Logo White

Aldos Ristorante Italiano

Own this business?
4.5
732 reviews
|Restaurants|San Antonio, TX 78229

8539 Fredericksburg Rd, San Antonio, TX 78229

(210) 696-2536

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits

About

Editorial from It may seem an anomaly, but some of the best Italian restaurants in San Antonio aren't run by Italians at all. Over the years, Aldo Ghaffari and various family members have established an improbable Italian restaurant dynasty in the city,…

Suggest edits

BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES

Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

4.5
732 reviews
5448
  
4122
  
348
  
227
  
116
  
71 reviews have no rating
  • 360 Reviews4.4Google
  • 150 Reviews4.3Trip Advisor
  • 135 Reviews4.6Facebook
  • Show All
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
on Trip Advisor

24 days ago

01/25/2019, 03:01 AM
Checking out the new
Location
Aldo’s at The Dominion opened this week and tonight was our first visit. I was a regular at the old location and looked forward to this new place. It exceeded my expectations and we have already made another reservation for next Friday night.
The sea bass was very good but the fettuccine bolognese was phenomenal. Don’t miss the desert either. Go there! Soon! But make a reservation because it is a popular addition to this area.
on Trip Advisor

3 months ago

11/25/2018, 07:11 AM
Among the best restaurant experiences ever
The food, the wine and the service were perfect. Along with that, the atmosphere was perfect - the lighting, the music, the plates, the silverware, the napkins and the table cloth - perfect.
I found my favorite restaurant in San Antonio. Auguri!
on Trip Advisor

3 months ago

11/19/2018, 08:11 AM
Wonderful
It has been many years since I last ate here. It remains a classic upscale warm friendly Italian restaurant. Staff have obviously worked here for a long time, and enjoy doing so. They enjoy caring for customers, and do a wonderful job it. Food is delicious. Used to be a favorite of the Medical community, especially the med school, but today seemed mostly to be old friends. Going to close soon, and move out near the Rim
Featured content
Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform

Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform

Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform
Feedback on restaurants is important for growth

Feedback on restaurants is important for growth

Feedback on restaurants is important for growth
on Trip Advisor

4 months ago

10/30/2018, 17:10 PM
Superbe cheesecake
Dining in the evening for 4,nice quiet table on 'the poarch', lovely veal, but ended with cheesecake to die for!!!! You must end the evcening with this homemade delight!!!
on Trip Advisor

4 months ago

10/25/2018, 17:10 PM
Excellent!
Charming, cozy, comfortable restaurant located amongst towering oaks. Greeted and seated promptly. Immediately greeted by waitstaff who provided prompt and professional service. Salads were fresh, bread had the perfect balance of texture and taste. Main course of Redfish (special) was exquisite. Dessert of tiramisu completed the evening.
We learned that this location will be relocating in November. I can only hope that the superior food and service will carry on at the new location.
on Trip Advisor

4 months ago

10/16/2018, 14:10 PM
Wonderful!
I had the most woderful dinner at Aldo's. Aldo himself greeted me at the door and gave a wonderful quiet table.
All aspects of my meal were superb: Malbec from Argentina, minestone and pollo marsala! Really fabulous!
Go! You won't regret it.
on Trip Advisor

5 months ago

09/18/2018, 10:09 AM
Exquisite Food & Atmosphere!
Hurry & dine here before they relocate to the Dominion area! They are an icon on the Northwest side of town, but will relocate in October 2018, so hurry to enjoy their Fredericksburg/Wurzbach location while it lasts! Set amongst large oak trees, this beautiful gem of a restaurant will close its doors here to make way for a new Med Center retail development. There is something very special about this place, a converted house turned into a fine dining restaurant. The food is exquisite and the atmosphere is warm and inviting. I'm heartbroken that this wonderful location will be no more soon! I'm taking photos to remember this place! I'm also going as often as I can
...  more>>
on Trip Advisor

6 months ago

08/16/2018, 11:08 AM
Classy Italian restaurant
This is not your typical, run-of-the-mill, red-and-white-checkered tablecloth Italian restaurant. It is an upscale, comfortable and non-pretentious restaurant with a wide selection of Northern and Southern Italian entrees. It's also the most expensive Italian restaurant I've ever encountered.
On this occasion I had the Pollo Scaloppine, which was excellent and about the middle of the price range. It came with a small dinner salad and a side of pasta. With iced tea, no alcohol, and no dessert, the tab was $40.00, including an 18% tip. Not outrageous, but definitely more than I expect when I think of an Italian restaurant.
This is a perfect spot for a romantic dinner
...  more>>
on Trip Advisor

6 months ago

08/13/2018, 09:08 AM
Great stop for Restaurant Week
Aldo's is a great San Antonio restaurant institution. Housed in an old house, it has a lot more charm that those big box Italian joints. But please, don't come in your jean shorts and t-shirts, this is a classy establishment.
We came for restaurant week and really enjoyed our meal. I noticed the waiter didn't write down our drink order or meal order. He had to come back a couple times to verify both orders. I don't mind if you write down my order. This isn't the Memory game.
I had the beet salad to start that was pretty good, but not fantastic. I did notice the bread they brought out was a bit salty.
My entree was salmon on top of risotto with dill and capers.
...  more>>
Footer Banner

Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.