BirdEye Logo
Are you a business?
Cancel
Edit

Thompson Creek Window Company

3.9
239 reviews
()
 5000 Philadelphia Way, Lanham, MD 20706

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Write a review

(866) 572-7335

Write a review

5on Google, Mar 15, 2013
more »
4on Google, Mar 15, 2013
If you are putting off replacing your windows because you're looking for a great product backed by a fearcely professional and ethical company- then call Thompson Creek. I waited over five years because I wanted to keep the charm of my wood windows. What a waste! Now i am delaying installing window treatment because I love looking out of my exquisite windows. BTW, they left my property cleaner than when they arrived. I am saving up to call them back later this year for windows to an add-on bedroom. I wish I could give you my personal guarantee but I hope my words are enough. more »
Business Response:
Thank you so much for the great feedback and recommendation.We LOVE feedback like this. Makes us glad we do what we do! We’re so glad you chose us to replace your windows. When you’re ready for more windows, please let us know.
5on Google, Mar 15, 2013
They did a superb job in all aspects. The estimation process was great. The install was great. The gutters are great and performs as advertised. We couldn't be happier with our choice of Thompson Creek for out new gutters. more »
Business Response:
We’re ecstatic to hear that you couldn’t be happier that you chose Thompson Creek to replace your gutters! Let us know if we can help you with anything else!Thank you for all the positive feedback.
4on Google, Mar 15, 2013
great customer service. installers were quick and didn't leave a mess behind. more »
Business Response:
Thank you for the review. We’re happy to hear the installers were quick and efficient! Let us know if we can help you with anything else!
5on Google, Mar 15, 2013
I used Thompson Creek to install new windows in my home a few days ago. The whole process was so easy and the installers installed all the windows in one day! Everyone was professional and informative. They did exactly what they said they were going to do. I couldn't be happier! They have an employee there, Katie, that is a stone cold BALLER. Ask for her, she is the best! more »
Business Response:
We’re so happy to hear that your window replacement process was easy and professional. Enjoy your new windows and send over some pictures if you have them! We love to showcase our customers’ beautiful finished projects.
5on Google, Mar 15, 2013
My new Thompson Creek gutters are wonderful. We just got them installed a couple weeks ago and they've done a great job in the rain. We are so happy we won't have to go up there to clean them anymore - what a relief! If you need new gutters, Thompson Creek is the company to call!! more »
Business Response:
Thank you so much for the great review. We're so happy to hear that you love your new gutters. No more gutter cleaning for you during this Fall season! Send us some before and after pictures if you have them – we love stuff like that! Thank you for recommending Thompson Creek.
5on Google, Mar 15, 2013
Thompson Creek did a fantastic job on our gutters last weekend. Our sales representative was very impressive and the installers were quick and efficient. I wish we would have called them sooner. Thanks to Thompson Creek on a job well done! more »
Business Response:
Thank you so much for the great feedback and review! We also wished you’d called sooner! We can’t wait to hear how the gutters are performing for you.
5on Google, Mar 15, 2013
thompson creek is a great local company. We had them install windows a few years ago and they were very professional, reasonable and efficient. We recently desided to put in storm doors and they were equally as good. We also had to have some windows replaced when we accidently broke them and they came out right away and replaced them without charge. They then recommended we replace some screens too that had torn and they replaced these free too. No need to go elsewhere. Thompson creek is the one for us. more »
Business Response:
Customer service is very important to us so we're glad to hear your service was excellent! Thank you for trusting your home to Thompson Creek!
On Facebook, Mar 11, 2013
Love my windows! My friends and coworkers were right to highly recommend Thompson Creek out of other window companies, AND from sales to install everything was very professional and friendly. Highly recommend Thompson Creek Windows! more »
On Facebook, Mar 03, 2013
I don't recommend Thompson Creeps to anyone they lied and make excuses. The worst part is I did noy even call the creeps for help they called to assist then never showed for the appointmentaand never called. Once again Thompson Creeps will never get a recommendation or a kind word from me more »
On Facebook, Jan 18, 2013
I don't recommend them!!! Should have know better when I all but had to throw the salesman out of my house because he just was not going to leave without a sale. So glad I did not buy windows but did get talked into overpriced sliding doors. Had an appt for installation between noon and 4pm so I used a vacation day from work. No one called or showed by 4pm. So I called them and was told they couldn't make it. They came at 5pm when I said I was going to cancel payment with my credit card company if they didn't show. Doors have leaked since day one. Cannot get a service rep to call me back and finalize service appt. Installation was over a year ago. Guess you have to be a commentator on WTOP to get what you pay for, huh Chris?????????? more »
3on Google, Mar 15, 2012
more »
5on Google, Mar 15, 2012
I had a great experience with Thompson Creek Windows. We selected windows to be installed in our home to replace, older worn, drafty "old timers". The sales rep was excellent, patient, and provided a great deal of valuable information and selection possibilities. Every point of the process, pricing, and installation was discussed in detail. The result, we got the windows we wanted, at a competitive price, on time delivery, professional installation, and happy customers. We recommend these guys with no reservation! Honest, hard working, local craftsmen with integrity! more »
Business Response:
