BirdEye Logo
Are you a business?
Cancel
Edit

Thompson Creek Window Company

3.9
240 reviews
(Windows Installation)
 5000 Philadelphia Way, Lanham, MD 20706US

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Write a review

(866) 572-7335

Write a review

1on Facebook, Dec 16, 2014
My mother got windows installed today. For the price she is paying she should have taken her money else where Was supposed to be a one day job now she's has to take off more time for work to finish the back storm door. They are refusing to put her front screen door back on that they took off (not thier policy) bc she ended up not needing the front storm door replaced. After the person I charge came by and said they would put it back on. So the workers called and questioned hi...
See More m and he says to my mom quote " you do remember I was there today and we talked right?" Like she was senial or something. they broke a glass in her storm door, took door bell off and didn't put back on. There is 1/4 in gap between wall and door frame and they didnt finish bottom of door.u can see where the hardwood ends. And lastly I'm one of the bedrooms there are old window pieces all over the bed. No respect of my mom or her property and sounds like they have no care for their workmanship. My mom nor I will recommend this company to anyone. I really hope TC fixes all these issues.
more »
Business Response:
Ms Johnson, We deeply apologize for any inconvenience or miscommunication that we caused with the installation yesterday. From looking into the current situation, Dave, from our project coordination team, is handling all issues which will be resolved today. We will use this event as a training opportunity. We apologize and thank you for your continued trust in Thompson Creek.
5on Facebook, Dec 02, 2014
Hermosos publicaciones more »
5on Facebook, Nov 22, 2014
more »
2on Facebook, Oct 17, 2014
Just found out at 1600 on a Friday that our install for Sunday is cancelled. Great news. Had a company rep confirm, in person, 9 days ago, that the install was still a go. Very poor customer service and communication with the customer. We probably have other weekends open with a wedding in November. more »
Business Response:
Mr. Beebe, Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We apologize for the miscommunication on our end. There was a mishap on our end between our Project Coordination department and the Factory. You are currently working our Manager of Project Coordination to resolve this matter so we can have your windows installed into your home as soon as possible. We will use this situation as a training opportunity. Thank you for your continued trust in Thompson Creek.
5on Facebook, Oct 01, 2014
more »
1on Facebook, Aug 29, 2014
more »
5on Facebook, Jun 09, 2014
DJ was just here to fix several problems with my storm door and sliding door and I couldn't be more pleased. He identified the culprit on each issue and fixed them so they work better than they ever did! He was courteous, professional, displayed exceptional expertise, and left the work areas impeccably clean. He even explained what each issue was and what he did to fix it.
Far exceeded my expectations and the best technician I have ever had from Thompson Creek, or anywhere else for that matter. TC better not let this one get away!
more »
5on Facebook, Jun 04, 2014
I will be requesting David Chambers by name for all future door repair issues. Rather than just fixing the symptom (sweep was tearing out from under the door) as a previous technician did, David identified the underlying cause and fixed it. He also provided a permanent fix to a moving strike that was preventing the door from closing and re-applied a pad to the bottom of the door jamb.
David was kind and professional. He came out on Memorial Day weekend (Saturday). I was fortunate enough to be home during his visit and we talked about our prior military service. He is just a great guy and I can't say enough good about him. Bravo to Thompson Creek for having such a stellar employee and veteran.
more »
Business Response:
Thanks for the great review Scott! We are very fortunate to have David a part of our company. Please let us know if you need anything else. We would be more than happy to assist you in any way that we can!
1on Facebook, Jun 02, 2014
After some door to door salesmen came to our home and talked with my husband, he scheduled an appointment for a free quote. What a waste of time! The guy starts out saying how he needs to get a feel for our budget because the company isn't into high pressure tactics. That the company is only interested in bringing the customer the right product to fit their lifestyle. Man did his demeanor change quickly! A few minutes later when we start talking numbers (including my research...
See More of other companies/average pricing), he basically says "well, we can't help you with your windows then." After taking the measurements and giving us the quote, I had to take my cat to the vet and he kept insisting I skip the vet appointment and stay at home instead, because he wont be able to offer us certain deals if we don't take advantage of them that day. Sorry but my prescheduled appointment is more important! So my husband calls me while at the vet with the quote...$5400 for 2 small windows and 2 basic storm doors! The salesman kept pressuring my husband to make a decision and was less than pleasant when my husband kept telling him that him and I needed to sit down to discuss it further. My husband asked if he could call him with questions and his response was "well, I'm not sure if I'll be around..." Horrible salesman with a terrible attitude and tactics. Based on our experience with him and also the outrageous pricing, we will never choose your company or recommend you to others.
