Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

The Great Backyard Place

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
3.9
235 reviews
|Pool & Hot Tub Service|Knoxville, TN 37919

8100 Kingston Pike, Knoxville, TN 37919

(865) 694-4126

https://greatbackyard.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Home Services in your area
5.0
(1) · Home Services

1210 Oak Pl

(865) 304-4907
4.6
(30) · Pool & Hot Tub Service

203 S Northshore Dr

(865) 584-1372
4.6
(12) · Pool & Hot Tub Service

206 Brakebill Rd

(865) 643-1749
4.3
(7) · Home & Garden

12240 Channel Point Dr

(865) 966-8419
4.1
(16) · Home Services

321 teton Way

(865) 243-7915
About

East Tennessee's one-stop shop for luxurious backyard living year round! We are a leading provider of family backyard leisure products including Aboveground Pools, Inground Pools, Spas, Patio Furniture, Pergolas, Fireplaces, Kitchens, Shade products, Pool Supplies, Service, and Maintenance. Located in Chattanooga, Cleveland, Maryville, and Knoxville.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

3.9
235 reviews
5136
  
421
  
311
  
210
  
145
  
12 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Recommended
John B. review for The Great Backyard Place
John B. on BirdEye

9 months ago

08/18/2021, 17:52 PM
I purchased a Four Wind Grand Bahama Spa hot tub for $8,538.93 from this company in April of 2021 and all the head rests which were made out of rubber were literally falling off. See pictures. Lori Meadows and her team told me this was my fault. I just want everyone to know what type of business this is and how rude they are. After spending so much money it is a real shame to not only receive such an inferior product but to also be treated this way. Lori and her team told me it was my fault. They are unprofessional and have no integrity. WARNING DO NOT PURCHASE ANYTHING FROM THIS COMPANY. More to come. John I purchased a Four Wind Grand Bahama Spa hot tub for $8,538.93 from this company in April of 2021 and all the head rests which were made out of rubber were literally falling off. See pictures. Lori Meadows and her team told me this was my fault. I just want everyone to know what type of business this is and how rude they are. After spending so much money it is a real shame to not only receive such an inferior product but to also be treated this way. Lori and her team told me it was my fault. They are unprofessional and have no integrity. WARNING DO NOT PURCHASE ANYTHING FROM THIS COMPANY. More to come. John They threatened me if I posted this on social media. This is appalling and unamerican. These people are unprofessional and rude.
Respond to negative reviews
John B. review for The Great Backyard Place
John B. on BirdEye

9 months ago

08/18/2021, 17:51 PM
I purchased a Four Wind Grand Bahama Spa hot tub for $8,538.93 from this company in April of 2021 and all the head rests which were made out of rubber were literally falling off. See pictures. Lori Meadows and her team told me this was my fault. I just want everyone to know what type of business this is and how rude they are. After spending so much money it is a real shame to not only receive such an inferior product but to also be treated this way. Lori and her team told me it was my fault. They are unprofessional and have no integrity. WARNING DO NOT PURCHASE ANYTHING FROM THIS COMPANY. More to come. John I purchased a Four Wind Grand Bahama Spa hot tub for $8,538.93 from this company in April of 2021 and all the head rests which were made out of rubber were literally falling off. See pictures. Lori Meadows and her team told me this was my fault. I just want everyone to know what type of business this is and how rude they are. After spending so much money it is a real shame to not only receive such an inferior product but to also be treated this way. Lori and her team told me it was my fault. They are unprofessional and have no integrity. WARNING DO NOT PURCHASE ANYTHING FROM THIS COMPANY. More to come. John They threatened me if I posted this on social media. This is appalling and unamerican. These people are unprofessional and rude.
Respond to negative reviews
Mary Barbalace R. review for The Great Backyard Place
Mary Barbalace R. on BirdEye

3 years ago

04/13/2019, 14:16 PM
If I could convince 1 person to never buy anything from this place, I've done a good deed. The pool place, the great backyard, Bill Johnson, Bill who digs the holes, Bill who installs the liners and builds these pools..(what a joke) and is the only one..that knows how, but never shows up or answers his phone, or has enough workers to do the job. June 2016...our second liner. My husband decides to watch ,help,learn so he doesn't have to depend only on them again. July 22, 2016 My husband passes away. He had time for 1 swim, and to notice that there were multiple rocks starting to poke through and water seeping from the bottom.. displacing the sand. Long story short summer of 2017..can't keep water in it, and the bottom looks like crap.multiple patches, and one morning I wake up to the whole one side of the liner split. 000 water and the pump ran all night. They won't make good on the liner, no one would even come out to look at it. Summer 2018...promises that they would be out..never came. I bought another brand new liner n a fancy new pump...that still sitting at the warehouse. A pump they said I didn't need. A small ball like fixture attached to the bottom of cartridge holder broke off and floated to the top. Their answer was you don't need it. It'll will still work w/o it. No it doesn't !!! April 2019, big moscito, frog hole. No answer from any personel.!!! I'm supposed to be nice? At this point ?? Lawyers feel free to contact me!!! 376-9269.
Respond to negative reviews
Featured content
SMS Marketing: How to collect phone numbers for opt-in

