Logo White
Watch Demo

Glen Ellyn Bank & Trust

Own this business?
2.3
25 reviews
|Finance|Glen Ellyn, IL 60137

357 Roosevelt Rd, Glen Ellyn, IL 60137

(630) 469-3000

https://www.glenellynbank.com/content/wintrust/wheatonbank/glenellynbank/en.html

Open now:8:00 am - 5:00 pm

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Finance in your area
5.0
(1) · Banks

15 Salt Creek Ln

(630) 986-0900
5.0
(10) · Finance

7800 Lincoln Ave

(847) 933-1900
5.0
(10) · Banks

200 E Randolph St

(312) 565-5700
5.0
(2) · Finance

699 W Dundee Rd

(847) 459-1150
5.0
(2) · Banks

133 N York St

(630) 782-1234
5.0
(1) · Finance

9204 Columbia Ave # 1

(219) 836-4400
About

Specialties Glen Ellyn Bank & Trust, a Wintrust Community Bank, offers banking solutions tailored to our customers, their needs, and our area. No matter what your financial need, we can help. But, we also go above and beyond basic banking solutions. We host financial education courses, hold community events, and throw neighborhood cookouts. We believe a bank should be a true asset to the area it serves. Our employees serve on local boards, participate in and sponsor community events, and volunteer for local organizations. We work hard to better our community and we take great pride in that commitment. History Established in 1993. The Wintrust Community Bank family began over a card table, a

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
2.3
25 reviews
56
  
42
  
30
  
20
  
116
  
1 review has no rating
  • 15 Reviews1.2BBB
  • 6 Reviews4.2Facebook
  • 4 Reviews3.8Google
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Johnithon V. on BBB

3 months ago

05/18/2020, 13:43 PM
I accidentally chose to do a forbearance that was not clearly explained to me. It was for the Covid19 relief. I had the funds as I still do and my house is scheduled to be closed on the 20th and we are not approved for the loan. My wife and two children will be homeless in a matter of a week or so because someone up top is not forgiving. We have been current on all our payments for five years. Paid back for the forbearance and the next month. There is a special place in hell for someone who is heartless enough to put a family out on the street. I would never recommend this mortgage company and it’s affiliates. This company is deplorable. We have the money. Wrote an LOE. Showed we are gainfully employed. And you are still telling me you are going to put us on the street. My case went all the way up to the VP of this company. Renee Kirin, I promise you that whoever I need to speak to and let them know that you are putting two disabled veterans on the street with kids. Veterans First and Wintrust are not for veterans. My congressman and members of the Veterans Affairs Administration will be hearing about this.
Respond to negative reviews
MB Lopez on Facebook

3 months ago

04/25/2020, 04:38 AM
I have banked at this bank since I was 16. I loved the feel of a local community bank. I spoke very highly of this bank to my fiancé and convinced him to open our account here due to the fact that I've had stellar service in the past. Unfortunately, customer service has gone down hill tremendously. My fiancé does emergency response and has his wallet missing. During covid-19 we all have been stressed and were worried about how to get his cards and DL back. In our shock, the DMV was more than helpful in sending him a DL via mail and giving him a link to access his DL in the meantime for him to drive. Chase has been phenomenal and understood our situation (on top of covid-19 we had a funeral for my fiancé's grandmother) and Chase was sympathetic to our situation. Got him his card in the mail, expedited the time and waved fees, as well as giving him an atm card to use in the mean time. Next, we called Glen Ellyn Bank & Trust and a call center answered and said that we would be able to get his card that same day! Amazing, right? We thought it was the perk of a community bank. Unfortunately, that wasn't true. My fiancé went there and was asked who told him that and that they wouldn't be able to print him his card. Evelin who is the branch manager and Tom a banker there and a couple other bankers made this experience miserable. Questioned why his DL was on his phone, wanted him to do a survey (which really is a waste of time to figure out identity, wouldn't your name, drivers license, SSN & birthday suffice, or call me since I'm the other one on the account?) and knew we had a funeral to get to the next day and yet insisted to do the survey on the day of the funeral. One of the bankers even said, "you have your fiancés card for the funeral, what's the problem?" I was appalled by that answers. We gave them a time frame from 10-11am to call, they called at 11:40 when we're on our way to the funeral. We told them now is not the time. We told Chris that we want Evelin to call us on Saturday, she never did. Instead, Tom who has by far a horrible customer service in that bank, called to do the survey. I explained to him what is going on in which he admitted he was one of the bankers at the beginning of the situation (we couldn't see who people were because you can't go in the bank). Still, attitude was given. We asked to speak to Evelin since she's the GM and at that time I didn't know she was one of the people who talked to us in the beginning and there was no concern on her end. Their excuse was dealing with covid-19 they've been stressed. Well, we're all stressed during this time- I am not accepting that excuse. I was very tempted to cancel ALL my accounts there and I verbally told Tom and Evelin that and they said that that's fine I could do that. No attempt to even save a customer that has banked there for over 10 years. None of that! But my fiancé said we should just get the replacement card and be done with it. Fine. Tom AND Evelin said that the card was printed and it's in the envelope and to come and get it because they're about to close. We hurry and head over to the bank and find out both Evelin and Tom lied to us and the card was not printed that the system failed and that it would either take 8 minutes to get the system running or we had to wait until Monday. At this point, we cancelled our accounts and left with a distaste for this bank. Neither of them wanted to save a relationship with someone who has banked there for years and were so quick to close our accounts Thanks Glen Ellyn Bank and Trust for showing us how you really treat customers who've banked there for years. Next time don’t over promise and under deliver.
Business Response:

Hi MB, we're sorry to hear this has been your experience. Customer service is something we don't take lightly, so we're looking into this further on our end. Will you please private message us with your preferred contact information so we can have a banker reach out to learn more? Thank you.

