BirdEye Logo
Are you a business?
Cancel
Edit

German Autotec

4.9
32 reviews
(Auto Repair)
 2330 W Main St, Mesa, AZ 85201

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Write a review

(480) 921-9700

Write a review

4on Google, Aug 07, 2017
Super kind and courteous more »
5on Google, Jul 11, 2017
more »
5on Google, Jun 10, 2017
more »
Business Response:
Hi Terry, thank you for the 5 star review :)
On YellowBot, Apr 26, 2017
I have dealt with this company nearly 20 years. I have never had a problem with any of my vehicles after their mechanics have worked on them. The techs are right upfront with the problem with the vehicle and the cost of repair. I appreciate their honesty and integrity. more »
5on Google, Mar 26, 2017
Very fair pricing more »
5on Google, Dec 26, 2016
Dave asked all the right questions about my issue with my GTI when I called. After a thorough analysis of my car, once it was in the shop, he discovered that it was a different problem that was considerably less expensive. He called me the following week to see how my car was doing, which is the first time I have ever had a mechanic call to follow-up. Very impressed with this shop and will definitely return for future work! more »
5on Google, Oct 07, 2016
These guys are trustworthy only place I'll take my car in AZ more »
Business Response:
Thanks for taking the time to write a review Mark :)
5on Google, May 12, 2016
The service is great, they explain you what's the problem, why it needs to be done and how are they going to do it. No hidden fees no bs, just overall a very nice experience . I will be back and I recommend it to everyone more »
5on Google, Apr 12, 2016
Very trustworthy and honest staff. Friendly and efficient staff.
This is not a deal(steal)ership.
more »
5on Google, Mar 10, 2016
I've been going to Dave and Jeff for over 5 years to service my Audi, a Toyota 4Runner, and recently a Ford F250. They consistently provide honest and dependable service for a decent price. I only wish I'd witten a review sooner! more »
Business Response:
Hi Austin, thanks for the review, we appreciate you taking the time to write it, means a lot. Glad we can take care of all your vehicles. Have a good weekend.
5on Google, Jan 23, 2016
I've used these guys twice to service my vw tdi and each time they were fantastic; they have excellent communication and customer service skills and definitely know their products. The second time I got a bonus fix at no cost and even rides (they said they could do this as they were less busy than normal - your mileage may vary) ... I highly recommend them and would go to them again more »
Business Response:
Hi Bryan, thank you for the kind words. Glad we could provide you great service. We really appreciate the 5 star review.
5on Google, Sep 24, 2015
I took my BMW here about couple of years ago because i could not have it passed at the Emission Test..
Dave and his guy fix it and i never had any problem since then..
They told me straigh
t forward about the problem
and they charge me just enough for the job..
I will certainly recommend this place..
I am taking this car again today the ignition key wont turn and it wont turn off the power..
Dave called me that he needs to open everything so he could diagnose the problem.
Hoping that everything is going to be fine..
Sept 14,2015
Have a great day everyone!
more »
Business Response:
Thanks for the review! Appreciate the kind words.
5on Google, Mar 25, 2015
This isn't a regular dealer or repair shop. I just bought an '07 Rabbit and brought it in to get a once-over. The guys gave me a print-out of the couple of ECU codes and explained them to me. They also lifted the car up to show me the one small oil leak it had. I really appreciated going to a mechanic that will actually show me what he found and treats me like an intelligent person. I definitely recommend this place and will be bringing my car back for all its future maintenance. more »
Business Response:
Hey Jason, thanks for the positive review. We know how important a car is to people, so we are glad to give you a little piece of mind by showing you the oil leak instead of just telling you about it. I think it goes a long way to help people understand what's going on with their car, since obviously most people don't have the ability to raise the car up at home and see underneath etc. Thanks again!
2on Google, Mar 25, 2014
Stay away from this place. I brought in a VW Trike with an air cooled 1641 engine that needed some repairs. The mechanic told me that in order to guarantee his work, he would need to start with a new block since mine was made in the ‘70s. The cost of a new block: $5000. I asked him to just do what he could to get it running better for now. He did get it running better for a cost of almost $2300. The big ripoff here was his MARKUP ON PARTS. Examples: Chrome doghouse shroud cost $76 – I was charged $200…Chrome cylinder covers cost $34 – I was charged $85… Alt tower cost $29 – I was charged $65. That’s an average markup of 250% on just these three parts alone! The engine leaked from the first day and is now sitting in my driveway unable to start. I could have had a complete rebuild for what I paid German Autotec – and now I have to do so anyway. (I recently ran across another trike rider who had a similar experience) Stay away from German Autotec! more »
