Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Filippi's Pizza Grotto

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.5
1117 reviews
|Pizza|San Diego, CA 92025 United States

114 W Grand Ave, San Diego, CA 92025 United States

(760) 747-2650

https://realcheesepizza.com/escondido/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
4.9
(168) · Restaurants

3333 El Cajon Blvd

(619) 283-2333
4.8
(503) · Restaurants

3625 India St

(619) 550-5796
4.8
(15) · Restaurants

614 Island Ave

(619) 545-7230
4.8
(35) · Restaurants

5500 Grossmont Center Dr

(619) 461-2235
4.7
(1186) · Pizza

3001 Beech St

(619) 381-4844
4.7
(1111) · Pizza

1221 Garnet Avenue

(858) 642-6900
About

LA NOSTRA STORIA FAMILIARE- Vincent DePhilippis Born in New York NY, raised in Naples Italy returned to New York City at the age of 18. Vincent DePhilippis and Madeleine Manfredi from Nimes France met in New York NY (Mamma and Papa) married in 1925, then settled in Westchester Pennsylvania. Then moved to San Diego in 1947 where they opened an Italian market named Cash & Carry Italian foods on India Street in San Diego. 1950 was the beginning of what has become a very successful line of family restaurants that are today know as Filippi’s Pizza Grottos that are owned and operated by original family members of the founders. The DePhilippis family would like to welcome you and your family

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 90,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.5
1,117 reviews
5794
  
4209
  
351
  
225
  
129
  
9 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Featured
Andrea review for Filippi's Pizza Grotto
Andrea on Insider Pages

2 months ago

12/01/2022, 05:45 AM
Fillippis This is a restaurant with really good italian food. Parking is a small challenge at times, but overall it's worth it if you want some great pizza. The smell outside the place is phenomenal.
Mary Ann review for Filippi's Pizza Grotto
Mary Ann on Insider Pages

2 months ago

12/01/2022, 05:45 AM
Filippi's Pizza Grotto I have eaten at Filippi's Pizza Grotto since the 70's. The pizza is great. Lots of cheese and generous portions of all items. The pasta is my favorite... Great food, great service. Busy place during peak hours, go early and take your time. Prices are very reasonable.
Diane review for Filippi's Pizza Grotto
Diane on Insider Pages

2 months ago

12/01/2022, 05:45 AM
Good Pizza The Pizza is very good and they have a nice selection of red wine. The Chianti was great with the pizza. Nice cozy place to eat lunch. Great for big lunch groups.
Featured content
Birdeye Adds Zillow and Trulia Reviews to its Network

Birdeye Adds Zillow and Trulia Reviews to its Network

Birdeye Adds Zillow and Trulia Reviews to its Network
Top 5 Doctor Review Sites for Healthcare Providers

Top 5 Doctor Review Sites for Healthcare Providers

Top 5 Doctor Review Sites for Healthcare Providers
Megan review for Filippi's Pizza Grotto
Megan on Insider Pages

2 months ago

12/01/2022, 05:45 AM
Yumm OK The food - by far - gets 5 stars. I can't even begin to describe how delicious it is. The atmosphere is great. It's a bit dark, and there are a few different rooms so it seems a bit cramped. There is a small game room up front that sort of ruins the atmosphere - makes it seem like a whole soccer team should be sweating at the table beside you. However, their food outways any other negative aspect!
Mitch review for Filippi's Pizza Grotto
Mitch on Insider Pages

2 months ago

12/01/2022, 05:45 AM
Awesome pizza!! The pizza at this place was so good!! We were recommended this place by our hotel manager, and we were pleasantly surprised. It really thought that my stomach was going to explode after dinner.
roman 9. review for Filippi's Pizza Grotto
roman 9. on Citysearch

11 years ago

03/16/2012, 02:59 AM
don't bother – Well, if you don't mind having your wife eye raped and gesters made by the cooks as you walk in..then this place is for you. You can wait about 20 min to be seated, on a wed nite, and get o.k. pizza. I worked for thier food supplier, they DON"T buy premium ingrediants.
eycleisha review for Filippi's Pizza Grotto
eycleisha on Citysearch

11 years ago

12/30/2011, 01:50 AM
Quality ingredient's, always yummy
Barbara T. review for Filippi's Pizza Grotto
Barbara T. on Citysearch

11 years ago

12/08/2011, 03:08 AM
Need's a Chef Ramsey Makeover – Food service was like a pig trough. I was handed soup in a bowl with soup slopped down the side. I was handed lasagna that was made of only lasagna noodles and mozarella cheese, no ricotta. On the dish was a meatball sloped over with sauce running over the side and onto the table. Definitely need to rethink menu, service and presentation.
Mary Ann D. review for Filippi's Pizza Grotto
Mary Ann D. on Insider Pages

13 years ago

08/09/2009, 01:29 AM
Filippi's Pizza Grotto I have eaten at Filippi's Pizza Grotto since the 70's. The pizza is great. Lots of cheese and generous portions of all items. The pasta is my favorite... Great food, great service. Busy place during peak hours, go early and take your time. Prices are very reasonable.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.