Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Total Home Protection

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
3.8
1754 reviews
|Appliances & Repair|Philadelphia, PA 19106

325 Chestnut St #800, #800, Philadelphia, PA 19106

(800) 545-0402

https://www.serviceplus.com/

Open now:12:00 am - Midnight

Google

Suggest edits
Top Home Services in your area
5.0
(4) · Appliances & Repair

4455 W Lincoln Hwy

(610) 857-5784

2 people are looking at this business

5.0
(1) · Appliances & Repair

1927 Stout Dr # 6

(215) 773-6900

2 people are looking at this business

4.9
(8) · Appliances & Repair

2738 E County Line Rd

(610) 642-6261
4.9
(14) · Appliances & Repair

2400 Egg Harbor Rd

(856) 627-0700

1 person is looking at this business

4.7
(185) · Appliances & Repair

6013 Mansion Blvd

(856) 665-0711

2 people are looking at this business

4.2
(51) · Appliances & Repair

530 N Pleasantview Rd

(610) 327-1399

5 people are looking at this business

About

Total Home Protectionprovides home warranties against home system component and appliance breakdowns. A home warranty may also be referred to as appliance insurance, home service contract, or an appliance warranty. They offer monthly and annual plans at different price and coverage levels.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

3.8
1,754 reviews
51,078
  
4164
  
327
  
212
  
1472
  
1 review has no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Virginia M. on BirdEye

12 days ago

09/09/2021, 13:24 PM
My name is Virginia MacKenzie-burns I have no Hot Water I called They said I was 3rd in line. I waited for 3 hours. I have not received a call or E-mail yet. I paid cash for plan. I am 80 years old. I am very frustrated.
Respond to negative reviews
Greg M on BBB

a year ago

06/22/2020, 04:51 AM
This is the most unethical, most unprofessional, and most unhelpful organization I think I have ever dealt with. I had a claim on 2/20/2020 and was authorized a check to go out for a repair on 2/27/2020 for a replacement motor in a washing machine and I have been lied to, put off, hung up on, been left on hold for 21 and 32 minutes just today 6/22/20 trying to follow up on my claim. It has been FOUR months since I filed the claim!! I have been told everything known to man after being referred to this lousy organization by my dad and brother and after this one claim I would feel better leaving my kids with Catholic Priests than counting on them to resolve an issue it goes without saying. My claim was for a measly $200 and I have now spoken to Ray, Cherish, Paige, Asia, Chase, April, and Edward and not received the check yet. Would not recommend this company to my worst enemy as they certainly over-promise and under-deliver. One star is being very generous from my dealings with them! Greg Moseley
Respond to negative reviews
evmc on BBB

a year ago

06/16/2020, 06:09 AM
I have no trust nor confidence in this company. - They have no app; they have a web portal they want you to use, but it's nearly useless. You can create a claim, but you cannot update the claim or contact support. - Their automated phone system will disconnect you inexplicably (no, it's not poor cell service). - When you finally get to speak to someone, they are not helpful, informative, knowledgeable, nor respectful. They sell you on the idea of a block of coverage, but they use the contract language to turn that block into Swiss cheese, dodging all real expenses and denying claims based on literally anything they can call it under the contract language. Very first claim: - AC is not cooling sufficiently. - 2 days after claim is opened, they assign a repair tech. - Repair tech calls and schedules a service date for a few days later. - That day, I find out that service tech doesn't even service our area, and he said he's repeatedly asked THP to stop giving him jobs outside his service area. - THP Re-assigns the same tech again. - I get a third call from that same tech. I re-iterated what town we live in and he said he does not service that area. "I know," I replied. - So after all of this trouble, I finally decide to try the reimbursement route (which I don't recommend). - So I ended up paying 255 just for a basic diagnosis instead of the 45 I'm supposed to have to pay. I know I'm never getting that back. - One of the reasons it was 255 is because we (including the tech) spent hours waiting on hold with THP, made worse by the inexplicable disconnects I mentioned above. - They set an expectation of 15 minutes to hear from "a claims manager," which makes it sound like they have more than one. I don't think they do. - Try 3 days later, at the most inconvenient time, I get a call from THE claims manager, who jumps right into a sardonic tone with me, and we've never spoken before. - She rattles off a paragraph of mind numbing information that ultimately meant: "we noticed a potential leak was ONE of the LESSER, MANY issues causing the AC performance degradation, and a leak test is NOT a covered item, so you can call the AC company and pay then to do a leak trace. - I can tell that this is not going a good direction and I will be much better off simply handling things myself. I purchased a home warranty to save time and money and make things easier for my spouse; it has done nothing but cost me MORE time and money than not having a warranty, and it does not help my spouse. I am beyond disgusted with this company and the way that they operate (or fail to operate). IF there is such a thing as a "good" home warranty company, Total Home Protection is not it.
Respond to negative reviews
Featured content
SEO for small business 2021 - Online reviews are the latest strategy

