BirdEye Logo
Are you a business?
Cancel
Edit

Thompson Creek Window Company

3.9
239 reviews
()
 5000 Philadelphia Way, Lanham, MD 20706

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Write a review

(866) 572-7335

Write a review

5on Google, Mar 15, 2014
We have only had our new windows for a few weeks now, but have to say that we love them and were pleased with the entire process. The salesman that came to our home was very pleasant to deal with and not only had plenty of information, but displays and parts to show us which I appreciated as I am a visual person. Appointments to take measurements and then install the windows were made within reasonable timeframes. Installation was done within a day - the installers were pleasant and made sure to clean up after themselves both inside and out. The windows themselves are great! Still waiting to see how they affect our electric bill (keeping fingers crossed for a very noticeable difference there), but they seem to be regulating the temperature in our home better. Very easy to open, shut, and lock and I absolutely love the safety latches that allow us to keep the windows open without anyone being able to open them wide enough to get into the house. Thank you Thompson Creek for wonderful windows and a job well done! more »
2on Google, Mar 15, 2014
I purchased siding. Had the high pressure sales. They promised to be finished in 3-4 days. On the last day said they ran out and had to order more siding. Scheduled to come back in a month. Left a out door light fixture in the yard. Railings off to the back porch. Cut a heavy duty exstention cord in half they ask to borrow. Lost a part to a out door light. Put a outlet upside downward. Put a light fixture on in a manor that kept tripping the breaker. Left nails all over the ground. On the date they said they would come back they said is was raining couldn't come. Said be there in the morning 8-10am. Called at 10 am and said we forgot to order the siding so we cant come for another month. Then called and said we will put a rush order on it.
There is some problems with the siding that is up. I ask to speak with a manager. She is going to try to get to the bottom of it. She is clue less.
I have not paid yet. So we will see.
more »
5on Google, Mar 15, 2014
Our experience with Thompson Creek was excellent. From the factory rep, Jordan Gruzinski who made the presentation when we purchased our gutter system through installation which was completed as promised and on time we have been satisfied. We like everything about our new gutters; the color my husband selected matched our home perfectly and was the same color as the sample we were given at the time of purchase. We were told installation would be between 8 and 10, and at 8:06 the installers were at our door. I would recommend Thompson Creek and plan to use them in the future for other home improvement projects. more »
Business Response:
We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. Thank you for recommending us to your friends and family. We look forward to working with you on future home improvement projects!
4on Google, Mar 15, 2014
We had several old windows that needed to be replaced in our home. One of the windows was made to the wrong size but they corrected it and completed that window within the month. The contractors they used to install the windows were efficient, respectful, and did a good job. The windows are good quality. The only problem we have is that the grid sizes in the bay window could have been matched better to the other windows. more »
5on Google, Mar 15, 2014
Wanted to leave a review for windows we had 17 windows replaced by Thompson Creek 2 years ago. I dont know why I never gave them a review before, but decided it was time. The salesman.gave a very complete pitch. He was a little aggressive, but hey, that's his job. We agreed to the price, which was much lower than most of our quotes. (We got 5 other bids) The day of the install arrived, and a crew of about 4 men arrived at about 9 and the windows were done by 4 pm. 17 windows installed and wrapped with aluminum trim in 7 hours, including re-doing the trim on an old window I decided against replacing. I have had only 1 small issue with the windows, which was repaired in quick order. Now for the best part. Our house is 75 yrs old. The insulation in the walls and doors leaves much to be desired. The old windows, which were only about 20 years old, leaked so much you could watch the drapes move when the wind was blowing. No more of that! My energy costs have gone down, on the average, $50 per month. Whats not to like? more »
1on Google, Mar 15, 2014
Run run run! I made the mistake of letting one of their "canvassers" make an appt for a follow up estimate on gutters. Be ready for a 2 hour presentation and pushy salesman. I told the guy I used to be in sales and that I was going to get a few estimates before making a decision. He said that was a "waste of time". He also claimed to be a "factory rep" instead of a salesman. I stopped him half way through his binder presentation which contained a bunch of accolades and copies of deals from their competitors that he claimed were sketchy. Finally, the "estimate" he tried to hand me was simply a total with three payment options! There was no breakdown of the costs! The initial guy who made the appointment said we would have an estimate emailed to us. Not only is there no email, but they try REPEATEDLY to close you on the spot! After realizing he would not be closing the deal, he left frustrated without even thanking us for our time! Do not let them in your house unless you don't like comparing prices and want to spend double others would charge! more »
