Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Zak's Home

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
3.0
8 reviews
|Furniture Stores|Johnson City, TN 37615

4524 N Roan St, Johnson City, TN 37615

(423) 282-4951

http://www.zaksfurniture.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Retail in your area
5.0
(1) · Retail

400 Whispering Hills Rd

(800) 508-1008
5.0
(46) · Furniture Stores

274 Oak Ave

(828) 765-5557
4.9
(16) · Furniture Stores

401 Commonwealth Ave

(276) 645-0992
4.8
(23) · Retail

70 Old Highway 10 W

(828) 724-4166
4.8
(28) · Furniture Stores

1101 S Jefferson Ave

(336) 246-5647
4.7
(36) · Furniture Stores

147 George Shoun Ln

(423) 768-2013
About

Family owned and operated furniture store serving East Tennessee, Western North Carolina and SW Virginia for over 52 years. Specializing in name brand, quality home furnishings, mattresses and interior design services. Voted #1 furniture store in Johnson City for 12 years in a row and the #1 mattress store in Johnson City over 12 years in a row. Nationally recognized by Furniture Today as a top national home furnishings retailer that excels in customer service, pricing and selection.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

3.0
8 reviews
54
  
40
  
30
  
20
  
14
  
Sort By:
Recommended
Cindy C. review for Zak's Home
Cindy C. on BirdEye

2 months ago

03/26/2022, 01:27 AM
We purchased a home in Tennessee in December and wanted to furnish it. Kelli Hopkins was a dream come true when helping us pick out the furniture, ordering it and in constant contact with us about shipping. We made several trips to Zak's to add more items , everything was delivered with the best care by Matt & Brandon. Great selection, great prices and even greater service by Kelli!
Cindy C. review for Zak's Home
Cindy C. on BirdEye

2 months ago

03/26/2022, 01:27 AM
Our furniture has arrived and it's amazing. Kelli Hopkins did a fantastic job helping us pick out the perfect pieces, making changes when necessary and adding more items to our order. The delivery men Matt & Brandon were amazing as well, they worked very hard bringing in and setting everything up. Thank you Kelli for your outstanding work and for always being available your a great asset to Zak's and I hope they know it!
bsnurse review for Zak's Home
bsnurse on Yellow Pages

5 years ago

05/10/2017, 18:02 PM
I'm only taking the time to write this review so people will understand my hatred for Zak's Furniture. I swore 10 years ago I would never step foot in there store again. My husband and I had just gotten married and needed a new living room suit for our new house. We pick something out at Zak's but the staff is too busy to write up the contract (24 months no interest/no payment) but will have it when they deliver the furniture in two days. No problem, we are flexible. They deliver the furniture but NO contract/paperwork. I call the store and speak to the idiot on the phone. Who says I must be mistaken? Yeah, they guys just left and I didn't sign anything. Two months go by and we get the first statement on our furniture from the finance company. It is completely wrong! The payment is double so I call the finance company and they say that is what Zak's sent them. So I drive out there and talk to another idiot who insults me by saying, well you signed the contract. So I asked to see said contract and she shows it to me. I'm not going to lie...I was very loud. Someone (most likely the sales rep) forged my husband’s name. The best part is not only did they forge it but misspelled it! My husband’s name is Brian, not Brain I tell her. So I talk to the manager who tells me, "Oh these things happen it's not a big deal". DO NOT SHOP AT ZAK'S. They have terrible customer service, commit felonies (forgery), and there are better places in JC to buy furniture. Go to North Carolina Discount Furniture in Boones Creek. It's about 3 miles from Zak's and the prices and service is outstanding!
Respond to negative reviews
Featured content
Review response templates: now no excuse not to respond to reviews

Review response templates: now no excuse not to respond to reviews

Review response templates: now no excuse not to respond to reviews
13 travel review sites you need to know in 2021

13 travel review sites you need to know in 2021

13 travel review sites you need to know in 2021
Melodye W. review for Zak's Home
Melodye W. on Yellow Pages

5 years ago

01/18/2017, 12:51 PM
Well I always ask for James (salesman) and he follows me all around until I find what I want. The quality of furniture at Zaks is a cut above what other stores in this area sell.
Mls200831@yahoo.com S. review for Zak's Home
Mls200831@yahoo.com S. on Yellow Pages

