Logo White
Watch Demo

Grandview Travel

Own this business?

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.2
32 reviews
|Travel Services|Columbus, OH 43212

1540 W 5th Ave, Columbus, OH 43212

(614) 486-1943

https://grandviewtravel.com/

Open now:9:00 am - 6:00 pm

Google

Suggest edits
Top Hospitality in your area
5.0
(23) · Hospitality

1 Public Square

(740) 397-2091

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(5) · Hospitality

712 N Burnett Rd

(855) 750-5306
5.0
(2) · Travel Services

2152 Olde Sawmill Blvd

(614) 766-5625
4.8
(33) · Hospitality

840 Sunbury Rd

(740) 363-1928
4.7
(43) · Travel Services

921 Chatham Ln Suite 301

(614) 286-7799

1 person is looking at this business

4.7
(43) · Travel Services

480 S 3rd St

(614) 237-4488

3 people are looking at this business

About

Serving Columbus since 1989, Grandview Travel is one of central Ohio's leading travel agencies. We offer high quality, personalized service. Our travel advisors have a combined 100 years of experience and have traveled throughout the world. We are available 9:00 am - 5:30 pm Monday-Friday and evenings and Saturdays by appointment.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 60,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.2
32 reviews
520
  
40
  
30
  
20
  
15
  
7 reviews have no rating
  • 24 Reviews4.3Google
  • 1 Review1.0Yellow Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Gina M. on Yellow Pages

2 years ago

07/04/2018, 03:00 AM
Awful Awful experience. We used Susan to help us plan our trip to Italy, and ended up having to do most of the planning ourselves. Be aware that you have to pay a "planning fee" which I've now learned that many other agencies do not charge. Susan did not comply with our request regarding the number of days we wanted to stay in each location, as the hotel she wanted to book for us was booked on the days we would be there. Instead of giving us another hotel option, she changed the number of days we were spending in each location. She also was unable to give me a breakout of what I was being charged for for each excursion, and lumped everything together. Talk about sketchy! She charged my credit card for the final trip cost without my approving or agreeing to it and also didn't respond to e-mails weeks before the trip. When reaching back out to her, her response was she was basically really busy. We contacted the owner (Rob), and he did nothing to make it right. The only positive thing I can say is that the hotel locations were good, although not the nicest hotels. One hotel didn't have air conditioning and smelled awful. Instead of using Grandview Travel, use Airbnb or another agency that isn't going to scam you and will list out prices. If you want lack of communication/transparency, more stress traveling to a place you've never been and don't think it's odd that you're being asked to pay a large chunk of your money for excursions that your agent cannot tell you the price of, then by all means, use Grandview Travel to book your trip. Just keep in mind that they make commission off of what they book under your name. To not tell you the price of what you're actually paying for is just wrong. I would never in a million years recommend this agency to anyone.
Respond to negative reviews
Rob S. on Citysearch

4 years ago

04/30/2016, 03:18 AM
Used Grandview Travel for our honeymoon trip to St. Lucia. We went to the airport at 4:00 AM only to find out that our flight had been dropped. Grandview travel had been notified by both gogotravel and Delta that flight was dropped and should have changed itinerary, but they dropped the ball. After 4-5 hours, Rob Elking finally got back to us on his cell phone. He was completely unapologetic, and did nothing whatsoever to mitigate the situation. We had to go back to the airport at 4:00 AM on Sunday and start our vacation a day later. Rob did absolutely nothing and acted like he did us a favor. I asked if I could speak to his supervisor and guess what his reply was? "I am the Owner". Well there you go. That definitely wasn't the last issue we had with the trip. When they shifted everything over, he lost our place on everything like we had a helicopter trip booked back to the airport, we went to the end of the line and got waitlisted. Rob, the owner did absolutely nothing to help us as usual aside from state the obvious each time to us. If you are planning a trip anywhere, don't use these guys, they are terrible; they have no idea what they are doing and could care less what people think about them. On top of that, the owner is an absolute a-hole.
Andrea S. on Citysearch

