Logo White
Watch Demo

Ya Hala Lebanese Cuisine

Own this business?
4.5
733 reviews
|Restaurants|Portland, OR 97215

8005 SE Stark St, Portland, OR 97215

(503) 256-4484

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits

Top Restaurants in your area

Karam Lebanese Deli & Catering
4.6
(275) · Restaurants

2800 SW Cedar Hills Blvd

(503) 626-5272
Nicholas Restaurant - Ne Broadway
4.5
(652) · Restaurants

3223 NE Broadway St

(503) 445-4700

2 people are looking at this business

Hoda's Middle-eastern Cuisine
4.5
(365) · Restaurants

3401 SE Belmont St

(503) 236-8325

1 person is looking at this business

Karam Lebanese Cuisine
4.5
(169) · Restaurants

515 SW 4th Ave

(503) 223-0830
Hoda?s Middle-Eastern Cuisine
4.5
(620) · Restaurants

3401 SE Belmont St

(503) 236-8325

About

The dishes we offer are not typical entrees found in a Lebanese restaurant but are more traditionally from the kitchen of a Lebanese family's home and also include classic street fare and special baked delicacies. Our lamb is excellent and the baklava will satisfy the biggest sweet tooth! You can rent out our banquet room for parties of 15 or more, or inquire about our full-service catering.

Suggest edits

BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES

Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.5
733 reviews
5456
  
4136
  
349
  
217
  
119
  
56 reviews have no rating
  • 671 Reviews4.5Google
  • 6 Reviews4.7Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Emily R. on Insider Pages

12 years ago

04/06/2008, 05:50 AM
Great Lebanese Food
Try the Djaj. It's moist chicken over rice and pine nuts. It sounds simple, but here it's great, the best I've had in Portland. The hummus and flatbread are great, too.
leahinpdx on Citysearch

12 years ago

12/12/2007, 12:00 PM
Best Lebanese restaurant in Portland – The food here is amazing and it is very inexpensive for how much you get. The wait can be really really long on the weekends but they are very good about putting you on the wait list as soon as you get there and giving you updates on how long it will be. I definitely think this is the best Lebanese restaurant in Portland.
riverall on Citysearch

12 years ago

10/26/2007, 04:18 AM
excellent chocolate cake – I love the chocolate cake at Ya Hala, the kabobs are fantastic, especially on the fragrant bed of rice. This is one of my favorite places in SE. Always good, and very affordable.
Featured content
Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform

Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform

Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform
Feedback on restaurants is important for growth

Feedback on restaurants is important for growth

Feedback on restaurants is important for growth
alibaly on Citysearch

12 years ago

10/12/2007, 08:38 AM
Baba from a tin and well below average Fatoush – I have been a regular at Ya Hala since moving to Portland 9 years ago. Agree with all the comments about the service ...its pretty dire at the best of times. I've noticed also that in the last six months the food quality has really slipped. A couple of times recently I've noticed that the Babaganoush tastes processed, exactly like the tinned stuff in the store which is attached to the restaurant. And the Fatoush is not consistent....the last time we were there it had no fresh mint, over ripe tasteless toms and what tasted like low quality olive oil. And way too much crispy pita in there......like they had run out of other ingredients maybe?
Th
...  more>>
tiffmay on Citysearch

12 years ago

08/26/2007, 03:08 AM
Delicious Food, Horrible Service – I've been going to Ya Hala for 4 years. For the first 2, service was average to above average, but the last 2 years it has gone horribly down hill. On several occasions, I've had to walk to the kitchen, and ask where my entree was, because the waitress never brought it and didn't come over when I flagged her. They rarely bring your bill out, and you're forced to track down a waitress and get it, or just leave the money. Tables are often uncleaned.
On the other hand, the veggie mezza plate is a great value, and the entrees tend to be well priced. the baklava and other desserts here are always delicious, although the baklava is over priced. The attached store
...  more>>
besaro on Citysearch

12 years ago

08/05/2007, 04:44 AM
poor takeout – We used to go here alot and loved it. We tried it again recently for takeout and were very disappointed to find how bad the food has gotten.
We got veggie mezza, everything tasted the same. Too much lemon and oil.
The fried cauliflower was oily and tasteless.
The falafel is no longer made from scratch but dry prepackaged "hockey pucks".
They also forgot our hummus which might have been the saving grace, instead they barely get 1 star.
Too bad-another restaurant we won't go back to.
letstalkaboutspaceships on Citysearch

12 years ago

07/08/2007, 07:14 AM
Good food & prices, service could be better – I tried out Ya Hala on Saturday night. Although the restaurant was consistently full while I was there, there was never a long wait for a table. The service was slow, which is to be expected during peak mealtimes, but I was still a little disappointed. My food was served warm, not hot, so I knew it had been sitting around for a while.
That said, you can get a filling, flavorful dinner (fresh pita bread, salad, and entree) for $10-15. I enjoyed my chicken kabob and hummus; my friend said her lamb was a bit dry but had great taste. This is a safe bet for good Middle Eastern food, but I would definitely recommend going during the off hours when it's
...  more>>
pancakesthebunny on Citysearch

12 years ago

06/27/2007, 13:02 PM
incredible! – I am a huge fan of Mediterranean food and Ya Hala is hands-down my favorite place in the area to get it. The menu includes explanations of the dishes for those who are unfamiliar and the prices are reasonable. Newcomers should try the appetizer platter, which is a great introduction to the fantastic flavors.
Don't miss the international grocery store they have next door! It is also a winner.
My only issue is that seating can take a while (20 minutes) if there is a crowd. However, the family who owns the store is colorful and authentic.
c_more on Citysearch

12 years ago

06/25/2007, 01:14 AM
amazing food, shoddy service – I love the food here. I grew up eating lebanese food and this is obviously the real thing. I have not had better since my childhood. Not to mention that there is much for vegetarians and vegans to choose from. The portions are generous and the prices are extremely reasonable. This is a great place to go if you want to feel like you are spending more than you actually can afford.
However, the service may remind you that you are getting a delicious meal for just a few dollars...it has been pretty awful everytime I have been there. I have had to wait up to 20 minutes before being greeted at the door and then another 15 at my table and then I had to ask for water w
...  more>>
Footer Banner

Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.