Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Stonecrop Gardens

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.7
234 reviews
|Botanical Gardens|Cold Spring, NY 10516

81 Stonecrop Ln, Cold Spring, NY 10516

(845) 265-2000

https://www.stonecrop.org/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
About

A former home of renowned American gardener and horticulturist, Anne and Frank Cabot, the Stonecrop Gardens opened its door as a public garden in 1992. An expansive area of 12 acres (4 hectares) features a variety of gardens including a cliff-rock garden, English-style flower garden, a grass garden, a stone-bed and a conservatory. A plethora of plant species cultivated in the garden enlighten horticultural enthusiasts of the endless possibilities that can be achieved through proper education and adherence of professional practices. Accessible through a nominal fee, this unique attraction is perfect for people of all ages.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.7
234 reviews
5177
  
447
  
38
  
21
  
11
  
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Afoodie65 on Trip Advisor

6 months ago

01/18/2021, 22:44 PM
Dreat place to visit Off the beaten path but a pleasure once found. One could wander around and around and still not see all in one visit. Worth coming back to every season. Covid restrictions in effect.
Liz D on Trip Advisor

9 months ago

10/23/2020, 01:00 AM
Hidden Gem I was familiar with the name of the gardens and when Trip Advisor listed them as a Cold Spring attraction, I jumped at the chance to book tickets for myself and my friend. It was a real highlight of our visit. The place is gorgeous, set in the beginning of the Hudson Highlands, made up of many smaller gardens. Some are educational, some are magical and enchanting, some are surprising. All are beautiful and welcoming. All Covid regulations are observed and much thought has gone into making visits safe and enjoyable. We were given a self directed tour that led us happily from garden to garden, with, of course, the best left for last. Well worth the trip.
AlainNYC on Trip Advisor

10 months ago

09/30/2020, 09:55 AM
Lovely garden We enjoyed the serenity and beauty of the gardens. The variety of flowers, shrubs, trees we had never seen before. Too bad, they did not allow food. We enjoyed going around the small lake, saw a few horses. We loved the maze.
Featured content
Do Online Reviews Matter?

Do Online Reviews Matter?

Do Online Reviews Matter?
How can customer reviews help SEO?

How can customer reviews help SEO?

How can customer reviews help SEO?
337jerrya on Trip Advisor

2 years ago

10/25/2019, 04:27 AM
Trip reviews Stonecrop was a great visit for 1 hour or 2. The various gardens were beautiful even for October and the staff was very friendly. I would definitely recommend if you are in the area.
Jerry A on Trip Advisor

2 years ago

10/25/2019, 01:12 AM
Trip reviews Stonecrop was a great visit for 1 hour or 2. The various gardens were beautiful even for October and the staff was very friendly. I would definitely recommend if you are in the area.
deedee1951 on Trip Advisor

2 years ago

08/15/2019, 01:19 AM
Gorgeous grounds Beautiful gardens and wooded areas to walk through. hour. WE strolled for a bit more than an hour.Many of the plants are identified by # to correspond to a sheet given out.. It is also a great way to follow the paths . There are woods, ponds, more formal gardens etc. This is not handicapped accessible.. Paths are narrow and often uneven. dogs are not allowed.. There are picnic tables under the pine trees. Presently there is no food to e bought there, but they are building a larger visitor center. A great way to spend a few hours in the country.. I would imagine it is would be gorgeous in a different way in the falls when the leaves turn color. Finish up by driving west on 301 toward cold spring and stop at Jane's ice cream on the left side! Cost is $5 for seniors over 65 and students.. $10 for all others. Plenty of parking. bathrooms on site.
Ghidrah on Trip Advisor

2 years ago

07/23/2019, 04:44 AM
A charming, homemade aesthetic, like your grandma's garden multiplied by 50 Stonecrop Gardens is tucked in an out-of-the-way, serene location and has the homey vibe of pumpkin patch/hayride farm. It is nothing like a glitzy botanical garden in the city. At first you might be underwhelmed, but if you look closely, there’s a great deal of beauty to experience. The enclosed garden area is densely packed with a huge variety of unusual plants and flowers in bloom (we went in July, so bear that in mind). Hummingbirds flitted in and out, and we even encountered frogs hopping across our path. It felt as if all the grandmas out there had pooled their backyard gardens into one mega-garden. Very charming. We visited a few small greenhouses and a dense woodland garden area as well. The highlight was a stone garden winding through a swampy area that teemed with frogs. I mean, frogs everywhere. We saw a good 40 of the little critters hopping around. The complete garden collection takes about 30 minutes to an hour to see, depending on your interest in flora and your enjoyment of the little details of nature. I don’t advise planning a whole morning or afternoon around your visit. Also, it’s definitely not accessible for the disabled or even those who have difficulty traversing rocky or uneven surfaces. The paths are extremely narrow and the elevations change rapidly. You have to park on the grass as well, which isn’t ideal for wheelchairs.
Margaret C on Trip Advisor

2 years ago

06/24/2019, 01:25 AM
Lovely meandering walk Lovely walk, did it in flip flops. Tea and cake were for sale and real bathrooms ! A great start to the day , please see my review on Constitution Marsh, and the parking ticket for $175, that happened after this wonderful experience.
LindsCC777 on Trip Advisor

2 years ago

06/18/2019, 01:02 AM
A beautiful gem of a garden A really beautiful garden hidden away along the Hudson Valley. Such a gem of a place. The wisteria was in full bloom when I was there which was a treat. I took the Metro North from Grand Central to Cold Spring and then an Uber.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.