Logo White
Watch Demo

House of Brides

Own this business?

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
3.1
156 reviews
|Bridal|Glen Ellyn, IL 60137

1184 Roosevelt Rd, Glen Ellyn, IL 60137

(630) 629-4040

https://www.houseofbrides.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Consumer Goods in your area
5.0
(29) · Bridal

702 W Golf Rd

(847) 259-3950
5.0
(5) · Consumer Goods

5200 S Archer Ave

(773) 581-8200

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(37) · Consumer Goods

494 Crescent Blvd

(630) 790-1328

1 person is looking at this business

4.9
(14) · Bridal

114 E Oak St

(312) 255-1170

1 person is looking at this business

4.9
(31) · Consumer Goods

12420 Archer Ave

(630) 257-2774

4 people are looking at this business

4.9
(296) · Bridal

827 North Washington Street

(630) 428-1414
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 60,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
3.1
156 reviews
565
  
414
  
35
  
210
  
157
  
5 reviews have no rating
  • 145 Reviews3.2Google
  • 6 Reviews2.7Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Tereasa C. on Citysearch

8 years ago

09/04/2012, 01:39 AM
This place is so unprofessional they give you incorrect dates to when your dresses will be in. No one updates you with information regarding your order. I ordered my dress in december and they gave me a date in june, my dress did not come until the end of july almost August no one seems to know anything but you pay your money in advance and in full and still no information on your items. I read the reviews and decided to give them a chance wrong answer. This place is a joke you stay on hold for almost an hour before anyone answer. My advice to anyone who wants a dress from them look at the dress there and find another place to get your dress. Please heave this warning if they call you for your dress and tell you that they are in (BRIDES) they will then tell you to call the alterations department to set up an appointment. Mind you ladies I had never tried on this dress and the lady told me it will be $375.00 for alterations and she said that is for everything I told her what would be everything and I never tried on the dress I told her I will just pick up my dress and take it else where then her whole tone change said let just try it on and you may not need any alterations. The joke was on her cause my god grace I needed not one alteration or hem. The only thing was Jennifer S. was attentive, very excited about your day, she always had a smile, and she never left your side and helped you. This is a big joke.
superior2u on Citysearch

8 years ago

08/03/2012, 01:39 AM
DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!!! They do not follow up on their orders and they do not deliver products as promised. I ordered and paid for a dress in March, was told I would get the dress in June and did not receive the dress until August. I had to email battle with them the entire month of July explaining my fiancées daughter would be leaving the state July 31st and I HAD to have the dress prior to her leaving only to receive the dress one day after she left because they shipped standard ground shipping instead of overnight. Thank you for absolutely nothing!!!! Not to mention one of the people I had to deal with so beyond rude-Joan is the worst customer service employee I have ever encountered. If you must order from this company I suggest you lie about the event date-by at least two months. That way you might have a change of getting what you ordered in time. But I would highly recommend not using this company for anything. Oh how I wished I had read these reviews before I ordered from this terrible company!
Anne W. on Insider Pages

8 years ago

06/20/2012, 01:43 AM
SAY "I DON'T" to House Of Brides IF I COULD GIVE A SCORE OF 0 I WOULD. DO NOT USE HOUSE OF BRIDES UNLESS YOU WANT YOUR WEDDING TO BE RUINED. We chose House of Brides because it was the site with the cheapest dresses we could find on the internet. We ordered our bridesmaid dresses in late January for my best friend's wedding which was May 18. House of Brides notified us that we would be getting our dresses in mid April. When May 1st rolled around we decided to take matters into our own hands and contact House of Brides. It was not until I took initiative myself that they realized there was a problem. After about 50+ phone calls to them over a 2 week span (since they never can call anyone back) we figured everything out, or at least we thought we did. So many things went wrong, one of the dresses was completely wrong. We were to have short red sweetheart neckline dresses and one of the girls got a long halter top dress. House of Brides knew they would not have have the time to have the designer make this dress, so they made a make shift one. As for the other dresses, we got them A DAY before the wedding. I had to get mine altered and had to spend an arm and a leg on alterations since it was such short notice. Another girl got in on the day of the wedding since she was from out of town and the dress that was delivered to her parent's house was actually the wrong dress as well. It was a long dress with a halter top. She had to rush to an alterations store to take care of it ON THE DAY OF THE WEDDING and she had to miss the bridesmaids luncheon and hair/ makeup appts. I called and called House of Brides for them to do something for all of us. All I asked for was a partial refund for the girls who got their dresses the day before the wedding and a full refund for the girls whose dresses were wrong. I do not know what they did about the girls whose dresses were wrong but I know as for the partial refund they refused to give that to us. They blamed the designer's lateness and did not take any form of responsibility. All I got was a "Sorry for any stressed caused". It was not a sincere apology at all. No bride should ever have to go through a bridesmaids dress fiasco like my best friend did and they won't as long as they DO NOT USE HOUSE OF BRIDES. Yes, they might be cheap but their customer service is terrible and they do not care about you or your wedding what-so-ever. Your weddings is supposed to be an exciting time and House of Brides only brings stress and unhappiness. Say "I DON'T" to House of Brides.
Respond to negative reviews
Featured content
How to Track Competitor's Customer Reviews and Use Them to Your Advantage

How to Track Competitor's Customer Reviews and Use Them to Your Advantage

How to Track Competitor's Customer Reviews and Use Them to Your Advantage
Negative feedback examples and how doctors can respond effectively

