Logo White
Watch Demo

Sweetish Hill Bakery

Own this business?
4.2
328 reviews
|Restaurants|Austin, TX 78703

5304, 1120 W 6th St, Austin, TX 78703

(512) 472-1347

http://www.sweetishhill.com/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(1) · Restaurants

1407 Spiderlily Vw

(512) 997-8303
5.0
(3) · Bakeries

701 E 53rd St

(512) 537-8546
5.0
(4) · Desserts

Tschoepe Rd

(830) 406-0265
5.0
(63) · Restaurants

110 E Anderson Ave Ste 400

(512) 388-6558
5.0
(9) · Restaurants

1947 Desiree St.

(830) 481-9550
5.0
(1) · Coffee & Tea

2101 Lakeway Blvd # 105

(512) 686-1330
About

Founded in 1975, the concept of Sweetish Hill Bakery is a marriage of the Viennese coffeehouse with the French boulangerie. Located in a bright, airy space with a great patio in the middle of West Sixth Street shops, the bakers produce over 80 fresh items everyday. The selection of breads, created using European techniques, is unrivaled in town. There is also a great selection of pastries, cakes, homemade soups and lunch fare, including 20 sandwiches and 12 green and side salads. This is a great spot to relax over a light bite or grab something quick and delicious to go.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.2
328 reviews
5171
  
484
  
328
  
214
  
120
  
11 reviews have no rating
  • 243 Reviews4.2Google
  • 71 Reviews4.2Trip Advisor
  • Show All
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
austin_TexasLkd on Trip Advisor

2 months ago

02/17/2020, 06:50 AM
Selection Good vibe great energy and people watching. Food choices are varied and well presented. Had the smoke fish board and the spicy chicken salad
D A on Trip Advisor

5 months ago

10/25/2019, 03:45 AM
Breakfast & Brunch is excellent Neighbourhood location, good outdoor space and airy, contemporary interior with sit- in and take away and deli. Clearly very popular locally, judging by the queues, it was well worth the wait with great coffee, homemade pastries and really excellent loaded toasts.
Maura_Patricia on Trip Advisor

2 years ago

07/05/2018, 07:07 AM
Delicious Italian Cream Cake My friend and I walked over from lunch at Clark's Oyster Bar for a little sweet to cap off our lunch. We split a delightful piece of Italian Cream Cake. Service was friendly without being overbearing.
Featured content
Tempted to buy Google reviews?

Tempted to buy Google reviews?

Tempted to buy Google reviews?
Negative feedback examples and how doctors can respond effectively

Negative feedback examples and how doctors can respond effectively

Negative feedback examples and how doctors can respond effectively
tdbosse1 on Trip Advisor

2 years ago

06/18/2018, 05:10 AM
Nice bakery on the west side Love their cute decorated cookies, the muffins and the coffee is always fresh. Easy parking and they have a nice patio seating area as well. I will pick up a loaf of fresh bread to take home and their lunch specials are good too. I always stop in when I have a chance.
Adan_Lerma on Trip Advisor

2 years ago

03/24/2018, 03:19 AM
Customer service dings my previous 5 star review - all else still great! My wife and I, usually with friends, have gone to this great near-downtown location dozens of times. Service has always been brisk, if not pleasant, but our visit yesterday was almost bad enough to give 3 vs 4 stars - the food, general atmosphere, and one accomodating counter help young lady, still being very much worth the visit. The initial lady taking our order for four (including a friend visiting form California) literally gave up taking our order, slung her order pad on the counter, and walked off! It didn’t seem to surprise or upset the other lady near by who started all over to take our order. She never smiled but at least was business-like. Only the tall young lady also working there offered a smile and asked how she could help. Also, though they can make their sandwiches to order, if you don’t want cheese on yours and it comes with it, hope you’re not told (like I was), “You can take it out yourself.” Still a great place to go visit, but if you get a grump at the counter, you’re on your own, lol! (smiles)
Serena B on Trip Advisor

2 years ago

12/02/2017, 00:30 AM
Great neighbourhood bakery I've been visiting this bakery at least once a week for six years- love the people, great service and always really accommodating. They are a pretty traditional bakery so they make seasonal bakes, but they aren't trying to blow the lid off anyone's palates. Good bread, good bialys, good cake!
Christine A on Trip Advisor

2 years ago

11/11/2017, 03:27 AM
Breakfast or Brunch Spot It's not that I had forgotten about Sweetish Hill. I see it when I drive west on 6th Street. It's there. It's great. It's old school Austin. Remember? Before the massive influx of condos and people and fast food restaurants and traffic snarls. They have gluten free coconut macaroons which is a happy sight for me. Lots of lunch or breakfast items are wrapped ready to go, but their real talents, other than the delicious coffee drinks, lie with the baked treats. So much to choose from your head will explode. Key lime tarts, peanut butter cookies, chocolate chip cookies, molasses cookies, decorated seasonal cookies, little pies, bars, cakes...and, of course, there is ice cream, I think. Unless I hallucinated that and in case I did, there is no ice cream. Do pay attention to your food if you decide to sit on the covered patio. The birds are incredibly aggressive and will swoop in to help themselves to whatever you have sitting on the table. Your food, your mobile phone, your hand...seriously. Watch out for these crazy winged creatures.
MangaMan on Trip Advisor

3 years ago

06/01/2017, 07:06 AM
Fresh, local made pastries The ham and cheese croissant is amazing with ham and cheese baked in. I'm going back for another one this morning. Lots of great pastries made in-house and I hear the coffee is amazing (I don't drink coffee). Worth a stop.
bjimenezines on Trip Advisor

3 years ago

05/31/2017, 06:28 AM
Buen desayuno. Es una cafetería muy agradable donde resulta muy difícil elegir entre todo su escaparate de bollería. Al final opté por el Cinnamon Roll y... ¡Totalmente recomendable!
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.