5on Google, Mar 15, 2014
Overall experience was very good. We had a sliding glass door replaced; it is a great product with a truly professional installation. While more expensive than I had desired, the door ended up being a much better value than the home improvement stores, and the entire staff was vastly more competent at Thompson Creek. The company takes pride in their products and their work. The sales staff was very knowledgable. Although a bit high pressure, they were respectful and helpful. The project coordinator did exactly what she should; schedule the installation, keep me apprised of any changes, and follow up afterwards. The installers were courteous and did a nice job. My rough opening from the old door was a few inches bigger than the standard 72x80 frame size, so they had to close it in a bit. Finished job looks perfect! And Thompson Creek even had a gentleman stop by after the installers finished to make sure all went well. It did! more »
5on Google, Mar 15, 2014
Being a Federal Employee, when I decided to replace my windows, I got 3 bids.
Thompson Creek gave me the best deal by far, almost $12K (yes you read that right) under one competitor and $2K unde
r the next closest. However, the good news doesn't end there. They worked very well with my condo association to be sure that that install was approved. On the day of the install the crew was quick, courteous and cleaned up their mess. All the way through the process, there were multiple quality checks to ensure that the job and the windows were as I wanted them. The windows have now been in through a cold snap an I'm amazed at how warm they are to the touch. In addition, they almost completely stop outside noise, so my condo is much quieter. Thompson Creek Window Company has my unqualified recommendation, you really can't do better. more »
4on Google, Mar 15, 2014
Had 2 storm doors installed last Summer. Doors were well made and installation was quick.
I had to have a tech return to adjust the strike plate because the door would not close completely in wa
rm weather. He had it fixed in 10 minutes. Now the door is closing correctly. more »
5on Google, Mar 15, 2014
I love my new sliding glass doors! They were just installed and I waited a long time to put the drapes back up so I could stare at them. They are sturdy and beautiful at the same time. I got the ones with the grid and it does add something to the room. When the doors are closed, they really do keep the noise out. And I notice that the sun coming in, while it lights up the room, did not seem to overheat the room the way it did with the old sliding glass doors. The screen door slides nicely, and both screen and main door have nice security features.
The sales person did a good job of not pushing me to buy. Someone came out to remeasure 3 days later and it was perfect. The guys who did the installation were professional but fun, and they took great care to make sure the installation met my needs. They protected the carpet and flooring and they cleaned up and vacuumed when they were done.
And I'm already getting compliments!
more »
Business Response:
Thank you for the fabulous review. We will definitely share your comments with your installation team to commend them for a job well done! If you have any before and after pictures, we'd love to see them! Send them to ksushko@thompsoncreek.com. Thank you!
5on Google, Mar 15, 2014
I had my front door and storm door replaced by Thompson Creek about a week ago. The work itself was done quickly and the crew cleaned up completely. The crew also kept the door shut as must as possible in light of the cooler outside temperature. Any prior appointments for measuring were done early in the appointment window and took less time than I expected. Also, the project manager has been quick to respond to E-mails even after the job was completed. I would definitely use and recommend Thompson Creek for any future projects. more »
5on Google, Mar 15, 2014
Thompson Creek replaced our gutters and we were very pleased with the experience. They were always on time for appointments, did very professional work, and excellent clean up. The new gutters look great! We got a heavy rain a couple of days after installation, and the gutters handled the heavy run off with no problem. more »
2on Google, Mar 15, 2014
We purchased a replacement sliding glass door for our home from Thompson Creek. The salesman was friendly and knowledgeable, they offered a "sign up now" discount (the reason I'm writing this review - it's required as a part of the deal), and a double lifetime guaranty on the product itself. Sounded good. The install date was set and we were assigned a project lead contact person who communicated the process to us approaching install date, called for quality assurance afterward, and was friendly throughout the process. Upon inspection of the installed door, I found that the door did not slide smoothly into the frame/closure, but instead "caught" on one side of the frame and had to "jump" into place. Concerned that we paid good money and the finished product was not perfect, I called to address the issue around 6pm on a weekday. I called the main Thompson Creek line as well as a number provided to call if after hour issues needed to be addressed. I waited on hold on this line for one hour before hanging up out of frustration. The recording said that the next available operator would be right with me - well they never were. According to my project lead the next day, they stop answering the phones in the evening. This problem was communicated to the project lead who apologized and escalated to his manager.