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your great experience with us here at Thompson Creek. Customers like you have allowed Thompson Creek to continue to grow and for that we are most thankful.
5on Google, Mar 15, 2012
We had ten windows replaced by Thompson Creek and we are very pleased with the results. They look beautiful and are easy to maintain. Thompson Creek thought of every detail in their designs. Everyone we dealt with at Thompson Creek was easy to work with and extremely professional. We have recommended them to friends. more »
Business Response:
Thank you for a very positive review. We appreciate you sharing your experience with others on Google! Let us know if we can help you with anything else!
5on Google, Mar 15, 2012
Alan in Owen Brown: We needed new gutters after our front ones were damaged by the big snow last year. We contacted a couple places and Thompson Creek was by far the most professional outfit we investigated. From our first contact straight thru the completion of the job, we were treated respectfully, carefully and like our house was their house. I never felt like I was being up-sold or given a run around. Excellent, highly recommend. As soon as I have more money saved, we will be having Thompson Creek replace our windows. more »
Business Response:
We really appreciate the positive feedback on our company. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Google. Please reach out to us when you’re ready to replace your windows.
1on Google, Mar 15, 2012
Faulty installation - seems like business as usual. The knowledgeable salesman and the measuring guy were replaced by the jv team for installation for 3 doors. They installed a slider so improperly my father-in-law and wife have a hard time pulling it hard enough to close it. They damaged my carpet and trim, sealed inadequately and shoddily around doors, didn't replace all trim (as promised) - some of what they did they dented, put sealant on top of sawdust, marked up my concrete, left waste, left the keys to two new doors on the floor, installed two doors so poorly that you can actually stand on the threshold and bounce, and didn't leave the wiring for my security system out as promised so I've been without an alarm for weeks. When I pointed to a frame piece the sales guy said the installers would fix, they did nothing and said, "I'd paint that if I were you." The frame is damaged around other points of the slider. When I pointed out the damage to the carpet, the installer pretended to not understand what I was saying. I could go on and on about installation flaws- but you get the point. No QA person showed up after this mess. The one we did get put in touch with never called back. We placed multiple calls to Thompson Creek the next day, and sent pictures detailing the mistakes. No calls back or returned emails. If they were 1/2 the company they claim to be, I wouldn't be spending all this time trying to get a door that my wife could open and close that won't leak or bounce when we step on it. It just would've been right the first time, especially for what they charge and the slick sales pitch. The fact that they're so unresponsive means this must be standard operating procedure. Bottom line, don't make the mistake I did and spend $7k+ on three doors and make your house look and operate worse than before. Cashing checks and selling doors - Thompson Creek does that. Making things right and doing quality installs - Thompson Creek doesn't do that. Take the advertising for what it is - advertising - and go elsewhere. more »
Business Response:
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We really appreciate your feedback. The outcome of your installation is absolutely unacceptable and is not the way Thompson Creek does things. We sincerely apologize for the misrepresentation of our company. We would love the chance to remedy the situation. Please contact me at your convenience at ksushko@thompsoncreek.com or 301.560.0661.
4on Google, Mar 15, 2012
I think I got a good deal on my windows. I had them out for a quote after seeing them at a home show this spring. I was very happy with the process and I think their windows offer advantages over some cheaper options like they have at home depot. I like their warranty and how the custom fit the windows to my home. There were no major issues with the installation and they had the job done in less than a day. I would use them again. more »
Business Response:
Sarah - Thank you so much for this great feedback! We appreciate your business, and we know that happy customers move our business forward. Your comments are verification that we are doing our job! Enjoy your new windows and thank you so much for trusting your home to Thompson Creek!
5on Google, Mar 15, 2012
A great company to deal with. customer service was terrific and they put a rush on our job because we were having a huge party. i wouldn't hesitate to use them again. more »
Business Response:
Thank you for the great feedback. We are so glad we could help you out. We hope your party was a great success! Let us know if we can help you with anything else!
1on Google, Mar 15, 2012
The worst experience I've had with a contractor in many years. They use high pressure sales tactics. I made them leave my home. When I complained to the sales manager he said they don't do business that way. I told him to look at his Google & Yelp reviews because many people are talking about the high pressure sales techniques that they use are like a used car salesman's style & the company may want to address how they train their sales force. At that he had an attitude & said he took personal offense to my comments because he personally trains them. Well, if the sales manager acts that way then it says a lot about the entire company. I was starting to believe him that it was just my sales person until the manager also got an attitude with me. What happened to the Golden Rule & treating people the way they themselves want to be treated? Don't waste your time with Thompson Creek. more »
Business Response:
We sincerely apologize regarding your experience with us. The attitude of our representatives were not professional and do not follow our customer service standards. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We would love the chance to remedy the situation. Please contact me at your convenience at ksushko@thompsoncreek.com or 301.560.0661.
3on Google, Mar 15, 2012
