Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

The Wharf Inn

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
3.6
1808 reviews
|Hospitality|San Francisco, CA 94133 United States

2601 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94133 United States

(415) 673-7411

https://wharfinn.com/

Open now:9:00 am - 6:00 pm

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Hospitality in your area
5.0
(2) · Event Planning & Services

1514 Park Ave

(510) 450-1111
5.0
(19) · Hospitality

2180 Jefferson St Suite 102

(707) 304-5921
5.0
(16) · Hospitality

1177 Indiana St

(415) 641-8599
5.0
(8) · Wedding Planning

2580 Whitman St

(707) 363-3566
5.0
(1) · Hospitality

732 Fairfield Rd

(650) 302-6310
5.0
(3) · Event Planning & Services

2230 Livingston St

(510) 500-1129
About

This inn is so close to Fisherman's Wharf, you can see the fish! (Not from inside, of course.) Stay here and enjoy some of The City's most popular attractions including Pier 39, The Cannery, Ghirardelli Square, the sea lions, superb seafood restaurants, and the Alcatraz ferry stop. The hotel caters to tourists, with a tour desk that will not only book you on tours to local attractions but also to the Wine Country, Yosemite, Carmel, and even San Francisco nightclubs. The friendly staff at this hotel really goes the extra mile so that you will enjoy your vacation.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

3.6
1,808 reviews
5434
  
4635
  
3405
  
2163
  
1164
  
7 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Recommended
Beachy50 review for The Wharf Inn
Beachy50 on Trip Advisor

16 years ago

06/06/2006, 02:26 AM
Wharf Inn, only steps away from everything! June 2006 my husband and I stayed at the Wharf Inn, San Francisco. Compared to prices at other motels, the Wharf Inn was very reasonable. It is not fancy, nor does it have air conditioning, but we found it to be very comfortable using the ceiling fan. Features a bed, small couch, chairs and table, coffee table, desk with chair. Bathroom has shower only, very roomy shower! We were very happy with the room. Secure parking within the compound is a major plus. Walk to the end of the block and you are at the Wharf's edge, Pier 39 is very close, everything is only footsteps away from the Wharf Inn. They are extremely helpful as well. No coffee maker, but coffee in office, and 24 hr 7-11 across street, coffee houses and McDonald's around the corner. Unlike some of the larger motels with expensive prices, we could walk out our door and stand outside. Our room was located on the inside of the compound, on the third floor and we had a beautiful view of the City with its tall buildings. We felt very secure and had to use our room key to enter the elevator going up to our room. Covered walkways lead to the rooms. Icing on the cake was the free wifi access! We did not see any other Motel which had such a close location to the wharf and all the activities. We loved our stay and will go back to the Wharf Inn!
rachcass review for The Wharf Inn
rachcass on Trip Advisor

16 years ago

05/19/2006, 02:41 AM
Pleasantly surprised I found this hotel from an internet search. I was looking for a moderately priced hotel that was close to Fisherman's Wharf. Admittedly, I was a bit nervous because the hotel did look somewhat outdated. The other reviews I read were mixed as well. I was pleasantly surprised and happy when this hotel turned out to be just what I was looking for. We really loved the free parking, and the hotel was able to accommodate our 10:30 a.m. check-in without me giving them prior notice. It appears that they have recently added ceiling fans to compensate for no air conditioning in the rooms. I found the room temperature to be quite comfortable. Although there is no coffee service in the rooms, they do offer coffee in the hotel lobby. All in all, we would definitely stay here again. If you're looking for a basic room and are traveling on a budget, give it a try.
sushiboy202 review for The Wharf Inn
sushiboy202 on Citysearch

16 years ago

04/30/2006, 05:37 AM
User review by sushiboy202 – If you come to the city and want to be near the wharf, then this is the place to stay. Just a quick walk to the wharf. Alomost accros the street. The penthouse is fantastic. Two bedrooms, full bath,Kitchen,diining and the best part is the balconys. There are two. one small one and one good size one. One has veiws of the city, and the other has veiws of pier 39.
Featured content
Reviews not showing up on Google? Here's what you can do.

Reviews not showing up on Google? Here's what you can do.

