Logo White
Watch Demo

The Book Balancer

Own this business?
2.9
29 reviews
|Finance|Phoenix, Arizona 85044

4001 East Mountain Sky Ave # 202, Ste 103, Phoenix, Arizona 85044

(480) 471-6955

https://thebookbalancer.com/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Finance in your area
5.0
(1) · Accountants

1111 Superior Ave #700

(216) 363-0100

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(2) · Finance

299 Cherry Hill Rd

(973) 712-5000
5.0
(11) · Finance

1130 Twin Stacks Drive

(570) 589-7526
5.0
(4) · Finance

1 Heighe Street

(410) 879-1922
5.0
(2) · Finance

340 Veterans Memorial Highway

(631) 543-4933
5.0
(5) · Finance
About

Specialties Services include: Accounts receivable / payable, Payroll, QuickBooks training, business and personal taxes, bookkeeping services, General accounting, Budgeting & Expense analysis. History Established in 2007. Located in Ahwatukee, Arizona for nearly 10 years Meet the Business Owner Jennifer C. Business Owner Jennifer Clennan, owner and operator of The Book Balancer, graduated from Arizona State University with a Bachelors of Science in Accounting and launched her business. An Ahwatukee local, she has lived in the neighborhood for nearly 20 years and has run her business here for the past 7 years. Jennifer obtained accreditation through the Intuit based QuickBooks Pro- Advisor cer

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
2.9
29 reviews
514
  
40
  
30
  
20
  
115
  
  • 20 Reviews3.6Google
  • 7 Reviews1.0BBB
  • 2 Reviews3.0Facebook
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Rosalind C on BBB

a year ago

01/24/2019, 01:11 AM
My experience with this business is the same as others FRAUDULENT - STAY CLEAR & BEWARE. They make unauthorized debits, miss and don't file payroll taxes, don't provide audit of debits etc etc. I found 25K+ in debits from this business and dealt with 15K in payroll back taxes. I have email, accounting and bank statements that verify that The Book Balancer debited the taxes and never filed. The Book Balancer also shifted debits made, into weird expense accounts including bogus invoices and journal entries to hide the fraud. When I contacted the firm (they handled the account before I took over), Jennifer refused to take my calls. She was "in meetings". The staff threatened me and said the IRS had lost the checks and that Jennifer "liked us and was doing us a favor". Her emails contradict these statements. The business has spent thousands getting the books cleaned up and moving to new books. I've also, personally, spent several hundred hours this year working with multiple bookkeepers, accountants and CPA to clean up her mess. After, I contacted the firm regarding the fraud they accidentally put me on their fake collections list. Despite having no contact with the firm for almost a year they starting sending bogus invoices. They even kept collecting bogus payroll for 2 quarters, despite having payroll being run through QBO. We had to close the business accounts to block Jennifer's unauthorized debits.
Respond to negative reviews
David M. on BBB

2 years ago

03/28/2018, 11:09 AM
What a complete nightmare it has been to clean up the mess from this company, costing me thousands, if you want a book keeper stay away from this company!!!
Respond to negative reviews
Michael D. on BBB

2 years ago

03/14/2018, 05:25 AM
Our small business stopped doing business with Jennifer for the many reasons that she lost other customers. She is disorganized, has poor communication and makes many errors. I have tried to get some information I needed from her for our new CPA and had no success. She would not even answer my emails stating that she could not help me. Perhaps she will read most of her reviews and attempt to change as we do wish her well.
Respond to negative reviews
Featured content
5 Positive Review Examples: It's All in the Response

5 Positive Review Examples: It's All in the Response

5 Positive Review Examples: It's All in the Response
Negative feedback examples and how doctors can respond effectively

Negative feedback examples and how doctors can respond effectively

Negative feedback examples and how doctors can respond effectively
Deborah C. on BBB

2 years ago

10/30/2017, 08:10 AM
My experience was that this business is completely INCOMPETENT and UNETHICAL. The Book Balancer was hired to complete monthly profit & loss reports as well as TPT reporting. There were many egregious mistakes that I was able to identify myself, so was concerned that Jennifer approved reports without questioning some of the work done by her staff; surely if I could find them, she should be able to see them. Jennifer had her staff correct their mistakes and then billed me for the time it took to make the corrections. I had 5 different contacts in the short 3 months I was there. I started dealing with the new office manager and was hopeful that things would settle down. She sent me an email saying the credit for the erroneous work would be applied and that they had internal issues they were working on. Some of the information she shared, gave me even more reason to be concerned. Losing confidence in Jennifer and her staff which constantly turned over, I decided to go back to my CPA. It was then that they refused to give me the credit and threatened to send me to collections if I didn't pay what I was told would be credited. As a small business owner myself, I thought I should speak directly to Jennifer because it seemed absurd to me that the "receptionist" was rude and telling me that they wouldn't honor what I had in writing from them. He said that Jennifer would speak to me but she would charge me $100/hr. I paid the balance on my account and decided I would collect on the back end by taking her to small claims court as I also had to pay my CPA to redo the three months of work that the Book Balancer completed previously. He found that bank reconciled payments were not applied, credit card charges for a full month were not recorded, he had to correct sales tax entries for 3 months and had to adjust payroll figures. I understand that companies/their staff make mistakes and go through growing pains. I was willing to work with them, but there was a total lack of accountability and customer service which was also evident when I tried to take her to small claims court; she refused to sign for the certified letter and subsequently told her staff to tell the process server she would not sign for the documents (they had to have her signature not anyone on the staff). If you don't want to waste a lot of time and money, you should find another bookkeeper. It would have been easy for her to do the right thing. The whole experience was surreal…I find it hard to believe this woman is still in business.
Respond to negative reviews
Amie B. on BBB

