Logo White
Watch Demo

Summit Manor Reception House

Own this business?
4.8
56 reviews
|Government|Saint Paul, MN 55102

275 Summit Ave, Saint Paul, MN 55102

(651) 387-3283

https://summitmanor.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Government in your area
5.0
(4) · Government
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.8
56 reviews
538
  
48
  
32
  
20
  
10
  
8 reviews have no rating
  • 47 Reviews4.7Google
  • 1 Review5.0YellowBot
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Phil Paolucci on Citysearch

9 years ago

08/23/2011, 10:35 AM
Fantasic venue for a wedding! – When my oldest daughter became engaged and was looking for a place to hold the reception, we both wanted something that would be both special and memorable. She found Summit Manor and from the day we met with them to the end of the big day they were incredible! They were easy to work with, very knowledgeable, extremely professional in making sure all the details were worked out and performed flawlessly for the event. My daughter could not have been happier with getting married in such a wonderful environment that made everyone feel like one big family and not just at some large space in a hotel. I cannot say enough about both Summit Manor (the house) and the five star people there ? David and all the staff were so attentive and everyone I spoke with at the wedding had nothing but great things to say about the whole day. As the Father of the Bride I would tell you that if you are looking for a special place for that special day in your daughter?s life, you must check out Summit Manor ? I think you will be as happy as I am!
awiste on Citysearch

9 years ago

07/19/2011, 05:30 AM
Beautiful Venue! – I highly recommend using Summit Manor for your wedding and reception! Being a somewhat disorganized person and living out of sate, I was really worried about how I was going to plan my wedding. In fact, I was kind of dreading it--trying to coordinate multiple vendors was just NOT what I wanted to do. Fortunately I had heard about Summit Manor and it was perfect for the type of wedding that my husband and I wanted--fun, intimate, elegant, and UNIQUE. David was very easy to work with. He made the planning FUN and he was full of wonderful suggestions to help someone like me plan the day of my dreams. I had a lot of trust in David and he didn't disappoint! I didn't worry about anything. I was stress free and I was truly able to enjoy EVERY aspect of my wedding day. The setting was beautiful (despite the rain storms that ripped through the state!), the food was fabulous, and all my guests had a wonderful time. I got a lot of compliments on the venue, the food, and 'speakeasy' feel of the bar area. The cost of the wedding and reception at Summit Manor was comparable to other venues we had looked at, but I feel we got a lot more quality and peace of mind from David and Summit Manor. It was well worth every penny we spent.
amanda_grimm on Citysearch

10 years ago

10/28/2010, 07:42 AM
Beautiful experience from start to finish – We worked with David at Summit Manor for over a year on our reception. From the time we emailed him the first time in September 2009 to the night of our wedding in October 2010 we had the most pleasant experience. We saw several of the event spaces on Summit Ave. and went with Summit Manor because of its beauty, and because it was SO easy to work with David. We loved that we didn’t have to pick linens or flowers, and we liked the easy fee structure (no hidden or meaningless fees), and David was so accommodating and had great ideas to make our reception even better. I think we visited Summit Manor 4 times before our reception and every time the flowers were beautiful. Every time I emailed David he responded within 24-hours, often late at night-after events, I’m sure. I was not a high-strung bride so I never expected a call back within an hour of my email or call, I totally understand the demands of someone working in the hospitality industry, which is why I often felt so thankful for his late night responses. The night of our event the staff was wonderful: our friends loved the bartenders and hardly noticed the folks clearing tables, David was around when we needed him but pretty much left us to our guests. Our guests raved about the house, and even raved (unsolicited) about the food. We also loved the food. And yes, we ate. We had a little sweetheart table in front of the fireplace and if we would have had time we would have went back for seconds and thirds. One little thing I noticed is that our photographer and David have worked together and when I saw them joking around at the reception I asked her about working with Summit Manor and she had nothing but great things to say about it and David. About the money. I can’t emphasize enough how reasonable the rates are at Summit Manor. Also, I appreciated how David walked us through cost scenarios before we booked with Summit Manor, and how he met with us to walk us through another scenario as we got close to a guest count. There were NO surprises. A few other details. We used our own cake provider, not Buttercream. It couldn’t have been more simple. When we got to the site the cake looked beautiful, and David worked all the logistics with our cake provider. We also provided our own DJ equipment and had friends run our 100% planned music mix off an iPod. We were adamant about creating our own dance mix. David gave us great tips, cautioned us appropriately about all the things that could go wrong with this set up, and then let us go. It worked out great! At our reception he worked with our friends on the music timing so at the end of the night our dance could end exactly how we wanted it-with a packed dance floor full of happy guests.
Featured content
Introducing BirdEye Interactions

Introducing BirdEye Interactions

Introducing BirdEye Interactions
Trust Economy: Why Google and BirdEye Are Against Review Gating

Trust Economy: Why Google and BirdEye Are Against Review Gating

Trust Economy: Why Google and BirdEye Are Against Review Gating
Heather on YellowBot

11 years ago

10/24/2009, 09:07 AM
Amazing Wedding Venue In October of 2009, we held our reception at Summit Manor, a beautiful early 1900s mansion. My husband and I both love the classic look and deep character of this building: hardwood flooring, big window casings, and glass chandeliers. The owner, David, was great to work with and very accommodating to whatever special requests we had. He was very promt with returning our phone calls and had many helpful suggestions on how to make the day run smoothly. One of the biggest advantages of going with Summit Manor was that they took care of so many details for us and so much was included like linens, cihna, flatware, cake cutting, flowers for all the tables, and we could bring out own alcohol. They did of most of the set-up and clean-up, and other than packing our things into our car, we didn't have do any work. The food was fantastic. We had the carved turkey and roast beef. They allowed us to bring in our own cake (from a licensed baker) and even accommodated me when I asked them to use a special recipe for the turkey. We had some odd "extras" for the reception like 150 canned jars of goodies for favors, a popcorn bar, and an interactive photo wall. They were wonderful about setting things out when they needed to go out. Many guests complimented us on the venue choice and loved looking around the three floors and exploring all the different rooms.
hkiesling on Citysearch

