BirdEye Logo
Are you a business?
Cancel
Edit

Andrews Building Corp

1.3
10 reviews
Property Management Company
 513 Broadway, New York, NY 10012

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Write a review

(646) 613-8258

Write a review

1on BirdEye, Jun 17, 2016
Andrews Building Corp. is the worst Management company to deal with. If you are a vendor, expect to chase them around for payment. They will be unresponsive and unprofessional when confronted with the arrears. Instead of payment expect a cancellation. Keep your attorney close by to collect your funds for services provided to them. more »
1on Google, Dec 17, 2015
Hands down the worst. Unanswered emails, missing checks and 60 days behind in record keeping for our books. We had two different managers and both were the same. Do not use them. more »
1on BirdEye, Nov 23, 2015
This company is a total nightmare to deal with. Not only did they cover up illegal short term rentals (AirBnB, HomeandAway) taking place in 3 apartments in the building we live in, but they were totally unresponsive to all our complaints about noise and water leaks caused by these illegal rentals. The owners of these apartments would often place 6-8 people inside a ONE BEDROOM apartment and children would sometimes play basketball or jump inside these apartment at 2am. Every few days, a new family entered the apartments above us and each new "tenant" brought a new set of problems and/or noise levels. One of the illegal rentals above us caused over 6 water leaks inside two apartments underneath them over a period of less than 12 months. These constant water leaks eventually caused toxic black mold in the ceiling & flooring of one apartment located underneath the illegal rentals. Even after all our emails reporting this situation, Vivian Robinson (the property manager at the time) continued to ignore the situation and did NOTHING.

We later found out that Andrews Organization was probably allowing these illegal rentals to happen because the shareholder operating two of these short term rentals was in fact the President & CEO of the Co-Op we live in. In our opinion, the Andrews Organization has been playing political games, protecting the CEO, at the detriment of the tenants who are placing their health, assets and safety at risk by having so many people rent illegal apartments inside the building (sometimes 20-25 different people in a single month!). In our experience, we found that The Andrews Organization has absolutely ZERO respect for the health and well-being of tenants residing inside the buildings they manage; the only thing they seem to care about is the satisfaction of some of their shareholders. Also, they not only put tenants at risk, but they also place the property of other shareholders (who are playing by the rules and not renting their apartments on AirBnB) at risk. Many of the shareholder's assets and properties were affected by this situation - directly or indirectly. In fact, our neighbor's apartment was so affected by the leaks that they had to move out from their apartment TWICE in the past two months in order to let a construction team repair the consequences of water leaks caused by irresponsible AirBnB transient tenants.

