Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Delancey

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.6
530 reviews
|Pizza|Seattle, WA 98117

1415 NW 70th St, Seattle, WA 98117

(206) 838-1960

https://www.delanceyseattle.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(1) · Restaurants

27203 216th Ave SE

(206) 335-9299

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(6) · Restaurants

306 23rd Ave S

(206) 325-7272

2 people are looking at this business

5.0
(19) · American

16510 State Route 9 SE

(360) 668-4433

2 people are looking at this business

4.8
(5) · Pizza

500 Mercer St.

(206) 913-2565

2 people are looking at this business

4.8
(269) · Pizza

6413 Roosevelt Way NE

(206) 525-4011

2 people are looking at this business

4.7
(551) · Restaurants

1117 SW 128th St

(206) 244-5025

9 people are looking at this business

About

Delancey is Ballard's own pizza place where dining is not just another affair but about indulging in some of the most delicious pizzas in a lovely and homey ambiance. Opened by husband and wife duo Brandon and Molly Wizenberg, this cozy little eatery is not high on decor, but the simplicity adds a charm to the overall ambiance and of course, the wood-fired pizzas are the main draw. The approach is very straight-forward just like the menu, highlights being the margherita, pepperoni, romana and crimini. A choice of salads and home-made desserts is also available; red, white and sparkling wines along with a handful of draft beers complete the dining experience with a flourish. Don't forget to t

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.6
530 reviews
5403
  
478
  
321
  
28
  
115
  
5 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
seatown7 review for Delancey
seatown7 on Citysearch

11 years ago

05/05/2010, 01:56 AM
The emperor has no clothes... – My wife and I finally got to Delancey after hearing all the fuss. We were there 5 minutes after opening and still had to wait 90 minutes for a seat at the counter. This would have been fine if it had been necessary. The rude ass regulars that were absolutely CAMPING at the tables were the problem. Hey great...you're having a good time with your friends. But if you're still here 30 minutes after dessert...you are an ass! We ordered a Jersey Salad which was small and just OK and then had the roasted asparagus which was excellent! We then ordered a Crimini mushroom pizza and the Romana pizza. If you're a foodie and have ever had a naan at an Indian restaurant...well that's what this pizza is like. It's flatbread...not pizza! I've had pizza bagels with more substance that these "pies." The staff was nice...and at least the paper thin pizzas were only $12 each. If it was close and there was no crowd...and I was really hungry...then I'd go. Otherwise...it's all fluff and no substance.
katherinem review for Delancey
katherinem on Citysearch

12 years ago

03/16/2010, 01:14 AM
Patience for pizza – I waited two hours for a table at Delancey’s on a Saturday night. Which is a long time, especially when you arrive at 5:30 p.m. to “beat the crowds.” I heard the pizza was fantastic and the crowds intrigued me. I feared it would be overflowing with screaming children in with their parents for an early-bird dinner out, but nope, it was quite the opposite. The understated décor was the first sign that this place was different. Exposed would be the best way to describe it. Open kitchen, open shelving, transparent glass light fixtures, and one modest open dining room. Oh, and an enticing menu. I passed the time with a glass of wine and the two hours actually went by pretty quick. I had heard good things about the salted chocolate chip cookies so I made sure to put in an order for one as soon as I was seated (I was slightly paranoid they would run out). I was lucky enough to try the pepperoni, salami, prosciutto, and sausage pizzas that night. I also tried the radicchio salad, which was surprisingly flavorful. The pizzas really are delicious and better than anything I’ve had in Ballard, possibly Seattle, before. I’ll definitely be back, but it’ll be a weeknight.
Kristin Price review for Delancey
Kristin Price on Citysearch

