Logo White
Watch Demo

Tanto Japanese Restaurant

Own this business?
4.3
68 reviews
|Restaurants|Sunnyvale, CA 94087

1063 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale, CA 94087

(408) 244-7311

http://ww1.tantojapaneserestaurant.com/

Open now:6:00 am - 10:00 pm

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
4.7
(105) · Sushi Bars

776 Arguello Blvd

(415) 387-8882

1 person is looking at this business

4.7
(309) · Restaurants

150 Longbrook Way C

(925) 798-3459

2 people are looking at this business

4.7
(45) · Sushi Bars

330 Palmetto Ave

(650) 355-2670
4.6
(13) · Sushi Bars

411 Main St

(925) 846-3077

1 person is looking at this business

4.6
(201) · Restaurants

2275 Market St

(415) 552-2280
4.6
(240) · Sushi Bars

1815 Market St #5

(415) 621-1114
About

Lone rangers on tech-office lunch breaks pack this strip-mall Japanese spot, whose crowded parking lot belies its unimpressive façade. Waits are inevitable, but it's worth it to sit down to a steaming bowl of simple and flavorful udon. Indeed, all the standards are rendered beautifully here, from crisp vegetable tempura to tender, flaky grilled unagi set atop freshly steamed rice. Tanto's menu expands a bit at dinner, bringing more grilled items and izakaya-style small plates. Pristine sushi and sashimi like albacore with ponzu are also a strong pick. You'll likely be seated at one of the closely spaced dining room tables, but the occasional stroke of luck might land you in one of the

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.3
68 reviews
530
  
428
  
32
  
22
  
11
  
5 reviews have no rating
  • 60 Reviews4.3Trip Advisor
  • 2 Reviews5.0Facebook
  • 2 Reviews5.0Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
DD492 on Trip Advisor

3 years ago

08/30/2017, 03:48 AM
Blah, Blech Wow, after reading all the rave reviews maybe they were just having an off shift. We stopped in on our way through for lunch. I had a "ginger pork rice bowl" which didn't say anything about the undercooked egg dumped on top. I've eaten lots of Japanese food, first time I've seen that. Also the blandest thing I've eaten with "ginger" in the name regardless of cuisine. The sushi was the sloppiest presentation we have ever seen, and we're pretty sure the crunchy bits in my son's California roll was crab shell. Service was non-existent. With the huge amount of top notch Japanese food available in the SF Bay Area I recommend to leave Tanto off the list.
Respond to negative reviews
maggieatsfood on Trip Advisor

3 years ago

08/09/2017, 07:24 AM
Best Izakaya and Japanese Comfortable Food in South Bay (Still)! I'm writing a new review because I felt that my previous one did not do this place justice. First, let's take a minute to mourn the loss of my favorite dish, a saliva-inducing and pleasure-producing dish. , Gyu ishiyaki (beef in hot stone pot). Every time I glance over the spot where it used to be on the menu, my heart skips a bit and dies a little. I was informed that this dish created a lot of smoke inside the restaurant. And due to its growing popularity, the restaurant got so smokey that it was hard to see. That's why they had to take it off the menu. But here's the good news: You can't go wrong with any choice. Everything else is good, but some are just amazing! Here are some dishes I've tried: Ika meshi (rice stuffed in a jumbo squid) - 5 stars. You can definitely taste the "squid innard sauce", reminds me of the yellow part of the crab. I'm not a fan of giant squid because the chewy texture gets boring and no longer enjoyable after a while. However, this squid was tender, and the rice Gyutan (salted broiled beef tongue) - 5 stars. If you are a fan of grilled beef tongue, you should give this version a try. Pieces of thinly sliced beef tongue came on a plate (not skewers) perfectly seasoned. Eat it while it's hot! Yaki Onigiri (grilled rice ball with spicy cod row) - 4.5 stars. When rice balls are seasoned and grilled right (crispy shell and soft rice inside), it's the best. We ordered one serving first, which came with 2 rice balls. My friend mentioned "extra crispy", and they came nicely grilled on all sides. I loved it so much I ordered a second serving, which was NOT grilled as well. So if you enjoy the crunchy rice, make sure to let your waiter know. Uni Shiso (raw uni with shiso and roasted seaweed) - 4 stars. I admit that I had doubts about wrapping uni in shiso leave. But the flavor combo is nothing I've tasted before. Here's how you do it: put the shiso on the seaweed, and put a little wasabi on the shiso, then grab one (or more) piece of uni, and roll it up. It's optional to dip it in soy sauce. Last step, breathe through your nose while you continue to chew, and enjoy! Toro Tataki (seared fatty tuna) - 4 stars. It came with vinegarette dressing, thinly sliced onion and cucumber, which made it a light and refreshing appetizer. Batu kakuni (braised pork Nagasaki-style) - 4 stars. The meat is so soft and melts as soon as you put it in your mouth. It comes with some gentle mustard on the side, which pairs great with the meat and cuts down the fattiness significantly. There's always a wait and you will walk out smelling like food, be warned. Buta Miso Lettuce Zutsumi (miso marinated minced pork wrapped in romaine lettuce) - 3 stars. If you are looking for something light and relatively healthy, this is a good dish. I love how the dish came with these large Romaine lettuce leaves standing in a bowl like it was growing out of the ground. You also get 2 small bao, some barely cute cucumbers, and a slice of tomato on the side. The pork had a strong miso flavor but was nothing special. Tako Potato (Fried mashed potato with chunks of octopus) - 3 stars. I like the outer shell of the potato ball because who doesn't like deep fried food?! But each ball is too big and had too much potato so it tasted rather bland. Tip: 1) Make a reservation to avoid the wait. Try to call a few days in advance, or else you may not eat until late (after 8PM). If you call early, you can also ask to be seated at the booth instead of regular tables. 2) Parking can be a pain cuz the parking lot is quite small. There are street parking on Henderson Avenue.
Jonas J on Trip Advisor