Sales reps will give an over-inflated initial cost. Never settle for first proposal. I pushed back and ended up paying 1/3 of original quote for gutter replacement. I knew what I willing to pay (based on earlier estimates) and was willing to haggle. The install crew did a good job, but almost tried to not replaced some rotted fascia board that the sales guy said they would (was written down on work order). Overall the gutters are fine. Are they better quality? I guess. Do they work? Sure. Also as mentioned, they always give a 4 hour window and don't call when en route; like their field guys don't carry cell phones. If you want someone to give a fair price out the gate, use someone else. Just called for service as one of the downspouts needs to be re-connected (to an extension piece at bottom) We'll see how that goes. more »
Business Response:
Thank you so much for this feedback. We appreciate you sharing your experience.
3on Google, Mar 15, 2012
Ok, do not believe the salesman when they tell you that:
a)the gutter are NOT "no maintenance ones"! (they do have t have maintenance, yes, you do not have to pay for it, but you do have to call
thompson, schedule the appt with them, you HAVE to be home when they come (be ready to take a day off of work for these "no maintenance gutters"), they will not come if it's raining, if there's traffic etc.) The appointment is about 3 weeks after you call and they show up late without communicating it to the customer,so you pretty much waste your time sitting at home.
b) when the salesman is making his pitch, they include such a huge selling point in my eyes, that "in case you are ever dissatisfied with anything, here is the DIRECT phone number to the CEO and you can call him any time, day or night, to express your concern". that is not true. customer service people have no idea such phone number exists and I am too lazy to look for the papers I got after signing the contract to look for them to find this number, i will just find the ceo's address and will send him a letter and/or email.
c) the gutters are extremely loud in the rain, the drain pipes are. since they go on the sides of the house, most likely at least a couple of bedrooms will be close to those drain pipes and will be awaken at night by the loud drip. If i have known that, i would have not gotten them for the price I paid.
Bottom line is-when you stay at a Holiday inn-you expect a certain type of service rathern then when you stay at a Ritz. when i was getting this gutters i was promised and guaranteed the Ritz-type customer service and service in general. So far it has not been that at all and it has been actually quiet disappointing. Think twice before you get these gutters and be careful during the high-stress selling time when both spouses have to be at home!
Natalia F.
more »
Business Response:
Thank you for your feedback. We take reviews like this very seriously and will be making needed adjustments to our process. Please contact me at your convenience if you’d like to discuss this further and hopefully remedy the situation at ksushko@thompsoncreek.com or 301.560.0661.
1on Google, Mar 15, 2012
We had many Casement windows in a sun room that needed replacement. First, the Thompson Creek sales guy suggested that Casements would be too expensive and suggested we go with Double Hung. Thinking Casements were going to be too expensive, we took his advice and ran with the Double Hung variety even though that wasn't our first style choice. Then he hit us his first estimate. $23K. After we haggled with this used car salesman...he had to call the home office to approve our great negotiated price of $13K. "Great news guys - the home office approved.", he said. In the next few days Pella and Champion came in and both offered best prices off the bat - no real haggling. Both were around $10K-11K for Casements --- not double hung!!! Similar warranties as well. Needless to say, Thompson Creek came back and tried to match. Too little, too late Thompson Creek. Terrible & slick Thompson Creek sales experience was a real turn off. Don't be fooled by Thomson Creek's radio ads and BBB rating. My advice to all, get more than one estimate!! more »
Business Response:
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry for your poor experience but are glad you were able to complete your projects. If we can help in any way or even remedy our performance please let me know at ksushko@thompsoncreek.com or 301.560.0661.
5on Google, Mar 15, 2012
We just got all new windows in our home and Thompson Creek did a wonderful job! We are extremely happy with the work they did. We will be recommending Thompson Creek to our friends and family more »
Business Response:
Customer satisfaction is very important to us, and the greatest compliment you can give is to recommend us to your friends and family. Thank you! Let us know if we can help you with anything else!
5on Google, Mar 15, 2012
We had the windows in our house replaced and the service and staff were unfailingly nice and helpful. The work was all finished in a day, the old windows were taken away for recycling, and the clean up was impeccable. The windows are wonderful and we are far cozier at home now. I would recommend Thompson Creek to anyone. more »
Business Response:
Thank you so much for your feedback and recommendation of Thompson Creek windows. We pride ourselves on customer service and we’re glad to hear that we exceeded your expectations!
4on Google, Mar 15, 2012
Very satisfied, we had one window replaced in our living room. It was a bay window. They did the installation in less then 4 hrs. The only thing was the financing, there are hidden fees from the C card company. Thank god I read carefully because we paid cash for it and forgone the financing. Sales people should have known this. Love the window great installation. more »
Business Response:
Thank you for this great feedback! We apologize for the confusion during your financing experience. Our sales teams are now more aware of the options to explain to our customers. Thank you for the great window installation feedback! Let us know if we can help you with anything else!
Page 9 of 10
Are you a business owner?
or
See BirdEye in action.
  • Scan Business
    See how you appear everywhere online -- across top sites and against competitors
  • Free Trial
    Take control of your business. Give it a try for free!

