Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Betterton & Whitlow

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.7
128 reviews
|Auto Repair|Chesapeake, VA 23320

128 Tilden Ave, Chesapeake, VA 23320

(757) 547-3811

https://www.bettertonwhitlow.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Automotive in your area
5.0
(1) · Automotive

376 N Witchduck Rd

(757) 552-6589
5.0
(58) · Automotive

507 N Witchduck Rd

(757) 552-0321
5.0
(10) · Automotive

4914 Bainbridge Blvd

(757) 543-0690
5.0
(4) · Auto Repair

928 Business Park Dr

(757) 424-2014
5.0
(10) · Oil Change Stations

5288 Princess Anne Rd

(757) 671-1676

4 people are looking at this business

5.0
(2) · Automotive

2428 Virginia Beach Blvd

(757) 340-0877

1 person is looking at this business

About

Betterton & Whitlow has been serving the Hampton Roads area for over 30 years. Their experts are equipped to handle all of your automobile repair needs including brakes, transmissions, electrical work, tune-Ups, wheel balancing & alignment, state inspections, engine Analysis, speedometer calibration, front end repairs, and more. They also sell major brand tires, as well as offer complete muffler and exhaust service. Ask about their conditional lifetime warranty.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.7
128 reviews
5109
  
46
  
30
  
23
  
15
  
5 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Anthony R. review for Betterton & Whitlow
Anthony R. on BirdEye

10 days ago

11/24/2021, 09:52 AM
Where do I start? This is a long one. I initially went to this place to get an inspection. Seem like really nice people there, so I took one of my vehicles there for repair. A day goes by...nothing. 2 days goes by...nothing. I had to call them to find out what was going on with my car. Talked to one of them and he explained they were short handed...like almost everyone right now, so I understood. Paid $475 for repairs. I then take a different car for inspection...cool. no problem. I take that car back for repair. A week goes by...no call. I didn't mind because its a project car, not something I drive everyday. Another week goes by and I have to call them for an update. Long story short. They tell me that the car is ready and it'll be $500. HUH? Noone every called me to tell me what was wrong with the car, let alone how much it would cost to fix. Absolutely not...do whatever you have to do to erase the work you've done...I'M NOT PAYING $500. How do you even know i can afford that. I have mechanic friends that don't have the equipment like they do. Im sure I can get one of them to fix it cheaper. I wanted to know what was wrong with it. So the mechanic admitted he never discussed fixing the car with me. We worked out a lesser charge $300. I go and pick up the car...I guess this is the owner. He was rude...yelled at me "why did you bring it, if you didn't want it fixed?". Threw the pen and receipt at me...threw my keys at me! Yes, threw them! I have NEVER seen anything like that in my 49 year old life. I had to get out of there before this old man needed to call the police. I was in disbelief. So...I see a lot of people have had good experiences with this place... my experience was NOT. Go there at own risk.
Respond to negative reviews
Shaun T. review for Betterton & Whitlow
Shaun T. on Yellow Pages

10 days ago

11/24/2021, 02:18 AM
Where do I start? This is a long one. I initially went to this place to get an inspection. Seem like really nice people there, so I took one of my vehicles there for repair. A day goes by...nothing. 2 days goes by...nothing. I had to call them to find out what was going on with my car. Talked to one of them and he explained they were short handed...like almost everyone right now, so I understood. Paid $475 for repairs. I then take a different car for inspection...cool. no problem. I take that car back for repair. A week goes by...no call. I didn't mind because its a project car, not something I drive everyday. Another week goes by and I have to call them for an update. Long story short. They tell me that the car is ready and it'll be $500. HUH? Noone every called me to tell me what was wrong with the car, let alone how much it would cost to fix. Absolutely not...do whatever you have to do to erase the work you've done...I'M NOT PAYING $500. How do you even know i can afford that. I have mechanic friends that don't have the equipment like they do. Im sure I can get one of them to fix it cheaper. I wanted to know what was wrong with it. So the mechanic admitted he never discussed fixing the car with me. We worked out a lesser charge $300. I go and pick up the car...I guess this is the owner. He was rude...yelled at me "why did you bring it, if you didn't want it fixed?". Threw the pen and receipt at me...threw my keys at me! Yes, threw them! I have NEVER seen anything like that in my 49 year old life. I had to get out of there before this old man needed to call the police. I was in disbelief. So...I see a lot of people have had good experiences with this place... my experience was NOT. Go there at own risk.
Respond to negative reviews
Foobarred D. review for Betterton & Whitlow
Foobarred D. on Yellow Pages

