Logo White
Watch Demo

Tanto Japanese Restaurant

Own this business?
4.3
68 reviews
|Restaurants|Sunnyvale, CA 94087

1063 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale, CA 94087

(408) 244-7311

http://ww1.tantojapaneserestaurant.com/

Open now:6:00 am - 10:00 pm

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
4.7
(105) · Sushi Bars

776 Arguello Blvd

(415) 387-8882

1 person is looking at this business

4.7
(309) · Restaurants

150 Longbrook Way C

(925) 798-3459

2 people are looking at this business

4.7
(45) · Sushi Bars

330 Palmetto Ave

(650) 355-2670
4.6
(13) · Sushi Bars

411 Main St

(925) 846-3077

1 person is looking at this business

4.6
(201) · Restaurants

2275 Market St

(415) 552-2280
4.6
(240) · Sushi Bars

1815 Market St #5

(415) 621-1114
About

Lone rangers on tech-office lunch breaks pack this strip-mall Japanese spot, whose crowded parking lot belies its unimpressive façade. Waits are inevitable, but it's worth it to sit down to a steaming bowl of simple and flavorful udon. Indeed, all the standards are rendered beautifully here, from crisp vegetable tempura to tender, flaky grilled unagi set atop freshly steamed rice. Tanto's menu expands a bit at dinner, bringing more grilled items and izakaya-style small plates. Pristine sushi and sashimi like albacore with ponzu are also a strong pick. You'll likely be seated at one of the closely spaced dining room tables, but the occasional stroke of luck might land you in one of the

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.3
68 reviews
530
  
428
  
32
  
22
  
11
  
5 reviews have no rating
  • 60 Reviews4.3Trip Advisor
  • 2 Reviews5.0Facebook
  • 2 Reviews5.0Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Markus H on Trip Advisor

4 years ago

11/06/2016, 07:51 AM
Just wunderful! Ordered three dishes - one better than the other! The best was the icecake we had as a dessert! We are going to reserve s table again.
007pallavim on Trip Advisor

4 years ago

11/04/2016, 05:06 AM
Just about ok food I have had small plates at this place before. And they were just about ok. This time I tried their sushi, but it was just about ok. Nothing great to write about
geezerhippie on Trip Advisor

4 years ago

09/18/2016, 02:24 AM
Disappointing meal On our 16 day Calif. trip, driving from San Francisco to Los Angeles, we had outstanding food every day, except for the evening we ate at Tanto. Our friend's niece, who lives in San Mateo, got a recommendation from coworkers to eat there, thus it was their choice. My husband and I are "foodies" and enjoy cuisine from many countries. After spending about 10 minutes viewing the menu, I had a hard time finding something to order. Many deep fried items, and surprisingly, many cheese dishes. They do not serve cocktails, and the wine was awful!, The dining area is cramped and very loud. The crab gratin dish was mostly cheese and bread crumbs. The shocking dish was the fried flounder. In my entire life (I'm 67), living in Cuba and Spain, and eating all over Europe, the US, and the Caribbean, I have never had to spit my food out in front of everyone at the table. It tasted just like it had been retrieved from a dumpster and fried in rancid oil. It smelled so bad I actually had to put in on an empty table away from us.None of the wait staff came over to see what was wrong. Since I didn't eat the crab, & couldn't eat the fish, my friends offered me some of their sushimi, which was actually good and clean tasting.My husband didn't eat his meal either, so we had to get a snack on the way back to the hotel. Very disappointing.
Featured content
SEO for small business 2020 - Online reviews are the latest strategy

SEO for small business 2020 - Online reviews are the latest strategy

SEO for small business 2020 - Online reviews are the latest strategy
Local Business SEO listings Management: Your Guide to Local SEO

Local Business SEO listings Management: Your Guide to Local SEO

Local Business SEO listings Management: Your Guide to Local SEO
Zach O on Trip Advisor

4 years ago

08/28/2016, 06:26 AM
Wow talk about japanese comfort food You don't even have to know what japanese comfort food is to know this is japanese comfort food. Best meal I have had in a long time
maggieatsfood on Trip Advisor

4 years ago

07/19/2016, 08:46 AM
BEST JAPANESE COMFORT FOOD IN THE BAY AREA! Make a reservation because this place is pretty small, even if it's for the same day. While the fish here is fresh and delicious, I come for all the comfort food. Here are some recommendations: #1 Gyu Ishiyaki (Beef cooked in this sizzling hot stone pot. The meat comes raw in the stone pot and you stir to cook the meat. DO NOT OVERCOOK the meat, keep it at medium rare and take the meat out as soon as you think it's ready. If you leave it in the pot you will have well-done meat) #2 Hatate butter uni nose (scallop cooked in butter topped with uni) #3 Ishiyaki buta gohan (fried rice with braised pork) #4 Grilled beef tongue #5 Braised cod #6 Braised pork belly Make this place a must-go if you are in the Bay Area!
EnjoyTravelingMuch on Trip Advisor

4 years ago

07/09/2016, 02:51 AM
One of the very best! This isn't a sushi house, and so don't expect a full sushi menu. It's an izakaya--Japanese tapas bar. The sake selection is extensive, and the food amazing. Get out of your comfort zone and order items that you don't find in most cookie-cutter American-Japanese restaurants. There is always a line out the door, and so reservations are a must.
acli on Trip Advisor

4 years ago

07/06/2016, 04:51 AM
The place for cooked Japanese food! My third time here and it is still one of my favorite place. The crispy Salmon rice ball is so good. There so many choices on their menu both cooked and the typical sashimi/sushi. a small place so either go early to stand in line or call for reservation. If you call one week ahead you will have a better chance of getting what you want. Make sure to save room for desert!
Dorao2002 on Trip Advisor

4 years ago

06/18/2016, 08:07 AM
美味しく、値段もリーズナブルな日本料理屋 今回、初めて夜本格的に食べましたが、刺身も料理もとても美味しかったです。 ウナギ入りの厚焼き玉子が特に美味しかったです。 玉子がふわふわでした! アメリカ料理にお腹が疲れた時、ここはほっこりします! 値段は安くはないですが、リーズナブルと思います。
JamJamFlyer on Trip Advisor

4 years ago

05/19/2016, 04:48 AM
Yummy Smallish restaurant with big menu and very well executed food. Had jumbo squid stuffed with rice (highly recommended) and salmon sashimi was thick sliced (9 slices). Reasonably priced. No wonder they are perpetually crowded. Food service was fast though.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.