2 years ago

10/26/2017, 11:05 AM
The Book Balancer is extremely unethically with personal tax returns. They steal your money, are unsure of what they are doing, and way over charge. I had just moved into the Arizona area and had received a flyer on my apartment door and thought, let me use a local business. WRONG. It took almost two months for my taxes to be filed, and 9 months later, I still have not received my tax returns. Jennifer was great in helping me when I went to her with my concerns, however, she charged me $254 to fix these mistakes. When I sent an email about being an unsatisfied customer, one of her employees responded to me by accident, instead of forwarding it on to whom ever she was trying to forward it to, bad mouthing me!!!
Respond to negative reviews
Stacy E. on BBB

3 years ago

08/09/2017, 06:02 AM
The book balancer filed two years of our corporate returns incorrectly with the IRS, we had a new accountant help us to get this rectified and with his help they corrected 2014 after months and months . They decided to charges us and billed my company. My new accountant proceeded to correct the 2015 because they dragged their feet. To my dismay the book balancer without out our permission in writing tried 2 x to take money out of our business checking account and just recently again . We have since filed a complaint with our bank and hopefully this will be rectified. I would not trust them , they have all your account information and obviously they help themselves to your money
Respond to negative reviews
Terri on BBB

3 years ago

06/16/2017, 10:22 AM
I am happy to review of this unethical business. DO NOT let them handle your business bookkeeping if you care about accurate and ethical advice and tax returns. Not only do they make mistakes regularly and routinely, they bill for things they haven’t done. They just billed a business credit card without authorization (fraudulent)… unbelievable to say the least. Jennifer has her staff try to collect on bills (via harassment) that are inaccurate. When we ask to speak to her she won’t talk/isn't available, and doesn’t respond to email questions. What a sham of a business. It has cost thousands of dollars and many months for a ‘real’ accountant to straighten out her mess. The Book Balancer website has been ‘black’ for months… why are they hiding? WARNING: If you value your business… don’t use Jennifer’s business. I give ****** ***** 5 stars for being honest about Jennifer and her organization in her review of 2 years ago… thanks Shelly! I find the response from the owner to be BS, as they do, indeed, use credit card info that they have on file to charge without authorization… it just happened to us (June 2017). They do, in fact, lie about completing things… they charge for items that were not done. The employee turnover is ridiculous… there are new employees every month… don’t know if they are just leaving or getting fired… they are ALL INCOMPETENT. I have gone in to pick up a tax return and the new girl at the front counter went through a file behind the desk and handed me papers full of our company data… and she had no clue who I was. This information should never have been stored in an open file by the front desk and this person had no reason to see it, much less hand it to someone coming through the door (she didn’t even know what a tax return looked like). The lack of communication from Jennifer is appalling. To those of you who have not yet encountered horrible experiences with her/Book Balancer, count your blessings and hope that your luck holds. Hopefully she won’t screw up your returns and cost you thousands of $. I think you get my drift… BEWARE! One positive point is that Jennifer has a nice giggle personality... but that just distracts you from getting honest and accurate information... don't be fooled!
Respond to negative reviews
Td Noll on Facebook

3 years ago

06/16/2017, 01:46 AM
I am happy to review of this unethical business. DO NOT let them handle your business bookkeeping if you care about accurate and ethical advice and tax returns. Not only do they make mistakes regularly and routinely, they bill for things they haven’t done. They just billed a business credit card without authorization (fraudulent)… unbelievable to say the least. Jennifer has her staff try to collect on bills (via harassment) that are inaccurate. When we ask to speak to her she won’t talk/isn't available, and doesn’t respond to email questions. What a sham of a business. It has cost thousands of dollars and many months for a ‘real’ accountant to straighten out her mess. The Book Balancer website has been ‘black’ for months… why are they hiding? WARNING: If you value your business… don’t use Jennifer’s business. I give Shelly House 5 stars for being honest about Jennifer and her organization in her review of 2 years ago… thanks Shelly! I find the response from the owner to be BS, as they do, indeed, use credit card info that they have on file to charge without authorization… it just happened to us (June 2017). They do, in fact, lie about completing things… they charge for items that were not done. The employee turnover is ridiculous… there are new employees every month… don’t know if they are just leaving or getting fired… they are ALL INCOMPETENT. I have gone in to pick up a tax return and the new girl at the front counter went through a file behind the desk and handed me papers full of our company data… and she had no clue who I was. This information should never have been stored in an open file by the front desk and this person had no reason to see it, much less hand it to someone coming through the door (she didn’t even know what a tax return looked like). The lack of communication from Jennifer is appalling. To those of you who have not yet encountered horrible experiences with her/Book Balancer, count your blessings and hope that your luck holds. Hopefully she won’t screw up your returns and cost you thousands of $. I think you get my drift… BEWARE! One positive point is that Jennifer has a nice giggle personality... but that just distracts you from getting honest and accurate information... don't be fooled!
Respond to negative reviews
Michele Bonner on Facebook

4 years ago

08/04/2016, 01:50 AM
So glad I found Jen and The Book Balancer! Highly competent, never intimidating...an integral part of my business team.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.