Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

BluePearl Veterinary Partners

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
3.9
806 reviews
|Emergency Medicine|Saint Petersburg, FL 33762 United States

4525 Ulmerton Rd, Saint Petersburg, FL 33762 United States

(727) 572-0132

https://bluepearlvet.com/hospital/clearwater-fl/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Healthcare in your area
5.0
(1) · Emergency Medicine

2901 W Swann Ave

(813) 873-6445
5.0
(1) · Doctors

5509 Grand Blvd #300

(727) 232-0644
5.0
(3) · Emergency Medicine

10730 FL-54 #104

(727) 372-3888
5.0
(1) · Emergency Medicine

12901 Bruce B Downs Blvd

(813) 844-7412
5.0
(1) · Surgeons
5.0
(1) · Emergency Medicine

6500 38th Ave N

(727) 344-4795
About

Our state-of-the-art hospital provides emergency service 24-hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year. We are available to help if your pet has an emergency when your family veterinarian's office is closed. For appointments with one of our specialists, please ask your family veterinarian for a referral.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 90,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

3.9
806 reviews
5511
  
418
  
312
  
222
  
1172
  
71 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Featured
Ken P. review for BluePearl Veterinary Partners
Ken P. on Birdeye

3 years ago

02/10/2020, 07:04 AM
St. Petersburg Fl. 19 January 2020 Our 9 pound 15 year old Silver Toy Poodle “Cleo” took ill with coughing and difficulty breathing. Our normal Vet was unavailable so we took her to Blue Pearl in Clearwater Florida. A technician said she was oxygen deprived at 86% and put her in an oxygen cage. The Vet on duty suggested X-rays the results of which indicated a pneumonia like lung infection but no heart enlargement. She forwarded the X-rays to their radiologist in Tampa who said it was not pneumonia but rather congestive heart failure and they should start her on diuretics. When we questioned the original diagnosis, she again referred to the radiologist as per protocol. We requested they begin the antibiotics instead of the diuretics, while keeping her on Oxygen. That evening and the next morning we were called by on duty staff and told our little dog was out of the cage and doing much better with oxygen at 100%. They dismissed the heart problems after an ECG. A new on duty vet had given her a bronchodilator to increase blood flow to improve her breathing and oxygen flow to the brain. We visited her that afternoon where she appeared highly agitated, nervous and excited, pacing all about the room and breathing rapidly. She vomited water she was given but he Vet made no mention of this condition being a problem. We were poised to take her home but were advised to let her stay one more night since they had the oxygen cage and we had no way to continue the additional medications Around 10 PM that night , we were called by another on duty Vet saying Cleo had gotten worse, more rapid breathing, extreme restlessness and had a seizure exhibiting neurological problems. She then admitted they had given Cleo an overdose of the bronchodilator,Theophylline at 9 AM that morning, TWICE the maximum dose for a dog that size and much more than was indicated for one her age, AND a second dose that night at 9PM. She apologized, saying she was doing what she could and we would be contacted by management the next day. Four hours later, we got the call that sweet little Cleo stopped breathing. Although we can never prove conclusively that the overdose caused her death, there is little doubt in our minds that it contributed. The symptoms we saw that day and what was reported clearly matched online research relating to side affects for this medication along with several caution notes about dosage to an older dog. Blue Pearl is a national company, owned by The Mars Corporation and run by business professionals, not your local vet who knows your pet. They are equipped with technology and specialists and you may well need there services but you may never see the same people twice. Shift handovers are handled by rounds and charts, but they follow protocol and mistakes can be made or things overlooked. We will never understand how with all the trained technicians and vets, nobody ever noticed or questioned the overdose until it had been given twice, and symptoms were overwhelming. Our recommendation, question EVERYTHING. Get second opinions from your vet that knows your pet and review procedures and medications BEFORE they are administered, and DON’t rely on protocol. For Cleo
Respond to negative reviews
Tawny Brooke review for BluePearl Veterinary Partners
Tawny Brooke on Facebook

3 years ago

09/15/2019, 01:43 AM
Front desk staff was great, doctors on the other hand were... I’ll let you decide.. I read through previous reviews now and see that they’ve misdiagnosed animals an abundance of times. ☹️ I brought my pup in because he was yelping in pain, and my regular vet suggested them for an animal ER. Came in and the first doctor looked at him and pushed on him a little bit and diagnosed him with “back pain”. Gave me some pain pills and sent me on my way after a $200 bill. Not even a few hours later, pup was still in pain. Thankful for the one nurse who was kind and giving me suggestions via telephone calls. Had to come back in, where the next doctor had diagnosed my dog with THREE OTHER POSSIBILITIES, none being “back pain” and each needing a “special costly test” to be run. 🤦🏻‍♀️ They took care of the exam fee, but that was it. I was still left paying over $500. Thank god my dog is better, but it would have been nice if he had been diagnosed correctly with only one visit.. ☹️
Jan Swarthout review for BluePearl Veterinary Partners
Jan Swarthout on Facebook

3 years ago

08/09/2019, 19:37 PM
Great customer service. Saw my dog after a bad fall right away.
Featured content
Review manager vs. reputation management: what's the difference?

Review manager vs. reputation management: what's the difference?

Review manager vs. reputation management: what's the difference?
How to respond to negative feedback from a customer

How to respond to negative feedback from a customer

How to respond to negative feedback from a customer
Kellie Kaser review for BluePearl Veterinary Partners
Kellie Kaser on Facebook

3 years ago

08/05/2019, 02:04 AM
Caring doctors and nurses. They saved my baby girl few times and gave me honesty and compassion when they couldn’t save her. But she was always treated with love and care. I felt safe bringing my dog here. Thank you all 😇
Brittany Hughes review for BluePearl Veterinary Partners
Brittany Hughes on Facebook

4 years ago

07/21/2019, 02:22 AM
Dr. Melvin, Jen, and Taylor were all so wonderful. Jen helped to calm me down in the front office because I was a nervous wreck. The doctor took such great care of my baby and made me feel like I was the only patient there even though they were busy. She spent as much time with me to answer questions as I needed and made sure I was comfortable with the plan to help my dog moving forward. I definitely recommend Blue Pearl to anyone that wants great people taking care of their fur babies!
Leslie Puglia review for BluePearl Veterinary Partners
Leslie Puglia on Facebook

4 years ago

07/10/2019, 04:25 AM
Wonderful opthamologist and caring folks.
Leia Marie review for BluePearl Veterinary Partners
Leia Marie on Facebook

4 years ago

07/07/2019, 19:32 PM
Great staff and doctors! They take good care of the animals.
Joy Hurley-Deluna review for BluePearl Veterinary Partners
Joy Hurley-Deluna on Facebook

4 years ago

06/30/2019, 02:31 AM
I took my 10 year old Thor there with an extreme case of bloat. They helped me come to terms of my decision to end his suffering and gave comfort in doing so. And because of my financial situation they even worked with me and never pushed the issue. They took good care of my friend right till the end. I would definitely choose them over and over again. thank you Blue Pearl.
Christopher Farrar review for BluePearl Veterinary Partners
Christopher Farrar on Facebook

4 years ago

06/23/2019, 04:23 AM
They were awesome and Dr William’s took his time and helped me with my African Grey! The staff was amazing!!! Thank you Shannon!
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.