Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

The Nook

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.7
3832 reviews
|Restaurants|Saint Paul, MN 55116

492 Hamline Ave S, Saint Paul, MN 55116

(651) 698-4347

http://m.crnook.com/?url=http%3a%2f%2fwww.crnook.com%2f&utm_referrer=#2806

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(1) · Restaurants

37 W 1st St

(952) 442-3949
5.0
(9) · Food

31620 125th St

(612) 504-2374

3 people are looking at this business

5.0
(3) · Coffee & Tea

7015 Amundson Ave

(952) 217-4591
5.0
(1) · Restaurants

421 Main St S

(651) 653-5928

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(21) · Restaurants

1318 Sibley Memorial Hwy

(651) 686-4840

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(7) · Restaurants

526 Selby Ave

(651) 340-4617

2 people are looking at this business

About

Casper & Runyon's Nook is something of a local institution, the restaurant has a long tradition of serving up delicious burgers to hungry patrons for over seven decades. Bought by the two restaurateurs, the Nook still serves the original burgers for which it became so popular. The restaurant is small, but has a casual, relaxed vibe and is a great place to stop by for a bite and drink with friends. Wash down your burger with a cold beer from their selection. The restaurant stocks both bottled and on-tap varieties. Popular favorites include Mickey's Original Hamburger, Bacon Cheeseburger, Juicy Nook Burger and a side of home-made fries. For more information, visit the website.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.7
3,832 reviews
52,801
  
4604
  
3135
  
243
  
165
  
184 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
lurlene001 review for The Nook
lurlene001 on Citysearch

14 years ago

02/24/2008, 00:58 AM
Awesome!!! – What a joint!!! We have been there a couple times. The place is small and the atmosphere is cozy, so be prepared to wait. The wait is worth it. The staff is fantastic. They all have smiles whether they are waiting on you or just walking by your table. We were there last weekend and got a fabulous tip...... the owners also have a place on Randolph and West 7th in St. Paul called Shamrocks....same menu...bigger place and less wait. We went there today at 1 p.m. We called ahead and they had a table waiting. The burgers and fries are they same!!! We now have 2 favorite joints!!! Give them both a try...each are unique and fantastic.
reba05 review for The Nook
reba05 on Citysearch

14 years ago

02/20/2008, 17:38 PM
Best time to go?? – I have heard so many great compliments about the burgers at this place, but wonder when is the best time to go? I recently moved just blocks away and was very excited to be so close to hopefully get in at a random time. However, even random times have lines!? If someone can respond the day and time they went, I would love to know....or maybe this place should be kept more of a secret so people can actually get in?
OnionRingsRule review for The Nook
OnionRingsRule on Citysearch

14 years ago

02/19/2008, 12:08 PM
Nothing Special – I love burgers and fries and drove 26 miles to try them at The Nook for lunch today. By 10:45 there were about 15 of us standing outside in -19 wind chill temp, but doors were not opened until 11:00. Once inside we were told they were out of onion rings and cheese curds and so ordered the mini corn dogs which we never received. I ordered a regular burger with fried onions and my husband had the juicy nookie, both came in a basket with fries. I had heard the fries were like the ones at the State Fair but they didn't even come close, and while my husband said his burger was pretty good, mine was too pink for me and had a small dab of lukewarm chopped onions. All in all it was a disappointment, the food was nothing special and we both agreed that Matt's has better burgers and fries. We left and went straight to Candyland to get some popcorn and candy to fill that dissatisfied void. The best thing about our lunch today? The servers were friendly and smiling and kept our soda glasses filled, and we were able to park right in front.
Featured content
SEO for small business 2021 - Online reviews are the latest strategy

SEO for small business 2021 - Online reviews are the latest strategy

SEO for small business 2021 - Online reviews are the latest strategy
Patient Feedback: Why Doctors Need to Ask For It

Patient Feedback: Why Doctors Need to Ask For It

Patient Feedback: Why Doctors Need to Ask For It
slylab review for The Nook
slylab on Citysearch

14 years ago

02/13/2008, 11:45 AM
Damn good burger – I love many burgers for different reasons. This one I love because of the bar food quality. Meat - good, cheese - good, buns - good, together excellent! It comes in a basket, that's what I mean by bar food. The fries reminded me of the state fair fries, not my favorite but pretty tasty. You will wait, even more now they are famous because of D,D, and D on the food network. We waited for about a hour and a half on a Tuesday. But I would recommend it!
Packergirl review for The Nook
Packergirl on Citysearch

14 years ago

02/11/2008, 02:14 AM
Great Food and Service – The best burger place in the Twin Cities by far. We all had a different burger and they were all fantastic - as were the perfectly beer-battered onion rings that we ordered as a side. The fries are homemade and totally awesome - they reminded me of the State Fair fries - but crispier. Be ready to wait though - it took us about 45 minutes to get a table and it does take a while for the food to come. But the friendly wait staff will keep your glass full while you wait and the quality of the food is well worth the wait. Sit back and watch TV or take in all of the memorabilia. You will not be disappointed. The prices are very reasonable. We fed three adults and a child for under $45. No time to wait? Call ahead and get your burger to go.
Will S. review for The Nook
Will S. on Insider Pages

14 years ago

02/10/2008, 12:05 PM
Yum This place is great. I saw it on Food Network with Guy Fieri and I decided to go check it out. It was quite busy at 1:30pm on Sunday. We were put on a waiting list but it didn't take too long. The place is crowded but that shouldn't matter cuz the food is great. We all got the Juicy Nookie and it was worth the wait. It was great. The fries are awesome and are the best I ever had. The service is good and the atmosphere is too. By the time we left... around 3 there was no waiting list so I guess you have to know when to go. Overall: I can't wait to go again.
StuartBeee review for The Nook
StuartBeee on Citysearch

14 years ago

02/04/2008, 12:21 PM
Fabulous Burger Joint – This dive of a burger joint is a 5 star in my book because it does everything you expect in a classic burger. It's big, it's cheezy, it's hot, it comes in a basket, it has really good crispy dark golden fries next to it. The place is very small, serving only about 35-40. Comfortable warm friendly atmosphere. We went at 1:30PM last Saturday and were seated at 2:45. Long wait. But, nobody complained, everyone just visited with each other and as each patron left, they told us, "keep waiting, it's worth it!" They were right. Go and enjoy. Stu
lacroyalty review for The Nook
lacroyalty on Citysearch

14 years ago

02/03/2008, 12:26 PM
Best burgers around! Great wait staff...crowded but you dont get forgotten! :D – By far the best place that I have ever gotten a burger from in my life!!!!! It is small, and it is crowded, but the food is so delicous it completely takes your mind away from the crowd. Give it a try you WON'T be disappointed! :D I had the juicy nookie and I think next time I am going to try and eat the two supreme nooks for the free t-shirt! They are just that good! The price is great too. Will surely be back to it soon! :D
brada55306 review for The Nook
brada55306 on Citysearch

14 years ago

01/27/2008, 04:24 AM
Best Burgers and Fries around... great menu selection. – The Nook is a great place to go to get an awesome burger, and fries. Beer is a always flowing, lots of people, and a great bar atmosphere. The menu is also full of different options if you want to stray away from the norm, but who knows how unless you are a vegetarian. People on a diet beware, this is not a place for you. This place rocks, and is highly recommended, the only downfall is that they need a bigger place. Went there at 3:30pm on a Saturday, and there was a line out the door, but we got seated in under 30 minutes.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.