Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Tony Caputo's Market & Deli

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.7
1510 reviews
|Delis|Salt Lake City, UT 84101

314 W 300 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101

(801) 531-8669

https://caputos.com/

Open now:9:00 am - 6:00 pm

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(6) · Restaurants

687 S 700 W

(801) 298-1994
4.7
(1415) · Delis

2005 E 2700 S

(801) 906-0369
4.7
(5) · Restaurants

3535 E Ranches Pkwy

(801) 789-7777

1 person is looking at this business

4.7
(313) · Delis

1207 Murray Taylorsville Rd

(801) 262-1211

2 people are looking at this business

4.7
(473) · Delis

4673 S 2300 E

(801) 272-0821
4.7
(721) · Delis

192 Center St

(801) 426-5622

1 person is looking at this business

About

This trendy favorite enlists exposed architectural elements, an open kitchen and walls of windows to evoke the ambiance of an outdoor Italian cafe. Salt Lake City's up-and-comers congregate here midday to lunch on stuffed sandwiches, slabs of focaccia and perfectly prepared cappuccino. No alcohol is served. The adjoining market boasts an array of imported Italian foods ranging from crusty fresh-baked bread to black truffles. Phone orders are welcomed, catering services abound, and Tony himself teaches occasional cooking classes.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.7
1,510 reviews
51,168
  
4214
  
355
  
219
  
121
  
33 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
vpollett review for Tony Caputo's Market & Deli
vpollett on Yellow Pages

10 years ago

07/24/2011, 03:50 AM
Its the best deli i've been to in utah.
emihill review for Tony Caputo's Market & Deli
emihill on Citysearch

12 years ago

03/09/2010, 01:51 AM
Tasty cheeses & fab chocolate class! – I visited Caputo's as one of the Sassies from SassyScoops. We were able to sample a few cheeses, take a look at their phenomenal (yet slightly creepy due to all the fuzzy stuff growing) cheese cave, and sit in on the Intro to Fine Chocolate class. I was amazed by how much Matt knew about both cheese and chocolate. Pretty much everyone who works there seriously knows their stuff! The Intro to Fine Chocolate class was very educational, but don't go expecting to play/cook/bake with chocolate. For some reason I had it in my head that's what we'd be doing. But it was still interesting nonetheless. I only wish the deli had been open late so we could munch while we listened. The market there is almost overwhelming with all the fine foods. I didn't do nearly enough shopping. I do wish it had a bit better location as far as parking goes, but if you go during off hours you should be okay. If you want to read our full review on Caputo's you can check it out on SassyScoops. I'll definitely be back!
iEatMoreThaniShould review for Tony Caputo's Market & Deli
iEatMoreThaniShould on Citysearch

12 years ago

02/10/2010, 01:41 AM
Good Food/Decent Price – I visited Tony Caputo's today and tried both their Prosciutto Sandwich and their Lasagna. The sandwich was good, but far from the best sandwich I have ever had. I don't feel it was quite worth the $8.25 I spent on it. I tried their lasagna. This was a pleasant surprise. Usually, lasagna from a deli will taste like it came from a can and the noodles are rubbery. This was not the case. The noodles were perfectly cooked. The sauce didn't taste mass produced or like it came from a can or powder mixture. The meat was great with a small hint of spice, similar to a spicy sausage. I was very happy with it. The staff was great. Everyone greeted me with a smile and treated me with kindness. I will go back and try other menu items. I doubt that I will try another sandwich however. I feel as though I can get more of a better product somewhere else for a comparable price.
Featured content
How to Ask for a Review (with Templates)

How to Ask for a Review (with Templates)

How to Ask for a Review (with Templates)
Review manager vs. reputation management: what's the difference?

Review manager vs. reputation management: what's the difference?