12 years ago

03/11/2010, 00:44 AM
Welcome Home – With the varied offerings of pie in this city, Delancey is a stand out for the uniqueness of its crust and fresh ingredients as much as for its down home feel. Unassuming in its easy style, the décor is made up of substantial, family-sized, wood dining sets combined with warm, cozy lighting. Step inside and you are home. Bite into the thin, wood-fired, crust and get a mouthful of sweet, crisp, crunchy goodness followed by a hint of fresh tomatoes and toppings such as the crimini mushrooms, tangy sausage and heavenly mozzarella. It’s a simple enough combination of flavors to please even the youngest of diners, and yet complex enough to satisfy the most robust of palates. Enjoy a side off the salad menu which is rotated to take advantage of the freshest seasonal ingredients. There’s no rush. Capitalize on the homey atmosphere and linger a while for dessert. The chocolate chip cookie with sea salt and other goodies further that spirit of comfort. This is a true neighborhood gathering spot where you are sure to run into friends which only adds to the feeling of community that the owners have strived with such success to achieve.
Featured content
Negative feedback examples: 8 strategies to turn bad reviews into wins

Negative feedback examples: 8 strategies to turn bad reviews into wins

Negative feedback examples: 8 strategies to turn bad reviews into wins
Net Promoter Score Explained

Net Promoter Score Explained

Net Promoter Score Explained
Chelsea Lin review for Delancey
Chelsea Lin on Citysearch

12 years ago

02/18/2010, 00:11 AM
Citysearch Editorial Review – There's not much to say about this tiny Ballard restaurant that hasn't already been said eight different ways; it was easily one of the most talked about openings of 2009, thanks to the local love for the owners: blogger/author Molly Wizenberg and her husband/pizza-chef Brandon Pettit. Calling the place a pizzeria does it a disservice, because it's much more than that--a sort of temple to pizza centered around a gorgeous brick oven and built out of Pettit's passion for creating a perfect pie. And while "perfect" is a fairly subjective adjective, the frequent two-hour wait for a table at dinnertime speaks volumes about the quality of food here: just a handful of simply topped, chewy-crusted, burnt-edged pizzas are available daily, plus a few salads/starters and another couple of desserts. It's a carefully focused menu in an intimate, minimally decorated dining space--everything kept on a small scale so Pettit and Wizenberg can keep this neighborhood joint spot-on.
Lorraine Goldberg review for Delancey
Lorraine Goldberg on Citysearch

12 years ago

01/15/2010, 02:06 AM
Artisanal Locally Sourced Pizza – Approaching Delancey on a cold winter night you'll see steamy windows and candles sparkling on tables where people are engaged in conversation, sipping classes of wine. Brandon Petit warmly greets his regulars by name while tossing pizza dough by the oven. Delancey reminds me much of co-owner Molly Wizenberg's blog Orangette: simplicity with an artistic flair. The menu changes with the seasons, from a Billy's tomato salad during the summer months to a beautiful beet, grapefruit and house-made ricotta salata salad in the midst of winter. The flavors pop, sometimes in unexpected combinations. My favorite, a staple on the menu, is the creamy, rich burrata served with sea salt, olive oil and perfectly toasted crostini. Delancey produces some of the finest pizza in Seattle, from my favorite house made sausage to the spicy Padron peppers in the summertime. With its lightly charred crust and the perfect proportion of a delicate sauce, the pizzas are easily shared among friends. Don’t eat all of your pizza though, because you'll want to save room for dessert. From Molly’s signature grey salt chocolate chip cookie and a tall cold glass of Fresh Breeze milk to seasonal desserts, you will never be disappointed. Last night I enjoyed a delightfully creamy lemon dessert served in an old fashion Ball jar served with two shortbread cookies. One of the lovely things about Delancey is how affordable the food is for the quality. To me, this is what embodies a neighborhood place. I’m in love with their local Washington Sangiovese, a steal for $27 a bottle. Have a glass of wine while you wait or try a glass of the amazing house ginger brew. Some people complain about the wait, but it’s all in your approach. Go across the street to Tarasco and have a drink. Or peruse the delightful umbrellas at Bella Umbrella. I prefer the small intimate setting, shelves lined with cookbooks, a menagerie of glasses and most of all the delicious food produced from love. It's the ideal place to enjoy the company of new and old friends.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.