Reviews not showing up on Google? Here's what you can do.
Birdeye Adds Zillow and Trulia Reviews to its Network

Birdeye Adds Zillow and Trulia Reviews to its Network

Birdeye Adds Zillow and Trulia Reviews to its Network
Compass1907 review for The Wharf Inn
Compass1907 on Trip Advisor

16 years ago

12/31/2005, 01:38 AM
Great price and great location! Our five-member family spent two days at the Wharf Inn just prior to Christmas, 2005. We asked for, and received, two adjoining rooms, one with a king bed and the other with two queens. The staff was very helpful with the original bookings - I asked a lot of questions through several E-mails, and always received a prompt and courteous response - and they were friendly and welcoming when we arrived. The rooms were spacious and clean, and the parking was free in a secured lot beside the building. I had read one review that complained about the noise from the street. Given the fact that the hotel is within two short blocks of the waterfront, in a busy tourist area, I didn't feel that it was excessive. It was rather exciting to wake up and hear the sounds of a large city, and rather added to the anticipation we felt about the whole experience of being there! The convenient location was just a short walk from such waterfront sites as Pier 39, the ferry terminal, and Ghirardelli square, and we were also easily able to take buses to many other parts of the city. Although there was no on-site restaurant, there was a large family-friendly IHOP within a block of the hotel. So if you aren't concerned about a lot of frills and just want a clean and safe hotel room in a great location, this might be the spot you are looking for.
laura l review for The Wharf Inn
laura l on Trip Advisor

17 years ago

10/14/2005, 02:47 AM
watch for bait & switch......not recommended! We first stayed here in March 2002 and it was excellent - great location, free parking, friendly staff, great rooms(large, clean, bright). That is the last of the good news!! We returned April 2005 and were terribly disappointed and will NOT stay here again! We booked 2 "Deluxe Queen" rooms which were supposed to have 2 queen beds in an extra large room; as opposed to the regular sized room with 2 queens. We were hoping to get the same type rooms we had before. I confirmed the reservation with a credit card because we had an 11pm arrival from the airport. We were given 2 rooms that were on an interior corridor up against the brick wall above and along a parking ramp. I think the worst 2 locations in the inn! The rooms were so tight you could barely walk around the 2 queen beds and the bathroom was a small closet and had no tub to bathe our children. There was no place to open our suitcases, no A/C, and NO ventilation if we did open the door because we were up against a brick wall. The room was musty and smelled. The whole experience was dark, dingy and damp!! Terrible for young children and allergies. In addition, we had requested non-smoking rooms and these rooms definitely smelled like smoke!! When I went to the front desk to request different rooms, they said we were out of luck. They said rooms are assigned based on first come/first served, regardless of the type of room you select in your reservation and regardless if you guarantee it with a credit card or not!! They said no other rooms were available and offered no compensation OR compassion. They said their advertisement of a Deluxe Queen was actually no different than their Standard Queen, just the price. I was told a reservation guaranteed a room, not a specific type of room. So why the different price levels!! So we reserved a larger room for a larger price and were stuck with a much lesser room with no reduction in price -- all because we were at the mercy of the airline schedule and arrived later than other guests. Perhaps the Wharf Inn changed management from 2002, because the staff in 2005 were not nearly as friendly or helpful as they were in our first visit. In spite of the free parking and location, we will pay more to stay at a more professional establishment. They don't provide what they advertise.
Respond to negative reviews
Pappy101 review for The Wharf Inn
Pappy101 on Trip Advisor

17 years ago

10/08/2005, 02:24 AM
The Perfect Location We stayed at the Wharf Inn after several trips to San Francisco because of the location. You just can't beat it for the price and the free parking. You could stay at the Raddison which is right across the street, but expect to pay about $30-40 more then add $28 a day for parking, just not worth it. Now for some details, the rooms are very spacious, compared to the other 3 hotels that we have stayed in, and are clean. Although they do not advertise it, you can get free wireless internet service with no problem at the hotel. The desk staff was very friendly and knowledgable with any info. you may need for sightseeing and locations. The only problem that I could tell anyone about is that there is no air-conditioning in the rooms, while this may not sound like a problem due to the average temps in SFO being in the 50's and 60's, it is. There is only a very small window about 2x2 and it's located at the bottom of windows and behind the curtains. My solution was to buy a small powerfull fan for about $12 and put it in the window so we could get some outside (cool) air. If you want to be right in the heart of everything that SFO has to offer, then you will not find a better bargain. Most all hotels in this area are at least +$230 a night. So my suggestion is to book this on early, get a little window fan and use the money you save to enjoy all the wonderful fruits that SFO has to offer. If you need any more info on SFO or this hotel, I'd be glad to answer, just E-Mail me.
Expedition3905 review for The Wharf Inn
Expedition3905 on Trip Advisor