Review manager vs. reputation management: what's the difference?
Sweedieb review for Tony Caputo's Market & Deli
Sweedieb on Citysearch

12 years ago

02/07/2010, 07:34 AM
Roasted Peppers on Focaccia – The deli was closed so we settled for the cafe. I ordered the roasted peppers on focaccia and was served a crumbly focaccia drenched in balsamic vinegar and topped with old dried up cheese slices and very COLD red peppers. The sandwich is a good concept and I would STRONGLY suggest it become a warm sandwich with FRESH cheese and properly hydrated focaccia, maybe even a flavored focaccia. At almost $9.00 I deserved better! We will stick with the deli and skip the café next time. We were VERY disappointed.
fuhgettaboutit review for Tony Caputo's Market & Deli
fuhgettaboutit on Citysearch

12 years ago

02/04/2010, 01:14 AM
Just a notch or two above GROSS – I see it has been a while since someone wrote a review. New to SLC, I heard people say Caputo's was pretty good. When I went in I was almost aghast at what I saw behind the glass display. Things that looked as if they had been there for days... or longer... that I would never ingest myself, let alone feed to my dog. I was hungry and parking was a bitch (oh and God forbid if you should have business with someone NOT Caputo's in the same building - the parking nazi will come after you) so I ordered a sandwich on what was supposed to be focaccia bread. Seemed more like an inflated pita... or something. Sandwich was unremarkable other than that. Perhaps I was still put off by the visions of old food behind the glass... or the stench of dead fish coming from the joint next door. Um, fish isn't supposed to smell bad if you are going to eat it... hello? I want to go back to California where they know what to do with food. And WHY is the FADED, TATTERED flag flying at half-mast in December 2009? You need to follow US regulations regarding display of our flag.
annet825 review for Tony Caputo's Market & Deli
annet825 on Citysearch

14 years ago

06/24/2008, 08:59 AM
Love the food and the staff! – This is an all time favorite of ours that we frequent almost every weekend (when we can). Love the meatball sandwiches, pesto pasta, lasagna, caprese salad.... The food is always fresh and the staff is very friendly. With the new expansion of the market to include the deli, we can grab some food to make later. We also love their selection of chocolate :)
MuffullettaHunter review for Tony Caputo's Market & Deli
MuffullettaHunter on Citysearch

14 years ago

05/22/2008, 10:33 AM
Can no one make a Muffulletta in SLC? – Been trying to find a decent mufulletta since I moved here in March from Atlanta. Tony Caputo doesnt know what he is doing either. A couple of pointers, you don't make a mufulletta with focacia bread or french bread, or any other bread for that matter. French bread - if that is what it actually is (according to their menu) is way to heavy and does not have sesame seeds. Mufulletta bread is the only right bread for this sandwich - large and round, not heavy, easy to eat. The olive spread is all wrong also. Olives with pickled cauliflower, celery, peppers - and it should all be ground up, not too finely - a nice relish. Caputo's is just sliced olives and peppers. Its an okay italian sandwich, not a mufulletta.
indyrudas review for Tony Caputo's Market & Deli
indyrudas on Citysearch

14 years ago

09/05/2007, 02:28 AM
Best Deli in town – This place is great! I go to this place as often as I can to get the Italian Cold Cut. The food is very high quality, and the market has a great collection of meats and cheeses. Additionally, their chocolate cake is amazing. I would highly recommend this place to anyone.
daddyzgirl2 review for Tony Caputo's Market & Deli
daddyzgirl2 on Citysearch

15 years ago

04/23/2007, 03:14 AM
Sandwich Dry And not a value People not nice – I decided to try this deli Caputosand I was so unhappy.I got a meatball sandwich and it was nothing to brag about! The Bread was dry and there wasent a whole lot of anything on it.I recommend Grove Market Deli to all of you ,There is a meatball sandwich to die for and the cost is about half.I am sorry to Caputos but it is the truth. And at groves you are treated like a king or queen they don't act like there doing you a favor to serve you like Caputos does.A very unsatisfied customer I won't ever be back
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.