Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Diley Hill Animal Emergency Center

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.3
557 reviews
|Emergency Medicine|Columbus, OH 43110

9695 Basil Western Rd, Columbus, OH 43110

(614) 829-6444

https://www.dileyvet.com/

Open now:9:00 am - 6:00 pm

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Healthcare in your area
5.0
(1) · Doctors

401 N Ewing St

(740) 687-8177

1 person is looking at this business

4.9
(57) · Emergency Medicine

3535 Fishinger Blvd.

(614) 527-2562
4.7
(28) · Emergency Medicine

999 Polaris Pkwy Suite 100

(614) 429-1653

3 people are looking at this business

4.7
(36) · Emergency Medicine

55 Clairedan Dr

(614) 888-8989

1 person is looking at this business

4.7
(62) · Radiology

1210 Gemini Pl #200

(614) 262-4263

3 people are looking at this business

About

An animal emergency hospital on YOUR side of town! We are open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. No appointment needed. Walk Ins always welcome!

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.3
557 reviews
5430
  
427
  
35
  
216
  
175
  
4 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Matthew B. review for Diley Hill Animal Emergency Center
Matthew B. on BirdEye

a month ago

10/31/2021, 11:49 AM
Last Tuesday, 26 October I took our ten year old cat to Diley Hill Emergency Center on the recommendation of our regular veterinarian. The cat was lethargic and we hadn't seen him eat or drink for three days. I arrived at 3:00/p and did curbside check-in. I waited in my car to hear from them. At 5:20/p I still had heard nothing, so, at 5:29/P I called them from the parking lot and was told the doctor was about to examine our cat, I asked to be updated. At about 6:00/p they called and asked me to come in to the waiting room--appropriately named because that's what I did--wait another thirty minutes. Dr. Cheever came in, told me our cat had a bad tooth, but, there could be something else wrong and he would like to do a baseline blood test. The examination was around $160.00, the additional testing would push the bill well over $400.00; I agreed to the test because, after all, we were talking about our beloved pet. At 8:30/p I drove home, picked up my wife and returned to DHAEC. Approximately 11:30/p we received our cat and waited another thirty minutes to be shown how to do IV Hydration and "shoot" pills down the cat's throat. The bill, with medications, was $589.50. We were told to have another blood draw done in 48 hours, which was done by our regular vet for $123.55. As of today, Sunday, we have called repeatedly to find out the blood test results. I was told 21 hours ago the doctor would return my call, but, he didn't. I called them an hour ago and said that in 21 hours someone could have found five minutes to return our calls, I was furious, so, I said this bordered on malpractice and would take action if I didn't hear from them in thirty minutes. No call, I'm writing this review. DHAEC has left me clueless about what to do next for our cat. Don't believe their advertising about how they will treat your pet like it was their own. They'll do the minimum necessary to burrow into your wallet and, once there, they'll milk every penny they can and leave you hanging.for hours and days after they do it. I'd have been better off going to a cat shaman (if such a person exists) than DHAEC. $713.05 into it, our cat hasn't eaten in a week and they don't give a damn. They won't even bother to tell me it's hopeless, our cat should be put down. STAY AWAY!!! DHAEC should have a "buyer beware" sign posted on their door.
Respond to negative reviews
Cassie D. review for Diley Hill Animal Emergency Center
Cassie D. on BirdEye

2 months ago

09/20/2021, 06:43 AM
This place is truly awful. They will do cursory work on your pet and charge you outrageous fees. You will leave with pain meds and antibiotics and no diagnosis. Their diagnostic capabilities consist of bloodwork. Find another place.
Respond to negative reviews
Miller C. review for Diley Hill Animal Emergency Center
Miller C. on Yellow Pages

a year ago

08/21/2020, 05:17 AM
Diley Hill Animal Emergency Center is fantastic. My dog Cooper was seriously injured when attacked by another dog at the dog park. They were so kind and really cared about Cooper, but just as important, they cared about me too. They let me know everything about what was going on and all my options for his treatment. He needed emergency surgery and they saved his life. Thank you everyone who helped me those terrible days. He is recovering and doing good!
Featured content
Sending Review Requests: A Guide for Dental Offices

Sending Review Requests: A Guide for Dental Offices

Sending Review Requests: A Guide for Dental Offices
A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews

