Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

The Bayou

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.9
158 reviews
|Cajun/Creole|Salt Lake City, UT 84111

645 State St, Salt Lake City, UT 84111

(801) 961-8400

https://www.utahbayou.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
About

The Bayou, located in the heart of Salt Lake City, prides itself on arguably the best beer selection in Utah. They have over 300 varieties of local brews, Scottish ales and Belgian stouts on offer. Complement a chilled pint with Cajun specialties like beef taquitos, chicken wraps and jalapeno poppers. In addition to the laid-back vibe and award-winning menu, weekends at this bar play host to entertaining live gigs by regional and touring bands.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.9
158 reviews
5111
  
42
  
30
  
20
  
12
  
43 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
lvnnstyl on Citysearch

17 years ago

01/16/2005, 06:57 AM
WOW! Definatly go here – I have been hearing great things about the Bayou for months and finally went there, it was so good. The Bayou Burger was fantastic, even after your full you can't stop eating it and the sweet potatoe fries have now become a new craving of mine. Not typically being a beer drinker there is something on their beer list for everyone, the apricot ale was so good! with $3 draft beers this bar is very affordable with an amazing selection.
hollyfran on Citysearch

17 years ago

10/30/2004, 04:12 AM
Beervana Is the Place to Be – I absolutely love this place. I have recomended it to several people and they end up loving it also. I have to say my favorite item is the Artichoke Dip. I order it everytime! My boyfriend would have to say his favorite item is the beer selection. The only the problem I have found is the parking, but I guess that means that business is great. You should definately check this one out if you have'nt already.
diser55 on Citysearch

17 years ago

08/17/2004, 01:19 AM
Good beer collection! – Yes, you will see how many beers do they have - almost every country is presented (except Russia). And... yes, this could be expensive, if you like beer a lot, and consume it a lot. Service is good, comaring to other Utah places. Sometimes slow. Food is fine (try Bruschetta), though it's not a place to eat, but to drink beer. And guess what, they are open on Sunday! Sometimes the parking is a problem, but not too often.
Featured content
How to respond to negative reviews - business owners guide

How to respond to negative reviews - business owners guide

How to respond to negative reviews - business owners guide
SMS Marketing: How to collect phone numbers for opt-in

SMS Marketing: How to collect phone numbers for opt-in

SMS Marketing: How to collect phone numbers for opt-in
hsonn on Citysearch

17 years ago

07/22/2004, 06:54 AM
Nice, but spendy – RIDICULOUSLY overpriced!! A shot of Crown, anywhere you go in this city, is $4.50. If someone is charging you $5, it would be considered expensive. If someone charges you $7, as they do at The Bayou, they are deliberately insulting you. The Bayou's atmosphere is very similar to Piper Down. I'd suggest going to Piper Down instead for a more relaxed setting, better crowd, more people, and drinks that are priced decently. Plus, you won't have to wait to be seated, which I find unusual for a bar atmosphere, and kind of a pain when all I want to do is sit down and have a beer.
Contributor on Citysearch

17 years ago

07/15/2004, 10:48 AM
A refined State Street club offering the largest tap and bottled beer selection in Utah, served up with Southern hospitality. – The Scene Since it serves more than 150 different beers from around the world, it's no wonder the Bayou is called "Beervana." It's become a mecca for those in search of hard-to-find and rare beers like German Pinkus Organic Hefeweizen. Patrons include all types, from enlightened to moderately inebriated, all drawn by the combination of upscale setting, live jazz and pool tables. As one might expect from a Southern-style watering hole, the atmosphere is extremely laid-back--ideal for sharing stimulating conversation in a well-lit and cozy environment. The Draw Everybody knows that finding a decent beer in Utah requires jumping through some hoops. Featuring almost every imaginable porter, pilsner, stout and ale, this down-home pub eliminates the need for beer hunting. Throw in huge plates of appetizers--like steamy Southwest artichoke-cheese dip with toasted bread slices--and succulent Southern entrees, including jambalaya and deep-fried catfish, and you've got an ideal spot to eat and socialize.
beernutmark on Citysearch

17 years ago

07/01/2004, 06:25 AM
Best Beer Value in Town – Just a quick correction to blackdoves review. Not sure where else she is drinking beer but $3.00 microbrew pints is far less than what you pay at the brewpubs for the same beer. The Bayou drafts are cheaper than most places in town. That said, the bottle beers are where the real value lies. At other bars in town a bottle of Chimay costs about $19.00 at the Bayou they are $11.00. Sure, if you are not a beer conisour $11.00 for a beer might seem expensive but $11.00 for a Chimay is a steal. The bottle beer prices are the most competitive in town. They Bayou specializes in specialty beer and does it better than anyone else in town.
blackdove on Citysearch

17 years ago

05/26/2004, 01:45 AM
Spendy... – If you want to hang out with a good beer there are plenty of places to go. This place is overrated and soo expensive. The waitresses are awful and the beer is beyond over priced. I do not recommend it. Try Brewvies or Greenstreet....
slcmike on Citysearch

17 years ago

04/02/2004, 09:14 AM
Beer, Beer and Great Beer! – The Bayou probably has the best beer selection in Utah. The food is good and the service tends to be excellent. The ambiance is great also. Weekend nights can get crowded as you might expect in such a fine and popular establishment. Weeknights and lunch time are generally very laid back. Both scenarios make for a good time! Pool, TV's and good live music... Did I mention the beer selection? You can't go wrong.
lotsanivanh on Citysearch

18 years ago

10/23/2003, 09:25 AM
mucho beer – this is a great hangout place. there's a very large selection of beers to choose from, 100+. there's also pool, tvs for watching the game, and the night i went there was live music. the food was good. i shared the southwestern artichoke cheese dip with someone else, but it is pretty big and we didn't finish it. the dip is large enough for probably 4 people. we also had some entrees with cajun chicken and that also was delicious. unfortunately i didn't discover bayou until my last night in salt lake city, but had i been visiting longer i definitely would have gone back. the beer selection is really incredible...
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.