Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Tila’s Restaurante & Bar

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.1
229 reviews
|Mexican|Houston, TX 77019

1111 S Shepherd Dr, Houston, TX 77019

(713) 522-7654

http://m.tilas.com

Open now:11:00 am - 11:00 pm

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(3) · Bars

2024 Rusk St

(713) 222-2675
5.0
(4) · Restaurants

23227 Snook Ln

(281) 205-7355
5.0
(3) · Restaurants

7067 Hwy 6 N

(713) 777-7474
5.0
(69) · Restaurants

909 Franklin St

(832) 735-8226
5.0
(3) · Restaurants

8204 Airline Dr

(713) 902-1890
4.9
(315) · Restaurants

11606 S Wilcrest Dr

(281) 495-2436
About

Editorial fromTila's is a River Oaks tradition, pumping out authentic Mexican food since the 1980s. The patio is a popular watering hole come cocktail hour thanks to the fresh margaritas and more than sixty tequilas on the menu, but the real treat is…

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.1
229 reviews
581
  
436
  
315
  
28
  
114
  
75 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Recommended
hotfries21 review for Tila’s Restaurante & Bar
hotfries21 on Citysearch

16 years ago

09/14/2006, 01:15 AM
It's ALL right here! – my wife and i were given some gift cards and we couldn't get there fast enough. the decor was really exciting and lively. my wife, who is hispanic, loved the Chiles Rellenos. she even remarked how they reminded her of her abuela's. i had the Carne Asada and it was awesome. i've told all my friends abou it. via con dios.
adgiant review for Tila’s Restaurante & Bar
adgiant on Citysearch

16 years ago

08/29/2006, 06:00 AM
Great Sunday afternoon hangout on the patio! – I read below about the slow service and I wanted to comment on that. The food is well worth the wait. I'm happy that they take the time to prepare the food perfectly. Yes, that's right, perfectly. The food tastes as great as it looks. Very nice presentation. The menu is quite extensive for how small of a place it is. I love the grilled scallions and roasted ear of corn appetizers. Not a big margarita fan but I like Tila's. Great tequila list! Last weekend I brought my dog. Tila brought "Stanley" a bowl of water which I VERY much appreciated. My daughter just adores Tila. Tila gives her the star treatment! Tila's is a warm, wonderful place!
kawaiicat7 review for Tila’s Restaurante & Bar
kawaiicat7 on Citysearch

16 years ago

08/12/2006, 07:08 AM
Best Food in Town - and you'll want to hire their decorator! – While their mexican food may not be 'authentico' it is muy excellente! They will make it as spicy as you like [and for a gal from San Antone, that's pretty darn spicy!] and will not forget to check on your table. I took my friend from California here and he had never had such good 'ritas. Their margaritas, compared to most of those I've tried my year and a half of living in Houston, actually are pretty darn good :) Their salsa is decent, nothing amazing, but pleasant - and their fun mixture of chips and fried plantains are enjoyable I have to admit, though, I am taken by their endive-stuff chicken - it's amazing. And I mean that - A-MA-ZING! If you haven't been to Tila's (like I hadn't before a few months ago) what are you waiting for? If you think it looks adorable located on the curve on Kirby, just wait till you park and go on inside! I NEED to know who decorated that place because it is so gorgeous, magical, and cute - I would love my house to have that feel. A feast for the tummy and the eyes :)
Featured content
Birdeye Adds Zillow and Trulia Reviews to its Network

Birdeye Adds Zillow and Trulia Reviews to its Network

Birdeye Adds Zillow and Trulia Reviews to its Network
Tempted to buy Google reviews?

Tempted to buy Google reviews?

Tempted to buy Google reviews?
M.C. D. review for Tila’s Restaurante & Bar
M.C. D. on Insider Pages

17 years ago

11/18/2005, 02:36 AM
You must try it! Tila's is a unique favorite of mine. I;ve been going here every month or so for the past four years. The patio dining is great in the summer, and they make awesome gazpacho and margaritas. In the winter, dine inside and get cozy with their roasted red bell pepper soup or the carrot corn bisque. I have to admit I sometimes come here just to fill up on their amazing chips and (warm) red and green salsa, and just get a bowl of soup... but they've always been gracious whether you're ordering a lot or a little.
M.C. D. review for Tila’s Restaurante & Bar
M.C. D. on Insider Pages

17 years ago

11/18/2005, 00:06 AM
You must try it! Tila's is a unique favorite of mine. I;ve been going here every month or so for the past four years. The patio dining is great in the summer, and they make awesome gazpacho and margaritas. In the winter, dine inside and get cozy with their roasted red bell pepper soup or the carrot corn bisque. I have to admit I sometimes come here just to fill up on their amazing chips and (warm) red and green salsa, and just get a bowl of soup... but they've always been gracious whether you're ordering a lot or a little. PROS: great, unique food selection, patio dining, happy hour CONS: parking - often need valet
miss_mona review for Tila’s Restaurante & Bar
miss_mona on Citysearch

17 years ago

10/11/2005, 01:52 AM
Great First Impression! – My 1st time experience was great for service, food, staff attention. Whoever said the salsa was too hot needs to go back north. I'm Texas born and it was not hot. Both the green and red salsas were just right. The salmon marinated in tequila and the trio of enchiladas was great! I'll definitely go back. The margarita I had straight up was great also.
jpclarkmba review for Tila’s Restaurante & Bar
jpclarkmba on Citysearch

17 years ago

07/18/2005, 06:44 AM
User review by jpclarkmba – Going to the bar? Ask for Alex. Alex is one of the best bartenders in town, and with an awesome sense of humor, he can make anyone's bad day turn good. Looking to dine? Ask for Manuel, you'll never go wrong. Like Alex, he's been there for years, and he's the best! The best items are: 1) Chilean Sea Bass (an off-the-menu item) 2) Stuffed Filet Mignon, and 3) Pork Tenderloin Medallions. As for desserts - diabetics need not try the Ancho Fudge pie. The word "decadence" does not begin to describe this fantastic desert. Margaritas are served on-the-rocks or straight-up (choose the later - you'll get more!) and Tilas stocks what is perhaps the largest selection of tequila in Houston. In the mood for something different? Ask for the raspberry margarita its made with freshly pureed raspberries. For the tequila connoisseur - ask to see their tequila list!
magnolia_hotel_houston review for Tila’s Restaurante & Bar
magnolia_hotel_houston on Citysearch

17 years ago

06/04/2005, 02:07 AM
Unique, Spicy, Relaxed... Tasty!! – Tilas is a wonderfully decorated, well-situated mexican restaurant just north of the confluence of West Grey and Shepard. It's packed with all sorts of interesting Mexican art, but is still full of room to relax and enjoy the excellent food. The atmosphere is softenend by the warm colors, and the outdoor deck, with its overhanging plants, offers a sense of intimacy while still being outdoors. Their margaritas are excellent, and their triple chocolate cake is, well... to die for! Mexican standards are well-prepared, and for the vegitarians, Tilas offers a bevvy of tasty meal options. Highly recommended.
marymoll review for Tila’s Restaurante & Bar
marymoll on Citysearch

17 years ago

05/26/2005, 06:57 AM
Fun, different Mexican experience – If you're looking for a fun, casual atmosphere for Mexican, choose Tila's! It has fabulous outdoor dining, and the chicken endive is to die for. Great margaritas, too!
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.