A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews

A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews
Christy M. review for Diley Hill Animal Emergency Center
Christy M. on BirdEye

a year ago

06/28/2020, 17:03 PM
Christy Mundy Well here is our horrifying experience and the insensitive developments since. Beware people!!!! We took our vibrant puppy here after something became lodged in her throat. After initial evaluation, vet asked questions about recent dog contact and environment and decided she may have picked up a virus and would prescribe meds and we could take her home. But if we wanted could go ahead and do an x ray. Well we knew something was lodged in her esophagus so of course we said yes. After first X-ray a decision was made to do a second with dye and of course there were 2 obstructions. After doing more paperwork and of course getting the payment a procedure to remove obstruction was ready, but now the vet had to do another procedure first and we should go home and they would call when it was completed. When we first arrived there to time of procedure was 5 hours!!!!!! Well needless to say my puppy did not survive. You see a vein or artery burst by her heart and she was bleeding out by 11:00am the next morning. This quite possibly was because of the obstruction in her esophagus too long I picked her up today, vets had all kinds of excuses, all in their favor of course. When we went to bury our puppy we saw that they did not even remove the ports from her leg. REALLY!!!! After reading over the vets notes I saw several discrepancies from what really happened that evening. I sent an email about these discrepancies, but of course no response. Please take your animal elsewhere and save yourself the heartache and pain. You replied on my google review that we had follow up conversations and you hoped we felt better. Well there have been no follow up calls from your practice and no We are still heartbroken! Their response: We here at Diley Hill animal emergency Center, we are heartbroken over the loss of your pet. Everyone here loves animals deeply and are dedicated to the care of every animal that comes into the ER. We are always doing our best to triage and treat patients in the appropriate order. When your beloved pet arrived, we worked it up and had a preliminary diagnosis. With additional testing our preliminary diagnosis was disproven. Because this is a public forum, we can’t discuss the specifics of your pets case. We are sorry that you lost confidence in us and we understand your grief. If you would like to discuss your pet’s care more so we can clear up the discrepancies you may be feeling, please call. 614-829-6444. You can speak to Lovette Aquino, Rona Shapiro, or Ellen Neal. With deep sympathy and sadness, Rona Shapiro and the entire health care team My responses: I sent an email last week with no response. You are welcome to email me at the email address on file. When we called and arrived we told them what was wrong. It was hours later before this diagnosis was determined. From what I gather from your comments above, my pet was misdiagnosed and was a low priority. Well, these factors may have cost her her life You replied on my google review that we had follow up conversations and you hoped we felt better. Well there have been no follow up calls from your practice and no We are still heartbroken!
Respond to negative reviews
Lynnette Z Zablotny James review for Diley Hill Animal Emergency Center
Lynnette Z Zablotny James on Facebook

5 years ago

04/23/2017, 07:42 AM
Respond to negative reviews
Lynette M. review for Diley Hill Animal Emergency Center
Lynette M. on Citysearch

5 years ago

10/16/2016, 02:06 AM
Wow.......I never go by reviews because they are usually not like reality.....my housemate took my Pitboxer Kelsey with a cough .....ended up being kennel cough she received an IV for liquids antibiotics and something for nausea........and 3 take home meds with written instructions plus emailed instructions....they called to follow up the next day which yesterday wanting to know how Kelsey was doing......they have been great.....she is getting better....they gave suggestions on what to give her to eat it worked......they told me each day she would be a little better which she is....they also gave me information on what could go wrong ......the cost was what I would expect.....my dogs are my kids .....they have been amazing.... I will be returning to them for any medical care they provide and my girls need......I am thankful for a 24 hour service.......update on Kelsey....ended up with pnuemonia.....stayed overnight getting IV antibiotics and breathing treatments ....2nd trip in a couple of days could not be happier...these are a caring group of professionals........it is a group effort......she is getting better everyday....I am thankful for their quick response to her symptoms...... if she needs to go back I will take her...thank you...
Sucora Gilbert review for Diley Hill Animal Emergency Center
Sucora Gilbert on Facebook

6 years ago

04/14/2016, 08:25 AM
I just want to say these people are amazing I had an emergency last night with my almost one year old Siberian Husky she started having seizures and I thought she was going to die and they took wonderful care of her I am extremely blessed thank you everybody in there for your time and everything it took to make her better
bob o. review for Diley Hill Animal Emergency Center
bob o. on Citysearch