17 years ago

10/06/2005, 01:06 AM
Great hotel! We stayed here from 11th - 14th Sept and enjoyed our stay. All the staff at the Wharf Inn are extremely helpful and Bill made us feel very welcome when we checked in. There is free parking, plus free coffee and newspapers in reception. The staff also printed directions for us from the internet and booked us on city tours - nothing was too much trouble. The location of the hotel is great, yes it is noisy at night, but that is because of the location! You can't book into a hotel right next to the Wharf and then expect it to be silent at night. We didn't find the noise too much bother, we stayed in a room on the road front and slept well each night. The room was newly furnished and decorated, very large and clean. If I was going back to San Francisco I would definitely book in here again and would recommend it to others. If you think that street noise will bother you just ask for a room at the back - I'm sure that Bill and his staff would be more than willing to accommodate you.
tojoe72 review for The Wharf Inn
tojoe72 on Trip Advisor

17 years ago

09/14/2005, 02:31 AM
Good Value !!!! Hey, its not the Ritz or the 4-Season's, but for $122.00 a night with free parking you just cannot go wrong. Our room was newly renovated and spanking neat and clean. It is just blocks from the Wharf and Giardelli Square. Free coffee and a newspaper are also provided. It is family run and everyone is helpful with directions and recomendations. As for the no A/C well I guess that could be a problem, but so far now I have stayed here twice and with the temps topping out at only 65, the temps were no problem. I myself cannot stand stuffiness but I found it comfortable. As for the noise the key is to get a room in the rear of the motel off the street, this has worked twice and we have had no problem with excessive noise. Again, it is not luxory, but good, clean rooms for a good value
SweetSuadade review for The Wharf Inn
SweetSuadade on Trip Advisor

17 years ago

09/09/2005, 02:26 AM
Ok...as long as you don't need to sleep! We just got back from a stay at the Wharf Inn in Fishermans Wharf. We had requested a Queen/Queen non smoking room as one member of our family has a severe allergy to environmental tobacco smoke and were very pleased to find that they had reserved this for us ahead of time. They were also happy to give us our room at 12.30pm even though officially check-in was not until after 3pm, which meant we could park and do some sight seeing. Check-in staff were helpful and friendly and there was coffee and hot chocolate available in the lobby. Great when coming in from the chilly SF air. First the good stuff. The location of the hotel is excellent (1 block from the Alcatraz ferry terminal and very close to Pier 39 + restaurants) and at $134 per night was good value for this area of San Francisco. They also throw in free parking which usually costs $25-$30 per night at other hotels in the area. The room was comfortable and clean with a huge closet and looked to have been recently remodelled. The bathroom, although quite small, also looked fairly new. We requested extra pillows and these were delivered almost immediately. Now the not-so-good stuff. We knew ahead of time that this hotel didn't have air conditioning but didn't think that it would be a problem in San Francisco in September. We were wrong. Even with temperatures of 65F during the day and mid 50's at night the room felt hot and stuffy. The ceiling fan didn't cool much. During the afternoon we could compensate by leaving our door open when we were in the room but obviously we could not do this at night. We left the very small window open but this didn't improve the air flow or heat situation and it worsened the second problem...noise. This hotel is NOISY. OK it's a location issue and not their fault but the traffic noise did not abate all night and it was LOUD. Then, starting at 5pm, in come all the delivery trucks into the area. Between the heat and all the noise no-one slept much at all...we were a very sorry, cranky lot in the morning. Luckily we were only passing through and were only there for one night. Unless they install air-conditioners I would never stay in this hotel in the summer months. It is a fairly nice property for the area with friendly staff and excellent customer service but it isn't conducive to a restful stay. We might possibly stay here again for a short trip but only if we cannot get one of our usual deals through Priceline (usually we get the Sheraton for $65-85). Hope this helps!
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.