6 years ago

01/07/2016, 16:21 PM
Highly recommend! I noticed we had an anti-freeze leak coming from near the back of the engine (NOT GOOD). I thought the job was gonna cost more than the car is worth - but luckily it wasn't what I thought it was. My wife remembered that one of her co-workers had been raving about the auto repair shop he'd been using for many years (B&W). I called two or three other places first (but none of them seemed to know what the problem could be & all suggested bringing it in for a diagnosis - extra money - no thanks). I then called "B&W" & spoke to "Bobby" (the owner - a very friendly guy). I described the problem & w/out hesitation - he said it was likely a "cracked intake manifold" (common for the '98 Mustang 4.6L GT). Ford, in their wisdom, decided to use plastic (which breaks) - when they should've used metal... Fortunately, they learned from their mistake & all the new after-market intake manifolds have been redesigned with METAL - to prevent CRACKING (& come w/a limited lifetime warranty). So, Bobby fixed us up w/a brand new intake manifold - (at a price we feel was very reasonable - considering the complexity of the job & the time/labor involved). I have to say, these guys must be magicians because the Mustang is purring like a kitten & is running better than it has in YEARS! It took them a few days to complete the job (Bobby told me it was taking them a little longer than he'd anticipated). I'm now wondering if it's because they spent a little extra time making a few "other" adjustments - to really get her dialed in? All I can say is - I'm impressed! I don't know if I can recall a time when an auto repair shop exceeded my expectations (it's rare). Good auto mechanics are VERY hard to FIND!!! They showed me my old intake manifold & where the crack was & did not try to up-sell me on anything that wasn't necessary... I even asked if any of our other fluids needed to be changed (Brake, Power Steering, Transmission) - & he said they all looked to be okay. I'm truly amazed at how well the car is running! Bobby, if you're reading this - thank you again!!! If we need other work done - I KNOW WHO to call now.
Featured content
Livechat vs chatbot: which one is right for your business?

Livechat vs chatbot: which one is right for your business?

Livechat vs chatbot: which one is right for your business?
How you can create a winning customer satisfaction survey

How you can create a winning customer satisfaction survey

How you can create a winning customer satisfaction survey
Foobarred Dude review for Betterton & Whitlow
Foobarred Dude on YellowBot

6 years ago

01/06/2016, 03:19 AM
The best auto-repair shop. PERIOD. Highly recommend! I noticed we had an anti-freeze leak coming from near the back of the engine (NOT GOOD). I thought the job was gonna cost more than the car is worth - but luckily it wasn't what I thought it was. My wife remembered that one of her co-workers had been raving about the auto repair shop he'd been using for many years (B&W). I called two or three other places first (but none of them seemed to know what the problem could be & all suggested bringing it in for a diagnosis - extra money - no thanks). I then called "B&W" & spoke to "Bobby" (the owner - a very friendly guy). I described the problem & w/out hesitation - he said it was likely a "cracked intake manifold" (common for the '98 Mustang 4.6L GT). Ford, in their wisdom, decided to use plastic (which breaks) - when they should've used metal... Fortunately, they learned from their mistake & all the new after-market intake manifolds have been redesigned with METAL - to prevent CRACKING (& come w/a limited lifetime warranty). So, Bobby fixed us up w/a brand new intake manifold - (at a price we feel was very reasonable - considering the complexity of the job & the time/labor involved). I have to say, these guys must be magicians because the Mustang is purring like a kitten & is running better than it has in YEARS! It took them a few days to complete the job (Bobby told me it was taking them a little longer than he'd anticipated). I'm now wondering if it's because they spent a little extra time making a few "other" adjustments - to really get her dialed in? All I can say is - I'm impressed! I don't know if I can recall a time when an auto repair shop exceeded my expectations (it's rare). Good auto mechanics are VERY hard to FIND!!! They showed me my old intake manifold & where the crack was & did not try to up-sell me on anything that wasn't necessary... I even asked if any of our other fluids needed to be changed (Brake, Power Steering, Transmission) - & he said they all looked to be okay. I'm truly amazed at how well the car is running! Bobby, if you're reading this - thank you again!!! If we need other work done - I KNOW WHO to call now.
frank k. review for Betterton & Whitlow
frank k. on Citysearch

9 years ago

04/22/2013, 15:15 PM
Betterton and Whitlow were recommended by a friend. He knew I am a retired mechanic and picky. They did major repair on my classic car which came out outstanding. I know it was not as fast as some would like but i now know it is worth the wait. A good quality job is worth waiting for and I am glad to take my car to a great mechanic and to see that as a independent local shop they are busy that says something for them. They are headed to pick up my sons car today because it is disabled and the dealer wanted a fortune for something they can do for almost half the price. I do not go for the cheapest I go for the best!
Sara G. review for Betterton & Whitlow
Sara G. on Citysearch

9 years ago

03/22/2013, 13:18 PM
We started using Betterton & Whitlow when we moved back into the area in 2005. I would always prefer using a locally owned small business over a big box business when I can. In my experience, they have always been very honest, reasonably priced and they do quick work. I would not hesitate in recommending this business to anyone.
sara.m.gross.144 review for Betterton & Whitlow
sara.m.gross.144 on Yellow Pages

9 years ago

03/22/2013, 01:07 AM
We started using Betterton & Whitlow when we moved back into the area in 2005. I would always prefer using a locally owned small business over a big box business when I can. In my experience, they have always been very honest, reasonably priced and they do quick work. I would not hesitate in recommending this business to anyone.
nichollsvi review for Betterton & Whitlow
nichollsvi on Citysearch

11 years ago

05/10/2011, 17:32 PM
Good but very slow – Been here for a number of years. The place is fantastic and they do good work. The problem is that, consistently over the past few years, you can leave a car with them in the morning and they'll not start on it until noon or later. That means you get your car stuck in the shop another day unless its a simple oil change. Lots of excuses from them, but bottom line, if you call days and weeks ahead, this really shouldn't happen if you leave your car a half hour after they open and the work take 2.5 hours to complete.
RBIII review for Betterton & Whitlow
RBIII on YellowBot

11 years ago

05/10/2011, 03:56 AM
Not reliable Service is unreliable. Given several chances but they never measure up. Over a period of years, its sad, but I've found that they aren't up front on some areas and other places are more reliable.
Respond to negative reviews
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.