BirdEye Logo
Are you a business?
Cancel
Edit

Thompson Creek Window Company

3.9
240 reviews
(Windows Installation)
 5000 Philadelphia Way, Lanham, MD 20706US

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Write a review

(866) 572-7335

Write a review

1on Google, Mar 15, 2015
We called Thompson Creek windows company to replace our windows. They used high sells tactics and told us it would cost $10 grand more if the sales guy walked away. Plus, told us that if we had any real issues with the installation than the windows were free. Having this be the 1st time we ever dealt with a window company we went ahead and did it. The installation was going okay in early January until i noticed two of the windows were not level. We didn't have this issue with the old windows. The two men installing our windows proceeded to tell us that it was from our house settling. The only showed us one window upon completion. The next day I was dusting and noticed that my trim under one of my windows was close to falling off. We notified the company and they sent someone out to check it out. At this point we noticed all of our trim was damaged expect for one window. The project manager came out and said they would send out the same crew to fix it. We told them no that they had there chance and they did it completely wrong. They told us it would take 3 weeks to get someone else out there. Than we got the bill for the windows before they were even fixed. We called accounting and they took the bill back and said to notify them as soon as the job was done. When the guy came out to fix it, he slapped wood mud of the trim and tried to smooth it out. Needless to say it didn't work. We called to explain to them that we were feeling air around the windows and the trim was not fixed. They told us we had to speak to someone else because he had gotten a promotion and it was no longer his job. He gave us his name and transferred us. It took us over 4 months to get this new guy on the phone. Which he quickly put us on hold and transferred us to accounting to take care of the bill. It took another week to get him on the phone. He continue to play games. Around July I finally got in touch with his manager Amanda B. She was apologetic and had a meeting with the VP the next morning. The only option they gave us was either take $1,000 of the bill or extend the money back guaranteed for 30 days. Which in tailed we had 30 days to find another contractor. We found the Whiting company which put a roof, 10 windows, 2 sliding glass doors, and gutters for the same price as Thompson Creek 10 windows and 1 door. We let Thompson Creek know that we were going with another company. They told do to the situation they wanted there guys to come take out there windows the same day as the new install. The day of the Install of the new windows was not interesting to say the least. I told them not to show up until 8:30am as i would not be home because i was dropping up my son as school. They showed up at some point while i was dropping my son off. Mr. Whiting guys were there before i left so they handle the original show up. When i pulled in the project manager immediately starting walking toward me before i could even get out of my vehicle and get my youngest child out the vehicle. Once he saw my child he did back up though. Than he proceeded to question me about why we were replacing there windows. I explain the situation to him, all he did was shook his head. As the windows starting coming off, the one that was not even is because they installed one of the windows wrong because they didn't remove the support from the old window. Also, all the windows were too small and had not been insulated on the sides or the top; which is why air was coming in. When the guys were done pulling out all of there windows they left. Then around 2pm a guy from Thompson Creek called my husband demanding my phone number to see if his guys were still there. My husband he was not welcome to my phone number. The guy than got irritated and ask if the job was at least done. My husband told him, he didn't know and it wasn't mine or his job to keep track of his guys. We never heard from them again. Never got a formal apology. If anyone is considering using them RUN!!!!!! more »
5on Google, Mar 15, 2015
We had Thompson Creek install a new sliding glass door for us at the beginning of May. We were not thrilled with our project coordinator over the phone, but each person that we dealt with in person was great. Our installation took much longer than expected, but the guys stayed until the job was done right. Thompson Creek is not cheap, that is for sure, but their products are good quality and their warranty is exceptional. We are very happy with our new sliding glass door and will definitely go back to them when we replace the rest of our windows. more »
5on Google, Mar 15, 2015
Applause Applause!!! When our new windows were installed, it was noticed that a few panes were scratched and screens were "loose." An inspector came to our home and noted the marks, and immediately set up a replacement order. The 2 gentlemen who reinstalled our windows were absolutely fantastic. However, the screens were not done correctly, thus they were sent back to be replaced, but still not correct. The third time, our installer went above and beyond his job description. He volunteered and happily so, fixed the screens on site and they were perfect!!! Now that's service with a smile! It was wonderful to see someone who takes pride in his work and the company he works for, and wanted the customer to be absolutely happy! more »