SEO for small business 2021 - Online reviews are the latest strategy

SEO for small business 2021 - Online reviews are the latest strategy
Net Promoter Score Explained

Net Promoter Score Explained

Net Promoter Score Explained
Carlos R on BBB

a year ago

06/13/2020, 05:04 AM
I'm writing this review to draw attention to what could be yet another FRAUDULENT denial of coverage. How I update this review, and whether I file an official complaint, or subsequent litigation, depends on how my appeal is handled. I prepaid for a 6-yr platinum coverage plan starting in Aug 2019. In May 2020, one of my two A/C units failed. After submitting the service request, the technician arrived, investigated the failure, and reported his findings. I then had to wait for Total Home Protection to determine the next steps. After a couple days, in regards to my Claim #641822, I was informed that coverage for my claim was being rejected. Initially, the Claims Manager asserted that my claim was being rejected based on the failure mode(s) noted from the Technician - according to his report, the unit was possibly grounded to short, or "locked" up, and, in either case, the 15 year old compressor had reached the end of it's usable life. I noted that, when sharing his assessment with me in person, he noted that the failure mode was [paraphrased] "either shorted to ground, or locked up, and basically dead, due to old age. But the only way to know what really killed it is to send it back to the manufacture's service shop to disassemble and evaluate". Based on the technician's explanation, I conveyed that he had not actually pinpointed the actual failure mode, but rather was suggesting potential failures, neither of which he had actually further investigated to fully validate, given that it was beyond his capability and would have to be done by the manufacturer. He only removed the exterior covers, but did not disassemble any portion of the compressor to determine why it truly failed. Based on that, I asserted that since the true failure mode was not actually determined, the whole premise of the rejection becomes invalid, and would need to be reassessed by an approved technician. The Claims Manager then informed me that Total Home Protection would not cover an additional visit or assessment from the contractor, to which I disagreed and insisted that it be reconsidered, on account of there not being a valid determination of the actual failure mode from the technician, having watched his evaluation and having heard his explanation directly. I was placed on hold briefly, after which the Claims Manager proceeded to explain that "shorted to ground" and "locked up" are specifically and explicitly not covered under my policy. She claimed that there's a clause in my policy that explicitly states that those items aren't covered - she even referenced a section that doesn't exist in my policy. I challenged it, noting that there is no such language in my agreement, to which she then mentioned that there's an updated policy that includes this language. I informed her that I have neither received or agreed to any updated policy, so, any alleged policy update does not apply to my claim, nor my subscription to their warranty service. After placing me on another hold, presumably to confer with colleagues or supervision to determine the next usable rejection reason, she returned to assert that the new reason was that the policy only covers "normal wear and tear", and her position is that this type failure is not normal wear and tear. I again challenged that assertion in noting that 1) there is no definitive failure mode from the technician, and 2) any of the potential failure modes noted by the technician are all typical failure modes for this equipment at this age, which constitutes a normal "tear" condition (which I later confirmed with the technician and other reputable HVAC service companies, and resources). The Claims Manager then directed me to the Mediation department to file my appeal. I am obviously disappointed and highly unsatisfied with the attempted resolution on my claim given that I need to file an appeal through their Mediation process for any chance at getting coverage, when it's clear that there's no definitive failure mode against which Total Home Protection can even make a claim denying coverage. Furthermore, the Claims Manager's attempts to change the reasons behind the rejection, and the attempt to inappropriately introduce changes to my policy without my permission, indicate potential fraud, which would be subject to arbitration under the agreed upon terms of my policy, if not litigation. Finally, for Total Home Protection to claim that any particular failure modes are not "normal wear and tear", they will need to disclose what failure modes do and do not constitute normal wear and tear, substantiated by valid, objective and accurate data. Without transparency and objectivity, it is rather fraudulent to assert baseless denials. It is apparent that Total Home Protection's intent (and common practice) is to wiggle out of coverage by claiming that practically any catastrophic failure is abnormal, when in actuality, equipment that has been properly maintained will eventually fail by some sort of destructive failure of one or several components. My A/C compressor is 15 years old, has been well maintained, per my research, has exceeded the expected life span, and has now finally failed with symptoms evident of the typical modes of failure (which represent the normal "tear" condition"). All that said, I am patiently awaiting the resolution of my Mediation claim, and how this review and subsequent action is handled depends on Total Home Protection's response. As I await their response, I stumbled upon an existing Class Action lawsuit registered in Pennsylvania against Total Home Protection for what I presume to be several other cases of dissatisfied customers who feel they have been fraudulently denied coverage as warranted by the terms of their policies. If my appeal is denied or is resolved with anything less than adequate coverage for repair or replacement, rest assured, I will be terminating my policy, and seeking the same or similar legal action to fight against this clear breach of our agreement.
Respond to negative reviews
C Bugos. on BBB