more »
5on Facebook, May 22, 2014
David Chambers is one of the best service techs I have ever encountered. His attitude is approaching the storm door issue was outstanding. He went the "extra mile" to resolve fully the problem at hand! His professionalism was successfully demonstrated by his complete resolution of the open issue plus several other door issues he spotted and fixed while he was at our residence. more »
1on Facebook, Apr 16, 2014
I was to have had six windows installed today. Unfortunately, all but one window was too small. The Quality Assurance (ha!) representative arrived and tried to tell me that 3/4" gap at the top and bottom of the window was okay because they could foam it. When I explained that it was unacceptable, they installed the second window - and guess what - it too, was too small. No one would accept responsibility for the poor measurement and kept trying to convince me that it was ...
See More okay to have large gaps. Bottom line, six hours later nothing was finished. The second QA had to come out and remeasure and now I have to take time off of work again in hopes that they can install properly fitting windows. My advice is to never use this company. Too expensive for such crummy customer service and poor workmanship. A one thousand dollar window should fit.
more »
Business Response:
Stephanie, We apologize for any inconvenience we have caused you during the installation. You have spoken to one of the owners of Thompson Creek to ensure that we are going to correct any of the mistakes we made. Please accept our apology. - Thompson Creek Window Company
5on Facebook, Apr 02, 2014
Looking forward to our new front door! Thanks, Brian and Daniel for getting us all set! more »
5on Google, Mar 15, 2014
I wanted to provide some feedback on my recent window installation. First of all, this was a necessary upgrade. My wife and I bought our house from her parents, the original owners, a few years ago. Since then, we’ve been making progress renovating the 30 year old property inside and out. One of our biggest targets was new windows. The windows we had in the house leaked horribly – both rain and wind. Regularly, during the winters, ice formed on the inside panes. We could feel the breeze blowing through the house on cold days. We did our research and picked Thompson Creek for the job.
As you can imagine, we were very excited about having our windows installed. My wife and I both planned to stay home from work for the occasion. Unfortunately, as the installation date neared, weather started to become a factor. We anticipated nearly 6 inches of snow to fall during the precise time the installers would be working. I fully expected the company to cancel our delivery.
To my complete surprise, your team arrived promptly at 8 AM. When I asked them about postponing the installation due to weather, they confidently explained they could get the job done despite the conditions. Their excitement was contagious. They were energetic, friendly, and professional. I got the sense from the moment they arrived until they were done that they knew their jobs inside and out and took a lot of pride in their product.
Within an hour, they had most of old windows out and the new windows tacked in, all before the snow really got going. My wife and I watched while your team of guys performed their jobs brilliantly in rapidly deteriorating conditions. They didn’t complain once – they just did their jobs.
They kept my wife and I informed of their progress, showed us how they did the work, and explained all of the neat features of our new windows. As they began to finish up, they cleaned up the house of all dust and debris. Because of the snow, they took snow shovels and cleared off my driveway, deck, and parts of my yard to make sure they got all of the trash before they left and offered to come back if we discovered anything else after the snow melts.
I couldn’t be happier with the new windows or the job your team performed. My wife and I are in prominent positions in our company and many folks knew we would be out because of the window installation. They were shocked when we told them your guys did the work in the snow. We have already bragged on your team and will continue to do so. I am confident your dedication to your customers has earned customers for life and you’ve added another one in me.
I don’t know how you reward your installation teams, but this one deserves the highest possible recognition.
more »
2on Google, Mar 15, 2014
I had all my windows replaced. So far they have not chaged the temperature or the frequency the heat runs. On top of that I now hear street traffic, that was not an issue with the old windows. While they look nicier than the old windows so far it was not worth it. more »
4on Google, Mar 15, 2014
I had a window leaking and decided to address it when a door-to-door Thompson Creek salesman came to my door. The salesmen were responsive and professional. They recommended replacing the window, but cautioned me about potential water damage to the frame underneath. I was worried about the unknown extra cost (they couldn't quote an amount to fix the damage since they'd need to wait until the old window was removed). I was pleasantly surprised when they found the structure was fine underneath and they offered to patch damaged drywall for free. I'm pretty sure I overpaid for the window (though it's great quality and well sealed), but I appreciated that I wasn't pressed into further charges with the water damage. more »
