BirdEye Logo
Are you a business?
Cancel
Edit

Thompson Creek Window Company

3.9
240 reviews
(Windows Installation)
 5000 Philadelphia Way, Lanham, MD 20706US

Write a review

Rating Error
Review Error
(866) 572-7335

Write a review

1on Facebook, Jun 02, 2014
After some door to door salesmen came to our home and talked with my husband, he scheduled an appointment for a free quote. What a waste of time! The guy starts out saying how he needs to get a feel for our budget because the company isn't into high pressure tactics. That the company is only interested in bringing the customer the right product to fit their lifestyle. Man did his demeanor change quickly! A few minutes later when we start talking numbers (including my research...
See More of other companies/average pricing), he basically says "well, we can't help you with your windows then." After taking the measurements and giving us the quote, I had to take my cat to the vet and he kept insisting I skip the vet appointment and stay at home instead, because he wont be able to offer us certain deals if we don't take advantage of them that day. Sorry but my prescheduled appointment is more important! So my husband calls me while at the vet with the quote...$5400 for 2 small windows and 2 basic storm doors! The salesman kept pressuring my husband to make a decision and was less than pleasant when my husband kept telling him that him and I needed to sit down to discuss it further. My husband asked if he could call him with questions and his response was "well, I'm not sure if I'll be around..." Horrible salesman with a terrible attitude and tactics. Based on our experience with him and also the outrageous pricing, we will never choose your company or recommend you to others.
more »
5on Facebook, May 22, 2014
David Chambers is one of the best service techs I have ever encountered. His attitude is approaching the storm door issue was outstanding. He went the "extra mile" to resolve fully the problem at hand! His professionalism was successfully demonstrated by his complete resolution of the open issue plus several other door issues he spotted and fixed while he was at our residence. more »
1on Facebook, Apr 16, 2014
I was to have had six windows installed today. Unfortunately, all but one window was too small. The Quality Assurance (ha!) representative arrived and tried to tell me that 3/4" gap at the top and bottom of the window was okay because they could foam it. When I explained that it was unacceptable, they installed the second window - and guess what - it too, was too small. No one would accept responsibility for the poor measurement and kept trying to convince me that it was ...
See More okay to have large gaps. Bottom line, six hours later nothing was finished. The second QA had to come out and remeasure and now I have to take time off of work again in hopes that they can install properly fitting windows. My advice is to never use this company. Too expensive for such crummy customer service and poor workmanship. A one thousand dollar window should fit.
more »
Business Response:
Stephanie, We apologize for any inconvenience we have caused you during the installation. You have spoken to one of the owners of Thompson Creek to ensure that we are going to correct any of the mistakes we made. Please accept our apology. - Thompson Creek Window Company
5on Facebook, Apr 02, 2014
Looking forward to our new front door! Thanks, Brian and Daniel for getting us all set! more »
5on Facebook, Mar 13, 2014
more »
5on Facebook, Mar 04, 2014
Liam O. arrived today to address a window that we were unable to lock. We have had problems before and requested that a technician assist us. He availed on time and was very proficient. I wonder rate him as a 10 with 10 being outstanding. I would also rate him as a 10 with regard to positive interaction with his clients. Thanks for sending him. I will keep his card for the future. more »
5on Facebook, Feb 28, 2014
We just got are new bay window finished off, I am so HAPPY with the finish of the window. You see we had the window put in 12-26-13 and under the window you could see all the unfinish part of the window, We were not happy with the look of it. So they called us and said they would come out and fix it for us... Liam O was very kind and so helpful. I have never had people fix something and been so NICE about it... I LOVE the AWESOME work they did.... Thank you again Liam and Scott for all that you did for Mike & I to make sure we were happy with the job before you left are home..You guys Rock...lol..☺ more »
Business Response:
Thank you so much Karen! Our goal is to make you extremely proud of your home and sounds like we succeeded :)
5on Facebook, Feb 26, 2014
Had my front door and a ridiculous number of linear feet of gutters replaced by Thompson Creek. I love this company. As with all projects, errors or issues arose and they fixed each and every one to our satisfaction. We have high standards and would recommend them without hesitation -- especially David Chambers! more »
5on Facebook, Feb 21, 2014
Todd and Patrick Romm came and installed our new doors today and absolutely nailed it with focus, professionalism, and a real knack for dealing with adversity. In the rain, with door frames that were not even remotely parallel, these guys worked their butts off and absolutely killed it. Fantastic job guys. Thanks again! more »
5on Facebook, Feb 14, 2014
more »
5on Facebook, Feb 13, 2014
more »
1on Facebook, Feb 08, 2014
Neighbors just got new windows from Thompson Creek. The contractor blocked our parking spot with their truck and them set up their power saw and equipment outside the window of our two young children. So, we could not park and could not get our kids down for their nap. I may vomit the next time I hear one of their annoying radio ads. I would use wax paper like the pioneers did before using Thompson Creek windows. more »
5on Facebook, Feb 05, 2014
5 stars for Tim Dailey! He came out to adjust the back slider and after successfully doing that he adjusted the front door as well. He was very professional and thorough. I always get compliments on our window and doors and I will always be a huge fan of Thompson Creek! more »
1on Facebook, Jan 29, 2014
Broke contract dates more »
5on Facebook, Jan 29, 2014
Recently had windows and two doors replaced. Found a problem with the sliding door and Liam came out and explained what was wrong, and how to handle it until a new panel could be installed. He was very pleasant and helpful after what I know was a long day. Thanks again, Liam. more »
Business Response:
Thanks for kind words Ron!
1on Yellow Pages, Jan 15, 2014
The company itself is a good company with a great story. The President, Mr. Rick Wuist, is a very pleasant person whom I've had the good fortune to meet and talk to. But that's the only positive thing that I can say about this company as my opinion is overshadowed by the Company's work ethics. As an Ex-Employee of Thompson Creek, I can tell you that the Managers here are manipulative, embrace discriminatory practices, retaliatory, prideful and hypocrites. This company has great products which I would endorse -- however, as I would never by clothes from a dealer who employs child labor to lower production cost, I would not do business with a company who would scheme to take advantage of their employees with intent to inflict malice. Resist the urge.. buy from a company that respects its staff. Signed: No Longer a BelieverIf you are really curious.. email me and I will SHOW YOU why your money is better spent somewhere else. JosephCook703@gmail.com more »
5on Facebook, Jan 02, 2014
more »
1on Facebook, Nov 20, 2013
more »
1on Facebook, Nov 18, 2013
more »
5on Facebook, Nov 11, 2013
more »
5on Facebook, Oct 14, 2013
more »
1on Yellow Pages, Sep 02, 2013
I had Thompson Creek come over to my house and they showed me their windows. I was very impressed with the quality of the windows, as well as everything they said the windows would do. I told the salesman that im looking for windows at will help keep the cold air out, and one that will help cut down on the outdoor noises. They assured me that their windows keep the cold air out because they are double paned with a type of gas in between the panes of glass. For two standard bedroom windows they quoted me $4200.00. Which i talked them down to $1600.00. The installation went well, the workers did a great job! I first night i noticed that the windows did not cut down on any of the outside noises. (birds chirping) A few months later winter rolled around and i had to cover the windows in plastic because they were not keeping the cold out. I used a temperature gun on the window and the glass read 53degrees on the inside... So i would recommenced thinking twice before calling them out. more »
5on Facebook, Aug 23, 2013
more »
1on Facebook, Aug 23, 2013
more »
5on Facebook, Aug 19, 2013
more »
Page 3 of 4
Are you a business owner?
or
See BirdEye in action.
  • Scan Business
    See how you appear everywhere online -- across top sites and against competitors
  • Free Trial
    Take control of your business. Give it a try for free!