5on Google, Mar 25, 2014
I have owned 8 VWs over the last 20 years and did all the work myself on each of them. When I had an issue with a coolant leak in my 2004 Passat I took it to a local automotive repair franchise. They told me it was a bad coolant reservoir cap, charge me $100 and sent me on my way. I was skeptical as the leak did not seem to be originating in the same area. Sure enough, the leak continued. I started to dismantle the engine compartment to get to the part behind the problem and had neither the time or knowledge to fix it. After reading the glowing reviews for German Autotec, I gave them a call and was told the job would take about two hours or possibly more if my blundering under the hood (not verbatim) required additional work. I gained considerable confidence in their experience during our phone conversation as they knew the cause and remedy to my car's issue. They also recommended a towing company to get the vehicle to their shop; the fees for which they could add to my repair bill. I used their recommended towing company and had them repair the vehicle. The final bill reflected very reasonable labor and parts fees and I had the car back within a couple days. I would happily recommend German Autotec to anybody. more »
Business Response:
Hi Jason, thanks for the taking the time to write about your experience. Glad we could give you good service at a fair price. People who take the time to write reviews and share their experiences with word of mouth are what drives our business, so we do appreciate it more than can be said. Thanks again.
5on Google, Mar 25, 2014
German Autotec is a great VW shop. I trust their competence and integrity absolutely. When I bring my Westfalia in, Dave lets me know what's wrong, what needs to be done, how long it will take, and how much it will cost. And his estimates are Always complete and reliable.
On a road trip in 2009 both front windows went out; the driver's side full open and wouldn't close. Dave helped us get a rental car at a great discount, and after the long July 4th weekend got them fixed at the cost he'd estimated.
I live here now. The air conditioning had never worked properly since we'd had the van, and since we'd had a really good experience four years ago (the windows still work perfectly), I took it to German Autotec. The AC had been messed up by a prior owner who had made a bad attempt at converting it to a new coolant. Dave rebuilt the unit completely, but found a microscopic crack in the condenser, so after going over the problems, the cure,and the costs, he replaced the condenser as well as rebuilding the whole thing. Yes, this was a costly procedure but Dave clearly and accurately told me what the problems were as they occured, and accurately estimated their costs. He found a used condenser, better than the original and at half the cost. The work was done as described and Dave followed up the job by checking and rechecking the coolant for leaks and the general operation of the whole unit.
Just getting to the AC required taking out and putting back a lot of the Westfalia cabinetry. This was done perfectly with no damage at all.
I can't recommend German Autotec highly enough. I give them a ten out of ten.
more »
5on Google, Mar 25, 2014
I've been bringing my car here for a long time. These guys definitely know what they're doing. Not worth the hassle of going anywhere else even when its cheaper, rather just get it done and know its done right. Talk to Jeff and you won't go wrong. more »
5on Google, Mar 25, 2013
I have been bringing both my '65 & '02 VW's here for 5 years now, and have never been steered wrong. Dave not only tells you what exactly is wrong with the car, but goes so far as to describe the effects to you, details every part, and the bills are always spot-on when I get there. It's nearly impossible to find consistently honest mechanics these days, so I am always glad to recommend this shop to anyone with a German car. more »
5on YellowBot, Jun 22, 2012
I called up a few places for quotes on my VW Golf, got a good vibe from German Autotec, checked out their website, and decided to stop in. The work was done well, but what really gets my attention is the way the shop techs talk and interact with their customers. I don't like a run-around or a long list I can't even understand from the VW dealers. I need a good explanation of my problem, an... more »
5on Google, Mar 25, 2012
Great shop to work with. I was very happy to find an independent shop that actually had the right tools for the job. Had a timing belt done with no problems, heading back for some more stuff on on my girls Golf later next week. more »
5on Google, Mar 25, 2012