5on Google, Mar 15, 2014
Thompson Creek replaced our old gutter with their clog free and elegantly designed product last month. It was a pleasant experience working with them from beginning to the end. The price is very reasonable and the quality is super. We made a few changes from the original plan in the middle (but before the start of their work), they accepted them without hesitation. They provided a life time warranty with that we are very happy. We highly recommend this company. more »
Business Response:
Thank you for recommending us! And thank you for trusting your home to Thompson Creek. Enjoy your new gutters!
4on Google, Mar 15, 2014
I had my windows replaced by Thompson Creek in 6/2013. When I was researching Thompson Creek, I read some negative online reviews, not so much about the windows but rather the service, and decided to move forward anyway. I'm glad I didn't allow those reviews to hold me back, as I had a very good experience with the service, from the sales supervisor who helped me resolve some questions about my contract, to the measurer, to the coordinators who were in regular contact with me between contract signing and install, and to the install team who completed the install of 26 windows in one day. The windows themselves are substantial and appear to be good quality. No, the windows are not inexpensive, but I do hope this is a case of getting what you pay for. So far, so good - I am happy with my decision. more »
Business Response:
Thank you so much for trusting your home to Thompson Creek. We ensure all of our customers know exactly what is going on throughout their entire home improvement project from start to finish. We're so glad you enjoyed your experience with us!
5on Google, Mar 15, 2014
Great experience.
All the sales associates or installers that I spoke with were extremely professional, and polite. The work was done very quickly and the installers completely cleaned up after
they were finished. more »
5on Google, Mar 15, 2014
Thompson Creek replaced my old rain gutters with their non-clog gutter system. The salesman who came to my house was well-informed, and brought actual samples of the gutter system so I could see what it looked like. Their price was reasonable compared to other systems I investigated. Installation was on-time, quick (6 hours), and professional - in fact, the installers worked during a rain storm so I got a test of the system while it was being installed (it worked)! The new gutter system looks great. I would recommend Thompson Creek to anyone looking into new rain gutters. more »
5on Google, Mar 15, 2014
Just had new gutters installed by Thompson Creek. The sales rep was personable, not aggressive, and gave an excellent presentation of the product. The appointments for the measurements and installation were met as scheduled, and the new gutters look great! more »
4on Google, Mar 15, 2014
I had my front door replaced on 7/29.
Positive:
- They were accommodating for any schedule changes.
- The final product is great. The door looks much better and is more energy effici
ent.
Negative:
- After the install, we had to make our own copy of the completion confirmation.
- Throughout the process (initial contract and door measurement meetings) we were never told that we would need our storm door replaced.
more »
4on Google, Mar 15, 2014
I used Thompson Creek to replace my gutters with their double-lifetime guarantee gutters.
The sales representative who came out for me free quotation was friendly, courteous, knowledgeable and f
lexible within my price range.
The pre-install measurement team was fast and efficient with minimal need for my involvement.
The install team was friendly and professional. They installed my gutters worry-free and ensured they cleaned up the entire area after they left. They even offered recommendations for other renovations based upon what they say on the roof.
Overall, it was a pleasant and painless experience, I would recommend their gutter system to anyone.
more »
5on Google, Mar 15, 2014
The service from Thompson Creek Window is very professional. From the initial interview and pricing meeting through to installation, everyone I dealt with was respectful, courteous and fair. I didn�39;t feel pressured into a sale and there was no upselling. They even installed them in the snow! I feel that I truly received a great deal on a new set of bedroom windows. They are easy to open and close, look nice and block out the heat of the baking sun much better than my old wooden windows. I would highly recommend seeing what Thompson Creek can do for your home! more »
Business Response:
We're so glad to hear you're happy with your new bedroom windows! We really appreciate the recommendation! Thank you for the great review.
4on Google, Mar 15, 2014
We recently replaced our sliding glass door and Thompson Creek did a very good job. Everyone followed up to make sure everything was to my satisfaction and the door itself is very nice and easy to use. more »
5on Google, Mar 15, 2014
I recently had my gutter system replaced with the Thompson Creek system. So far it has been through several heavy rains and a couple of snow storms and it has been great; no more overflow/dripping can be heard. Everyone was very friendly and answered all of my questions over email within a day. The installation crew was nice and respectful of the property and completed the job very quickly in one day. more »
Page 6 of 10
Are you a business owner?
or
See BirdEye in action.
  • Scan Business
    See how you appear everywhere online -- across top sites and against competitors
  • Free Trial
    Take control of your business. Give it a try for free!

