Logo White
Watch Demo

Ya Hala Lebanese Cuisine

Own this business?
4.5
790 reviews
|Restaurants|Portland, OR 97215

8005 SE Stark St, Portland, OR 97215

(503) 256-4484

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits

Top Restaurants in your area

Nicholas Restaurant - Ne Broadway
4.5
(652) · Restaurants

3223 NE Broadway St

(503) 445-4700

4 people are looking at this business

Al-Amir Restaurant
4.5
(739) · Lebanese

223 SW Stark St

(503) 274-0010

8 people are looking at this business

Karam Lebanese Deli & Catering
4.5
(233) · Restaurants

2800 SW Cedar Hills Blvd

(503) 626-5272

1 person is looking at this business

Nicholas Restaurant
4.5
(767) · Lebanese

323 N Main Ave

(503) 666-3333

2 people are looking at this business

Karam Lebanese Cuisine
4.5
(169) · Restaurants

515 SW 4th Ave

(503) 223-0830

5 people are looking at this business

Hoda’s Middle-Eastern Cuisine
4.5
(794) · Restaurants

3401 SE Belmont St

(503) 236-8325

3 people are looking at this business

About

The dishes we offer are not typical entrees found in a Lebanese restaurant but are more traditionally from the kitchen of a Lebanese family's home and also include classic street fare and special baked delicacies. Our lamb is excellent and the baklava will satisfy the biggest sweet tooth! You can rent out our banquet room for parties of 15 or more, or inquire about our full-service catering.

Suggest edits

BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES

Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.5
790 reviews
5500
  
4145
  
352
  
219
  
118
  
56 reviews have no rating
  • 727 Reviews4.5Google
  • 7 Reviews4.6Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
rondae on Citysearch

13 years ago

08/26/2006, 10:30 AM
GREAT food. HORRIBLE service – You know when you have horrible service when you can't remember what your waitress looked like. Took us 20 minutes to get her to look at our table of 3 and get refills on drinks and more bread. I think we drank more water and soda than ate. The food is WONDERFUL, but the service was REALLY bad! If you want GREAT service.......... go to Hodas on Belmont you will NOT be dissappointed. and the bread is fresh there too...... in fact before you can even ask for more they already have it at your table. I'm 95% sure that I will not return to this resturant. I will say that if you want good food it's a good choice...... but don't look for the service. I'm sure they they are glad I'm not a secret diner anymore too! I felt we were in HELLS KITCHEN it took almost 1 hour to get our entree.
hihipuffy on Citysearch

14 years ago

08/04/2006, 08:53 AM
better than Nicholas's – so true, the service leaves a lot to be desired - but the food more than makes up for it. The babaganoush is the bomb. can get super crowded - so best to go during off peak hours.
setapart2worship on Citysearch

14 years ago

06/20/2006, 07:14 AM
Great place to eat! – I went to Ya Hala for an experience and a new style of food. I am glad to say(as I pat my full and satisfied belly) I got both. The service was great and the Lamb Shank that I ordered was even better. If you are in the mood for a not so ordinary american meal, come to Ya Hala. This was my first time there but it seems like other people in the city know about this place. It was packed!
Featured content
Blaze Pizza Using BirdEye Platform

Blaze Pizza Using BirdEye Platform

Blaze Pizza Using BirdEye Platform
Feedback on Restaurants is Important for Growth

Feedback on Restaurants is Important for Growth

Feedback on Restaurants is Important for Growth
jr13 on Citysearch

14 years ago

04/12/2006, 01:24 AM
The Best in Town! – Ya Hala is by far the best Lebanese restaurant in town! We across town (from NW PDX) all the time to enjoy the great food and wonderful service. Did I mention what a great value it is too! I would drive across the city daily if I had the time and could afford the gas! I am lucky, however, because John (the owner of Ya Hala) and his family now own Barbur World Foods (on Barbur & Capitol Highway). When I need a quick fix of Ya Hala or wonderful groceries I can now drive just a few minutes to get it! Try Ya Hala...and Barbur Foods too...you will not be dissapointed! All that talk made me hungry...I think I might go to Ya Hala tonight...
juliadiane on Citysearch

14 years ago

02/27/2006, 10:03 AM
not for large groups – i can't comment on the food, because i never got to eat it. a group of 9 of us went here for a friend's birthday, i had to leave because of a previous engagement BUT they waited 2 hours to be seated!
nibiki on Citysearch

15 years ago

07/10/2005, 03:54 AM
Best Mediterranean Food in town! – This is a restaurant where you are frequently and cheerfully served by the owner and his wife. In addition to the great service, this place has some of the best food I've ever eaten... for a great price. The hummus is the smoothest I've ever had, and the pitas are fresh and hot out of the clay oven. A delicious lamb shawarma sandwich for lunch runs for under five dollars, making this a very affordable lunch option. The dinner entrees are unique and well presented. If you like wine, there are some international varieties that go well with dinner, and that you may never have tasted before. Sometimes the place gets crowded in the evenings, but there is a cute and interesting mediterranean grocery attached for you to peruse while you wait.
nishantrao on Citysearch

15 years ago

07/02/2005, 02:31 AM
some eats good, unfortunate lousy service – food was mediocre, the baba ganouj was terrible. tasteless, overpowerd by lemon. The hummus was too smooth and lacking an appreciable flavor. Rice was excellent but unfortunetly accompanied by an overcooked kefta kaboob. Service was horribly slow and unattentive with snobby, sassy young girls, while the manager smooked her hooka looking on from the patio oblivious to the poor customer service.
Wancho on Citysearch

15 years ago

02/25/2005, 02:07 AM
The BEST Lebanese restaurant in Portland! – I have been to Ya Hala for 5 times in last 3 months and I don't get bored at all! The flat bread is always hot and soft. Lamb shank is very tender, Tabouli, Baklava... I can go on and on. Everything is so good and very cheap. Don't forget to drink a cup of Turkish coffee!
nidalsaleh on Citysearch

15 years ago

10/04/2004, 04:57 AM
Best Lebanese food in town!!! – I don't know where to start. Whether it's the AMAZING food, or the gracious hospitality. I've been to Lebanese restaurants around the country, and this is the best lebanese restaurant I have been to in the US. John -the owner- is, without any exaggeration, the friendliest and nicest host you could ever ask for. The service is excellent, the food is delicious, and the choices on the menu would fit anybody's taste and budget. I've been there several times and tried all sorts of food and was never disappointed. Don't leave without having dessert!
Footer Banner

Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.