5on Google, Mar 15, 2015
Such an amazing company. We LOVE our windows so much! Would use them again, and highly recommend. more »
5on Google, Mar 15, 2015
Barbara was very professional during our interactions. She was understanding and
communicated effectively and concisely. A real pleasure to deal with. Keep her around.
more »
5on Google, Mar 15, 2015
I have had two experiences with Thompson Creek Windows outside of the initial installation. Was to repair some minor cracking that developed in the caulk on a couple of the windows installed. The other was to repair a hole that developed in one of the window screens when a bird flew into the window. In both cases the response was quick, the service friendly and the work done professionally and competently. TCW has been a good company to work with and stands behind their installations. more »
5on Google, Mar 15, 2015
From beginning to end my experience with Thompson Creek was fantastic. I just purchased a new home and was in desperate need for a quality product before winter rolled in. They were extremely helpful in every aspect of the transaction and the installation was painless. The windows look great and are confident that if I were to ever need services from Thompson Creek again, I could call them without thinking twice. more »
4on Google, Mar 15, 2015
The Thompson Creek process was all smooth sailing. From the original visit to the installation date there wasn't a bump in the road. The installation team was very courteous and took the time to check and re-check everything to make sure it was perfectly in place. They communicated very well and handled every instance professionally, a manager even took the time to stop by and make sure everything was going as planned.
The only reason this did not get 5 stars is because the installation date was pushed back from the original date by a couple weeks. I was slightly disappointed with the time it took from the original agreement to the installation date.
Everything else was exactly as anyone would expect from Thompson Creek.
more »
5on Google, Mar 15, 2015
Dave C came to our house to do a repair that was caused by a large truck coming through the neighborhood and tearing the siding where the cable wires entered the siding. He was on time. Dave was very knowledgeable, courteous and professional. He explained to my wife what he was there to do. After he was finished he showed her the repair and cleaned up everything. There was nothing to show that they had been here, except for a very satisfied homeowner. Thanks Dave.
Jim Shaw
more »
5on Google, Mar 15, 2015
The whole experience with Thompson Creek was very pleasant. We weren't really thinking about replacing our front door, but when a nice young man knocked on our door, we decided to hear what they had to offer. The salesman was showed up right on time, he was very knowledgeable and was able to show us the different options we had. The whole process went very smoothly and without a hitch. We love our new door and will be calling Thompson Creek back out to replace our sliding glass door soon! more »
5on Google, Mar 15, 2015
Our experience with Thompson Creek Windows was great from start to finish. We asked for an estimate online on a Saturday, we immediately received a call and there was a salesman at our house that afternoon. He was great and applied no pressure on us and we were sold by his demonstration of the windows.
About a week later we had a final measurement, he was courteous and professional and was in and out fairly quickly. We were then contacted by our case manager who scheduled the install.
On the install day the project lead and his installers showed up promptly at 9 and they worked non stop until the job was finished around 6 PM. They were extremely courteous and did an outstanding job replacing our old windows and cleaned up after themselves very well.
It's been about two weeks and the new windows and door are great. Our old windows didn't work well and it's been wonderful to be able to open up windows and enjoy the nice spring weather we're finally getting.
more »
5on Google, Mar 15, 2015
Our experience from the very beginning was exceptional. The salesman listened to exactly what we wanted and didnt try pushing more products on us like most sales people do. The office staff that set our appointments were very helpful in working with our busy schedule to make the install convenient for us. The install crew, wow, I cant say enough about them. They were great. Our project was an all day affair and they were here on time and worked diligently all day long. They kept the inside and outside of our home clean at all times in the areas they were working and put containment up to minimize the dust coming in our home. When they were done they left all areas clean from debris. Great crew more »
5on Google, Mar 15, 2015
We had Thompson Creek replace acustom french door. The new door is beautiful and work well. Itis much more efficient in keeping out the cold. The crew that installed it was excellent. The repaired damaged wood around the opening before installing the new door and made sure that no leakage could occur around the new door. We could not be happier with the service and professional installation that we received. more »
