Logo White
Watch Demo

Tanto Japanese Restaurant

Own this business?
4.3
67 reviews
|Restaurants|Sunnyvale, CA 94087

1063 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale, CA 94087

(408) 244-7311

http://ww1.tantojapaneserestaurant.com/

Closed now

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
4.7
(105) · Sushi Bars

776 Arguello Blvd

(415) 387-8882
4.7
(304) · Restaurants

150 Longbrook Way C

(925) 798-3459
4.7
(45) · Sushi Bars

330 Palmetto Ave

(650) 355-2670
4.6
(13) · Sushi Bars

411 Main St

(925) 846-3077
4.6
(200) · Restaurants

2275 Market St

(415) 552-2280
4.6
(239) · Sushi Bars

1815 Market St #5

(415) 621-1114
About

Lone rangers on tech-office lunch breaks pack this strip-mall Japanese spot, whose crowded parking lot belies its unimpressive façade. Waits are inevitable, but it's worth it to sit down to a steaming bowl of simple and flavorful udon. Indeed, all the standards are rendered beautifully here, from crisp vegetable tempura to tender, flaky grilled unagi set atop freshly steamed rice. Tanto's menu expands a bit at dinner, bringing more grilled items and izakaya-style small plates. Pristine sushi and sashimi like albacore with ponzu are also a strong pick. You'll likely be seated at one of the closely spaced dining room tables, but the occasional stroke of luck might land you in one of the

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.3
67 reviews
530
  
428
  
32
  
22
  
11
  
4 reviews have no rating
  • 60 Reviews4.3Trip Advisor
  • 2 Reviews5.0Insider Pages
  • 1 Review5.0Facebook
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
toga1k on Trip Advisor

a year ago

01/09/2019, 08:15 AM
Tasty Food but Noisy Room Was here for a birthday celebration. The food was good as ever and the service was effective and efficient. Just wish they could add some sound dampers to deaden the noise a bit.
SeeTheW0rld62 on Trip Advisor

2 years ago

10/17/2018, 09:16 AM
Good Japanese food I went to Tanto with some friends for lunch. It was very tasty. I had the bento box with chicken teriyaki and California rolls. The dressing on the salad was unique. I think it was a sesame vinaigrette. It was light and flavorful. The chicken was moist, not overcooked. There was a full order of California rolls which was a nice surprise. The tempura was crispy and not oily at all. The restaurant is fairly small and they were very busy. Service was great, they took our order quickly and it didn't take long to get our food.
ektrusela on Trip Advisor

2 years ago

08/30/2018, 02:20 AM
Stay away. This is not authentic Just ate here and since we aren't from here we based our decision from the reviews. If you are a party of two you may end up dining in the jail cell that we were put in. Food is meh, not much flavor and not appetizing to the eye. Sashimi moriawase was very thick sashimi, half the cut will be fine. Karaage lacked flavor, Ika mariuyaki didn't taste grilled, daikon salad was cut up daikon with nori and the natto hiyayako was a a big no. The natto was still frozen in the carton box shape and there was a raw egg that I didn't expect because it wasn't on the menu. (I don't like raw eggs) yaki onigiri had butter flavoring on it, not the grilled crispy onigiri taste. Overall taste is bad with everything. I would highly NOT recommend this place. Not sure of the high review and the long line outside before opening hours. Maybe it's because I am Japanese my review is a bit more critical.
Featured content
How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google

How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google

How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google
"Near Me" Searches: What You Need to Know

"Near Me" Searches: What You Need to Know

"Near Me" Searches: What You Need to Know
Goldman F on Trip Advisor

2 years ago

07/26/2018, 03:59 AM
Great Dinner The sashimi is great. Thick cut and fresh. The crispy rice ball is also good with fish, roe and green onion. Grill yellowtail collar is great
Xue Huang Y on Trip Advisor

2 years ago

05/10/2018, 06:52 AM
yum very good food, very close to hotel i was staying in. i was recommended here many times because a lot of people like it. very good!
scarlettwenhui on Trip Advisor

2 years ago

02/22/2018, 04:01 AM
Must try and go there early to avoid the line One of the best Japanese restaurant in the bay area in my opinion. Nice Japanese dishes. Rich ball is a must try. Only one shortcoming if you mind the noise can be really high at times, cause people drink and talk here.
Charlotte Walter on Facebook

3 years ago

09/28/2017, 02:40 AM
This place is awesome. I spent my birthday dinner, here. And I'm glad I did. It made my day.
Cathy S on Trip Advisor

3 years ago

09/13/2017, 09:47 AM
good quality I heard this restaurant is known for its freshness and special variety. I usually order bento, Food was tasty. They are packed shortly after they open everyday, And they don't seat you unless the entire party is there. You need to get there as soon as they open if you don't want to wait.
DD492 on Trip Advisor

3 years ago

08/30/2017, 03:48 AM
Blah, Blech Wow, after reading all the rave reviews maybe they were just having an off shift. We stopped in on our way through for lunch. I had a "ginger pork rice bowl" which didn't say anything about the undercooked egg dumped on top. I've eaten lots of Japanese food, first time I've seen that. Also the blandest thing I've eaten with "ginger" in the name regardless of cuisine. The sushi was the sloppiest presentation we have ever seen, and we're pretty sure the crunchy bits in my son's California roll was crab shell. Service was non-existent. With the huge amount of top notch Japanese food available in the SF Bay Area I recommend to leave Tanto off the list.
Respond to negative reviews
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.