Tommy W on BBB

4 months ago

04/12/2020, 09:29 AM
You are terrible at consumer relations. My name is Tommy ************ You have played games with escrow funds to make it look like I missed a payment. You reported me to all credit agencies. We made an agreement to rsolve the matter. My credit report was not corrected. By systematically reporting to the credit agencies you are keeping me from getting refinanced so as to get the hell away from you. To get a refinance one must have the last six months of your mortgage be current I believe these folks have found a way to keep their customers be held hostage. I have tried to get this straight for the last six months. I have sent a certified letter without a response. If you have had escrow games played on you feel free to contact me. I will explain how you are scammed into paying a large amount into escrow for which they use your money for a year and then refund the overage. It is a money grab by Wintrust to shore up their losses. It may not be illegal but is unethical as all get out. Every month here comes a past due loan notice second notice. How can one be behind and never having failed to pay my monthly balance in the last three years? I wrote and asked which month I failed to make a payment, Crickets folks.
Business Response:

Hi Tommy, we're sorry to hear about your experience. Customer service is something we take very seriously, so we're looking into this further on our end. One of our specialists will be reaching out to you for more information and to learn how we can help. Thank you.

Respond to negative reviews
Featured content
How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google

How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google

How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google
Realtor ratings - The most important sites

Realtor ratings - The most important sites

Realtor ratings - The most important sites
Krystal R on BBB

5 months ago

03/17/2020, 08:30 AM
No communication. Misinformation. Bait and switch. Bad move. They have cost me thousands of dollars with ineptitude.
Business Response:

Hi Krystal, we're so sorry to hear this. Customer service is something we take very seriously, so we're looking into this further on our end. One of our specialists will be reaching out to you for more information and to learn how we can help. Thank you.

Respond to negative reviews
BG on BBB

5 months ago

03/13/2020, 08:44 AM
Worst process i have ever gone through. It took six months for my first loan to close with repeated changes every month. Then when I went to refinance, they said it would be painless because they already had up-to-date information. What a joke! 4 months later interest rates are going back up and now I have to come up with $4,000 with no beforehand notice in a few days or they have to cancel the refinance.
Business Response:

Hi Brian, we're very sorry to hear about your experience. Customer service is something we don't take lightly, so we're looking into this further on our end. One of our mortgage specialists will be reaching out to you to get some more information and learn how we can help. Thank you.

Respond to negative reviews
Tim P on BBB

5 months ago

03/09/2020, 05:00 AM
I was on a repayment plan with Wintrust. Because of a medical hardship with a my youngest child. They stated that the account would be in good standing and there is nothing in regards to still reporting late in the hardship package. I never missed a payment during or after this repayment plan and still Wintrust reported I was late every month even though they stated I would be within good standing. This bank goes out of the way to screw people. I am currently looking at buying a second home and they are the hold up because they did what they stated would not happen.
Business Response:

Hi Tim, we're sorry to hear about your experience. Customer service is something we don't take lightly, so we're looking into this further on our end. A banker will reach out to you to get some more information and learn how we can help. Thank you.

Respond to negative reviews
L P on BBB

6 months ago

02/02/2020, 03:19 AM
I have been paying my mortgage thru my bank the last 3 months. As of today, Wintrust doesn't show my payments. They also didn't notify me of increase on my payments or the reason for it. My interest rate hasn't changed according to my statement. They are holding over $3500 in some other account, and asking for $2500 for the month of Feb. Because they increased my payments without notice, I was still paying the same amount I've been making the last 3 years. So the last three months are considered "partial payments" they won't be applied to my loan. I hate ****** transferred my loan to Wintrust. I wouldn't recommend them to anyone. They will set you up to fail. If you need a loan, get it in your own town. These online loan companies are shady, and always selling loans to other companies.
Business Response:

Hi LaKeshia, we're sorry to hear about your experience. We know our mortgage specialists have been in touch with you regarding this matter, and we'd be happy to have them reach out again if this would be helpful for you.

Respond to negative reviews
Darrell B. on BBB

7 months ago

01/14/2020, 03:10 AM
Wintrust just don’t help people they won’t contact you if there’s a problem and will put it on your credit report fast. I’m leaving them.
Juanita M. on BBB

10 months ago

10/03/2019, 04:40 AM
Worst experience ever not with Loan Officer, but Wintrust Mortgage. They are not reporting my mortgage to all 3 credit bureau because they state they do not have to, because they are only servicing our loan which it is now lowering my credit score. According to what Fannie Mae on there web site states, any bank that services there loans must report to all 3 credit bureaus. I call Fannie Mae and speak to Destiny (desk ID 285) who states they are not allowed to give their last name, they do not get involved with this I would have to go to the servicer. It is bad enough that Wintrust practically forced me into a rate I did not want, because a short time before closing they were saying that I had to take a higher rate I was in tears. I wish I would never have refinanced with them and I would have stayed with Liberty Bank. Does anyone know who I can contact, last resort will be an attorney. Which I should have done already.
Business Response:

Hi Juanita, we're sorry to hear about your experience. We'd like to get one of our mortgage specialists in touch with you to learn more. Is email the best way to contact you?

Respond to negative reviews
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.