Logo White
Watch Demo

Ya Hala Lebanese Cuisine

Own this business?
4.5
733 reviews
|Restaurants|Portland, OR 97215

8005 SE Stark St, Portland, OR 97215

(503) 256-4484

Open now:9:00 am - 6:00 pm

Google

Suggest edits

Top Restaurants in your area

Karam Lebanese Deli & Catering
4.6
(275) · Restaurants

2800 SW Cedar Hills Blvd

(503) 626-5272
Nicholas Restaurant - Ne Broadway
4.5
(652) · Restaurants

3223 NE Broadway St

(503) 445-4700

2 people are looking at this business

Hoda's Middle-eastern Cuisine
4.5
(365) · Restaurants

3401 SE Belmont St

(503) 236-8325

1 person is looking at this business

Karam Lebanese Cuisine
4.5
(169) · Restaurants

515 SW 4th Ave

(503) 223-0830
Hoda?s Middle-Eastern Cuisine
4.5
(620) · Restaurants

3401 SE Belmont St

(503) 236-8325

About

The dishes we offer are not typical entrees found in a Lebanese restaurant but are more traditionally from the kitchen of a Lebanese family's home and also include classic street fare and special baked delicacies. Our lamb is excellent and the baklava will satisfy the biggest sweet tooth! You can rent out our banquet room for parties of 15 or more, or inquire about our full-service catering.

Suggest edits

BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES

Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.5
733 reviews
5456
  
4136
  
349
  
217
  
119
  
56 reviews have no rating
  • 671 Reviews4.5Google
  • 6 Reviews4.7Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
hihipuffy on Citysearch

13 years ago

08/04/2006, 08:53 AM
better than Nicholas's – so true, the service leaves a lot to be desired - but the food more than makes up for it. The babaganoush is the bomb.
can get super crowded - so best to go during off peak hours.
setapart2worship on Citysearch

13 years ago

06/20/2006, 07:14 AM
Great place to eat! – I went to Ya Hala for an experience and a new style of food. I am glad to say(as I pat my full and satisfied belly) I got both. The service was great and the Lamb Shank that I ordered was even better. If you are in the mood for a not so ordinary american meal, come to Ya Hala. This was my first time there but it seems like other people in the city know about this place. It was packed!
jr13 on Citysearch

14 years ago

04/12/2006, 01:24 AM
The Best in Town! – Ya Hala is by far the best Lebanese restaurant in town! We across town (from NW PDX) all the time to enjoy the great food and wonderful service. Did I mention what a great value it is too! I would drive across the city daily if I had the time and could afford the gas! I am lucky, however, because John (the owner of Ya Hala) and his family now own Barbur World Foods (on Barbur & Capitol Highway). When I need a quick fix of Ya Hala or wonderful groceries I can now drive just a few minutes to get it! Try Ya Hala...and Barbur Foods too...you will not be dissapointed!
All that talk made me hungry...I think I might go to Ya Hala tonight...
Featured content
Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform

Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform

Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform
Feedback on restaurants is important for growth

Feedback on restaurants is important for growth

Feedback on restaurants is important for growth
juliadiane on Citysearch

14 years ago

02/27/2006, 10:03 AM
not for large groups – i can't comment on the food, because i never got to eat it. a group of 9 of us went here for a friend's birthday, i had to leave because of a previous engagement BUT they waited 2 hours to be seated!
nibiki on Citysearch

14 years ago

07/10/2005, 03:54 AM
Best Mediterranean Food in town! – This is a restaurant where you are frequently and cheerfully served by the owner and his wife. In addition to the great service, this place has some of the best food I've ever eaten... for a great price. The hummus is the smoothest I've ever had, and the pitas are fresh and hot out of the clay oven.
A delicious lamb shawarma sandwich for lunch runs for under five dollars, making this a very affordable lunch option. The dinner entrees are unique and well presented. If you like wine, there are some international varieties that go well with dinner, and that you may never have tasted before.
Sometimes the place gets crowded in the evenings, but there is a cute
...  more>>
nishantrao on Citysearch

14 years ago

07/02/2005, 02:31 AM
some eats good, unfortunate lousy service – food was mediocre, the baba ganouj was terrible. tasteless, overpowerd by lemon. The hummus was too smooth and lacking an appreciable flavor. Rice was excellent but unfortunetly accompanied by an overcooked kefta kaboob. Service was horribly slow and unattentive with snobby, sassy young girls, while the manager smooked her hooka looking on from the patio oblivious to the poor customer service.
Wancho on Citysearch

15 years ago

02/25/2005, 02:07 AM
The BEST Lebanese restaurant in Portland! – I have been to Ya Hala for 5 times in last 3 months and I don't get bored at all! The flat bread is always hot and soft. Lamb shank is very tender, Tabouli, Baklava... I can go on and on. Everything is so good and very cheap. Don't forget to drink a cup of Turkish coffee!
nidalsaleh on Citysearch

15 years ago

10/04/2004, 04:57 AM
Best Lebanese food in town!!! – I don't know where to start. Whether it's the AMAZING food, or the gracious hospitality. I've been to Lebanese restaurants around the country, and this is the best lebanese restaurant I have been to in the US. John -the owner- is, without any exaggeration, the friendliest and nicest host you could ever ask for. The service is excellent, the food is delicious, and the choices on the menu would fit anybody's taste and budget. I've been there several times and tried all sorts of food and was never disappointed. Don't leave without having dessert!
dangermouse on Citysearch

15 years ago

05/26/2004, 06:33 AM
another vote for Ya Hala! – I can't say enough good things about Ya Hala. Since I first visited last fall, I've been back maybe a dozen times -- and it's kind of a trek to get out there! Not only do they do the basics (hummus, baba ghanouj, shwarma) better than anyone else in town, but they have some incredible dishes that no one else does at all. I'm obsessed with the makdous (pickled eggplant stuffed with chilis and nuts) and shanklish (a kick-in-the-pants cheese salad) and the makloube (an original creation, I'm told). The owner, John, is so utterly charming and friendly I'd come back even if the food were second rate. There is often a wait, especially on the weekends, but that just gives...  more>>
Footer Banner

Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.