SMS Marketing: How to collect phone numbers for opt-in

SMS Marketing: How to collect phone numbers for opt-in
Top 5 Doctor Review Sites for Healthcare Providers

Top 5 Doctor Review Sites for Healthcare Providers

Top 5 Doctor Review Sites for Healthcare Providers
Kim P. review for The Great Backyard Place
Kim P. on BirdEye

3 years ago

03/16/2019, 11:27 AM
Wonderful people always helpful. Great to help you find what you need. Great selection of furniture and nice tubs. Also a fun place to visit and shop at Christmas
Kim c. review for The Great Backyard Place
Kim c. on BirdEye

3 years ago

03/08/2019, 14:37 PM
THE BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE AROUND TOWN!!!! I AM ALWAYS GREETED AS I WALK IN THE DOOR!!! VERY FRIENDLY STAFF AND THEY KNOW THEIR STUFF!!! I WOULD NOT GO ANYWHERE ELSE FOR MY POOL AND SPA NEEDS!! AND I GET A LITTLE CHRISTMAS DURING THE HOLIDAY SEASON AS WELL!!!!
Deanna Sluder S. review for The Great Backyard Place
Deanna Sluder S. on BirdEye

3 years ago

03/06/2019, 19:27 PM
My husband and I went to the store in Knoxville TN around the 2nd of March and was helped by Bill Johnson. What a wonderful/helpful experience. I would highly recommend Mr. Johnson and the TN team. Thank You, Deanna Sluder & Mitch Swayngim...And yes we did buy a hot tub!
Robert H. review for The Great Backyard Place
Robert H. on Citysearch

8 years ago

10/24/2014, 14:07 PM
We purchased a hot tub from the Pool Place several months ago and it still does not "work". The customer service at this place is horrible!!! We have called/emailed them many times and never get a response back. When we call everyone is magically serving another customer and does not have time to speak with you (so you have to leave a message). I 100% get better service when I buy a Happy Meal. Avoid this place at ALL COSTS.
Rachel J. review for The Great Backyard Place
Rachel J. on Citysearch

8 years ago

01/09/2014, 16:24 PM
I had always been into The Pool Place during the winter time for their Christmas items and my husband and I had been talking previously to then about having an inground pool installed. So last year while we were shopping, we were introduced to our salesman, Bill. He was so helpful and listened to what we were wanting to do in our backyard and he came up with different plans for us to choose from. All in all, it came together perfectly. The process flowed along much more easily than I assumed it would have. The contractors were great and made sure that we were kept in loop about every step. Dillon (the project manager) was our go to guy for any questions about the process and made sure everything went as scheduled. Our pool is a wonderful addition to our home and we are so pleased with The Pool Place. I would recommend them in a second.
Deana R. review for The Great Backyard Place
Deana R. on Citysearch

9 years ago

08/13/2013, 11:17 AM
I will never recommend this place to anyone ever to build their pool. My husband and I ordered the economy inground pool in March of 2013 and this is now August 13 2013. flat backyard nothing major just a round pool with decking and a small retainer wall. It has been almost 6 months and our back yard is a muddy mess and our pool is still not done. When we bought the pool we were told late May early June and our pool would be in. Those dates came and went then we were told July 9th we would be swimming. That date came and went. Now it is the middle of August and still havent stepped a foot in the pool. The contractors the Pool Place uses we found out are not just pool contractors. They build houses and they get to your project when they can. It did rain quite a bit this year but come on. We were told the reason it has taken so long was because of the rain. The pool place blames the contractors and vice versa. What ever and if it did rain through the week and didnt get to your pool and then Sat is sunny and dry. Which that happened a few times they don't work Sat. so you are just out of luck. I am sitting here now looking out at the mud and mess that has been out there for almost a month now and cant believe it. Never use them. We knew there was going to be a problem when the first meeting with the pool place at our home and the guy didnt show up when scheduled. We called and he had forgot. My husband said I have a bad feeling but because I wanted a pool so bad we went ahead and used them. Checked around and found that I could have got a better deal too. Bad experience.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.