Contact

Edit
5000 Philadelphia Way, Lanham, MD 20706
Windows Installation
Today 8:00 am - 9:00 pm

About

Edit
Specialties
For the past 35 years, Thompson Creek Window Company has been customizing and manufacturing replacement windows. In 1980, we opened our 1st factory on West Street in Annapolis. As a result of the West Street Revitalization Project, we moved from Annapolis to a new facility in Stevensonville, MD. In 2001, Rick Wuest took over as President and eliminated the middle man by selling directly to the customer. In 2007, our business had grown so much; we packed up and moved to our current 75K square foot facility in Landover, Maryland. By 2011 we were forced to move our Customer Fulfillment team to an office building in Lanham to make way for more manufacturing and warehouse space. In 2014, we purchased the old Murrays Steakhouse building in Prince Georges County where we will build a large manufacturing/warehouse to keep up with our continued growth and expansion plans and to keep us in our local community.The new facility is just seconds from I-95 and will provide us the space we need to grow and provide new jobs in Prince George's County. The move will be seamless, allowing us to continue deliveries to our customers throughout the region and continue our mission of creating the best customer experience in our industry. Prince George's County road infrastructure allows our company to be visible for travelers on Interstate 495 and also to service a large Metropolitan area by providing us with multiple ways to get to our customers.
History
Established in 1980.
Founded in 1980 by Ernest F. Wuest Jr., Thompson Creek Window Company has evolved from a modest local manufacturer into a leading force in the window industry. In 1997, the company moved from its original location in downtown Annapolis, to a beautiful 20,000 square-foot facility in Stevensville, MD. In 1999, Thompson Creek merged with National Home Industries, a highly respected home improvement business, bringing more than 50 years of valued knowledge and experience to the company. In 2003, our growth continued as we opened our new corporate headquarters and showroom in Lanham, MD. This facility houses offices, a distribution and service center and provides our customers with a location to view the products that we manufacture, sell and install. 2007 brought about the biggest growth in the history of Thompson Creek as we relocated factory to our new 80,000 square foot manufacturing facility in Landover, MD.
Meet the Business Owner
Rick W.
Business Owner
When Rick was 13 years old, his parents moved their family to MDto start a window manufacturing business. They invested everything they had in the Company, and actually lived above the window factory in the early days. Rick started his career path with a broom in his hand and learned the business from the ground up. In 2002, Rick became majority owner and president of Thompson Creek Window Company. Since that time, the Company has enjoyed double-digit growth annually. With a disciplined business focus (manufacturing and installing replacement windows into owner-occupied homes), a commitment to total customer satisfaction, and the understanding that happy, motivated and well-trained employees are the key to success, Rick has led the Company that continues to thrive in challenging economic times. Rick leveraged his manufacturing and home improvement experience to create a company which focuses on the interior of the home. Rick lives in Annapolis with his wife Vicki and their four cats.
more »

Review summary

5  150
4  17
3  8
2  7
1  51
7 reviews with no rating
3.9
240 reviews
BirdEye Logo
Things you should know
about BirdEye
BirdEye was founded in 2012 to help businesses manage online reputation and customer experience

BirdEye works with 15,000+ clients, from SMBs to large enterprises

With BirdEye, you can monitor real-time customer feedback from 250+ sites and social channels

Generate new authentic reviews with real-time automated feedback requests from BirdEye

BirdEye gives you access to insights from your competitors’ customer feedback

The BirdEye mobile app allows on-the-go customer experience management

Use BirdEye’s free Scan Your Business tool for a snapshot of your online presence