Negative feedback examples and how doctors can respond effectively

Negative feedback examples and how doctors can respond effectively
Lindsey H. on Citysearch

8 years ago

04/15/2012, 01:38 AM
TERRIBLE – Below is my written complaint to House of Brides Glen Ellyn After reading terrible reviews online I hesitantly went to the HOB in Glen Ellyn, Illinois just to try on a dress I had seen online. I had planned to order the dress from a different salon after reading horror stories of dress after dress not coming in on time. But after working with a wonderful consultant (Jennifer S.)I felt comforted that everything would go as planned and I ordered my dress and hairpiece for HOB. I placed my order in October 2011. Thank goodness that my dress did come in on time. The hairpiece is another story. As I mentioned, I ordered the dress and hairpiece in October. In March when the hairpiece had still not arrived I began calling the salon. I called SEVEN times with no response. Each time I called I left a message for the manager who never returned my call to update me on where the hairpiece was. As my hair trial got closer I decided to stop in the salon and of course the manager was not working. I furiously left a written message. I finally got a rude response saying that the hairpiece would be in the next day and they would call me to come pick it up. After three more days I called again to see what the issue was. THEY SHIPPED THE HAIRPIECE TO THE WAREHOUSE! Which meant it would not be in on time for my hair trial. I still did not get to talk to the manager and was instructed to call back to either have the hairpiece shipped to the Glen Ellyn location or cancel it. Either way I would not have it in time. I called to cancel and still have not heard back from the manager after 3 phone calls. I am at a complete loss of how a business could run like this. The reviews were right, no one returns your calls and products do not come in on time. I plan to post this review on every website I can find, and if things do not get worked out I plan to contact the Better Business Bureau. It is absolutely absurd that I have paid for merchandise and been treated this way. Please know that I will let all my bride friends know of the trouble HOB has caused me and what a terrible experience I have had.
CMR77 on Citysearch

9 years ago

08/19/2011, 01:02 AM
UNPROFESSIONAL, IRRESPONCIBLE, DISRESPECTFUL & DECEITFUL – Heartbreak!!!! UNPROFESSIONAL, IRRESPONCIBLE, DISRESPECTFUL, and DECEITFUL are the adjectives to describe the HOUSE OF BRIDES and their employees. Ordered/ paid in full for my dress 9 months ago and was told it should only take 4-5 months at the most for it to arrive. On multiple occasions was called and told my dress had arrived. Only to find out that it had not. They gave me a 2nd date for sure when it would be in, again no dress to be found. I called several times over several weeks looking for updates. Every time they asked me for my name and information placed me on hold and ironically each time I got disconnected. I would call back and no one would pick up, I would be placed on hold for 30 minutes before getting disconnected yet again, or heard responses like ?the person you are looking for my just stepped out?. Needless to say it is less than 40 days until my wedding when they notified me that I would not get my dress. Too bad I did not check reviews before walking in. I wonder if they understand Karma, because what goes around comes around.
Olesya G. on Insider Pages

10 years ago

02/21/2011, 00:11 AM
Bad customer service My experience with HOB was really bad. I went with my friend, the bride, and a few of the bridesmaids to pick out the bridesmaids dresses. When we got there the receptionist didn't even look up at us and just muttered out some orders to register. Then she had us wait for about 20 minutes even though we had called for an appointment earlier. After we got our consultant she didn't even help us look for dresses she set us loose in the dress section, which didn't even have a large selection, and left. She didn't come back for like another 20 minutes and then only helped us try one one dress. She was no help. We decided to leave and while we were walking out we tried to tell her that we were leaving and she didn't even look at us. She never even introduced herself so i wouldn't be able to tell you her name. We decided to go to Davids Bridal and they took us without an appointment and were extremely nice to us. They helped us the whole way through and we were able to find nice dresses at an affordable price. I recommend not going to the HOB in Glen Ellyn but Davids Bridal, which is about 2 minutes away.
Respond to negative reviews
alex s. on Insider Pages

10 years ago

02/06/2011, 00:13 AM
Fran is awesome I had an awesome experience with HOB. Not only was my consultant Fran a nice lady, she never pushed me to by a dress. She had me try on so many dresses and the one I wanted to try on they actually didn't have there. She was so kind as to go on her day off and get the dress from a different location so I could try it on. Needless to say, the dress was the one! When we finished placing an order for the dress she told me it would come within 4-5 months. 3 months later, and I already got my dress! I cannot wait for my wedding day so I can actually wear it!
lora d. on Insider Pages

10 years ago

01/24/2011, 00:17 AM
Had GREAT experience. I recently bought my dress from HOB in Glen Ellyn, IL. I had a wonderful experience. Not only did I have a great wedding consultant, Jen. She was not only very nice, but funny, and found the dress of my dreams. I ordered my dress, and they originally said about 4 months before it should be in, I rec'd a call within 2 1/2 months! I had absolutely NO problems with HOB and I would recommend them to any bride. I went to a few "other" bridal stores before going to HOB and just didnt like their customer service. so HOB was by far the best in my book.
Jamie S. on Insider Pages

13 years ago

01/28/2008, 00:11 AM
awful customer service I have heard too many stories of people having bad experiences at this shop. I even know an former employee that quite because she couldn't stand to work for a shop that treated its customers so badly. She said that people only cared about their commission checks.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.