4 years ago

04/30/2016, 03:00 AM
If I could give zero stars I would. I felt extremely unprepared when leaving for my honeymoon and had been in constant communication months and days leading up to our departure. I asked when I could stop and pick up the travel package/documents and they said anytime after Wednesday. When I arrived Friday none of the documents were prepared. I even emailed 3 days before the trip and was ensured by Rob Elking, the owner, that everything was all set to go! My husband and I were supposed to leave on our honeymoon on Saturday April 9 at 7:10am. All travel documents (4 different Go-Go travel itineraries) stated our Delta flight was to leave at 7:10am. We arrived at the airport at 5:30 to ensure ample time to check-in, but come to find our flight was changed in January and Grandview Travel was notified by Go-Go Travel in March. None of our documents were updated, none of our flights were changed or checked by Grandview Travel and at 6am we could not get ahold of anyone at the travel agency to find out why we were not heading to St Lucia. After finally getting in contact with Rob after 9:30am, he kept telling us it wasn't his fault and it must have been Go-Go Travels fault. Mind you - there are NO FIGHTS available into St Lucia after 9:45am. Rob refused to take the blame or do anything to help our travel situation, when it was clearly their fault based on the documentation Go-Go Travel shared with us about the change in flight schedule. Therefore we had to change our honeymoon to Sunday - Sunday. Countless emails and phone calls were exchanged back and forth and the customer service we received was far from kind or reassuring we were actually going on our honeymoon the next day. We had to change our own flights with Delta and the helicopter ride to the resort we booked. Rob did change the dates at Sandals but none of the documents at Sandals were adjusted so we had to explain our story time after time to make sure we were getting what we signed up for. After getting up 2 days in a row at 2:30am to drive to the airport we were completely exhausted and couldn't even enjoy our first day on the island. Our returning flight has the same problem. We were put on standby with the return helicopter flight to the airport because it was not updated when he told us he changed the travel dates with the resort, returning helicopter and flights. After we brought it to his attention all he could say was "There might be exit row seating available from St Lucia today on Delta . Ask the agent and she/he can handle this." Why couldn't he just change it for us? Why do I have to go to the desk and pay to upgrade when that is the least Rob could do for us? He never once offered to upgrade our flights, pay for an excursion, or offer any kind of refund for the trouble we had to go through. Another thing I did notice was the $100 Cameron Mitchell gift card incentive to travel through Grandview Travel, I brought it to Rob's attention days before we were supposed to leave because I noticed it wasn't included in the unprepared travel documents. He mailed us $75 with a card that had 2 spelling errors, really?? Needless to say we booked through a travel agency to ensure a stress free trip for our honeymoon and it was nothing but a travel disaster.
Featured content
How to ask for feedback from customers: Three sample emails

How to ask for feedback from customers: Three sample emails

How to ask for feedback from customers: Three sample emails
Negative feedback examples and how doctors can respond effectively

Negative feedback examples and how doctors can respond effectively

Negative feedback examples and how doctors can respond effectively
Grandview Travel on Citysearch

9 years ago

10/12/2011, 04:47 AM
"Grandview Travel was knowledgeable, responsive and detail-oriented while planning our dream honeymoon. It was by far my best experience with a travel agent. I am looking forward to planning our anniversary trips for years to come with Grandview Travel." "Satisfied Customer"
ceresmary on Citysearch

10 years ago

11/07/2010, 02:04 AM
Please do yourself a favor, read these reviews!!! – I absolutely concurr with the Angelamae and more. Look, you want an agent that is going to do your work for you, right? Otherwise it's best to just book your trips directly (disney/cruise ships/inclusive vacation resorts/etc). The person who booked our trip took us for a ride. We didn't get a room, but rather was on 'room standby' waiting until the cruise gave us a room. I ended up calling our cruise ship directly and worked everything out with a coordinator for the cruiseline. Please do research before hiring an agent. Make sure they've been in the field a while before having them plan your trip. The agent even boasted with us about a complaint from a Honeymooning couple in Greece that hated the hotel they stuck the couple with! This is NOT an endorsement. I really suggest contacting ASTA or begin your search by finding a seasoned agent who specializes in your specific area of travel (ie, if you want Disney, get a Disney agent). Otherwise, good luck.
angelamae on Citysearch

11 years ago

02/18/2010, 02:52 AM
what a joke! – He booked our flight and hotel, & finally booked a rental car after telling him 3 times that we needed a car. He did not book our trip through Walt Disney World-even though that was what our trip was about-so we had to make all those plans too. He did not offer to help with that or give any info about it. He had to scramble to get our car for us b/c he didn't do it to start. When our flight was cancelled d/t weather, the 1800 # told us there was nothing they could do, so we had to take care of the hotel and flight ourselves as well. I kept thinking this was a joke, but they were so terrible from Grandview Travel to the help line. I learned that this travel agency is only good for booking a flight and hotel, so I will do that on my own next time. If you want any help w/planning of your vacation, DO NOT use this company!
emilyallen on Citysearch

12 years ago

02/27/2009, 00:58 AM
Best Travel Agency – My husband and I recently returned home from a winter vacation get-a-way to the Caribbean that Grandview Travel on W %th Ave planned for us. I am writing this review because of the outstanding service we received from Grandview Travel. After searching the net for good deals, we just became frustrated with all the hotels and airfares and different prices we found. Plus, we thought, who will help us if there is a problem when are are out of the country? At that point I asked some friends and family if they had ever used a travel agency and who they would recommend. After I heard Grandview Travel twice I called and I am SO glad I did. I spoke to 2 agents there before we made a reservation. These agents were most helpful and patient with all my questions. Our Travel Agent was awesome! She was able to find us a great air and hotel package at the Grace Bay Club in the Turks and Caicos that saved us about $300 per person PLUS we received a free upgraded room at the resort when we arrived. I highly recommend both Grandview Travel and the Grace Bay Club. We came home with great memories to last a life time!!!!
AllisonCorinne on Citysearch

12 years ago

02/18/2009, 00:50 AM
Grandview Travel is a nightmare- do not use!! – I am trying to plan my honeymoon I have had problem after problem with this agency. I would never recommend Grandview Travel to anyone. I would actually advise that you stay well away from this group. There are hidden fees I was charged for without my consent and I have gotten awful service- even going to the management did not help my situation, so beware.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.