3 years ago

07/15/2017, 01:30 AM
Excellent food and a menu of impressive range This excellent restaurant is completely out of place in its area, where it is surrounded by fast-food restaurants and uninspiring store fronts. We went there twice in a week, and there were guests waiting for tables at all times. We waited 10 minutes the first time and 2 minutes the second time. The menu, containing perhaps a hundred different dishes, is a bit overwhelming for someone like me who is not too familiar with Japanese food. Each dish is described in around three words. The waiter was helpful, but there was only so much he could do. I was happy with my selection, but it may have been mostly luck on my first visit. On my second visit I had sashimi, which was excellent -- especially considering how cheap it was.
Featured content
Realtor ratings - The most important sites

Realtor ratings - The most important sites

Realtor ratings - The most important sites
How to Set Up a Facebook Review Widget on Your Website

How to Set Up a Facebook Review Widget on Your Website

How to Set Up a Facebook Review Widget on Your Website
KatianneChen on Trip Advisor

3 years ago

07/10/2017, 08:09 AM
A hidden gem in Sunnyvale I love Japanese food. It took me while to finally find a great Japanese restaurant in Sunnyvale, close to Santa Clara where tons of great Korean restaurants are. You have to try the fried rice ball, it is not on there regular lunch menu, but we saw a lot of tables ordered it so we asked the waitress for it. It has very nice texture. Their sushi is very fresh. Unlike most of the Japanese restaurants, their portion is big. Their price is reasonable based on the quality of the food and the large portion. I strongly recommend Tanto to all Japanese food lovers!
kireinagaian on Trip Advisor

3 years ago

03/31/2017, 08:00 AM
居酒屋だけど面白いメニューあり サンノゼには寿司屋ではない和食?を出す居酒屋の様なお店が多い。 tantoはその中でも古いお店で日本人だけで無く現地に住むアメリカ人、韓国人に人気のお店です。 前は韓国人の経営する焼き肉屋だった場所に移る時に石焼きの鍋が残っていたそうで、石焼き鍋を使った茶碗蒸し風の石焼き卵は見た目もジュージュー面白いメニュー。 個人的にはおコゲのトムヤンクンがオススメ。辛くは無くトマトとエビのいい出汁が効いてます。
Maria2882 on Trip Advisor

3 years ago

03/23/2017, 06:21 AM
Great Japanese restourant The variety of dishes is big. Food is good. Very fresh. Service extremely efficient and fast. Atmosphere is also nice. Prices are not cheap but reasonable. Due to not being familiar with the dishes, what helped me order (and i saw another person doing it, so i guess i am not a freak :)) was the pictures in Yelp. Most of them had the name of the dish, and when there wasn't i just showed the picture to the waiter. Enjoy
schwing1 on Trip Advisor

3 years ago

03/01/2017, 04:53 AM
Great food and vibe We found this place by accident and we're grateful about that. A vast variety of Japanese and Asian food. Service was quick and warm. The sashimi was great and the grilled yellow tail was precisely cooked. The green tea and guma ice cream were a delicious refreshment
Yuuta-papa on Trip Advisor

4 years ago

01/11/2017, 03:27 AM
ラーメン、美味いです 仕事の関係でサンタクララに来て、仕事仲間に連れて来て貰いました。板わさ、タコワサなどツマミも美味いく、〆のラーメンはとても美味しかったです。
BayAreaTraveler6338 on Trip Advisor

4 years ago

11/21/2016, 08:17 AM
Get the corner table for a little privacy First time here - we found the food to be very good especially the sizzling beef in the clay pot and the sashimi salad. Friendly service by the wait staff and the food came out right away. If you want a little privacy, ask for the corner table since there is a column post directly in front of it.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.