Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Christenson Funeral & Crematory

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.6
30 reviews
|Funeral Services & Cemeteries|Rockford, IL 61104

925 3rd Ave, Rockford, IL 61104

(815) 965-1600

https://www.rockfordfunerals.com/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Consumer Services in your area
5.0
(14) · Consumer Services

10763 Dundee Rd

(847) 515-8772

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(3) · Consumer Services

828 S Janesville St

(608) 868-2542
5.0
(8) · Consumer Services

11603 Main St

(847) 669-5111

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(12) · Consumer Services

1001 2nd Ave

(815) 963-6521

7 people are looking at this business

4.9
(23) · Funeral Services & Cemeteries

203 Logan Ave

(815) 544-2121

3 people are looking at this business

4.9
(73) · Consumer Services

305 Park St

(847) 741-1128
About

Christenson Funeral Home & Crematory is a family owned and operated funeral home in Rockford Illinois. We offer beautiful, convenient locations, and our caring, professional staff is uniquely qualified to serve, whether your wish is a simple cremation service or a traditional funeral. Our establishment offers: Funeral Services Cremation Services Chapel Services Church Services Services in Our chapel or your church Pre-planning for your financial, religious, and family needs Aftercare The mission of Christenson Funeral Home and Crematory is to ensure that your wishes are carried out to the letter. Call us today.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.6
30 reviews
526
  
41
  
30
  
20
  
13
  
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Sarah Beth review for Christenson Funeral & Crematory
Sarah Beth on Dex Knows

8 years ago

01/18/2014, 03:37 AM
Outstanding and Professional Service The Christenson Funeral Home helped with the death of our mother. We dealt with Nathan from our first call to weeks following the service. Kind, compassionate and extremely helpful are just a few words to describe this young man. The attention to detail from the cards to the flowers, everything was handled with dignity respect and true professionalism. The facilities are beautiful and made us feel right at home. In a terrible time in our lives, Nathan really came through and guided us through the whole process with patience and caring. I would recommend this place to everyone - To Nathan and the staff - Thank You!
Maggie Copus review for Christenson Funeral & Crematory
Maggie Copus on YellowBot

8 years ago

01/02/2014, 09:03 AM
Nate Rude and Unprofessional I personally was not treated with the compassion, sympathy, dignity or respect I felt I deserved as the Mother of a child who died by suicide, at this funeral home, by the employee. The employee I dealt with solely was Nate. He was indifferent, rude, careless and flat out unkind to me and my siblings. The father and I are divorced we didn’t get along at all. But he made the initial cremation and obituary arrangements and paid his 1/2 portion. When it came to me, I was treated by Nate as an inconvenience. I was a bother to have to deal with or take time for. I was being denied every last right I had to pay my respects to my son by his father. The coroner’s office were called and after learning what was happening, they mandated a legal document be signed b/f my son would be released to the funeral home to ensure I was to have my last and final rights. Our situation was unique obviously for me to need to sign a legal document, which enforced my maternal rights. Nate’s job was to ensure I signed it as requested by the Coroner’s office and take my half of the bill. Agreement stated that I was mandated to pay my half of the costs, before I could have my name added in the obituary or be allowed to attend the celebration of life or even have the right to say goodbye to my son at the Morgue. When I came in he was all about getting the money. Three of us were standing there with credit cards in hand and willing to pay our share. We had many questions and ground to cover b/c I had never had a child die before, but he stayed focused on the money. I felt as if he knew and used the skill of distraction to avoid uncomfortable situations with divorced families. I felt that by him focusing solely on the money instead of the issue at hand was better or more important than being neutral and professional to all parties involved. Agreement stated I was to have half of the ashes, if I paid my half. I declined that privilege and instead asked for the metal pins which were in my son's arm due to a recent break. As I am asking and requesting what I needed from him ie the pins, he tries to ignore me, then he kept trying to distract me as I am reading the legal document. Then I kept pressing him on an answer, so he wrote on the legal document, "Maggie is requesting the pins, note to self, I will talk with other paying party." Then looks up at me and says I can't promise anything. Then he proceeds to try to talk me out of it by stating, "It will be damaged burned and blackened." Then after a month he did put the pins in the mail with no way to track it, no consideration to the security of it making it to my mailbox. No concern for the sacredness of this item was to me. My request was not taken seriously nor did he care how important it truly was to me. He just threw in w/ the regular mail with no extra care in wrapping it or insuring it. I was just floored by this behavior. I requested the death certificate, I was told the first copy is full price and every after is lower. Well the ex paid for the first one. I asked for one and Nate informed me I was a different paying party so I would need to pay the full price for the first one. I was told to wait 12 wks. I couldn’t pay then and there for the death certificate I was asked to wait. I ordered the bookmarks at the same time. He quoted me the prices over the phone for each item, he didn't want to use my debit card over the phone b/c it charges him a fee to use the credit card machine. It would have been nice to have the price or fee for that included with the quoted price for such things, I wouldn’t have felt he was nickel and diming me to pieces had he did it that way. There were issues b/c we were divorced yes I agree. But this man needed to be a neutral professional and respect both parents, their needs and their rights. If not for us at least for the respect my son deserved for being cremated there. I cannot believe that this was the first or the last divorced couple's child who died which were on bad terms. I am sure he was trained in college on how to deal with such situations. I expected to be dealing with a professional who would be trained and have experience being a sympathetic funeral director. In Loving Memory of my only Child Josh M Copus. Sincerely Maggie Copus
Respond to negative reviews
Rude and unprofessional review for Christenson Funeral & Crematory
Rude and unprofessional on Dex Knows