7 years ago

07/17/2015, 02:34 AM
I purchased 2 reclining sofas, lamp, table plus other decorative items, from Kelli. Someone in my family called to inquire the price I paid for my items, individually and as a total. I do not even tell my friends things like this. I talked to someone on staff, twice. They will not let me speak to the top manager. This was in an estate disagreement and has caused many problems. I am VERY unhappy about this and would like something done about it. I'm sure I signed a privacy agreement. I called and talked to Kelli, she said she did not tell this. The other family said, that was who they talked to. Since Zak's can't or won't do anything about it, I am telling anyone I can about this incident. It won't close their doors but maybe it will put a dent in them/
Respond to negative reviews
Linda H. review for Zak's Home
Linda H. on Yellow Pages

7 years ago

06/01/2015, 12:49 PM
Sales person Claudette was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. I would highly recommend Zak's just for the great inventory a fantastic customer service.
donnajarvis review for Zak's Home
donnajarvis on Yellow Pages

10 years ago

07/16/2012, 12:12 PM
I should have heeded the review that I read about the TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE written but I decided to give the company a chance. If there was a negative star rating they would have definitely gotten one. I went to the store to purchase a piece of furniture and from the minute we arrived to the time we left we were frustrated, aggravated and downright mad. We passed several "sales people" who all asked the same questions " Are you looking for someone?" ( Odd questions since we were in a furniture store looking for FURNITURE) We found the area with the type of furniture we were looking for and spent a bit of time looking at the variety. The store was open until 9 pm on Saturdays but once we found a piece that was what we wanted we found that we could not actually purchase it. They only had one, the floor sample, with scratches but would not offer to take a percentage off, etc. We decided that we liked it enough to accept what they had available. We had a truck and were ready to pay cash for it, put it in the vehicle and take it home. The "salesman" said that the "warehouse" people left at 8 and that they could not disassemble or move it for us.....with no discount again...we offered to do it ourselves.The Salesman was very ADAMANT that we simply could NOT take the piece home with us. We could (of course PAY for it) return on monday and pick it up (they could not deliver to where we live). We live about 1 1/2 hours away from the store and had no intention of returning on Monday ( taking a day off from work driving the round trip) for a piece of furniture that would fit in the truck NOW (during open hours! The salesman continued to insist that they could not sell the piece then...so I asked WHY they were open if they could not sell furniture? He assured me that they could take my money and inconvenience me to make a return 3 hour round trip ...that is what he considered "selling" it to me and where HIS responsibility ended (and no doubt he would get a commission for his "work") I asked if I could get a discount on the piece if I returned on Monday, brought my own truck, tools to disassemble and did all the work and of course..the answer was NO. They were literally trying to sell it on their terms, at their price and with NO courtesy. THAT IS NOT CUSTOMER SERVICE! ! It is actually negative customer service. Being the IDIOT that I was I thought to call a manager on Monday to express my concern, issue etc because my daughter wanted THAT piece of furniture..and naturally...when I called the CUSTOMER SERVICE MANAGER was not in the store and I was welcome to leave a message...I told the receptionist..I EXPECTED EXACTLY THAT..nothing.
Respond to negative reviews
winter99 review for Zak's Home
winter99 on Yellow Pages

13 years ago

01/28/2009, 06:42 AM
We purchased a leather sofa, loveseat, and chair, and we purchased insurance to cover any damage that may occur within 5 years. The salesman *assured* us repeatedly we would have *no* trouble with this furniture but if for whatever reason we did, we had coverage both for the leather and for the frame of all pieces. We followed the instructions to the letter to care for our furniture, and we took care of it. It was not abused, yet in 3 short years the leather was cracking all over all three pieces and a there is an odd popping noise in the frame of the sofa. What we learned is that the insurance we purchased through Zak's representative is refusing to cover anything at all unless we pay to have our furniture shipped to them. (around $1500.00) So I am supposed to pay to have my defective furniture shipped to a company and do without it until it has been repaired and shipped back to me??? And they are not willing to do anything at all about the cracking leather, saying this is "normal" wear and tear. This is not writtin in any of the paperwork. It seems to be a made up rule pulled from thin air that was unknown to anyone until we needed Zak's to stand behind their promise. The contact at Zak's was pleasant enough, but far from helpful. No one ever at anytime offered a solution, tried to help us, or even said a simple "I'm sorry you are having this problem." It was pretty much a "too bad for you" attitude. I don't recommend shopping here because I felt I was lied to and taken advantage of - they got the money for the furniture and they got money for a policy that no one is willing to stand behind, and they seem to be pleased with that arrangement. I am now shopping for new furniture for a new home. I just purchased a new living room suit and I need several more pieces, but not one of them will come from Zak's.
Respond to negative reviews
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.