5on Google, Mar 15, 2015
Our new gutters are fantastic. Thankfully we got them done before the leaves started to fall. Now my husband and I don't have to go up and clean our gutters anymore! Our neighbors are already jealous and also thinking about getting new Thompson Creek gutters. more »
5on Google, Mar 15, 2015
Everyone at Thompson Creek from sales person to office coordinator Sarah, to installers were very helfpful and professional. The job was completed quickly and efficiently in a professional manner. more »
5on Google, Mar 15, 2015
We recently got a new slider and new windows and I couldn't be happier. They are high quality windows/door and we got such a good price during the annual sale. I only wish I had gotten it done sooner. I would highly recommend Thompson Creek. more »
5on Google, Mar 15, 2015
Bought siding and gutters to improve the look and energy efficiency of the home. Thompson Creek was professional from start to finish and the siding and gutters look like they were put on yesterday. The outside of the house is virtually maintenance free and getting the insulated product was well worth it! The product is top notch and all made in the USA. You can feel confident that Thompson Creek Window Company delivers quality on both its products and service. I will call them again when I need windows or doors. more »
5on Google, Mar 15, 2015
I bought a new front entry door from Thompson Creek a year ago. After a couple of storms with high winds (including the 50-60 mph winds today) , I continue to be absolutely satisfied with my new door. I am amazed at the difference the door has made in reducing drafts in my home. The Thompson Creek staff made the sales and installation process go smoothly. My only regret is that I did not purchase my windows from Thompson Creek. I would recommend Thompson Creek to my family, friends and neighbors without hesitation. more »
5on Google, Mar 15, 2015
From the salesman to the installers everyone has been very nice and never pushy. Only problem was having to wait so long for the windows, I know they are custom made but ours were so bad and we were anxious to have them replaced. The install was set for 8am, crew showed up before that but stayed outside and set up and did not approach our house until 8. They made sure to have drop cloths over the floors so they wouldn't mess anything up and vacuumed up after each window. They were fast and efficient, making sure to pop the new window into place before taking out the next one, then at the end going through and sealing them all up. I was worried about the house being open most of the day but they were very good about it. All in all, a very good experience. more »
5on Google, Mar 15, 2015
We've lived in our home for just about 20 years now. Our house was built with builder grade windows that we knew would need to be replaced within 10 years. We took a little longer the we should have to start looking into replacing the windows. However, when we did start looking we knew we had to set an appointment with Thompson Creek. After hearing and seeing the benefits of the window Thompson Creek offered, we found that for our budget and quality expectations they were right in line for what we wanted.
Our install date is set for a week and a half from today and we couldn't be more excited! One of the front windows in the home currently has a broke glass panel caused by one of the neighbors kids. I'm definitely thrilled about the double lifetime warranty and service guarantee - if the neighbors accidentally break another glass panel with a baseball, we are able to get it fixed no questions asked! Very reassuring and shows this company backs up their product.
So far the project has been seamless and we're looking forward to a smooth installation!
more »
5on Google, Mar 15, 2015
Just had all my windows replaced. The workers came on time, were very professional and took the time to answer my questions.
I had a number of neighbors looking at my house after they finished w
ork. It's nice to have neighbors noticing my house for the right reasons! more »
5on Google, Mar 15, 2015
The technician, DJ Boysen, came out to my home to fix a broken balance on one of our windows. While checking out the window he noticed another problem with the same window that might cause water leaking damage in the future. He could have just fixed the balance and we'd never have known the difference. However, he made sure we knew about the additional problem and set up an appointment for someone to come out and fix it for us. He was professional, courteous, and nice to my dog, which is always a plus! more »
5on Facebook, Mar 01, 2015
We had a front entry door installed and cladding on the front of the home to replace all the rotten trim. Excellent work, customer service and follow up. more »
Business Response:
Wow!! Looks great. Talk about curb appeal! Thanks for your trust in Thompson Creek!
5on Facebook, Dec 18, 2014
more »
5on Facebook, Dec 17, 2014
Me encanta more »
Page 5 of 10
Are you a business owner?
or
See BirdEye in action.
  • Scan Business
    See how you appear everywhere online -- across top sites and against competitors
  • Free Trial
    Take control of your business. Give it a try for free!

