Logo White
Watch Demo

Tanto Japanese Restaurant

Own this business?
4.3
68 reviews
|Restaurants|Sunnyvale, CA 94087

1063 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale, CA 94087

(408) 244-7311

http://ww1.tantojapaneserestaurant.com/

Open now:6:00 am - 10:00 pm

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
4.7
(105) · Sushi Bars

776 Arguello Blvd

(415) 387-8882

1 person is looking at this business

4.7
(309) · Restaurants

150 Longbrook Way C

(925) 798-3459

2 people are looking at this business

4.7
(45) · Sushi Bars

330 Palmetto Ave

(650) 355-2670
4.6
(13) · Sushi Bars

411 Main St

(925) 846-3077

1 person is looking at this business

4.6
(201) · Restaurants

2275 Market St

(415) 552-2280
4.6
(240) · Sushi Bars

1815 Market St #5

(415) 621-1114
About

Lone rangers on tech-office lunch breaks pack this strip-mall Japanese spot, whose crowded parking lot belies its unimpressive façade. Waits are inevitable, but it's worth it to sit down to a steaming bowl of simple and flavorful udon. Indeed, all the standards are rendered beautifully here, from crisp vegetable tempura to tender, flaky grilled unagi set atop freshly steamed rice. Tanto's menu expands a bit at dinner, bringing more grilled items and izakaya-style small plates. Pristine sushi and sashimi like albacore with ponzu are also a strong pick. You'll likely be seated at one of the closely spaced dining room tables, but the occasional stroke of luck might land you in one of the

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.3
68 reviews
530
  
428
  
32
  
22
  
11
  
5 reviews have no rating
  • 60 Reviews4.3Trip Advisor
  • 2 Reviews5.0Facebook
  • 2 Reviews5.0Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
curt-travels on Trip Advisor

8 years ago

05/31/2012, 06:34 AM
Don't let the facade fool you Food: Great Atmosphere: Cozy Service: Good A group of employees on a business trip ate here. Some of our fellow employees were Japanese, and the staff at Tanto were extremely accommodating of these travelers, even offering a Japanese menu and wait staff who spoke the language. The atmosphere is . . . very cozy, but it certainly serves its purpose. Overall, we were all able to share the experience of the most important item, the food. The food was delicious. We ordered a number of dishes to share amongst the table including sashimi, a pork salad, orange shrimp, and a number of other dishes I cannot name and could only describe like the chicken dish with savory puree and egg on top, or the fried pork filet with sauce over cabage. In all, the food was fantastic, flavorful, and was certainly the highlight of the experience, as it should be.
masaru_mayumi on Trip Advisor

9 years ago

11/30/2011, 08:45 AM
Still a great Japanese izakaya I've been going to Tanto for many years and I still enjoy their eclectic offerings of traditional and modern Japanese "izakaya" food. Izakayas are Japanese pubs and in Japan, they are meeting places which range from mom and pop establishments to trendy and fashionable eateries. Izakayas are best enjoyed with family or friends and a drink by your side, and Tanto is no exception. Order a number of small plates, a few at a time. Much of the dining experience here depends upon how you time your orders to the kitchen, so go slow and have fun exploring the menu. Start with something fresh like the excellent sashimi or daikon (radish) salads. Next, how about experimenting a little with some small appetizers such as the ankimo (monkfish liver) or beef tongue? The agedashi tofu, potato with mentaiko (spicy cod roe), and kani (crab) cream croquettes are all hearty, home-style dishes which are perfect for sharing. One particularly fine dish that you might not want to share is the kinki nitsuke. This is a small fish simmered in soy sauce, sake, mirin, ginger and other spices. To finish, the red snapper yakimeshi (grilled rice bowl) is substantial enough to be shared by 3 or 4 persons and is not to be missed. You also can't go wrong with the yaki onigiri (grilled rice balls), with some traditional Japanese pickled vegetables on the side. Finally, the ice cream for dessert is huge and together with some green tea, an excellent way to end your feast.
Taro32761 on Trip Advisor

10 years ago

11/02/2010, 02:04 AM
Great food but a bit noisy The food is great here, but due to the popularity can get crowded at lunchtime. The ramen, which has clams, is unusual but good. Once it was too salty for me. I think it would be difficult to get a table on Fridays due to the crowd.
Featured content
Demystifying Google Business Reviews

Demystifying Google Business Reviews

Demystifying Google Business Reviews
Local Business SEO listings Management: Your Guide to Local SEO

Local Business SEO listings Management: Your Guide to Local SEO

Local Business SEO listings Management: Your Guide to Local SEO
hotgrassjelly on Trip Advisor

11 years ago

10/19/2009, 01:09 AM
One of my favorite restaurants I love this place. It's one of my favorites for Japanese Tapas. They have these rice triangles (fried on both sides) filled with salmon that are to die for.
Yasupiso on Citysearch

11 years ago

06/29/2009, 02:07 AM
Rice is very tasty – I don't go there for nice treatment by the staff. I go there for Food. There are may Japanese restaurants in the area, but this place cook good Japanese food. When I miss the taste of the Japanese food I grew up with, I would come here. Especially the rice they cook is really good. Gochi's rice is horrible. For ture Japanese, RICE is IMPORTANT.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook on Trip Advisor

12 years ago

10/18/2008, 06:32 AM
Dishes you couldn't find... Dishes you couldn't find in a typical Japanese restaurant.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook on Trip Advisor

12 years ago

09/08/2008, 07:53 AM
Delicious clam ramen Delicious clam ramen
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook on Trip Advisor

12 years ago

02/28/2008, 02:37 AM
over-hyped, over-priced. over-hyped, over-priced.
capaduzit on Citysearch

12 years ago

02/07/2008, 01:46 AM
Dont eat here and bad service – Staff is rude dont eat here I saw a r outside front door. Buyer beware dont waste your time or money on this one
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.