Logo White
Watch Demo

Tanto Japanese Restaurant

Own this business?
4.3
68 reviews
|Restaurants|Sunnyvale, CA 94087

1063 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale, CA 94087

(408) 244-7311

http://ww1.tantojapaneserestaurant.com/

Open now:6:00 am - 10:00 pm

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
4.7
(105) · Sushi Bars

776 Arguello Blvd

(415) 387-8882

1 person is looking at this business

4.7
(309) · Restaurants

150 Longbrook Way C

(925) 798-3459

2 people are looking at this business

4.7
(45) · Sushi Bars

330 Palmetto Ave

(650) 355-2670
4.6
(13) · Sushi Bars

411 Main St

(925) 846-3077

1 person is looking at this business

4.6
(201) · Restaurants

2275 Market St

(415) 552-2280
4.6
(240) · Sushi Bars

1815 Market St #5

(415) 621-1114
About

Lone rangers on tech-office lunch breaks pack this strip-mall Japanese spot, whose crowded parking lot belies its unimpressive façade. Waits are inevitable, but it's worth it to sit down to a steaming bowl of simple and flavorful udon. Indeed, all the standards are rendered beautifully here, from crisp vegetable tempura to tender, flaky grilled unagi set atop freshly steamed rice. Tanto's menu expands a bit at dinner, bringing more grilled items and izakaya-style small plates. Pristine sushi and sashimi like albacore with ponzu are also a strong pick. You'll likely be seated at one of the closely spaced dining room tables, but the occasional stroke of luck might land you in one of the

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.3
68 reviews
530
  
428
  
32
  
22
  
11
  
5 reviews have no rating
  • 60 Reviews4.3Trip Advisor
  • 2 Reviews5.0Facebook
  • 2 Reviews5.0Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Ayumii818 on Trip Advisor

6 years ago

01/19/2014, 05:40 AM
Fantastic food My husband and I went here for my b-day. The food was amazing. We had onigiri (rice ball) and it was so delicious. My husband had Unagi Don and it was great. Perfectly seasoned and big portion. All I can say is the food was terrific and the price drives great value.
ShayWC on Trip Advisor

7 years ago

11/22/2013, 00:46 AM
Japan embassy in the valley I have been to Tokyo before and I must say this brought back some memories from there. Great food! The sashimi was amazing, soup also, even the duck. BUT the deserts were a disappointing, I ordered the rice cake with ice cream but it was more of a huge ice cream with a bit of rice cakes... very far from deserts I eat in Tokyo.
Eric W on Trip Advisor

7 years ago

10/08/2013, 05:04 AM
nice food and close very late I love their special ice cream. What's best for me is that they close at 11pm every day except for Monday.
Featured content
How to Set Up a Facebook Review Widget on Your Website

How to Set Up a Facebook Review Widget on Your Website

How to Set Up a Facebook Review Widget on Your Website
How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google

How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google

How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google
Jenvolley on Trip Advisor

7 years ago

09/10/2013, 04:36 AM
Delicious and Authentic I was staying within walking distance to Tanto while on a business trip and decided to give it a go. Although we arrived late on a weeknight (8:00 pm ish) the place was packed. We waited about 20 min for a table. The restaurant is on the smaller side, thus the wait for our table, but well worth the wait! We needed help with the menu, as we are not familiar with true/authentic Japanese dishes. The server was spot on in her selections, and my co-worker and I enjoyed a delicious meal and generous portions. Unfortunately, I have no idea which dishes we ordered, but when I visit Tanto again, I will take the same approach in asking for server suggestions. Highly recommend and I can't wait to eat there again!
tour-birds on Trip Advisor

7 years ago

08/18/2013, 06:05 AM
Best Japanese food in Valley You need to make reservations here if you do not want a wait. There is a queue here every night and the wait is anywhere from 30 mins to 45 mins if you do not make reservations. I would rate the Japanese food here better than others I have tasted from Santa Clara to Palo Alto. The sashimi moriawase is sliced in thick big pieces. The uni yakimeshi (uni on fried rice) is recommended, as well as their anago sushi and grilled fish dishes. The Gyutan I had wasn't as good as I expected but that is a minor quibble. Service is good but due to the crowds, you have give some allowances. The menu is fairly extensive and much better than many I have seen in the valley. Many so-called Japanese restaurants in the valley serves all kinds of sushi-roll variations but are short on other dishes. Tanto is an exception and the menu will even please Japanese natives, which is why 90% of the customers are Asians. The price is okay - a bit pricier than others but it is good value for money. The restaurant itself is not very big, which means it is always packed.
Kevin D on Trip Advisor

7 years ago

06/15/2013, 05:48 AM
Terrific solo dinner. I was staying at the Best Western a block away and walked over on a whim to this strip mall spot, It was really bustling inside but I was early and seated immediately. I'm not much of a Japanese foodie and the menu was a little different than I am used to. Since I did not see some of my old favorites, i just ordered the combination meal for $21 and a beer. I chose sashimi & beef and was delivered a feast! Along with melt in your mouth tuna and salmon, I got beef teryaki, a small salad, miso soup, a bit of shrimp tempura, tofu, and rice. It was all very good and a great value. By the time I left, there was a line out the door.
speedgracer on Trip Advisor

7 years ago

04/05/2013, 04:13 AM
Great traditional Japanese food Quality of the sashimi was less than I had hoped but good nonetheless. Humble features on the outside but nice work with the interior design within the restaurant.
Kenny8888 on Trip Advisor

7 years ago

02/11/2013, 03:29 AM
サンタクララの居酒屋さん El CaminoとLowrenceの交差点からすぐにある日本食レストランです。雰囲気は居酒屋さん、お酒の種類もそろっています。サンタクララの日本食としてはトップクラスだと思います。いつ行っても込んでいるので、事前に予約は必須です。
JSVV on Trip Advisor

8 years ago

08/30/2012, 01:30 AM
Go native, go here I visited Tanto with two colleagues from Tokyo and let them do the ordering. The evening was a great experience with many dishes outside the regular offerings I'm familiar with in CA. The restaurant itself is not fancy, but over 80% of the clientele is Japanese, so draw your own conclusion if you want... :-) I'll be going back!
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.