Logo White
Watch Demo

Ya Hala Lebanese Cuisine

Own this business?
4.5
793 reviews
|Restaurants|Portland, OR 97215

8005 SE Stark St, Portland, OR 97215

(503) 256-4484

Open now:9:00 am - 6:00 pm

Google

Suggest edits

Top Restaurants in your area

Nicholas Restaurant - Ne Broadway
4.5
(652) · Restaurants

3223 NE Broadway St

(503) 445-4700

4 people are looking at this business

Al-Amir Restaurant
4.5
(740) · Lebanese

223 SW Stark St

(503) 274-0010

8 people are looking at this business

Karam Lebanese Deli & Catering
4.5
(233) · Restaurants

2800 SW Cedar Hills Blvd

(503) 626-5272

1 person is looking at this business

Nicholas Restaurant
4.5
(767) · Lebanese

323 N Main Ave

(503) 666-3333

2 people are looking at this business

Karam Lebanese Cuisine
4.5
(169) · Restaurants

515 SW 4th Ave

(503) 223-0830

5 people are looking at this business

Hoda’s Middle-Eastern Cuisine
4.5
(794) · Restaurants

3401 SE Belmont St

(503) 236-8325

3 people are looking at this business

About

The dishes we offer are not typical entrees found in a Lebanese restaurant but are more traditionally from the kitchen of a Lebanese family's home and also include classic street fare and special baked delicacies. Our lamb is excellent and the baklava will satisfy the biggest sweet tooth! You can rent out our banquet room for parties of 15 or more, or inquire about our full-service catering.

Suggest edits

BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES

Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.5
793 reviews
5503
  
4145
  
352
  
219
  
118
  
56 reviews have no rating
  • 730 Reviews4.5Google
  • 7 Reviews4.6Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Amy E. on Insider Pages

10 years ago

02/15/2010, 00:19 AM
Date Night Favorite This is our favorite restaurant in Portland! The service is good. Get in early, it gets crowded fast during dinner. The tabouli and hommous are my favorites! The prices are great! You can easily go on a date night dinner for $25.
Gerion on Citysearch

10 years ago

02/10/2010, 10:03 AM
Good Food, Long Wait – Service takes forever, and is only so-so. But the food is excellent, except the artichoke, with the humus being the best I have had in the city. Know that you will have to wait a while, especially on a Friday or Saturday night.
bassel on Citysearch

10 years ago

02/03/2010, 11:56 AM
Best Restaurant In The World!!! – All i can say, is that this restaurant is the best restaurant i have ever eaten at!!!
Featured content
Blaze Pizza Using BirdEye Platform

Blaze Pizza Using BirdEye Platform

Blaze Pizza Using BirdEye Platform
Feedback on Restaurants is Important for Growth

Feedback on Restaurants is Important for Growth

Feedback on Restaurants is Important for Growth
eatinout1 on Citysearch

11 years ago

08/02/2009, 07:30 AM
Terrible food and service – My falafel was soft and mushy. My grilled tuna was overcooked. The service was unbearably slow. I can see why the prices are so cheap. The chef wore a frown the entire time and seemed to hate being there. Too bad because I do enjoy middle eastern cuisine, when it's good. I'll be getting my falafel from the guy on 22nd and Division from now on.
eatr on Citysearch

11 years ago

01/07/2009, 02:18 AM
The falafel was terrible! It was not fresh, and infact was microwaved and mushy! Very disapointing since cripsy falafel is a favorite of mine. The Foul Mudamas is definately from a can, and the wait for food is so long, I felt like they were holding me hostage! With a microwave and canned food, why should it take 45 minutes for appetizers? I am surprised they are so busy, it must be because it is cheap. I will never eat here again.
amyfchurch on Citysearch

11 years ago

12/11/2008, 01:39 AM
Yummiest lebanese food in Portland! – OMG you have got to try the moughrabieh! It is like what would happen if I had a sweet old Lebanese grandmother who just happened to be the best home cook in the world and she was making me an extra special dish for my birthday. Two separate bowls, one with braised beef shank in a rich brothy sauce, one of braised chicken, perfectly seasoned, served with a dish of flavorful Israeli type (large grain) couscous and a big spoonful of thick whole milk yogurt. This is REAL, REAL food, not some sort of contrived restaurant dish that is trying to be as good as homemade. My boyfriend was totally jealous when I ordered this and he ordered something else (we don't even remember it compared to the delights of the moughrabieh). Get a couple of light mezza to start and then share this and you will be so satisfied. We have also tried several of the various mezza and they are all great. I don't usually order kebab because I don't think they're very good most places, but here they are indeed tender and well-seasoned. The Veggie Mezza sampler is a great deal, as it is a surprisingly large amount of food, sometimes we are so full after just sharing it that we can't believe we still have an entree to eat and end up taking a lot of food home. So yes, I think this restaurant is a great value, by the way. And finally, the service is pleasant and friendly. One time we had a problem where two sisters who work there each thought the other one was taking care of our table and so we didn't get any service for quite a while but I think that was an isolated incident and actually it was kind of funny.
sneeches on Citysearch

11 years ago

09/22/2008, 08:41 AM
Yummy every time! – True that sometimes the food can take a while (up to thirty five minutes), but every dish is cooked to order and well worth the wait. There is an extensive appetizer menu to help pass the time while you wait for your main entree. It is a little weird how the food trickles out one plate at a time, but it appears to be a vey small kitchen with not a lot of staff. Highly recommend the stuffed artichoke heart platter. This place is very friendly to omnivores and herbivores alike. The best time to go is off peak hours, the service, timing, and noise level are all improved at these times.
Travelbug99 on Citysearch

12 years ago

08/19/2008, 14:12 PM
My new favorite restaurant! – I found Ya Hala in the AAA travel guide while trying to find a hotel in Portland. It was a little hard to find, but WOW! This is the best restaurant I have eaten at in a long time. The food was excellent and a great price. I found my new favorite dish-the vegetarian kibbeh. Everything we had was very tasty, and I enjoyed the smallish portions so we could try a variety of different dishes (they were still bigger than we imagined and we had plenty of leftovers). I would definitely give Ya Hala a try if you haven't been there before. I will be back again and again!
eatandobserve on Citysearch

12 years ago

07/19/2008, 04:11 AM
Good food, with a surprise – The food is wonderful but on a Friday be prepared to wait for a table and your meal. The service was good, however I decided to pay close attention to the kitchen to see how it works and was appauled to see who I think was the owner bully her employess when she thought no one was watching. This left me with a bad taste in my mouth.
Footer Banner

Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.