Contact

Edit
5000 Philadelphia Way, Lanham, MD 20706
Windows Installation
Today 8:00 am - 6:00 pm

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

About

Edit
Specialties
For the past 35 years, Thompson Creek Window Company has been customizing and manufacturing replacement windows. In 1980, we opened our 1st factory on West Street in Annapolis. As a result of the West Street Revitalization Project, we moved from Annapolis to a new facility in Stevensonville, MD. In 2001, Rick Wuest took over as President and eliminated the middle man by selling directly to the customer. In 2007, our business had grown so much; we packed up and moved to our current 75K square foot facility in Landover, Maryland. By 2011 we were forced to move our Customer Fulfillment team to an office building in Lanham to make way for more manufacturing and warehouse space. In 2014, we purchased the old Murrays Steakhouse building in Prince Georges County where we will build a large manufacturing/warehouse to keep up with our continued growth and expansion plans and to keep us in our local community.The new facility is just seconds from I-95 and will provide us the space we need to grow and provide new jobs in Prince George's County. The move will be seamless, allowing us to continue deliveries to our customers throughout the region and continue our mission of creating the best customer experience in our industry. Prince George's County road infrastructure allows our company to be visible for travelers on Interstate 495 and also to service a large Metropolitan area by providing us with multiple ways to get to our customers.
History
Established in 1980.
Founded in 1980 by Ernest F. Wuest Jr., Thompson Creek Window Company has evolved from a modest local manufacturer into a leading force in the window industry. In 1997, the company moved from its original location in downtown Annapolis, to a beautiful 20,000 square-foot facility in Stevensville, MD. In 1999, Thompson Creek merged with National Home Industries, a highly respected home improvement business, bringing more than 50 years of valued knowledge and experience to the company. In 2003, our growth continued as we opened our new corporate headquarters and showroom in Lanham, MD. This facility houses offices, a distribution and service center and provides our customers with a location to view the products that we manufacture, sell and install. 2007 brought about the biggest growth in the history of Thompson Creek as we relocated factory to our new 80,000 square foot manufacturing facility in Landover, MD.
Meet the Business Owner
Rick W.
Business Owner
When Rick was 13 years old, his parents moved their family to MDto start a window manufacturing business. They invested everything they had in the Company, and actually lived above the window factory in the early days. Rick started his career path with a broom in his hand and learned the business from the ground up. In 2002, Rick became majority owner and president of Thompson Creek Window Company. Since that time, the Company has enjoyed double-digit growth annually. With a disciplined business focus (manufacturing and installing replacement windows into owner-occupied homes), a commitment to total customer satisfaction, and the understanding that happy, motivated and well-trained employees are the key to success, Rick has led the Company that continues to thrive in challenging economic times. Rick leveraged his manufacturing and home improvement experience to create a company which focuses on the interior of the home. Rick lives in Annapolis with his wife Vicki and their four cats.
more »

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Review summary

5  150
4  17
3  8
2  7
1  51
7 reviews with no rating
3.9
240 reviews
BirdEye Logo
Things you should know
about BirdEye
BirdEye was founded in 2012 to help businesses manage online reputation and customer experience

BirdEye works with 15,000+ clients, from SMBs to large enterprises

With BirdEye, you can monitor real-time customer feedback from 250+ sites and social channels

Generate new authentic reviews with real-time automated feedback requests from BirdEye

BirdEye gives you access to insights from your competitors’ customer feedback

The BirdEye mobile app allows on-the-go customer experience management

Use BirdEye’s free Scan Your Business tool for a snapshot of your online presence