Contact

Edit
5000 Philadelphia Way, Lanham, MD 20706
Windows Installation
Today 8:00 am - 6:00 pm

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

About

Edit
Specialties
For the past 35 years, Thompson Creek Window Company has been customizing and manufacturing replacement windows. In 1980, we opened our 1st factory on West Street in Annapolis. As a result of the West Street Revitalization Project, we moved from Annapolis to a new facility in Stevensonville, MD. In 2001, Rick Wuest took over as President and eliminated the middle man by selling directly to the customer. In 2007, our business had grown so much; we packed up and moved to our current 75K square foot facility in Landover, Maryland. By 2011 we were forced to move our Customer Fulfillment team to an office building in Lanham to make way for more manufacturing and warehouse space. In 2014, we purchased the old Murrays Steakhouse building in Prince Georges County where we will build a large manufacturing/warehouse to keep up with our continued growth and expansion plans and to keep us in our local community.The new facility is just seconds from I-95 and will provide us the space we need to grow and provide new jobs in Prince George's County. The move will be seamless, allowing us to continue deliveries to our customers throughout the region and continue our mission of creating the best customer experience in our industry. Prince George's County road infrastructure allows our company to be visible for travelers on Interstate 495 and also to service a large Metropolitan area by providing us with multiple ways to get to our customers.
History
Established in 1980.
Founded in 1980 by Ernest F. Wuest Jr., Thompson Creek Window Company has evolved from a modest local manufacturer into a leading force in the window industry. In 1997, the company moved from its original location in downtown Annapolis, to a beautiful 20,000 square-foot facility in Stevensville, MD. In 1999, Thompson Creek merged with National Home Industries, a highly respected home improvement business, bringing more than 50 years of valued knowledge and experience to the company. In 2003, our growth continued as we opened our new corporate headquarters and showroom in Lanham, MD. This facility houses offices, a distribution and service center and provides our customers with a location to view the products that we manufacture, sell and install. 2007 brought about the biggest growth in the history of Thompson Creek as we relocated factory to our new 80,000 square foot manufacturing facility in Landover, MD.
Meet the Business Owner
Rick W.
Business Owner
When Rick was 13 years old, his parents moved their family to MDto start a window manufacturing business. They invested everything they had in the Company, and actually lived above the window factory in the early days. Rick started his career path with a broom in his hand and learned the business from the ground up. In 2002, Rick became majority owner and president of Thompson Creek Window Company. Since that time, the Company has enjoyed double-digit growth annually. With a disciplined business focus (manufacturing and installing replacement windows into owner-occupied homes), a commitment to total customer satisfaction, and the understanding that happy, motivated and well-trained employees are the key to success, Rick has led the Company that continues to thrive in challenging economic times. Rick leveraged his manufacturing and home improvement experience to create a company which focuses on the interior of the home. Rick lives in Annapolis with his wife Vicki and their four cats.
more »

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Review summary

5  150
4  17
3  8
2  7
1  51
7 reviews with no rating
3.9
240 reviews
BirdEye Logo
Things you should know
about BirdEye
BirdEye was founded in 2012 to help businesses manage online reputation and customer experience

BirdEye works with 15,000+ clients, from SMBs to large enterprises

With BirdEye, you can monitor real-time customer feedback from 250+ sites and social channels

Generate new authentic reviews with real-time automated feedback requests from BirdEye

BirdEye gives you access to insights from your competitors’ customer feedback

The BirdEye mobile app allows on-the-go customer experience management

Use BirdEye’s free Scan Your Business tool for a snapshot of your online presence