German Autotec is the best place in the valley for your European vehicle. I brought in a 2002 C320 for a new timing chain and they handled it superbly with an honest diagnostic and price to match! Their mechanics have decades of experience, know their cars inside and out and provide you with something rare in this industry - integrity. If you have a VW, Audi, BMW, Mercedes, look for the yellow sign with the VW Bug on Main, you won't be disappointed! more »
5on Google, Mar 25, 2012
A Great shop. Took my 01 BMW M3 in for some various repairs like oil change, control arms, alternator replacement. Couldn't be happier with the price and the service. They had the parts ready every time I came in and the car was ready a few hours later while I went to the mall with my wife. more »
5on Google, Mar 25, 2012
The staff at German Autotec is amazing. I dropped my Passat off for some major repairs. The guys were open honest and took the time to throughly inspect my car. They did a full estimat and contacted me to go over every detail. They treated me with respect and did not recommend any unnecessary repairs. I would trust them with any VW they definitely know their cars!! more »
5on YellowBot, May 31, 2011
Excellent job and very good price.
Quick repair , explanation and original parts.
Thank you Dave.
more »
5on Google, Mar 26, 2010
There are certainly a crapload of mechanics in the valley, but from my experience, German Autotec is the best. I have a VW Golf that's needed a fair bit of work over the years, and every time I've brought it to them, they had it fixed on the first try, for exactly the quoted amount. Never had an issue resurge, either.
This is actually in contrast to a lot of other auto places in the valley. Before I started going to German Autotec, I'd take my Golf to a big-franchise mechanic (the nearby Midas). Midas would regularly quote me one thing (based on their cheapo generic parts and so forth), then start working on and call back with a new quote (either because they'd been wrong about the cause of the problem or because their cheap generic parts rarely fit VWs for some reason). In one case, the new quote was three times the amount of the old one ($300 rather than $100).
After that last markup by Midas, I started taking my car to German Autotec. Every subsequent problem on the car's been fixed in one go, when and for how much they said it would be. There have been some crazy weird issues, too: car stalling due to a cracked ignition coil, not starting (but only when warm!) due to a gunked-up fuel pump, the electrical system going bonkers due to the actual ignition lock, and all sorts of more mundane things as well. Every single one was handled perfectly, honestly, and with no surprises.
The one time since I started going to German Autotec that I went somewhere else was due to a time constraint: they were super-busy and I needed something fixed that day, before I wanted to leave for a road trip. I took it to a friend's mechanic (who is by all rights also a good mechanic, and well rated as well) because that mechanic said he had time. He did have time, but the part he ordered didn't fit and he wasn't able to get the right part before the end of the day. I ended up having to delay my road trip, and pay more for the part mixup. This sort of thing has never happened at German Autotec.
So while there are other good (and well-rated) mechanics in the valley, none know German cars as good as these guys. I think you'll be very happy taking your car here.
more »
Page 1 of 2
Are you a business owner?
or
See BirdEye in action.
  • Scan Business
    See how you appear everywhere online -- across top sites and against competitors
  • Free Trial
    Take control of your business. Give it a try for free!

Contact

Edit
2330 W Main St, Mesa, AZ 85201
Auto Repair
Today 8:30 am - 5:00 pm

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

About

Edit
German Autotec - Specialized Auto Repair in Mesa AZ. Maintenance of all German makes and models. Complete Auto Care. Computer Diagnostics w/ FREE Check Engine Light Scan VAS6150B, VCDS - VAG, Snap-On Solus, Baum Tools, etc. Emissions Specialist EPC Light On? Check Engine? Secondary Air? Evap Emissions? A/C Service R12 & R134 Timing Belt Services VW Air Cooled +Moremore »

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Review summary

5  25
4  1
3  
2  1
1  
5 reviews with no rating
4.9
32 reviews
BirdEye Logo
Things you should know
about BirdEye
BirdEye was founded in 2012 to help businesses manage online reputation and customer experience

BirdEye works with 15,000+ clients, from SMBs to large enterprises

With BirdEye, you can monitor real-time customer feedback from 250+ sites and social channels

Generate new authentic reviews with real-time automated feedback requests from BirdEye

BirdEye gives you access to insights from your competitors’ customer feedback

The BirdEye mobile app allows on-the-go customer experience management

Use BirdEye’s free Scan Your Business tool for a snapshot of your online presence