11 years ago

10/24/2009, 01:26 AM
A Great, Unique Wedding Venue – In October of 2009, we held our reception at Summit Manor, a beautiful early 1900s mansion. My husband and I both love the classic look and deep character of this building: hardwood flooring, big window casings, and glass chandeliers. The owner, David, was great to work with and very accommodating to whatever special requests we had. He was very promt with returning our phone calls and had many helpful suggestions on how to make the day run smoothly. One of the biggest advantages of going with Summit Manor was that they took care of so many details for us and so much was included like linens, cihna, flatware, cake cutting, flowers for all the tables, and we could bring out own alcohol. They did of most of the set-up and clean-up, and other than packing our things into our car, we didn't have do any work. The food was fantastic. We had the carved turkey and roast beef. They allowed us to bring in our own cake (from a licensed baker) and even accommodated me when I asked them to use a special recipe for the turkey. We had some odd "extras" for the reception like 150 canned jars of goodies for favors, a popcorn bar, and an interactive photo wall. They were wonderful about setting things out when they needed to go out. Many guests complimented us on the venue choice and loved looking around the three floors and exploring all the different rooms.
DaGleeGirl on Citysearch

11 years ago

05/13/2009, 04:57 AM
We had an Amazing Wedding! – We sort of took a risk to even consider Summit Manor as neither of us had really been to a mansion style wedding, but we knew from our very first meeting it would be wonderful. Summit Manor is very big old home on Summit Avenue and we had the ceremony inside on the main staircase. It was magical to walk down the stairs and see all of our guests there. I felt like it was right out of an old movie. If you are looking for something different from the same old hotel wedding than this is the place for you. If you want a big ballroom style than it isn’t. The staff was super nice (especially the bartender) and the food was amazing. We worked with David from the beginning and he was a big help. As he promised he was at our wedding himself from the moment we arrived until the very end of the night. Things went very smoothly & they help you with every step of the process and make it so easy and very very low stress. We had so many compliments from our guests at what an amazing place we had found for our wedding. Five big stars from us!!!
dominique100 on Citysearch

12 years ago

08/17/2008, 01:32 AM
Charming reception site – Summit Manor is a very charming house, perfect for our smallish wedding of about 100 people. The price was affordable, being able to stock our own bar saved us lots of money, and since there is a kitchen on site, we had lots of control over food, which was important to us because of some dietary concerns.The manager did have some very good suggestions about ways to make our wedding run smoothly and his presence on the night of our event was helpful. The food was wonderful, the bartender they provided was great, and the servers were professional. However, the manager, David, was very inconsistent in returning my phone calls, often waiting until after I called three times to call me back. In addition, there are some electrical issues at Summit Manor. The lights flickered all night long and at one point the DJ had some serious damage control to do because the entire system failed and the music stopped. My father was on the edge of his seat all night, concerned that there might be an electrical fire, which certainly did not help him to enjoy the night. We had not been told about this electrical issue beforehand and did feel somewhat deceived by it. Summit Manor does not have its own parking. Parking was an issue for some of our guests, especially some of them who arrived a little bit later. The manor is divided into small rooms, which led to an intimate feeling within each room. If you want all your guests in one room at the same time, this isn't the place for you. However, the ability to have the entire structure to our party, as well as the grounds, made this ideal for our smaller event. The site itself is beautiful, but they really need to fix the electrical system, or at least make sure people know about it before their event.
Rachel08 on Citysearch

12 years ago

07/20/2008, 02:24 AM
Outstanding staff, lots of fun – We had our wedding reception at Summit Manor a few weeks ago, and the entire reception could not have gone better. I looked at at least a dozen other reception sites, and chose Summit Manor because I found the manager to be quite straightforward and honest. (He does tend to get back to phone messages more quickly than email, however). David was quite helpful throughout the planning process, and the advice he gave regarding room set up, timing of the events, and food all led to excellent results. The food is great, and the fact that we could bring our own alcohol to stock the bar was a huge money saver. We had many guests rave about the beautiful and unique location. People especially loved being able to spend time outdoors. The layout of the manor is a bit different than that found at most traditional midwestern weddings, which was exactly what we wanted, but might not be for everyone. (If your dream wedding reception involves a huge, cavernous hall where everyone can peer at you while you eat, consider the Holiday Inn. If you like the idea of lots of small, intimate spaces and a unique, garden party atmosphere, this is it.)
woodsprite on Citysearch

14 years ago

01/07/2006, 00:38 AM
Great Place...No Help – I had my wedding at Summit Manor and the manor itself was perfect but management was not. The woman that runs the manor is unhelpful and rude. When asked if a dj would meet specifications she replied with another list of "do nots". The whole process went this way. On the day of, we had rented the manor till 11.30pm and at 10pm she began telling my guests it was time to leave. We left the manor at 11pm and after my husband stepped out the door the owner promptly slammed it. I was shocked! SummitManor itself is a beautiful, with lots of charm and it's a good value. Be sure to ask specific questions and you will have a better chance of getting an answer. The food was good and they will do the cake for a very reasonable price. Just don't expect a friendly face or any help.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.