8 years ago

01/02/2014, 00:58 AM
Incredibly Rude and unprofessional I personally was not treated with the compassion, sympathy, dignity or respect I felt I deserved as the Mother of a child who died by suicide, at this funeral home, by the employee. The employee I dealt with solely was Nate. He was indifferent, rude, careless and flat out unkind to me and my siblings. The father and I are divorced we didn’t get along at all. But he made the initial cremation and obituary arrangements and paid his 1/2 portion. When it came to me, I was treated by Nate as an inconvenience. I was a bother to have to deal with or take time for. I was being denied every last right I had to pay my respects to my son by his father. The coroner’s office were called and after learning what was happening, they mandated a legal document be signed b/f my son would be released to the funeral home to ensure I was to have my last and final rights. Our situation was unique obviously for me to need to sign a legal document, which enforced my maternal rights. Nate’s job was to ensure I signed it as requested by the Coroner’s office and take my half of the bill. Agreement stated that I was mandated to pay my half of the costs, before I could have my name added in the obituary or be allowed to attend the celebration of life or even have the right to say goodbye to my son at the Morgue. When I came in he was all about getting the money. Three of us were standing there with credit cards in hand and willing to pay our share. We had many questions and ground to cover b/c I had never had a child die before, but he stayed focused on the money. I felt as if he knew and used the skill of distraction to avoid uncomfortable situations with divorced families. I felt that by him focusing solely on the money instead of the issue at hand was better or more important than being neutral and professional to all parties involved. Agreement stated I was to have half of the ashes, if I paid my half. I declined that privilege and instead asked for the metal pins which were in my son's arm due to a recent break. As I am asking and requesting what I needed from him ie the pins, he tries to ignore me, then he kept trying to distract me as I am reading the legal document. Then I kept pressing him on an answer, so he wrote on the legal document, "Maggie is requesting the pins, note to self, I will talk with other paying party." Then looks up at me and says I can't promise anything. Then he proceeds to try to talk me out of it by stating, "It will be damaged burned and blackened." Then after a month he did put the pins in the mail with no way to track it, no consideration to the security of it making it to my mailbox. No concern for the sacredness of this item was to me. My request was not taken seriously nor did he care how important it truly was to me. He just threw in w/ the regular mail with no extra care in wrapping it or insuring it. I was just floored by this behavior. I requested the death certificate, I was told the first copy is full price and every after is lower. Well the ex paid for the first one. I asked for one and Nate informed me I was a different paying party so I would need to pay the full price for the first one. I was told to wait 12 wks. I couldn’t pay then and there for the death certificate I was asked to wait. I ordered the bookmarks at the same time. He quoted me the prices over the phone for each item, he didn't want to use my debit card over the phone b/c it charges him a fee to use the credit card machine. It would have been nice to have the price or fee for that included with the quoted price for such things, I wouldn’t have felt he was nickel and diming me to pieces had he did it that way. There were issues b/c we were divorced yes I agree. But this man needed to be a neutral professional and respect both parents, their needs and their rights.
Respond to negative reviews
Featured content
How a mass text service can help real estate agents (with templates)

How a mass text service can help real estate agents (with templates)

How a mass text service can help real estate agents (with templates)
Handling negative reviews- 4 important tips

Handling negative reviews- 4 important tips

Handling negative reviews- 4 important tips
dawn.crider1 review for Christenson Funeral & Crematory
dawn.crider1 on Yellow Pages

9 years ago

04/17/2013, 06:01 AM
My family was extremely impressed with how well Christenson Funeral Home was able to assist us with my Mother’s cremation. Nathan from Christenson’s was very friendly and helpful in all aspects of her arrangements. They are very reasonably priced and go above and beyond in the service they provide, I would definitely recommend them to all my family and friends.
Dawn Crider review for Christenson Funeral & Crematory
Dawn Crider on Dex Knows

9 years ago

04/17/2013, 02:27 AM
Cremation Services My family was extremely impressed with how well Christenson Funeral Home was able to assist us with my Mother’s cremation. Nathan from Christenson’s was very friendly and helpful in all aspects of her arrangements. They are very reasonably priced and go above and beyond in the service they provide, I would definitely recommend them to all my family and friends.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.