A quality control representative was sent to my home today to inspect the issue (I thought he was here to fix it). He looked at and tested the door and told me that it was working properly because "it closes and locks." And that he didn't think anything could be done to fix it. Said he had not noticed this issue with other doors but had never paid attention. My concern is that the door and frame will be damaged over time. His response to that concern was that it has a double lifetime warranty, so I shouldn't worry if it does get damaged. Well, I paid good money for the door to be installed and function properly, not to have a service call a few years down the road just because it's there as a safety net. The tech said install guys would have to come back and re-install/tweak the door to see if they can fix it, but there are no guarantees. Now more time off of work for a third visit from Thompson Creek to install a sliding glass door. I am overall dissatisfied with my experience with Thompson Creek.
more »
5on Facebook, Mar 13, 2014
more »
5on Facebook, Mar 04, 2014
Liam O. arrived today to address a window that we were unable to lock. We have had problems before and requested that a technician assist us. He availed on time and was very proficient. I wonder rate him as a 10 with 10 being outstanding. I would also rate him as a 10 with regard to positive interaction with his clients. Thanks for sending him. I will keep his card for the future. more »
5on Facebook, Feb 28, 2014
We just got are new bay window finished off, I am so HAPPY with the finish of the window. You see we had the window put in 12-26-13 and under the window you could see all the unfinish part of the window, We were not happy with the look of it. So they called us and said they would come out and fix it for us... Liam O was very kind and so helpful. I have never had people fix something and been so NICE about it... I LOVE the AWESOME work they did.... Thank you again Liam and Scott for all that you did for Mike & I to make sure we were happy with the job before you left are home..You guys Rock...lol..☺ more »
Business Response:
Thank you so much Karen! Our goal is to make you extremely proud of your home and sounds like we succeeded :)
5on Facebook, Feb 26, 2014
Had my front door and a ridiculous number of linear feet of gutters replaced by Thompson Creek. I love this company. As with all projects, errors or issues arose and they fixed each and every one to our satisfaction. We have high standards and would recommend them without hesitation -- especially David Chambers! more »
5on Facebook, Feb 21, 2014
Todd and Patrick Romm came and installed our new doors today and absolutely nailed it with focus, professionalism, and a real knack for dealing with adversity. In the rain, with door frames that were not even remotely parallel, these guys worked their butts off and absolutely killed it. Fantastic job guys. Thanks again! more »
5on Facebook, Feb 14, 2014
more »
5on Facebook, Feb 13, 2014
more »
1on Facebook, Feb 08, 2014
Neighbors just got new windows from Thompson Creek. The contractor blocked our parking spot with their truck and them set up their power saw and equipment outside the window of our two young children. So, we could not park and could not get our kids down for their nap. I may vomit the next time I hear one of their annoying radio ads. I would use wax paper like the pioneers did before using Thompson Creek windows. more »
5on Facebook, Feb 05, 2014
5 stars for Tim Dailey! He came out to adjust the back slider and after successfully doing that he adjusted the front door as well. He was very professional and thorough. I always get compliments on our window and doors and I will always be a huge fan of Thompson Creek! more »
1on Facebook, Jan 29, 2014
Broke contract dates more »
5on Facebook, Jan 29, 2014
Recently had windows and two doors replaced. Found a problem with the sliding door and Liam came out and explained what was wrong, and how to handle it until a new panel could be installed. He was very pleasant and helpful after what I know was a long day. Thanks again, Liam. more »
Business Response:
Thanks for kind words Ron!
1on Yellow Pages, Jan 15, 2014
The company itself is a good company with a great story. The President, Mr. Rick Wuist, is a very pleasant person whom I've had the good fortune to meet and talk to. But that's the only positive thing that I can say about this company as my opinion is overshadowed by the Company's work ethics. As an Ex-Employee of Thompson Creek, I can tell you that the Managers here are manipulative, embrace discriminatory practices, retaliatory, prideful and hypocrites. This company has great products which I would endorse -- however, as I would never by clothes from a dealer who employs child labor to lower production cost, I would not do business with a company who would scheme to take advantage of their employees with intent to inflict malice. Resist the urge.. buy from a company that respects its staff. Signed: No Longer a BelieverIf you are really curious.. email me and I will SHOW YOU why your money is better spent somewhere else. JosephCook703@gmail.com more »
Page 7 of 10
Are you a business owner?
or
See BirdEye in action.
  • Scan Business
    See how you appear everywhere online -- across top sites and against competitors
  • Free Trial
    Take control of your business. Give it a try for free!