Contact

Edit
5000 Philadelphia Way, Lanham, MD 20706
Windows Installation
Today 8:00 am - 9:00 pm

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

About

Edit
Specialties
For the past 35 years, Thompson Creek Window Company has been customizing and manufacturing replacement windows. In 1980, we opened our 1st factory on West Street in Annapolis. As a result of the West Street Revitalization Project, we moved from Annapolis to a new facility in Stevensonville, MD. In 2001, Rick Wuest took over as President and eliminated the middle man by selling directly to the customer. In 2007, our business had grown so much; we packed up and moved to our current 75K square foot facility in Landover, Maryland. By 2011 we were forced to move our Customer Fulfillment team to an office building in Lanham to make way for more manufacturing and warehouse space. In 2014, we purchased the old Murrays Steakhouse building in Prince Georges County where we will build a large manufacturing/warehouse to keep up with our continued growth and expansion plans and to keep us in our local community.The new facility is just seconds from I-95 and will provide us the space we need to grow and provide new jobs in Prince George's County. The move will be seamless, allowing us to continue deliveries to our customers throughout the region and continue our mission of creating the best customer experience in our industry. Prince George's County road infrastructure allows our company to be visible for travelers on Interstate 495 and also to service a large Metropolitan area by providing us with multiple ways to get to our customers.
History
Established in 1980.
Founded in 1980 by Ernest F. Wuest Jr., Thompson Creek Window Company has evolved from a modest local manufacturer into a leading force in the window industry. In 1997, the company moved from its original location in downtown Annapolis, to a beautiful 20,000 square-foot facility in Stevensville, MD. In 1999, Thompson Creek merged with National Home Industries, a highly respected home improvement business, bringing more than 50 years of valued knowledge and experience to the company. In 2003, our growth continued as we opened our new corporate headquarters and showroom in Lanham, MD. This facility houses offices, a distribution and service center and provides our customers with a location to view the products that we manufacture, sell and install. 2007 brought about the biggest growth in the history of Thompson Creek as we relocated factory to our new 80,000 square foot manufacturing facility in Landover, MD.
Meet the Business Owner
Rick W.
Business Owner
When Rick was 13 years old, his parents moved their family to MDto start a window manufacturing business. They invested everything they had in the Company, and actually lived above the window factory in the early days. Rick started his career path with a broom in his hand and learned the business from the ground up. In 2002, Rick became majority owner and president of Thompson Creek Window Company. Since that time, the Company has enjoyed double-digit growth annually. With a disciplined business focus (manufacturing and installing replacement windows into owner-occupied homes), a commitment to total customer satisfaction, and the understanding that happy, motivated and well-trained employees are the key to success, Rick has led the Company that continues to thrive in challenging economic times. Rick leveraged his manufacturing and home improvement experience to create a company which focuses on the interior of the home. Rick lives in Annapolis with his wife Vicki and their four cats.
more »

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Review summary

5  150
4  17
3  7
2  7
1  51
7 reviews with no rating
3.9
239 reviews
BirdEye Logo
Things you should know
about BirdEye
BirdEye was founded in 2012 to help businesses manage online reputation and customer experience

BirdEye works with 10,000+ clients, from SMBs to large enterprises

With BirdEye, you can monitor real-time customer feedback from 100+ sites and social channels

Generate new authentic reviews with real-time automated feedback requests from BirdEye

BirdEye gives you access to insights from your competitors’ customer feedback

The BirdEye mobile app allows on-the-go customer experience management

Use BirdEye’s free Scan Your Business tool for a snapshot of your online presence