a year ago

06/09/2020, 13:20 PM
We got this as a result of buying an older house. We chose it. First mistake. When our hot water heater broke, it took them at least10 days to tell me they haed no one to send to my house. They would, however, reimburse us up to $150. Anything over that they had to approve. We went through all the hoops & now, still no check. It's been almost 2 months & their window was 30-45 days. When I finally spent over 1/2 minutes on hold, I was told they were 'actively" working on it. How long can it take? Also, the ac didn't work. They finally sent someone who said we needed freeon. When the AC co called to tell them, they said we had to get a leak search which they DO NOT cover. That search would have been $415. After that, they would pay $10 a pound towards freeon which is cheap at $85 a pound. So we didn't do that & just had the freeon put in at our full cost which was still cheaper than $415 & a $75 service fee.The visit outside of the warranty was $65 & the freeon didn't incur another service visit fee. This is ridiculous & they know it. Completely worthless. They have nothing but contempt for the customer. The tech told me that the worst abuse is ti the elderly who actually believe that they will get what they pay for.
Respond to negative reviews
Patrick H. on BBB

a year ago

05/26/2020, 02:49 AM
We filed a claim because our A/C began making a noise. After filing the claim online, we waited to hear from THP. Waited a few days and finally decided we would contact them to see what was going on. We were then told that COVID had caused a backlog with contractors and that we would need to contact a contractor and pay out of our pocket any expense that incurred for the call out and they would reimburse us for anything over our deductible. We were also told that if it cost over $100 the contractor would have to call them. That was crazy because no contractor is going to come out and look at anything for less than $100 but we had him call. The contractor said that the coils needed to be replaced and it would cost approximately $1400 to fix. So, THP denied the claim. Stated that due to "rust" they would not cover it. My husband was with the contractor when he called and told them that it was just time for the coils to be replaced due to the age of the unit. Nothing was mentioned about rust. The person at THP just put that on the claim because the contractor stated it was time for them to be replaced. After several calls to the resolution department which continued to claim that the contractor stated that there was rust on the coils, he offered to send us a copy of the audio for us to listen to, even though my husband was there and heard everything the contractor told them. We received the audio and it was a man from Pakistan wanting to cancel his policy, nothing that pertained to our claim. We are still trying to get a copy of the audio and a phone call back. Long story short, we are cancelling our policy with them and I strongly encourage anyone considering to take out a home warranty to look elsewhere. This is the first claim we have filed and it has been nothing but a headache. We will tell everyone that we know NOT to use these people because they do not service what they sell. I would rate them a negative if I could.
Business Response:

Thank you contacting us with the above referenced review. We at Total Home Protection treat each review with the utmost respect and use this feedback to better serve our valued customers. Understandably there are two sides to every story and always look for a fair resolution between all parties. The consumer placed a claim for a Air Conditioner not cooling on 5/12/2020. The vendor reported that the cause of the failure was Rust/Corrosion on the Evaporator Coils causing the freon to leak out. Per our policy this failure is clearly excluded from coverage. Please see the referenced section of the policy below; I. BASIS FOR COVERAGE A. Air Conditioning System Note: Coverage available on Air Conditioning units up to a 5-ton capacity, and for residential use only. COVERED: Mechanical parts and components of two (2) ducted electric central air conditioning systems. All components and parts for units below 13 SEER and/or R-22 equipment, and when we are unable to facilitate repair and/or replacement of failed covered equipment at the current SEER rating or with R-22 equipment, repair and/or replacement will be performed with 13 SEER/R410A equipment and/or 7.7 HSPF or higher compliant, except: NOT COVERED: Filters; condenser casings; registers and grills; water towers; humidifiers; chillers; electronic air cleaners; window units; non-ducted wall units; mini-split wall units; gas air conditioning systems; water evaporative coolers; swamp coolers; condensate pumps; thermal expansion valves; all exterior condensing, cooling and pump pads; disconnect boxes; roof mounts, jacks, stands or supports; cost for crane rentals; electronic, computerized, and manual systems management and zone controllers; commercial grade equipment; refrigerant conversion; leak detections; water leaks; drain line stoppages or drain pans; maintenance; rusted and/or corroded coils; component short to ground; noise without a related mechanical failure; improperly sized units; air conditioning with mismatched condensing unit and evaporative coil per manufacturer specifications; improper use of metering devices (i.e. thermal expansion valves). We are not responsible for the costs associated with matching dimensions, brand or color made. We will not pay for any modifications or upgrades necessitated by the repair of existing equipment or the installation of new equipment. We will pay up to $10 per pound per occurrence for refrigerant. You are responsible for payment of any costs in excess of $10 per pound. All claims have been properly serviced in accordance with the Service Agreement - all contracts have inclusions as well as exclusions. We are committed to providing a positive customer experience and doing the right thing for all our customers, contractors, employees, and our company. We at Total Home Protection have an unwavering commitment to uphold our founding ideals to provide industry-leading home warranty products and exceptional services to the customers we're privileged to serve. If you have any further questions, please contact us at 1-800-545-0402.

Respond to negative reviews
Patrick H on BBB

a year ago

05/26/2020, 01:28 AM
We filed a claim because our A/C began making a noise. After filing the claim online, we waited to hear from THP. Waited a few days and finally decided we would contact them to see what was going on. We were then told that COVID had caused a backlog with contractors and that we would need to contact a contractor and pay out of our pocket any expense that incurred for the call out and they would reimburse us for anything over our deductible. We were also told that if it cost over $100 the contractor would have to call them. That was crazy because no contractor is going to come out and look at anything for less than $100 but we had him call. The contractor said that the coils needed to be replaced and it would cost approximately $1400 to fix. So, THP denied the claim. Stated that due to "rust" they would not cover it. My husband was with the contractor when he called and told them that it was just time for the coils to be replaced due to the age of the unit. Nothing was mentioned about rust. The person at THP just put that on the claim because the contractor stated it was time for them to be replaced. After several calls to the resolution department which continued to claim that the contractor stated that there was rust on the coils, he offered to send us a copy of the audio for us to listen to, even though my husband was there and heard everything the contractor told them. We received the audio and it was a man from Pakistan wanting to cancel his policy, nothing that pertained to our claim. We are still trying to get a copy of the audio and a phone call back. Long story short, we are cancelling our policy with them and I strongly encourage anyone considering to take out a home warranty to look elsewhere. This is the first claim we have filed and it has been nothing but a headache. We will tell everyone that we know NOT to use these people because they do not service what they sell. I would rate them a negative if I could.
Business Response:

Thank you contacting us with the above referenced review. We at Total Home Protection treat each review with the utmost respect and use this feedback to better serve our valued customers. Understandably there are two sides to every story and always look for a fair resolution between all parties. The consumer placed a claim for a Air Conditioner not cooling on 5/12/2020. The vendor reported that the cause of the failure was Rust/Corrosion on the Evaporator Coils causing the freon to leak out. Per our policy this failure is clearly excluded from coverage. Please see the referenced section of the policy below; I. BASIS FOR COVERAGE A. Air Conditioning System Note: Coverage available on Air Conditioning units up to a 5-ton capacity, and for residential use only. COVERED: Mechanical parts and components of two (2) ducted electric central air conditioning systems. All components and parts for units below 13 SEER and/or R-22 equipment, and when we are unable to facilitate repair and/or replacement of failed covered equipment at the current SEER rating or with R-22 equipment, repair and/or replacement will be performed with 13 SEER/R410A equipment and/or 7.7 HSPF or higher compliant, except: NOT COVERED: Filters; condenser casings; registers and grills; water towers; humidifiers; chillers; electronic air cleaners; window units; non-ducted wall units; mini-split wall units; gas air conditioning systems; water evaporative coolers; swamp coolers; condensate pumps; thermal expansion valves; all exterior condensing, cooling and pump pads; disconnect boxes; roof mounts, jacks, stands or supports; cost for crane rentals; electronic, computerized, and manual systems management and zone controllers; commercial grade equipment; refrigerant conversion; leak detections; water leaks; drain line stoppages or drain pans; maintenance; rusted and/or corroded coils; component short to ground; noise without a related mechanical failure; improperly sized units; air conditioning with mismatched condensing unit and evaporative coil per manufacturer specifications; improper use of metering devices (i.e. thermal expansion valves). We are not responsible for the costs associated with matching dimensions, brand or color made. We will not pay for any modifications or upgrades necessitated by the repair of existing equipment or the installation of new equipment. We will pay up to $10 per pound per occurrence for refrigerant. You are responsible for payment of any costs in excess of $10 per pound. All claims have been properly serviced in accordance with the Service Agreement - all contracts have inclusions as well as exclusions. We are committed to providing a positive customer experience and doing the right thing for all our customers, contractors, employees, and our company. We at Total Home Protection have an unwavering commitment to uphold our founding ideals to provide industry-leading home warranty products and exceptional services to the customers we're privileged to serve. If you have any further questions, please contact us at 1-800-545-0402.

Respond to negative reviews
RICHARD T on BBB

a year ago

05/20/2020, 14:03 PM
I HAVE USED THIS COMPANY FOR YEARS....THEY ARE THE BEST!!! QUICK, EFFICIENT AND ALWAYS PROFESSIONAL. I HAVE GIVEN THEIR NAME TO MANY PEOPLE WHO HAVE USED THEM AS WELL
Crystal L on BBB

a year ago

05/19/2020, 06:30 AM
This company harassed people from spoofed numbers. I receive four to five calls daily and ask repeatedly to be removed from calling list, resulting in being hung up on half the time. I also get texts and emails which I also respond to, asking to be removed. Would never do business with this company.
Business Response:

Thank you contacting us with the above referenced review. We at Total Home Protection treat each review with the utmost respect and use this feedback to better serve our valued customers. Understandably there are two sides to every story and always look for a fair resolution between all parties. Total Home Protection uses an internet phone service, which connects through the internet, we do not use spoof numbers. Text messages and are sent to consumers who inquired about our company. If you would like to stop receiving text messages, type STOP If you type anything other than STOP the system recognizes your inquiry and will continue sending messages. We are committed to providing a positive customer experience and doing the right thing for all our customers, contractors, employees, and our company. We at Total Home Protection have an unwavering commitment to uphold our founding ideals to provide industry-leading home warranty products and exceptional services to the customers we're privileged to serve. If you have any further questions, please contact us at 1-800-545-0402

Respond to negative reviews
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.