Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Fox & Obel Food Market

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.1
46 reviews
|Grocery|Chicago, IL 60611

401 E Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60611

(312) 410-7301

http://www.fox-obel.com/

Open now:6:00 am - 11:59 pm

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Retail in your area
5.0
(1) · Grocery

6410 W 74th St

(708) 924-1768
5.0
(2) · Grocery

3509 N Halsted St

(773) 832-0098
5.0
(39) · Grocery

1 Courthouse Sq

(219) 663-6095

6 people are looking at this business

5.0
(1) · Grocery

717 E 49th Ave

(219) 887-4060
5.0
(7) · Farmers Market

2042 W 21st St

(773) 467-7891

4 people are looking at this business

5.0
(6) · Grocery

5143 Mochel Dr

(630) 964-2444

1 person is looking at this business

BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.1
46 reviews
516
  
412
  
36
  
21
  
12
  
9 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
6623 review for Fox & Obel Food Market
6623 on Citysearch

12 years ago

11/21/2009, 05:27 AM
The Best in the Midwest – This place can easily hold its own with the best grocer/deli's in New York. They source their products from peanut butter to foie gras from the very finest providers in the US and Europe. If you love to cook and eat fine foods, this is your store.
bapp5353 review for Fox & Obel Food Market
bapp5353 on Citysearch

14 years ago

04/09/2008, 05:44 AM
Clean up front - not so much in back – Been through the kitchen - Chef was rude ( go figure) - place was dirty. Could not eat there after seeing conditions in back.
kristen0218 review for Fox & Obel Food Market
kristen0218 on Citysearch

16 years ago

04/21/2006, 06:14 AM
Not-so-frugal Gourmet – A fantastic open market, comparable to Zabar's in New York City or a classier North Market in Columbus, OH. Incredible breads, prepared foods, desserts & cheeses. Frou-frou & expensive alcohol selection. The staff are knowledgable & genuinely friendly. The prices are pretty outrageous (insane mark-ups on wine & expect to pay at least $10 for a take-out lunch from the prepared foods counter) but it's almost worth it for fresh, delcious old-world food in the Loop. Bonus: Take your lunch & eat on a bench near the docks - you'll feel like you're on vacation if you aren't already!
Featured content
A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews

A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews

A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews
Tempted to buy Google reviews?

Tempted to buy Google reviews?

Tempted to buy Google reviews?
rsnchicago review for Fox & Obel Food Market
rsnchicago on Citysearch

16 years ago

01/15/2006, 06:37 AM
A Chicago Original – Yes it is expensive, yes it can get crowded, and yes the selection may seem limited to the very best foods. This is not the place to get your Skippy peanut butter or Cheerios; go to the Dominicks a couple blocks away for general items. This is the place to get your Beluga caviar, your rare and blended teas, your Korean pears, your exotic pies and breads. The selection may seem overwhelming at first, but they really only stock a few of the finer brands. They excel at offering the best cheeses, meats, produce and bakery items. Fox and Obel is a cross between Dean & DeLuca and Whole Foods, yet they carry a lot of the same items (mostly dry goods). Beware though: I find many of Fox and Obel's items priced 10-20% higher than the same goods at Whole Foods.
Elisa Kronish review for Fox & Obel Food Market
Elisa Kronish on Citysearch

17 years ago

10/13/2004, 02:32 AM
A gourmet food market and cafe that's exclusive to Chicago. – In Short Gleaming counters, delicious smells and dazzling displays entice shoppers to fill their baskets (and drain their wallets). This spacious, upscale store combines several gourmet food markets in one. Foods are displayed at the butcher shop, fresh fish market, cheese department, deli counter, produce section, prepared-foods counter and bakery. Staff is trained and knowledgeable, so ask for help, suggestions and tastes.
KarenObel review for Fox & Obel Food Market
KarenObel on Citysearch

19 years ago

09/03/2002, 09:07 AM
The market to beat all markets – I love this place. Everything about it is fresh and new, from the food to the housewares to the decor to the shopping experience. I only wish there was a Fox & Obel where I live!
amyturctt review for Fox & Obel Food Market
amyturctt on Citysearch

19 years ago

07/26/2002, 05:04 AM
the BEST Food store in USA – This place is amazing! They have the greatest products in the world.. meat (9), seafood (8), packaged goods (10), prepared foods (10) produce (8), wines and booze (6) the Staff (10). The staff really is the greatest. They are very friendly and informed. While I was standing dazed in aw of there selection I was asked if I needed any help by a man who appeared to be doing some sort of inventory, well I did and he stopped what he was doing and lead me to every thing I needed . The people at the cheese counter talked with me for a half hour and even recommended a cheaper cheese over a real expensive one.I was also told they can ship things (my sister will be syked come christmas) and they have they also do catering!!!!! In a year this will be a must see in Chicago!!!!
M_Inmann review for Fox & Obel Food Market
M_Inmann on Citysearch

19 years ago

07/16/2002, 09:34 AM
World Class at Last – Chicago finally has a food hall worthy of its status as a world-class city. PLUSSES: Prepared foods that are better than anything I've had at Dean & Deluca in NY, and the best bakery in Chicago. Best selection of cheese and packaged specialty foods around. One MINUS: a lot of their stuff is expensive, though I cant get stuff this good anywhere else, regardless of price. I'll do my ordinary grocery shopping at Jewel and Dominicks, but if I want something good, I'll be at Fox & Obel. (and they have free parking! Unheard of in Streeterville.)
peterbehle_citysearch review for Fox & Obel Food Market
peterbehle_citysearch on Citysearch

19 years ago

06/07/2002, 06:02 AM
Oh, man, is that expensive – This place is heavenly, but so very expensive. The prepared food section makes your mouth water, but you can't get anything for less than 10 bucks or so. The produce is immaculate, but again, prices are stratospheric. If you have no budget, this is the place. Otherwise, just take a look and dream.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.