Contact

Edit
5000 Philadelphia Way, Lanham, MD 20706
Windows Installation
Today 8:00 am - 9:00 pm

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

About

Edit
Specialties
For the past 35 years, Thompson Creek Window Company has been customizing and manufacturing replacement windows. In 1980, we opened our 1st factory on West Street in Annapolis. As a result of the West Street Revitalization Project, we moved from Annapolis to a new facility in Stevensonville, MD. In 2001, Rick Wuest took over as President and eliminated the middle man by selling directly to the customer. In 2007, our business had grown so much; we packed up and moved to our current 75K square foot facility in Landover, Maryland. By 2011 we were forced to move our Customer Fulfillment team to an office building in Lanham to make way for more manufacturing and warehouse space. In 2014, we purchased the old Murrays Steakhouse building in Prince Georges County where we will build a large manufacturing/warehouse to keep up with our continued growth and expansion plans and to keep us in our local community.The new facility is just seconds from I-95 and will provide us the space we need to grow and provide new jobs in Prince George's County. The move will be seamless, allowing us to continue deliveries to our customers throughout the region and continue our mission of creating the best customer experience in our industry. Prince George's County road infrastructure allows our company to be visible for travelers on Interstate 495 and also to service a large Metropolitan area by providing us with multiple ways to get to our customers.
History
Established in 1980.
Founded in 1980 by Ernest F. Wuest Jr., Thompson Creek Window Company has evolved from a modest local manufacturer into a leading force in the window industry. In 1997, the company moved from its original location in downtown Annapolis, to a beautiful 20,000 square-foot facility in Stevensville, MD. In 1999, Thompson Creek merged with National Home Industries, a highly respected home improvement business, bringing more than 50 years of valued knowledge and experience to the company. In 2003, our growth continued as we opened our new corporate headquarters and showroom in Lanham, MD. This facility houses offices, a distribution and service center and provides our customers with a location to view the products that we manufacture, sell and install. 2007 brought about the biggest growth in the history of Thompson Creek as we relocated factory to our new 80,000 square foot manufacturing facility in Landover, MD.
Meet the Business Owner
Rick W.
Business Owner
When Rick was 13 years old, his parents moved their family to MDto start a window manufacturing business. They invested everything they had in the Company, and actually lived above the window factory in the early days. Rick started his career path with a broom in his hand and learned the business from the ground up. In 2002, Rick became majority owner and president of Thompson Creek Window Company. Since that time, the Company has enjoyed double-digit growth annually. With a disciplined business focus (manufacturing and installing replacement windows into owner-occupied homes), a commitment to total customer satisfaction, and the understanding that happy, motivated and well-trained employees are the key to success, Rick has led the Company that continues to thrive in challenging economic times. Rick leveraged his manufacturing and home improvement experience to create a company which focuses on the interior of the home. Rick lives in Annapolis with his wife Vicki and their four cats.
more »

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Review summary

5  150
4  17
3  7
2  7
1  51
7 reviews with no rating
3.9
239 reviews
BirdEye Logo
Things you should know
about BirdEye
BirdEye was founded in 2012 to help businesses manage online reputation and customer experience

BirdEye works with 15,000+ clients, from SMBs to large enterprises

With BirdEye, you can monitor real-time customer feedback from 250+ sites and social channels

Generate new authentic reviews with real-time automated feedback requests from BirdEye

BirdEye gives you access to insights from your competitors’ customer feedback

The BirdEye mobile app allows on-the-go customer experience management

Use BirdEye’s free Scan Your Business tool for a snapshot of your online presence