Logo White
Watch Demo

Tanto Japanese Restaurant

Own this business?
4.3
68 reviews
|Restaurants|Sunnyvale, CA 94087

1063 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale, CA 94087

(408) 244-7311

http://ww1.tantojapaneserestaurant.com/

Open now:6:00 am - 10:00 pm

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
4.7
(105) · Sushi Bars

776 Arguello Blvd

(415) 387-8882

1 person is looking at this business

4.7
(309) · Restaurants

150 Longbrook Way C

(925) 798-3459

2 people are looking at this business

4.7
(45) · Sushi Bars

330 Palmetto Ave

(650) 355-2670
4.6
(13) · Sushi Bars

411 Main St

(925) 846-3077

1 person is looking at this business

4.6
(201) · Restaurants

2275 Market St

(415) 552-2280
4.6
(240) · Sushi Bars

1815 Market St #5

(415) 621-1114
About

Lone rangers on tech-office lunch breaks pack this strip-mall Japanese spot, whose crowded parking lot belies its unimpressive façade. Waits are inevitable, but it's worth it to sit down to a steaming bowl of simple and flavorful udon. Indeed, all the standards are rendered beautifully here, from crisp vegetable tempura to tender, flaky grilled unagi set atop freshly steamed rice. Tanto's menu expands a bit at dinner, bringing more grilled items and izakaya-style small plates. Pristine sushi and sashimi like albacore with ponzu are also a strong pick. You'll likely be seated at one of the closely spaced dining room tables, but the occasional stroke of luck might land you in one of the

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.3
68 reviews
530
  
428
  
32
  
22
  
11
  
5 reviews have no rating
  • 60 Reviews4.3Trip Advisor
  • 2 Reviews5.0Facebook
  • 2 Reviews5.0Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
ohdonnaoh on Trip Advisor

5 years ago

01/13/2016, 06:42 AM
Melt in your mouth sashimi, interesting small dishes We wanted a Japanese restaurant that served both sushi and cooked dishes. Based on the reviews we snagged a reservation (though there was no wait at 6:30) and went to Tanto. Fast and good service. My husband LOVED the sashimi - said it was the best dish of the evening. Another stand out was the spicy sauteed prawns. The rice ball with Roe was, well, fried rice with a few roe eggs sprinkled but mainly a lot of rice. The octopus in potato balls was, well, potato - not seasoned, just plain mashed potato and bland octopus beautifully presented. The Udon soup was tasty and the ice cream with strawberry sauce and red bean paste was yummy too. We'd come back for the sashimi and to go with more of the sauteed dishes.
roinuj63 on Trip Advisor

5 years ago

12/27/2015, 06:02 AM
Best sushi in the area - but just OK atmosphere/experience The sushi is simply outstanding! Too bad the rest of the experience is not at the same level. You typically have to edge past a crowd to get a number - and then wait for your turn (inside if you're lucky or outside on the sidewalk if you're not). The service is friendly and efficient and the place is clean - but the atmosphere is pretty basic. Go here if you're in the mood for great sushi and not too picky about the overall experience. If, on the other hand, you want a fine dining experience, you'll be better off at a place like Blowfish in San Jose.
EDominguezMIA on Trip Advisor

5 years ago

11/22/2015, 00:12 AM
1st time Izakaya experience From the moment you see patrons lining the restaurant 45 minutes before it opens you know there has to be something special about the place. Our family arrived early and were served quickly after placing our first order. The service was polite and efficient, and the food was off the wall flavorfully delicious. The food presentation was artistic and abundant. From the sashimi salad and stir fried udon noodles with pork to the orders of deep fried and grilled smelt with roe; each were highly flavorful. New for me was and incredible was the monk fish liver wrapped in thinly sliced halibut. Yeah, I had an eating experience worthy of repeating. My only dilemma is I am flying out soon and have no idea when I will be returning, so if you're visiting like me make Tanto Japanese restaurant and must stop. Enjoy my pics.
Featured content
Review response templates: now no excuse not to respond to reviews

Review response templates: now no excuse not to respond to reviews

Review response templates: now no excuse not to respond to reviews
A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews

A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews

A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews
Mongoose30 on Trip Advisor

5 years ago

10/22/2015, 02:21 AM
Busy Place for Local Tech Worker Lunches Good parking on a main street. Close to shops and offices. Lunch deals are good value, large, and come very quickly. Friendly service. Fast turn around for all the office workers. Does get loud.
loopycynic on Trip Advisor

5 years ago

09/12/2015, 02:52 AM
Heaven!!! Must go!! OMG!! I've had amazing Japanese food so when I say OMG this means amazing!! Must try. Everything was just amazing. Fresh. Well seasoned. Highest quality ingredients. Ordered sashimi salad, fatty tuna, braised duck, rice balls (the ones the yelp folks say to get), and pork belly. All very fabulous. Get there early for lunch. A/C was nonexistent .. Only negative thing. GO!!!!!
Cherry_Wonderdog on Trip Advisor

5 years ago

06/09/2015, 01:46 AM
Highly recommended Excellent food and service. Went here with a business group of 18, and all the feedback I received from my colleagues was positive. Tanto features a broad choice of sushi and traditional Japanese cooked meals. Service was stellar given the number of people being served simultaneously. Food and drinks arrived promptly and at the right temperature. The menu is entertaining to read, especially when as group. The descriptions aren’t exactly appetizing. Consider “deep-fried shrimp balls”, “deep-fried fried smelt”, or “broiled squid innards”. I had the salt-broiled red snapper, and it was quite good. The biggest hit for the table, however, was the fried rice with braised pork. Far and away better than the usual stuff.
James V on Trip Advisor

5 years ago

04/15/2015, 07:44 AM
My Review of Tanto Japanese On the evening of April 11,2015 I had dinner at Tanto Japanese Restaurant. Tanto Japanese is found in a infancy building in a strip mall. Inside Tanto there is not much ambience to write about. Tanto is a wildly popular and busy restaurant, one that you will need to make reservations at even at 6:00pm they open and when you get in be prepared to get cozy because tables are kind of close. The menu is two-sided and vast. Tanto specializes in grilled items and izakaya-style small plates. Also Sashimi and some Sushi are offered. For how busy they were the evening that I dined there the food just seemed to fly out of the kitchen and the servers who needed roller skates always seemed to there when you needed something or wanted to order more food. My beverage of choice was a glass of White Wine ( the menu did not say what kind). I started ordering small plates. The first to come was Stir Fried spicy Braised Prawns. The prawns were fresh and meaty and were sautéed in an orange colored sauce ( not citrus based ). The dish was sautéed with sliced onions and topped with green onions. The next dish to come was Stir Fried Asparagus With Bacon. This preparation had the tasty flavor of smoked bacon with fresh asparagus. It was quite good. The next offering to arrive was Tamago Ishiyaki. It was described as a hot sone plate egg omelet with bacon. It was more like an egg drop-soup in a heated bowl. While it was not what I imagined, it was non the less a flavorful and satisfying dish. There was also a hint of Dijon which I thought gave a pleasant flavor to the dish. The last dish I ordered was Yaki Udon. It consisted of stir fried noodles with pork, cabbage and sea weed. There was a lot going on in this plate. It was my first time having udon noodles and while I like them I think I would have liked them in a soup more. There were flavors I liked in this preparation and flavors that did not sit so well with me. I found very little pork in it. I ended my meal with an average Green Tea Ice cream. In summary, I thought Tanto Japanese was pretty authentic. Remember to make a reservation go try the izakaya-style small plates.
Henry1965a on Trip Advisor

5 years ago

03/29/2015, 05:41 AM
Japanese tapas went here this week and two times before with friends. Tanto offers lunch and dinner. To make things easy the have specials that cover a variety of tastes their kitchen offers. Like Japanese tapas. The place if often crowded but i never had to wait for long and it's worth the wait.
Brian L on Trip Advisor

6 years ago

12/16/2014, 04:56 AM
Great Japanese Izakaya (Tapas food) Pros: Great unique dishes not usually found at Japanese restaurants. The beef tongue and eel fried rice were delicious Cons: Steep price
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.