The new property manager - Sandra Nazario - was originally more responsive once toxic black mold was discovered. However, she soon started acting exactly like the previous property manager. We spent countless hours emailing and calling the shareholders (as well as Sandra Nazario @ the Andrews Organization) in order to get them to conduct the necessary air and mold testing for mold. Sandra told us that she was taking the situation very seriously, but we then didn't hear from her again for almost a week. Black mold can be deadly and any responsible management company would have sent a mold testing company within 24-48 hours to at least conduct tests. Instead, we waited almost 2 weeks (from the first report we received from our neighbors about the discovered mold) and no testing company was even scheduled by the Sandra. When we said we had found a reputable company to do the tests (which was not expensive and with great reviews), Sandra kept trying to push another company Andrews Organization usually uses for mold testing. Since I had read another review online saying that "agents at Andrews Organization work with and often recommend corrupt partners, charging an extortionate amount", we decided it would be best to have an independent company that wasn't associated by the shareholders or the management company. Sandra kept giving us a hard time with the insurance certificate (which the company in question said they NEVER experienced before).
more »
1on Google, Nov 19, 2015
Liz is my building manager in Manhattan. She is one of the rudest unprofessional managers at Andrews management company. Go elsewhere more »
1on Google, Nov 19, 2015
They are a terrible company/organization! They never return phone calls, they never help you with anything. I had to give one star because the no star isn't an option. more »
1on Google, Nov 09, 2014
Andrews manages the building i live in and i have been calling and emailing them about a rodent and the elevator that doesnt work. 3 days later and still no call back or response to emails. This is the worst customer service i have experienced in the US. more »
2on Google, Nov 23, 2013
We lived in one of their buildings from September 2011 for a year.
It has been 6 months since we moved out and the landlord hasn't sent the security deposit yet. We have attempted to contac
t the Alex Balbona at the management company, Andrews Building Corp. He won't return our calls or respond to our email. We have tried to get answers from the real estate agent, Iris Racant, from Fenwick Keats but she just refers us Alex Balbona, stating that she doesn't have anything to do with security deposit. We have no idea how to find the owner.
The building is in a very poor condition. The living room we lived in was infested with ants. They never sent exterminator once. Bathroom is small and gross. Sinks get clogged all the time. Super didn't help much. The basement where the laundry machines and storage area are located is like a dungeon. I went to throw garbage out and some stranger, a hispanic guy, was hiding there and ran off when he saw me startled. Very poorly maintained building. In the summer, it was extremely hot and humid even with the air conditioning.
The real estate agent, Iris Racant didn't have a problem collecting a broker's fee but she never bothered to tell us the fact that the apartment was available for only one year. If we knew we wouldn't have taken the apartment and pay the broker's fee. They told us a month before the lease ends that we need to move out.
Overall, I loved the location but everything else about this building (management, real estate agent, physical condition). I wouldn't recommend renting from this agent, I wouldn't recommend buying, especially from these people. In my opinion, it's best to avoid this agent and management company as well.
We are hoping either the agent or the management will get back to us soon.
more »
2on Google, Apr 30, 2013
We lived in one of their buildings from September 2011 for a year.It has been 6 months since we moved out and the landlord hasn't sent the security deposit yet. We have attempted to contact the Alex Balbona at the management company, Andrews Building Corp. He won't return our calls or respond to our email. We have tried to get answers from the real estate agent, Iris Racant, from Fenwick Keats but she just refers us Alex Balbona, stating that she doesn't have anything to do with security deposit. We have no idea how to find the owner.The building is in a very poor condition. The living room we lived in was infested with ants. They never sent exterminator once. Bathroom is small and gross. Sinks get clogged all the time. Super didn't help much. The basement where the laundry machines and storage area are located is like a dungeon. I went to throw garbage out and some stranger, a hispanic guy, was hiding there and ran off when he saw me startled. Very poorly maintained building. In the summer, it was extremely hot and humid even with the air conditioning.The real estate agent, Iris Racant didn't have a problem collecting a broker's fee but she never bothered to tell us the fact that the apartment was available for only one year. If we knew we wouldn't have taken the apartment and pay the broker's fee. They told us a month before the lease ends that we need to move out.Overall, I loved the location but everything else about this building (management, real estate agent, physical condition). I wouldn't recommend renting from this agent, I wouldn't recommend buying, especially from these people. In my opinion, it's best to avoid this agent and management company as well.We are hoping either the agent or the management will get back to us soon. more »
2on Google, Mar 31, 2013
We lived in one of their buildings from September 2011 for a year. It has been 6 months since we moved out and the landlord hasn't sent the security deposit yet. We have attempted to contact the Alex Balbona at the management company, Andrews Building Corp. He won't return our calls or respond to our email. We have tried to get answers from the real estate agent, Iris Racant, from Fenwick Keats but she just refers us Alex Balbona, stating that she doesn't have anything to do with security deposit. We have no idea how to find the owner. The building is in a very poor condition. The living room we lived in was infested with ants. They never sent exterminator once. Bathroom is small and gross. Sinks get clogged all the time. Super didn't help much. The basement where the laundry machines and storage area are located is like a dungeon. I went to throw garbage out and some stranger, a hispanic guy, was hiding there and ran off when he saw me startled. Very poorly maintained building. In the summer, it was extremely hot and humid even with the air conditioning. The real estate agent, Iris Racant didn't have a problem collecting a broker's fee but she never bothered to tell us the fact that the apartment was available for only one year. If we knew we wouldn't have taken the apartment and pay the broker's fee. They told us a month before the lease ends that we need to move out.Overall, I loved the location but everything else about this building (management, real estate agent, physical condition). I wouldn't recommend renting from this agent, I wouldn't recommend buying, especially from these people. In my opinion, it's best to avoid this agent and management company as well. We are hoping either the agent or the management will get back to us soon. more »
1on Google, Feb 28, 2013
As a property manager, at least in terms of facilitating sales, they really are awful. Weeks later, we do not have a due diligence questionnaire answered, a transaction may be falling apart. They do not answer phones, they promise that the questionnaire will be sent out the next day and it never is. I have never seen such unprofessional work in terms of facilitating sales transactions in 33 years as a broker. Special criticism for Vlora. Sorry, but this review is based purely on fact and is well deserved. more »
Page 1 of 1
Are you a business owner?
or
See BirdEye in action.
  • Scan Business
    See how you appear everywhere online -- across top sites and against competitors
  • Free Trial
    Take control of your business. Give it a try for free!

Contact

Edit
513 Broadway, New York, NY 10012
Property Management Company
Closed

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Review summary

5  
4  
3  
2  3
1  7
1.3
10 reviews
BirdEye Logo
Things you should know
about BirdEye
BirdEye was founded in 2012 to help businesses manage online reputation and customer experience

BirdEye works with 15,000+ clients, from SMBs to large enterprises

With BirdEye, you can monitor real-time customer feedback from 250+ sites and social channels

Generate new authentic reviews with real-time automated feedback requests from BirdEye

BirdEye gives you access to insights from your competitors’ customer feedback

The BirdEye mobile app allows on-the-go customer experience management

Use BirdEye’s free Scan Your Business tool for a snapshot of your online presence