolate lover's heaven!!!! One can WATCH Mark, the owner, dip the scrumptious marzipan into the chocolate, let it cool, and eat it immediately. This place is incredible. Everyone who works there is unbelievably nice, knowledgeable and helpful. I give these chocolates as gifts and get a new person hooked every time. My personal fave are the dark chocolate smores and dark chocolate covered marshmallows- but I have yet to try anything I didn't LOVE!
blatantdream on Citysearch

19 years ago

02/22/2003, 11:35 AM
Hidden Gem on West 4th – I am a regular at this small chocolate shop. I always come to buy at least a pound of their delectable hand made creations. The variety of chocolates are unbelievably huge for such a small place. They also have specials for every occasion like hand dipped giant strawberries for this Valentine's Day. Some of my favorites are the Mint Chocolate Truffles, Caramel center chocolate hearts, Raspberry Chocolate Truffles... and just everything chocolate in the store! The two people who own/work at the store are so helpful and friendly so don't be afraid to ask them for suggestions/gift ideas. Also the chocolates are so reasonably priced that it's ok to buy from this place frequently as I do. I hope this place will bring you as much joy as it does to me.
PRWCUSA on Citysearch

19 years ago

07/24/2002, 09:39 AM
Factory Made - NOT! – If you have never tasted Fresh Handmade Chocolates this is the place to go. You will never go back to Factory Made Chocolates. You like Truffles? You'll Drool!! You like Nuts? Then the Nut Patties (Chocolate, Nuts and Carmel) or Almond Butter Crunch are for you. You like Creams or Caramels? You'll just love them. I promise you, you're friends will love you (or hate you for the temptation) for sending them a gift from this chocolate store. They use the highest grade and best tasting chocolate I've ever had and I've tried them all. You think it they will dip it for you (within reason and notice). Since I discovered this store 5 years ago, neither I nor my friends go anywhere else. Don't deny yourself. Get yourself to 179 West 4th Street and enjoy,
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.