8 years ago

09/30/2013, 01:56 AM
WHAT A HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE chris1961!! so sorry! as for those clowns at Diley Ridge...i called about my very sick dog. he needed an ultrasound. by the time this coldheated calculating witch got done with her phone calculator she had me at $1000. i was going to do it. iget paid in 10 days and would have the cash. this fu#%ing cu%& stopped me in midsentence when i asked about paying part of it up front. "ooooh noooooo...we need full payment up front". i hope she meets a tragic and humiliating demise. the world is better off without worms like her. not to mention while shes adding everything up all i could hear is her breathing. how disgusting. what a cow. no etiquette or empathy or social skills. a social retard.
christopher.greenhalgh1 review for Diley Hill Animal Emergency Center
christopher.greenhalgh1 on Yellow Pages

9 years ago

05/02/2013, 02:41 AM
At about 11p on April 27th, my 7 year old Boxer, Cooper, received a bad injury to his right shoulder. We took Cooper to the Diley Hill Veterinary Emergency Hospital in Canal Winchester, were upon examination and x-rays, they determined that Cooper would need surgery, and that he most likely, would lose his leg. We were offered two options...an estimate of $1700 for his surgery, or $350 for euthanasia. The doctor told me there shouldn’t be any complication, and it would be a "routine" operation, and if we choose the surgery, he was sure he would make a full recovery. He even mentioned that many dogs do just fine with 3 legs, so we opted for the surgery. He stated they would start the surgery right away, and he could most likely come home the next day. I called the hospital at 2a to check on him, and they said he hadn’t started surgery yet. Strange...the attending said he would be going right in at around 11p. I called again at 4a, and they said he was just going in. Why did they wait 5 hour to start the procedure? I called again at 7a, and they said he was being closed up, and after he came out of anesthetic, and would eat something, he could come home. About 10a we received a call that Cooper was not doing well. They said Cooper was unresponsive and that we should come down and see him in case he didn’t make it. What had happened? We rushed to the hospital, and found him on a ventilator. His heart was still beating, but they said he had some sort of respiratory "event" Whatever that means? Cooper pupils fixed, dilated, and glassed over. He had zero response to any stimulation...he was gone, and never knew we were there. I’m not sure why they wanted us to come down...the last image I wanted to see, was my family pet brain dead on a gurney with a tube stuck down his throat. One our way home, they called and left a message that his recovery was futile, and recommended that we let him go. Are you kidding me? They HAD to know that when they called us the first time, however, I called them back, and agreed to let him go. It was a terrible evening for us...one of the worst of our lives. We couldn’t sleep and were highly distraught. I cannot put into words how terrible it was. While all these questions raced through my head, I was so overwhelmed with grief, and had to curb them. Then, at 2:00am in the morning, our phone rings. It’s a Dr. Hughes from the Hospital. He asked for me by name, and says he has an update for Cooper (he calls him by name). He says Cooper is responding well to treatment, and the prognosis is he’s going to be fine! I begin to become elated! My wife wakes and asks "Is Cooper going to be okay?" to which I reply, that’s what the doctor is saying! I then ask him to confirm...he restates my name and says it’s specifically about our Cooper! I tell him that I thought he was going to be put down the afternoon before, are you telling me he’s okay now? There is a rather long pause, and he says, "Oh, I’m sorry...there must be some sort of mistake on the chart...your dog’s condition has NOT changed". We break down in tears AGAIN, and relive the grief all over again. It was horrific...how could a doctor make such a mistake!? And after all this, I get charged for BOTH, the failed surgery AND the euthanasia amount, just under $2000. I wonder how much profit they made from my Cooper? I wonder why he never recovered from a "routine" anesthesia? Why did they wait so long to do the surgery? I contacted the owner Alec Land, and asked that our bill be adjusted. He came off as non-caring, and refused. This place did nothing, but devastate up AND, took our money. They should be ashamed of themselves, but are not...all the owner cares about is making (stealing) money. If you love your pet, and want even good care for it, avoid this place like the plague. They don’t care about your pet, and only want your money.
Respond to negative reviews
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.