Logo White
Watch Demo

Ya Hala Lebanese Cuisine

Own this business?
4.5
802 reviews
|Restaurants|Portland, OR 97215

8005 SE Stark St, Portland, OR 97215

(503) 256-4484

https://yahalarestaurant.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
4.6
(761) · Lebanese

223 SW Stark St

(503) 274-0010
4.5
(245) · Restaurants

2800 SW Cedar Hills Blvd

(503) 626-5272

1 person is looking at this business

4.5
(162) · Restaurants

515 SW 4th Ave

(503) 223-0830
4.5
(767) · Lebanese

323 N Main Ave

(503) 666-3333
4.5
(654) · Restaurants

3223 NE Broadway St

(503) 445-4700
About

The dishes we offer are not typical entrees found in a Lebanese restaurant but are more traditionally from the kitchen of a Lebanese family's home and also include classic street fare and special baked delicacies. Our lamb is excellent and the baklava will satisfy the biggest sweet tooth! You can rent out our banquet room for parties of 15 or more, or inquire about our full-service catering.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.5
802 reviews
5508
  
4145
  
353
  
219
  
121
  
56 reviews have no rating
  • 739 Reviews4.5Google
  • 7 Reviews4.6Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
tastebudsV on Citysearch

12 years ago

07/13/2008, 02:42 AM
Holla for Ya Halla – For the most part, I really enjoy this spot. The veggie mezza is great, and foul was excellent. When you get a good server, the experience becomes that much better. Top 2 for lebonese in pdx -
Emily R. on Insider Pages

12 years ago

04/06/2008, 05:50 AM
Great Lebanese Food Try the Djaj. It's moist chicken over rice and pine nuts. It sounds simple, but here it's great, the best I've had in Portland. The hummus and flatbread are great, too.
leahinpdx on Citysearch

13 years ago

12/12/2007, 12:00 PM
Best Lebanese restaurant in Portland – The food here is amazing and it is very inexpensive for how much you get. The wait can be really really long on the weekends but they are very good about putting you on the wait list as soon as you get there and giving you updates on how long it will be. I definitely think this is the best Lebanese restaurant in Portland.
Featured content
Local Business SEO listings Management: Your Guide to Local SEO

Local Business SEO listings Management: Your Guide to Local SEO

Local Business SEO listings Management: Your Guide to Local SEO
Demystifying Google Business Reviews

Demystifying Google Business Reviews

Demystifying Google Business Reviews
riverall on Citysearch

13 years ago

10/26/2007, 04:18 AM
excellent chocolate cake – I love the chocolate cake at Ya Hala, the kabobs are fantastic, especially on the fragrant bed of rice. This is one of my favorite places in SE. Always good, and very affordable.
alibaly on Citysearch

13 years ago

10/12/2007, 08:38 AM
Baba from a tin and well below average Fatoush – I have been a regular at Ya Hala since moving to Portland 9 years ago. Agree with all the comments about the service ...its pretty dire at the best of times. I've noticed also that in the last six months the food quality has really slipped. A couple of times recently I've noticed that the Babaganoush tastes processed, exactly like the tinned stuff in the store which is attached to the restaurant. And the Fatoush is not consistent....the last time we were there it had no fresh mint, over ripe tasteless toms and what tasted like low quality olive oil. And way too much crispy pita in there......like they had run out of other ingredients maybe? The bad service I could live with. But not the bad food. So I won't be returning anytime soon.
tiffmay on Citysearch

13 years ago

08/26/2007, 03:08 AM
Delicious Food, Horrible Service – I've been going to Ya Hala for 4 years. For the first 2, service was average to above average, but the last 2 years it has gone horribly down hill. On several occasions, I've had to walk to the kitchen, and ask where my entree was, because the waitress never brought it and didn't come over when I flagged her. They rarely bring your bill out, and you're forced to track down a waitress and get it, or just leave the money. Tables are often uncleaned. On the other hand, the veggie mezza plate is a great value, and the entrees tend to be well priced. the baklava and other desserts here are always delicious, although the baklava is over priced. The attached store has a lot of good values as well.
besaro on Citysearch

13 years ago

08/05/2007, 04:44 AM
poor takeout – We used to go here alot and loved it. We tried it again recently for takeout and were very disappointed to find how bad the food has gotten. We got veggie mezza, everything tasted the same. Too much lemon and oil. The fried cauliflower was oily and tasteless. The falafel is no longer made from scratch but dry prepackaged "hockey pucks". They also forgot our hummus which might have been the saving grace, instead they barely get 1 star. Too bad-another restaurant we won't go back to.
letstalkaboutspaceships on Citysearch

13 years ago

07/08/2007, 07:14 AM
Good food & prices, service could be better – I tried out Ya Hala on Saturday night. Although the restaurant was consistently full while I was there, there was never a long wait for a table. The service was slow, which is to be expected during peak mealtimes, but I was still a little disappointed. My food was served warm, not hot, so I knew it had been sitting around for a while. That said, you can get a filling, flavorful dinner (fresh pita bread, salad, and entree) for $10-15. I enjoyed my chicken kabob and hummus; my friend said her lamb was a bit dry but had great taste. This is a safe bet for good Middle Eastern food, but I would definitely recommend going during the off hours when it's less busy-- you'll get better service. If you want to try Middle Eastern cuisine, I would also recommend Arabian Breeze on Broadway and Hoda's on Belmont.
pancakesthebunny on Citysearch

13 years ago

06/27/2007, 13:02 PM
incredible! – I am a huge fan of Mediterranean food and Ya Hala is hands-down my favorite place in the area to get it. The menu includes explanations of the dishes for those who are unfamiliar and the prices are reasonable. Newcomers should try the appetizer platter, which is a great introduction to the fantastic flavors. Don't miss the international grocery store they have next door! It is also a winner. My only issue is that seating can take a while (20 minutes) if there is a crowd. However, the family who owns the store is colorful and authentic.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.